Plainfield, IN 
The Masters DGC Share
Uploaded By: RShott Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
5 / 420ft.   3 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket is behind a small grove of trees. Mando to the right of the tree circled in white.

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Poor layout

1    3/7/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course starts and ends in an open field area with a wooded set of holes in the middle. The open holes have a mix of lengths appropriate for beginners, which is who it seems this course is intended for. There's one or two holes short enough that kids have a chance for birdies, and some longer holes that aren't long enough to be frustrating for new players. The wooded holes offer some different lines to hit, with a mix of right and left turning shots. There is an info kiosk with a course map, and it's pretty easy to follow the flow of the course. Several holes have long tees to add a little more challenge.
Cons: The layout of the course is very unsafe, especially for a beginner course where less accurate players are likely to be throwing. New players often aren't good about waiting until it's clear to throw, and there are a lot of crossing and overlapping fairways here. I can see that being a major safety issue if there are multiple groups out playing.

The wooded holes could use just a little more clearing to have lines more appropriate to this level of course. There were a couple holes that felt pretty poke-n-pray to me, let alone to a first time thrower. The tees are natural, and were pretty muddy and rutted out when I played.
Other Thoughts: There are a few nice holes here, and enough challenges that beginners and casual players can have a really good time here. Most of the holes are great for players to learn on without getting too frustrated, which is exactly the type of course I love to see on church properties like this where there's the opportunity to expose new people to the sport. More experienced players won't find much to challenge or interest them here after a round or two. I really wish the design wasn't so unsafe, it's just way too easy for crossing fairways to turn into problems that could jeopardize the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I enjoy it!

5+    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Other Thoughts: I thought that the open/ semi-open layout would be pretty good to do a night time shootout. Bust out some glow sticks and hit it!
P.S.- some rubber tees would be a pretty big improvement if concrete is to expen$ive.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

5+    4/10/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Belisarius
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Well Maintained
-Good Baskets
-Tees Well Marked
-Usually Not Crowded
-Proximity to Hummel Park
-Requires Variety of Shots
-Multiple Tees
Cons: -Dirt Tee Pads
-Some Fairway Intersections
-Pro Tees Dont Change Play of Holes
-Not Much Space to Work With
Other Thoughts: For the space that the church who put in this course had to work with, they did a pretty solid job. The course is small. It is what it is. Having said that, there are alot of things that this course does right. The church does a great job maintaining the course; there is rarely any trash on the course, the grass is mowed regularly, and the baskets are new. The tees are well identified, however, they are just a dirt surface. This can cause some pretty slippery footing, especially if the ground is wet or muddy. i had heard that concrete tees were in the works; however this was hearsay, nothing confirmed. Signage would also be helpful, but isn't terribly needed.

Considering the course's compactness, it does require a variety of shots. Holes 3-6 take advantage of the wooded area at the rear of the course. That being said, the course will not prove very challenging to those above the novice skill level. A few of the holes are made more interesting with some mandos.

Overall, this course is very well done; the designers were simply limited in what they could do with the space available. As far as small courses go, this one is better than many. If you are a beginner looking for a good course to learn on, or if you are in the area and looking to get in some quick practice, this course fits the bill perfectly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Little Course

2-4    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designated Tees and the baskets were in great condition. The course was definitely a small challenge considering that there wasn't much land to work with. Nice instructional board before the first tee. Both short and Long tees
Cons: The natural tees were absolutely terrible, very uneven and it was a constant hazard. I even slipped and fell on more than one tee. The fairways crossed other fairways which can be dangerous if people aren't paying attention. For a beginner course #6 really didnt belong, there was a bottle neck that could become very frustrating to the players just starting out.
Other Thoughts: For a course at a church they tried to make the most of what they had. With some improved tee pads it could get a lot better too. For some reason it seemed like the discatcher baskets had very springy chains. its seemed like every set of chains I hit, the disc would spit out. It almost seemed like there was a link or two missing from the chains. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course but if you are close by it is a good way to kill 30 minutes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/19/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: RShott
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + This course makes good use of the land that it has to work with.

+ Holes 3-6 are in the woods and are well designed. They are fun to play.

+ The baskets are nice and the course is free from trash.

+ It is not crowded.

Cons: - The teepads are dirt.

- Holes 1,2,7,8,9 are in an open field and thus are pretty boring and easy holes (even with the mandos on holes 1,2,8).

- Holes 7 and 8 cross the fairway of hole 1 (this isn't really a problem as long as the course is not busy).
Other Thoughts: This course is only a few minutes from my house. I play it often for a quick 9. The course is never crowded and the hole layout is actually pretty good. I especially enjoy the holes in the woods. It is a nice little course to practice on (since it is never busy a person can throw multiple discs on each hole and not have to worry about slowing up other players). This is a good course for beginners.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Lucid
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course for a as small an area they has to work with. Score cards and pencils available at tee one. Discs also available at church office when they are open. Well marked tees and the course seems to be well taken care of.
Cons: Could use concrete tees but since this course is fairly new i guess we will see what the future will hold. Pro tees don't seem to change any thing in the play or the holes just add extra distance.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see more courses coming to the indy and surrounding area. Cant wait till Brownsburg course is up and running.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.