Plainfield, IN 
The Masters DGC Share
Uploaded By: RShott Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
5 / 400ft.   4 / 465ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good holes worked into tight space

2-4    1/16/2016   1/19/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 285  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most striking feature for me, in playing 'The Masters', was that this church course west of Indianapolis had someone on the design team who understands the fun three dimensionality of disc flight. Beginning with a longer, open field arm stretcher, the course works its way into and out of the woods at the back on two occasions, and provides a nice variety over nine holes (and added second tees on seven of the holes to add a little distance). In fact, the large level concrete tees produce holes ranging from 170 to 520 feet, and finish with good quality DisCatcher baskets.

The ninth basket is set near the parking area, where overthrows are guarded by a set of pines, and markers are set in the ground in five foot intervals between 15 and 35 feet, for putting practice. The nice course kiosk doesn't have a map, but includes local club info, some scripture (it's a church course, after all), and a note to let them know when you ace the short hole nine (they'll add you to the list of celebrants, so you don't have to be one of those guys who tags the equipment...please, do it their way!)

The feature holes for me are the ones in the woods, such as the tricky approach and green on 2, the needed sweeping (rhbh) hyzer line on 3, the longer, left to right shot on 5, and the narrow gap you have to hit to get out of the woods from the long 6th tee. Of course, finishing up with a couple of ace runs is really fun, too.

There's plenty of good hole signage, next tee indicators where needed, and mando signs galore. In all, they've done a really nice job with the installation, and this course would normally earn a 3 or 3.5 rating from me, ...but...
Cons: Because they only had a small parcel of space to work with, in order to install these fun lines, they had to cross numerous fairways, and try to get folks to throw safe lines by using a lot of mandos. You need to throw past the first basket you see on hole 1, and be aware that you're crossing the 7th and 8th fairways as you play. To get from the 2nd basket to the 3rd tees, you'll cross the flight lines on 6, then throw across 6, and risk a tree kick putting your disc near folks holing out on 4. There's a pretty good walk back to the 4th tee (especially the long), and then you have one more mando, but should stay to the right of the second one you see (that's for the 5th fairway). The 5th hole drives right in over the long 6th tee. Too many danger spots for me to give the course the rating it might have otherwise earned.

They didn't have much elevation to work with, so the holes play pretty much Indy area flat, and the restricted space means that most of the long tees add distance, and not as much of a different line of flight. I can't imagine how much crossing fairway use that might have made!
Other Thoughts: First timers, don't turn in at Hummel Park, but at the church, and park at the back of the lot, where you'll see the course kiosk.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: 4.5 yrs experience at age 54, not a big gun, and not an impressive rating (Rec to Int skills), but enjoy having played over 250 courses and shared hopefully helpful info about those experiences.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

1    12/21/2015   12/22/2015
Review By: drsecond
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Several interesting holes (2-6). Nice course map available at start. Enjoyable setting near a park.
Cons: I really don't see how you could have more than 3 groups playing this course at a time. The fairways all cross each other. That said, I was the only one there, so no worries for me!
Other Thoughts: Nice mix of long and short holes, with two sets of tees on most of the holes. Definitely recommend this one.

Decent Jigsaw Puzzle Course

1    10/16/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: DGDanG
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fits 9 holes in what seems like only a couple acres.

Mix of wooded technical shots and open easier shots.

Mandatory shot paths helps keep the holes from being too easy and also give some safety to players on other holes.

Hole 9 has practice putt markers with distances marked out from 15 to 35 feet from the basket, which is nice.
Cons: Holes 7-9 are too easy, and even 6 is easy enough to birdie so long as you can throw somewhat straight from the drive.

Many of the holes cross each others' fairways and several holes start in places that cause you to walk across fairways, which could be hazardous if the course gets busier than just a few people playing on it at once.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 has three large rocks along the right side of the fairway. I didn't know why they were there until I looked at the course-provided scorecard/map. They mark out distanced in 100 ft. sections, starting 100 feet from the recreational tee or 200 feet from the advanced tee. It's obviously not necessary, but it's kind of nice to be able to gauge where you stand on the longest hole of the course.

I think this course I a bit underrated given that I never planned on playing here since it was rated at what I assumed was 2.5 discs when browsing the map on my DGCR app.

The course is very well maintained, the rough isn't too deep so as to cause many lost discs, if any.

Also, the course is challenging in the woods and it was actually a fun course to play, even with the high winds I experienced today.

If this course were spaced out more and had more room to spread out and avoid having crisscrossed fairways, I'd easily give this a 3 disc rating, especially if holes 7-9 were either lengthened or had more trees. Either way, this is worth a visit if you only have a half hour or so to play 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

OK little 9 hole course

1    12/26/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: pandabaer6496
Played: 115  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First, this course does make good use of the little land it has available. It manages to fit 9 holes without it feeling too crammed. Also nice baskets and two sets of tees are a plus. Basket 9 also serves as a practice basket at the beginning of the course.

Second, the mandos, for the most part, make some of the open holes more interesting.

Third, I especially enjoyed a couple of the wooded holes, 3 and 5 to be specific. They were challenging but not unfair.
Cons: First, some maintenance could help in the wooded area, as there are some down trees, especially by the hole 5 basket.

Second, although the mandos are helpful in some cases, a couple of them are just 3 foot wooden posts. If your throw is close to the mando, you won't know whether or not you made it, because it is so low to the ground.

Third, on hole one, it is hard to tell which basket to throw to, with baskets 6 & 7 being immediately visible in about the right distance range, and the actual basket being tucked behind a bush.

Fourth, and most importantly, were holes 7-9. I really liked the first two thirds of this course, but wow did it drag towards the end. Holes 7 and 9 are short and open, lacking any challenge. Hole 8 is also short, and although a mando attempts to make it interesting, a simple RHBH anny will have you in position. Especially hole 9 stuck out like a sore thumb. Just a straight uncontested 170 shot. It sure looked as though the designers had put in 8 holes, and just threw this in there for the sake of making it a 9 hole course. Especially given that this course had some good challenging holes, 7-9 really stuck out in a bad way.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is not a bad course. I would recommend it if you're in the area, but if you are short on time, Avon Town Hall is a more challenging course just a few miles away. I played both when I was in the area and had a good time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 holes

1    9/28/2014   10/4/2014
Review By: weddlec
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of woods and open play. Pretty challenging for how short the holes are. 2 starting pads for most holes
Cons: Lame signs telling you which way to play the holes. I tend to just go as straight to the goal as I can and play it in the rough if it lands bad. Not much in the way of hills or hazards.
Other Thoughts: Lots of evil goal place placement. Could be a good or bad thing depending on the your outlook.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: rayw
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course had such a good time I played it twice in one night. Will play it again and bring friends. Park next to course is a good place for the family to play and relax while you play.
Cons: Need score cards with map of course. Some baskets a little hard to find.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disctraction

2-4    10/26/2013   7/1/2014
Review By: Gizmotronx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot Variety
Concrete Tees
Course map at beginning
Mandos make open holes interesting
Fun lines in the woods
Putting practice distance markers on hole 9
Cons: Rough can get high, and especially on 7, it can take awhile to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course 4 times and only seen 1 other person here. Crossing fairways don't seem to be a big issue to me since it is small and you can call out if there is a conflict.
Short course can be played in under an hour by yourself. That could be a plus or minus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for your mid game practice

5+    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: Ale 8
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for working on your short to mid game (depending on the range of your arm). With the Mando's it does force you to play shots that you may not normally have. The course paths are well mowed and can be easily differentiated between the course and the rough (which is also mowed down).
Cons: The layout is not bad, but could get a bit congested if there were large groups out. They did well with the land space they have.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the layout scare you from coming here to practice. The first few times I was a bit upset by the Mando's and strange layout. But now, I like it because it makes me takes shots. I become used to other courses and I can predict what shots I must take, while here I can practice a variety and still be safe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/8/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: TheeFlipper
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very good use of space.
-Mandos used nicely to keep play somewhat challenging.
-Nice baskets
-Pro and amateur concrete tees. ie..short and long tees
-Scorecards and map readily available
-Well maintained
-Well designed
Cons: -Holes #7 & #8 intersect Hole #1
-Holes #4, #5, and #6 in close proximity to each other. Could be hazardous.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course. Recently improved!

1    11/22/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dual Concrete Tees - Not only are there dual tees for most holes (8 and 9 only have one), they are now concrete. The AM tees are marked with a wooden post and the Pro Tees are marked with giant rocks that are painted. Not much variety between the holes.

9 innova Discatchers. Hole 9 used as practice basket with markers listing distance from basket.

- Holes 2 - 6 - Hole 2 starts in open, goes around a mandatory shot and ends in woods. Hole 3 (formerly hole 4) is a tight wooded shot that ends slightly uphill. Hole 4 (formerly hole 3) starts in open, anhizers around a tree and ends in the woods. Hole 5 is a long, moderately wooded hole that borders the creek. Hole 6 throws uphill from inside the woods to the basket which is in the. These are great wooded holes that will challenge most golfers.

- Shot Variety - Great mix of open and wooded holes. The open holes have young trees planted on them which will add to the challenge in the future. Holes 3, 4, and 6, have slight elevation. No two holes were the same. Distance varies from as short as 180 feet to 400+ feet.

- Great use of available land.

- Scorecards and Map - on sight.

- Course starts and ends at the same point.

Benches and trash cans on site. Bridges when needed.

Signs on each hole include hole number and distance. There are signs pointing you towards next tee when needed.

Resigned course flows amazingly better. (3 and 4 switched)
Cons: - Crossing Fairways - Hole 1 crosses the path for Holes 7 and 8. The fairways for holes 3 and 6 cross at a near perpendicular angle. Fairways for holes 4 and 5 border each other. Hole 7 crosses Hole 1. And Hole 8 crosses hole 1. Can add to danger factor. Mandos help to elongate any issues.

Most mandatory shots add to difficulty.

On hole 1, don't throw to the first basket throw to the second one (behind the trees.
Other Thoughts: I was the only person at the course when I was playing, so the intersecting fairways did not effect me. If you do not take into account that holes cross, this is one hell of a 9 hole course. I can see how the more people playing this course, the more irritating and dangerous it can be due to crossing fairways but usually isn't an issue.

There is not much variation between the Pro and Am Tees.

The wooded holes in my opinion took this course from a 2 or a 2.5 to a 3. If holes did not cross, it might get a higher rating.

There looks like there is room to expand this course into Hummel Park with the addition of maybe 2-3 more holes.

It appears that there would be room across the river to add a second Plainfield course. This course is a solid course for the suburb.

I would recommend playing this course but preferably on a school day or a day where it will not be very busy.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.