Pinellas Park, FL 
Youth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good advanced level practice course.

5+    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a small neighborhood off a main road and is surrounded by baseball, softball, and soccer fields; very large sports complex.
- Course has a very nice flow; each hole transitions perfectly into the next, you won't get lost at this course.
- Tee-pads are brand new, perfect length.
- Tee-signs are extremely accurate and very well detailed.
- Course offers a few good opportunities to throw an ace without "handing them out".
- Each hole has its own identity; some have trees, some are wide open, but most have a defined fairway and many paths and throwing types to get to the basket.
- Provides a moderate challenge for beginners while still providing a small challenge for advanced players.
- Alternate pin placements on 3 holes provide some variety to the course.
- Course design has squeezed all possible space from the area; most tee pads are at the edge of property.
- Custom scorecards available inside mailbox at hole #1's tee.
Cons: - The pond; due to the unusually heavy rainfall this year, the banks of the pond are 4-5 feet higher than normal.
- The fence on hole #2 comes into play frequently; usually a headwind on this hole and most throws are thrown over fence to fade back towards the water and basket. Retrieving a disc from over the fence is now considered trespassing and the employees at the complex are not very friendly.
- Course becomes very boring after playing it a few times.
- Not uncommon to have children playing in the fairway on hole #1.
- There is a person that lives in the sports complex, I have no idea why, but he is not very nice.

Other Thoughts: - Youth Park DGC is a nice, shorter course located in Pinellas Park Florida. As a whole, the course fulfills the need of the area; a shorter course for locals to play when they can't play the nicer, bigger ones. It provides a nice challenge and is a great course to play if you only have an hour to play.

- I would not make a day trip to play this course unless you are making a day out of the other awesome courses Pinellas County has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tightly Placed

1    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is packed tightly into the park, using pretty much all of the space. Unlike a lot of courses that do this, it doesn't feel too claustrophobic, though there weren't too many other while I was there.

I also like a lot of the holes. It's an open area but there are a lot of trees. Selfishly, I like the fact that it felt very RHFH friendly, as the first seventeen holes had nice left to right lines to avoid the trees and give you a chance to park the hole. Every hole here offers a realistic birdie chance if your drive is accurate.

The pond is the central feature and it does come into play on two holes. I'm guessing a different pin placement for 1 would bring the lake into play there as well.

It'd also be an interesting place for an ace race. There are no real acre run holes, but there are around 16 possible ace holes.
Cons: While I don't dislike any of the holes here, I don't love any of them either. The big reason for that is that there is a dearth of a variety. They are mostly the same distance and while the trees often force to you curve your shot into the basket, they are primarily located directly in front of the tee.

And, as to fit the confines of the park, the fairways are packed very close together. On a bust day, you would have to be constantly wary of an errant disc and in some places, an on target one. It's mostly back and forth across the field, with each fairway a few yards to the right or left of the previous.
Other Thoughts: I'd play Youth Park again if I was in the area. It's not a world-view changing course, but it's fun and it's a quick eighteen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    5/12/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newest course in Tampa Bay. You can get in a round solo in about 40 minutes as the tees are very close to the last pin. That makes navigation a breeze.

Parking is convenient and a practice basket is handy.

Water comes into play mainly on 2 holes and is really only a danger if you are wild or are one of those guys here on DGCR who say you can throw 350 but really can't clear 305 of water (Hole 7).

Trees are challenging and force you to use lots of hyzer.

I have never seen this course crowded but the people I have met are nice.

Lake is gator free last I knew and that makes for some peace of mind when retrieving a disc from the water.

Finally installed great drainage. I went last week a day after a big rain and the property was dry. This place used to have standing water for weeks. Fixed!
Cons: It would have been nice if they had made the flow a little more convenient to get from the parking to the practice basket and then to hole 1 rather than having to walk through hole 1 to get to the practice basket.

The property is quite small for 18 holes. That makes for a tight squeeze and could get dangerous if there are a lot of people on the course.

The course can start to feel repetitive as you shoot toward the street and then back toward the park and then back to the street, etc. That is due to the small size of this property.

Would be nice if there were more anny lines.

Plenty of roller potential. They did install drainage that would mess with some rollers now.
Other Thoughts: The lake gets really deep if you get more than 15-20 feet from the bank. If your disc is in that range it is an easy retrieval.

I would have marked this course higher if it wasn't so repetitive, had more shot variety, and had a bit more length. I can't write this without say this course has been a blessing to me because of its location but also because it has forced me to work on my hyzer and has brought down my scores on the other area courses. A great course where you can disc down and work on the basics.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Casual Course in the Heart of Pinellas

1    8/8/2012   5/13/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, signage
Cons: Short, most holes are a straight line.
Other Thoughts: Youth Park DGC is a short, straightforward course well suited for casual players and beginners right in the center of Pinellas County. Set on a sparsely wooded square plot of land with a pond, Youth Park features excellent signage and tee pads, straight ahead shots on all but the first hole, and just enough trees and salt bush to teach you a bit of control.

Hole #1 is the only hole on the course that is not a straight line; the pond on the left and the parking lot on the right require a good anhyzer shot, or you can take an angle away from the water off the tee. After that every hole is straight, and the whole course is strictly par 3 in terms of distance and challenge. Water comes into play on two other holes, including a long carry on hole #7 should you choose to play it that way. Learning to navigate over or around water obstacles is a required skill in this part of the world, so even considering these three water holes, Youth Park is still a good beginner's course. Otherwise, there are enough trees to require accuracy off the tee, particularly on the back nine, though even if your tee shot does ping off of wood, recovery is not too big a challenge. The trees are not thick and undergrowth, unlike some other area courses, is not an issue. The course is somewhat tight in terms of holes being close to each other, but there's enough of a buffer generally that this would be a problem on only the most crowded days.

The advantages of nice tee pads, easy navigation, central location, and being geared toward beginner and casual players will probably ensure that Youth Park gets plenty of play. There are other courses in the county that are both more scenic and more challenging, but even so Youth Park is definitely worth a visit, and is a good place to introduce others to the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Use of the Land Given

1    8/24/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: dangitboy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I will give credit to C.R. here for being creative with the small amount of land he had to work with. The tee pads are a good size. The course is easy to navigate. The course is not crowded. Port-a-johns on site. Great beginner course!
Cons: The biggest two are:

More than 50% of the holes are flooded and I mean over your ankles. You can play 1 and 2 without getting your feet soaked, but 3-6 and then 8-13 you are constantly trudging through some nasty swamp water. Then 15 and 16 you are wading through more water, no way around it.

The course is extremely short. I mean short. I brought a full bag and used a roc and putter 90% of the time. Some shots get boring and redundant.
Other Thoughts: There are maybe 5 holes that I would say are fun/interesting, but not difficult. All holes are easily reachable if you can throw 250-300. Most holes have little to no technical challenge/wide open. In the dry season (winter) it could be a better play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.