Pinellas Park, FL 
Youth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #16 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Youth park. Fun local spot

1    10/13/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: Scroppo727
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy course most shots are straight with trees on most holes and water on 2 holes. Free score card on hole one but no pencils. I was there noon on a weekday and it was empty. Very easy to navigate
Cons: Smaller coarse. Lots of trees on fairways .. Set up is very narrow and a few holes cross paths
Other Thoughts: Check it out it's a fun coarse

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

quick practice course

5+    8/2/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 62  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.724 Rating) A very heavily played course in the middle of Saint Petersburg.
- CHARACTER - Perhaps the best thing about youth park is the feeling that you know the space is dedicated to disc golf. There's a bunch of picnic tables for seating, more than half of the tees are shaded, there's good hole signage, there's a community board with course map, there's trash cans, there's a few extra pin placements (1,2,7,14) and there's a practice basket. (unfortunately not used often due to location)
- TEE PADS - They are all concrete and are generously long. at least 16 feet in length. Well above average in my opinion.
- SCORECARD PROVIDED - As of my 62 course played, this is the only free course that provided a free scorecard. They are located in the mailbox on #1 tee.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds are mowed weekly. I've played over thirty rounds here and never saw the grass higher than 6 inches. Despite the heavy use, trash was in check.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few exceptions. The water on holes 2 and 7 claim a lot of discs. The tree canopy is mostly Oak and other mixed Deciduous trees with very few disc robbing palms.
- DISC RETURN - I have lost 4 discs in the water as of the review revision, all of them have been returned. Granted it's well know that I always give a $5 reward for return. That said, most other regulars feel the same way. This is not a guarantee that you'll get a disc back, it just seems more likely than normal on this course.
- NAVIGATION - One of the easiest courses to navigate that I've ever played on first round. The scorecard has a lot to do with that.
- LAYOUT FLOW - although a tight layout, the flow of the course works pretty good. I don't think any holes require a walk much over a hundred feet between basket and next tee. there are several opportunities to skip a group of holes (and yet easily come back and play skipped holes) if large groups are in the way.
- QUICK PLAY - A single, can easily complete a full 18 in under 45 minutes. groups of 4 usually play in under two hours, sometimes even an hour and a half.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes, is not all, are aceable, You will have great opportunities on holes (5,9 and 13) every hole is under 330 feet.
- EVENTS - There are two weekly events going on as of this review. There is random dubs on Monday and Thursday at 6:30 PM. $5 with optional $1.25 ace pot.
Cons: There are several unfix-able conditions with this course.
- TIME WAITING - This course gets heavy use and often has mob golfing going on with groups of 10 or more. Typically the large groups will let faster groups through (or try to get you to join in), but you'll still have to wait on that initial hole.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are well below average. All of the holes play between 225 and 327 feet. There is only one sweeping shot (#7) and that's if it's in the long pin position only. There are no blind baskets. There are no par 4's or 5's. I will say however, that there are a bunch tee shot tree windows to hit. (holes 4, 6,14 and 17 especially) there is one for sure overhead play on 16, otherwise it's a poke and hope shot.
- SPACING - Well below average, Several of the fairways feel partially shared. Discs constantly end up in other fairways. Black aces have happened. In addition, considering that the course is typically full of players, you will always be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' throughout the entire course.
- DIFFICULTY - not much of a challenge to advanced players as they should have no problem breaking par and being several shots down . Intermediate and Rec players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish under par as well.
- BEAUTY - If you're the player that enjoys a nice scenic course, this isn't it. It's below average at best. Nearby courses Picnic and Taylor are much more scenic.

Other Thoughts: A good course for those living within 5-10 miles. A great Beginner Course due to low amount over hazards and overgrowth. Probably worth a look see if you've already hit a majority of the area courses or if you're like me and feel the need to play every course once. Not recommended to out of region players looking to play one or two area courses. In that scenario, consider these area courses instead (Cliff Stevens, Taylor, Picnic or Cypress)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty little course

1    5/25/2016   5/25/2016
Review By: ricklev
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept park dedicated to disc golf
Reachable holes for players like me in 225-250ft range
Just south of nice theater, shopping, restaurants
Good shade on especially back 9 for hot days
Uncrowded during the week
Cons: -If it has rained, the creek next to 18 is muddy/mucky, making it tricky to get disc if you go in there
-Some ant mounds in the grass, especially after rains, but just watch your step and it's fine
-Holes 8, 12, 14 and a couple of others have a line of trees that make it difficult on your drive. Not necessarily a con, but you'll probably think so when you hit a tree.
-Some signs are getting faded from the sun
Other Thoughts: Overall, I love this little course. It is a bit further away for me, so I only get there a couple of times a year. But I enjoy it very much every time I play there. It may not get the respect of Cliff Stephens or Taylor Park or a few other courses in the area, but don't rule out this fun little park to play in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Easy to Moderate Level Course

1    3/18/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: blueblur
Played: 119  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. I think there was an alternate pin location on every hole. A pond and a ditch act as water hazards on the course. Great scenery and this area of the park seems set aside for disc golf, so other than 1 dog walker, we had no obstacles.
Cons: Fairways are a bit close together. Playing it for the first time, we sometimes had difficulty figuring out which basket we were supposed to throw at because we could see multiple baskets that were approximately the right direction and distance from the pad. Once we threw at the wrong basket. We let another group play through, but they had to keep waiting on us because we were often in their fairway as we threw on our fairway. Would be a rough place to hold a tournament with shotgun start for safety reasons. Several of the holes are open shots with almost no obstacles. Several of the holes are poke and pray shots through extremely narrow fairways because of close together trees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course of moderate length. I had a first timer with me and he got a 3 on a few of the holes. Other than the water holes, a great beginner course with some challenge for experienced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good advanced level practice course.

5+    10/7/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 40  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is located in a small neighborhood off a main road and is surrounded by baseball, softball, and soccer fields; very large sports complex.
- Course has a very nice flow; each hole transitions perfectly into the next, you won't get lost at this course.
- Tee-pads are brand new, perfect length.
- Tee-signs are extremely accurate and very well detailed.
- Course offers a few good opportunities to throw an ace without "handing them out".
- Each hole has its own identity; some have trees, some are wide open, but most have a defined fairway and many paths and throwing types to get to the basket.
- Provides a moderate challenge for beginners while still providing a small challenge for advanced players.
- Alternate pin placements on 3 holes provide some variety to the course.
- Course design has squeezed all possible space from the area; most tee pads are at the edge of property.
- Custom scorecards available inside mailbox at hole #1's tee.
Cons: - The pond; due to the unusually heavy rainfall this year, the banks of the pond are 4-5 feet higher than normal.
- The fence on hole #2 comes into play frequently; usually a headwind on this hole and most throws are thrown over fence to fade back towards the water and basket. Retrieving a disc from over the fence is now considered trespassing and the employees at the complex are not very friendly.
- Course becomes very boring after playing it a few times.
- Not uncommon to have children playing in the fairway on hole #1.
- There is a person that lives in the sports complex, I have no idea why, but he is not very nice.

Other Thoughts: - Youth Park DGC is a nice, shorter course located in Pinellas Park Florida. As a whole, the course fulfills the need of the area; a shorter course for locals to play when they can't play the nicer, bigger ones. It provides a nice challenge and is a great course to play if you only have an hour to play.

- I would not make a day trip to play this course unless you are making a day out of the other awesome courses Pinellas County has to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tightly Placed

1    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is packed tightly into the park, using pretty much all of the space. Unlike a lot of courses that do this, it doesn't feel too claustrophobic, though there weren't too many other while I was there.

I also like a lot of the holes. It's an open area but there are a lot of trees. Selfishly, I like the fact that it felt very RHFH friendly, as the first seventeen holes had nice left to right lines to avoid the trees and give you a chance to park the hole. Every hole here offers a realistic birdie chance if your drive is accurate.

The pond is the central feature and it does come into play on two holes. I'm guessing a different pin placement for 1 would bring the lake into play there as well.

It'd also be an interesting place for an ace race. There are no real acre run holes, but there are around 16 possible ace holes.
Cons: While I don't dislike any of the holes here, I don't love any of them either. The big reason for that is that there is a dearth of a variety. They are mostly the same distance and while the trees often force to you curve your shot into the basket, they are primarily located directly in front of the tee.

And, as to fit the confines of the park, the fairways are packed very close together. On a bust day, you would have to be constantly wary of an errant disc and in some places, an on target one. It's mostly back and forth across the field, with each fairway a few yards to the right or left of the previous.
Other Thoughts: I'd play Youth Park again if I was in the area. It's not a world-view changing course, but it's fun and it's a quick eighteen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Quite Taylor, But Close

2-4    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 108  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 41.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice little lake starts you out, then off to the trees! And there are plenty of trees to negotiate. So there are plenty of different lines to try out.

Decent tee signs and some long concrete tees make for good driving, and multiple pin placements add some extra looks.

Very friendly locals.
Cons: The course quickly becomes repetitive, with holes falling into the 270' range with similar looks. I would have made a couple holes 200' and a couple 400', to mix it up a little.

The fairways are a little close together. Keep an eye out for other nearby groups discs.
Other Thoughts: That said, you can still have a lot of fun throwing a round here with your buddies. But, if down here on vacation, you may want to play some of the more popular local courses before this one.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun

2-4    5/10/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - concrete tee pads on every hole
- good signage on the tee boxes showing, par, distance and layout
- good scenery
- clean
- multiple basket locations
- 18 holes
- very professional looking score cards provided on hole 1
Cons: - tee boxes could be a little wider
- it can be difficult to find the right basket because many of them are very close together
- I would like to see a few longer holes mixed in
Other Thoughts: People that can throw straight enough to sneak through the trees are rewarded. People that can't will probably get frustrated and/or injure a squirrel.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of My Favorites!

2-4    2/25/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Played over 30 course nation wide. This is one of my favorites because of the chances of getting an ace on most of the holes, which are not too lengthy. Very nice atmosphere in this park. Obstacles are just enough to make it challenging, but not opressive with thicker woods. Course is flat and very nicely laid out for what land space was available.
Cons: just watch out for the lake.
Other Thoughts: Wish I lived in this neighborhood so I could play this course often. Been playins since the 90s and have visited many courses. Tis was one of the best for my prejudice. When youve had a few aces, you want more. and when I show up at a course with holes too long to for a chance at another ace, ho hum. This course was so nice to go thru and my hopes for an ace were high here.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice treat

1    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Youth park is an easy to find course in a nice neighborhood near the interstate. There are many other park activities, but the disc golf course is separated from the other activities. There is a nice detailed scorecard and course map in a mailbox by tee one which was nice. The course itself had a pretty decent variety of open shots on the front line and tighter lines to hit on the back. There is a pond, but its not too hard too avoid. I played in a drier time of year, but The grass near the pond appears very spongy. The course flow is easy, and there is just enough challenge to have good anticipation from hole to hole. And, even though the back nine has trees, recovery is generally possible.
Cons: The distances are pretty repetitive. Hole 18 is over 325, and there is one other hole on the front at 300, but most of the rest are 235 to 260. Also, a lot of the holes are (despite trees) very straight. I threw a beat up dx roc on more holes than I have in forever. I found myself working on a bit more of a natural fade on the front while working more gentle anhyzers (gentle) on the back. When I played, it wasn't crowded, but I can see how this could be an issue. 18 holes are on not a huge piece of land.
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course. The lake and available trees are used well, and there can be some real satisfaction in hitting some tight lines on the back nine. There was a ton of swirling wind on the front, and the openness of the front made putting tough. the back is more tree covered. Overall, this is a nice course for newer players, but even more advanced players could enjoy a round here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.