Pinellas Park, FL 
Youth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun to play, good times

5+    1/1/2011   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Good signs
+ Concrete Tees
+ Hazards
+ Good upkeep
Cons: - Short
- Quite open
- Sometimes a little overcrowded
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course for short game practice with a few longer hyzers and minor technical shots to make it interesting. Water is the only real hazard here and plays on 2-3 holes. Very fun to play and great to show a newer player the game on

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sharpen up here...

5+    7/8/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little practice course for me. I find that even though this course is not very technical, there are enough hazards here to help me work on my game whenever I come out for a round.

One thing I do here is throw shorter discs a lot. I've stretched my 180g KC Roc out to about 250' out here, and it's getting longer. I don't have a lot of power, so this is pretty good for me.

The trees are enough of an issue to force you to play lines, but they don't make it impossible.

The little lake is in play on #2 and #7, and is more avoidable on #7 than #2.

If you want a quick round, this course will give it to you. Each tee is close to the previous basket and it's not hard to figure out the configuration.

Scorecards in the little mailbox near #1. A nice touch.

The signs here are very good and the distances are very accurate.

All the pads are in great shape, and they recently elevated the tee for #3 so it doesn't get submerged anymore. Drainage is much better now, too. Tropical Storm Debby dropped two feet of rain on Pinellas Park, and the course was playable less than three days later.
Cons: This isn't much more than a mid-range type course. It's really easy to overshoot baskets here by fifty feet plus if you can bomb.

The greens are close to each other, and when the park is crowded, this really slows you down.

On nights when there is a lot of softball or soccer going on, the parking situation is a nightmare. One thing I'd like is for the park to post when there will be major sports events going on so I know not to try and throw that day.

Restrooms are located by the basketball court behind the baseball field next to the practice basket, but these aren't always open. Only other can on site is a Honey Bucket.

A few alternate pin positions, but I'd like more. It's the only way to give this course more variety.
Other Thoughts: Wind... no, seriously. I don't know why, but even on a calm day, it's like a hurricane is blowing through here. If it's breezy where you live, there's a tornado going through Youth Park. Last winter, there were days when I couldn't throw anything but my KC Firebird.

Not a lot of shade, so make sure you've got sunscreen and water.

Most of the locals are pretty friendly and welcoming. The Walgreens just down 70th Avenue has discs, but not a great selection. Worth checking out though if you need to stop and get water.

During the winter, they do glow golf here. That can be pretty fun.

Most holes out here are ace chances, especially #3 and #9. These baskets are in the open.

Careful with the lake... I've seen snakes in there, and they did catch a baby gator in there too (they put a picture on the bulletin board).

Hole notes:

#2 - Tight line. Careful going out over the fence and back in, though. There are no trespassing signs up now, and there are cameras on those warehouses.

#5 - Nice helix line on this hole. I've hit this basket twice with my KC Wraith... it didn't hold it either time!

#7 - Lake hole. The main pin position doesn't give you any room for error.

#14 - Toughest fairway out here. The middle is narrow and you don't have good lines far left or far right.

#17 - Another kind of poke 'n hope hole, but I find a righty anny works well out to the left.

#18 - If Youth Park has a 'signature' hole, this is it. It's the longest hole on the course and the fairway is narrow before it opens up. The ditch down the right fills up with rain and there's always some water in there.

I wouldn't drive forever to play here (like I would to go to Ed Medard), but if you're in the Pinellas Park area, it doesn't take long to play and it's close to US 19, so it's worth the stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 youth park

5+    11/10/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course to go out and boost your ego. any skill set player can enjoy themselves here. can finish in about an hour
Cons: 2 water hazard holes can get the better of most players. for some reason, even on a day with no wind, it always seems to be windy at this park. it is kind os odd.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent Tees and signs
- Beautiful park, and well kept
- Water hazards
- Decent beginner course because it's fairly open, but offers a variety shots
- Easy to walk from hole to next tee making for faster games
Cons: - Some water drainage problems, but hey... just don't go after a heavy rain
- You can lose discs to the water, bring floaters if you got them or skip the water holes
Other Thoughts: Great course. I think it's been underrated here. Not really any pedestrians walking through so you don't have to worry about flying discs much. If you are playing you should know to look for them anyway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Schwampy

1    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: natebohn88
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate course, the tees were placed perfectly to use the trees and water as hazards. They use nearly all possible ground to squeeze in 18 when the park would likely be better suited for a long 9. Great detailed signs on the course. Very light brush, nearly none. If you dont throw into the drink you shouldnt lose a disk at all. Great long teepads. Many garbage cans, and a few sporadic benchs and tables.
Cons: The course appeared to have been attempted to have drainage made but it did little to help, it was entirely flooded, #3(?)'s tee was completely under water in fact, i had to play nearly 15 ft in front of it to not be standing in water. Bug spray was necessary. Most holes were nearly all the same. Lucky I was the only person playing at the time because more people could be dangerous, the greens are right next to each other quite often. It seemed like you kept going back and forth, each hole being 250'ish, then you turn around and throw right back. More shrubbery would be nice. Little to no chance of rollers because of the ditches and standing water in low spots(all over the course)
Other Thoughts: It was particularly difficult to locate this course, the park is poorly labeled and the neighborhood doesnt have any signs. I found it by taking US 19 then east on 67th, the map makes it seem that the course is on 62nd and the entrance is no where near that. It appeared it could be a nicer course when the water levels are lower. It was well maintained and used enough so its not dangerous. Dont go if you dont mind getting your shoes wet, its a bit swampy. Ill return when it hasnt rained in some time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for working on shots

1    2/18/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: IGotDisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Fun little course to work on shots. Locals are nice. Tight narrow fairways with trees in the way make you evaluate your shot. Don't be fooled because the holes are short, you need to think before you throw. Excellent for people learning the game. Aceable holes.
Cons: I felt the holes were close to each other. I would be leery of players shanking one and hitting someone with a disc. I almost did and my disc landed 10 feet from the basket. Every hole was straight except hole one.
Other Thoughts: Fun and quick course if your looking to breeze through. I plan on returning with some friends who haven't aced before to get on the board. Wahoo finally came in handy for my buddy who through one right in the drink.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Starter Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: kanidrive
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all the makings of a well-designed, quality disc golf course. Great quality Chainstar baskets/targets, nice concrete tee-pads, great tee signs complete with full course pictures/graphics and distances, a practice basket, a bulletin board, ample parking, 2 port-a-potty's and a mailbox next to hole one for housing scorecards. A few months ago there was a major problem with the drainage and runoff in the areas of hole 3 through 6, as well as a few others, but ditches were dug out to accommodate the fairways standing water problem after heavy rains somewhat recently, and its made all the difference. C.R. really outdid himself with all the trimmings and a great layout that loops to the parking lot at multiple points during play. Great job!
Cons: The front nine has a few holes that are a little redundant, holes 3, 5, 9 are rather similar in design, though the wind currents are reversed and the pin placement in proximity to foliage makes up for it. Having a large tournament could be trouble with the way the tee-pads are positioned on the back nine, but the course plays very fast so wait times should be limited.
Other Thoughts: I hit my first "Florida Ace" on Hole #5 with a sidearm C.E. Valkyrie strike yesterday during a friendly doubles round with the local guys and some friends. Most of the people I have met that play at this course have been very friendly, laid back, and rather talented disc golfers. This course has the potential to make even a first timer look good and has been a huge confidence booster for those that are just starting out, or coming back to the sport after a hiatus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    5/12/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 86  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newest course in Tampa Bay. You can get in a round solo in about 40 minutes as the tees are very close to the last pin. That makes navigation a breeze.

Parking is convenient and a practice basket is handy.

Water comes into play mainly on 2 holes and is really only a danger if you are wild or are one of those guys here on DGCR who say you can throw 350 but really can't clear 305 of water (Hole 7).

Trees are challenging and force you to use lots of hyzer.

I have never seen this course crowded but the people I have met are nice.

Lake is gator free last I knew and that makes for some peace of mind when retrieving a disc from the water.

Finally installed great drainage. I went last week a day after a big rain and the property was dry. This place used to have standing water for weeks. Fixed!
Cons: It would have been nice if they had made the flow a little more convenient to get from the parking to the practice basket and then to hole 1 rather than having to walk through hole 1 to get to the practice basket.

The property is quite small for 18 holes. That makes for a tight squeeze and could get dangerous if there are a lot of people on the course.

The course can start to feel repetitive as you shoot toward the street and then back toward the park and then back to the street, etc. That is due to the small size of this property.

Would be nice if there were more anny lines.

Plenty of roller potential. They did install drainage that would mess with some rollers now.
Other Thoughts: The lake gets really deep if you get more than 15-20 feet from the bank. If your disc is in that range it is an easy retrieval.

I would have marked this course higher if it wasn't so repetitive, had more shot variety, and had a bit more length. I can't write this without say this course has been a blessing to me because of its location but also because it has forced me to work on my hyzer and has brought down my scores on the other area courses. A great course where you can disc down and work on the basics.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Casual Course in the Heart of Pinellas

1    8/8/2012   5/13/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, signage
Cons: Short, most holes are a straight line.
Other Thoughts: Youth Park DGC is a short, straightforward course well suited for casual players and beginners right in the center of Pinellas County. Set on a sparsely wooded square plot of land with a pond, Youth Park features excellent signage and tee pads, straight ahead shots on all but the first hole, and just enough trees and salt bush to teach you a bit of control.

Hole #1 is the only hole on the course that is not a straight line; the pond on the left and the parking lot on the right require a good anhyzer shot, or you can take an angle away from the water off the tee. After that every hole is straight, and the whole course is strictly par 3 in terms of distance and challenge. Water comes into play on two other holes, including a long carry on hole #7 should you choose to play it that way. Learning to navigate over or around water obstacles is a required skill in this part of the world, so even considering these three water holes, Youth Park is still a good beginner's course. Otherwise, there are enough trees to require accuracy off the tee, particularly on the back nine, though even if your tee shot does ping off of wood, recovery is not too big a challenge. The trees are not thick and undergrowth, unlike some other area courses, is not an issue. The course is somewhat tight in terms of holes being close to each other, but there's enough of a buffer generally that this would be a problem on only the most crowded days.

The advantages of nice tee pads, easy navigation, central location, and being geared toward beginner and casual players will probably ensure that Youth Park gets plenty of play. There are other courses in the county that are both more scenic and more challenging, but even so Youth Park is definitely worth a visit, and is a good place to introduce others to the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Closest to my house so what can I say...I love it

1    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Jake Respondek
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: From what I can tell(I'm a newbie) it is a good course to learn on.
Cons: Would be nice to have a couple longer holes. But with the land available I don't think that's possible.
Other Thoughts: They just dug some drainage ditches so I'm hoping that takes care of the standing water issue.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.