Pinellas Park, FL 
Youth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 276ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 youth park

5+    11/10/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun course to go out and boost your ego. any skill set player can enjoy themselves here. can finish in about an hour
Cons: 2 water hazard holes can get the better of most players. for some reason, even on a day with no wind, it always seems to be windy at this park. it is kind os odd.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent Tees and signs
- Beautiful park, and well kept
- Water hazards
- Decent beginner course because it's fairly open, but offers a variety shots
- Easy to walk from hole to next tee making for faster games
Cons: - Some water drainage problems, but hey... just don't go after a heavy rain
- You can lose discs to the water, bring floaters if you got them or skip the water holes
Other Thoughts: Great course. I think it's been underrated here. Not really any pedestrians walking through so you don't have to worry about flying discs much. If you are playing you should know to look for them anyway.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Schwampy

1    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: natebohn88
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate course, the tees were placed perfectly to use the trees and water as hazards. They use nearly all possible ground to squeeze in 18 when the park would likely be better suited for a long 9. Great detailed signs on the course. Very light brush, nearly none. If you dont throw into the drink you shouldnt lose a disk at all. Great long teepads. Many garbage cans, and a few sporadic benchs and tables.
Cons: The course appeared to have been attempted to have drainage made but it did little to help, it was entirely flooded, #3(?)'s tee was completely under water in fact, i had to play nearly 15 ft in front of it to not be standing in water. Bug spray was necessary. Most holes were nearly all the same. Lucky I was the only person playing at the time because more people could be dangerous, the greens are right next to each other quite often. It seemed like you kept going back and forth, each hole being 250'ish, then you turn around and throw right back. More shrubbery would be nice. Little to no chance of rollers because of the ditches and standing water in low spots(all over the course)
Other Thoughts: It was particularly difficult to locate this course, the park is poorly labeled and the neighborhood doesnt have any signs. I found it by taking US 19 then east on 67th, the map makes it seem that the course is on 62nd and the entrance is no where near that. It appeared it could be a nicer course when the water levels are lower. It was well maintained and used enough so its not dangerous. Dont go if you dont mind getting your shoes wet, its a bit swampy. Ill return when it hasnt rained in some time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for working on shots

1    2/18/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: IGotDisc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Fun little course to work on shots. Locals are nice. Tight narrow fairways with trees in the way make you evaluate your shot. Don't be fooled because the holes are short, you need to think before you throw. Excellent for people learning the game. Aceable holes.
Cons: I felt the holes were close to each other. I would be leery of players shanking one and hitting someone with a disc. I almost did and my disc landed 10 feet from the basket. Every hole was straight except hole one.
Other Thoughts: Fun and quick course if your looking to breeze through. I plan on returning with some friends who haven't aced before to get on the board. Wahoo finally came in handy for my buddy who through one right in the drink.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Starter Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: kanidrive
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all the makings of a well-designed, quality disc golf course. Great quality Chainstar baskets/targets, nice concrete tee-pads, great tee signs complete with full course pictures/graphics and distances, a practice basket, a bulletin board, ample parking, 2 port-a-potty's and a mailbox next to hole one for housing scorecards. A few months ago there was a major problem with the drainage and runoff in the areas of hole 3 through 6, as well as a few others, but ditches were dug out to accommodate the fairways standing water problem after heavy rains somewhat recently, and its made all the difference. C.R. really outdid himself with all the trimmings and a great layout that loops to the parking lot at multiple points during play. Great job!
Cons: The front nine has a few holes that are a little redundant, holes 3, 5, 9 are rather similar in design, though the wind currents are reversed and the pin placement in proximity to foliage makes up for it. Having a large tournament could be trouble with the way the tee-pads are positioned on the back nine, but the course plays very fast so wait times should be limited.
Other Thoughts: I hit my first "Florida Ace" on Hole #5 with a sidearm C.E. Valkyrie strike yesterday during a friendly doubles round with the local guys and some friends. Most of the people I have met that play at this course have been very friendly, laid back, and rather talented disc golfers. This course has the potential to make even a first timer look good and has been a huge confidence booster for those that are just starting out, or coming back to the sport after a hiatus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    5/12/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the newest course in Tampa Bay. You can get in a round solo in about 40 minutes as the tees are very close to the last pin. That makes navigation a breeze.

Parking is convenient and a practice basket is handy.

Water comes into play mainly on 2 holes and is really only a danger if you are wild or are one of those guys here on DGCR who say you can throw 350 but really can't clear 305 of water (Hole 7).

Trees are challenging and force you to use lots of hyzer.

I have never seen this course crowded but the people I have met are nice.

Lake is gator free last I knew and that makes for some peace of mind when retrieving a disc from the water.

Finally installed great drainage. I went last week a day after a big rain and the property was dry. This place used to have standing water for weeks. Fixed!
Cons: It would have been nice if they had made the flow a little more convenient to get from the parking to the practice basket and then to hole 1 rather than having to walk through hole 1 to get to the practice basket.

The property is quite small for 18 holes. That makes for a tight squeeze and could get dangerous if there are a lot of people on the course.

The course can start to feel repetitive as you shoot toward the street and then back toward the park and then back to the street, etc. That is due to the small size of this property.

Would be nice if there were more anny lines.

Plenty of roller potential. They did install drainage that would mess with some rollers now.
Other Thoughts: The lake gets really deep if you get more than 15-20 feet from the bank. If your disc is in that range it is an easy retrieval.

I would have marked this course higher if it wasn't so repetitive, had more shot variety, and had a bit more length. I can't write this without say this course has been a blessing to me because of its location but also because it has forced me to work on my hyzer and has brought down my scores on the other area courses. A great course where you can disc down and work on the basics.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Casual Course in the Heart of Pinellas

1    8/8/2012   5/13/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, signage
Cons: Short, most holes are a straight line.
Other Thoughts: Youth Park DGC is a short, straightforward course well suited for casual players and beginners right in the center of Pinellas County. Set on a sparsely wooded square plot of land with a pond, Youth Park features excellent signage and tee pads, straight ahead shots on all but the first hole, and just enough trees and salt bush to teach you a bit of control.

Hole #1 is the only hole on the course that is not a straight line; the pond on the left and the parking lot on the right require a good anhyzer shot, or you can take an angle away from the water off the tee. After that every hole is straight, and the whole course is strictly par 3 in terms of distance and challenge. Water comes into play on two other holes, including a long carry on hole #7 should you choose to play it that way. Learning to navigate over or around water obstacles is a required skill in this part of the world, so even considering these three water holes, Youth Park is still a good beginner's course. Otherwise, there are enough trees to require accuracy off the tee, particularly on the back nine, though even if your tee shot does ping off of wood, recovery is not too big a challenge. The trees are not thick and undergrowth, unlike some other area courses, is not an issue. The course is somewhat tight in terms of holes being close to each other, but there's enough of a buffer generally that this would be a problem on only the most crowded days.

The advantages of nice tee pads, easy navigation, central location, and being geared toward beginner and casual players will probably ensure that Youth Park gets plenty of play. There are other courses in the county that are both more scenic and more challenging, but even so Youth Park is definitely worth a visit, and is a good place to introduce others to the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Closest to my house so what can I say...I love it

1    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Jake Respondek
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: From what I can tell(I'm a newbie) it is a good course to learn on.
Cons: Would be nice to have a couple longer holes. But with the land available I don't think that's possible.
Other Thoughts: They just dug some drainage ditches so I'm hoping that takes care of the standing water issue.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Youth Swamp

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice course maps and score cards can be printed online, picked up at Clearwater disc golf store, or picked up at hole 1.

- tees are pointlessly long (for those who need a run up for a 250 ft shot)

-Water comes in play on a few holes

- outside of the range of other park activities

- Nice tee signs, pretty easy navigation

-multiple concrete tees, some holes had alternate pins.

- bathroom facilities, a practice basket, and plenty of parking.
Cons: - This course was under 5 inches of water. a group of 4, playing ahead of us, quit at hole 3, my wife also quit at hole 3. It appears the park is already aware of this situation and working on a drainage system, when that system is in place I will add a star to the rating, but currently this course is unplayable if you are not prepared to play in ankle deep water.

- Alot of people were losing their discs in the little pond, supposedly there is a gator in the water, so get your disc at your own risk (I jumped in after my wife's disc with out worry.)

- monotonous,all 18 holes are 250-300ft straight shots with little to no shot variety. No elevation, no dog legs, no long tunnels, and little variety on distance.

- the ants and mosquitos are a problem as they swarm your discs and your legs. Bring bug spray and sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: I thought this would be a good beginner course, but this course is too risky for kids, disc loss would be too high, but the course is too simple for advanced players.

I spent more time and had more fun at the Clearwater disc golf store down the road, if you go to this course without stopping in, you'll be hexed and will miss your next 3 putts.

I drove by the Walgreens by the course and in neon lights is said "WE CARRY DISC GOLF EQUIPMENT", I would never have thought a pharmacy would carry Vibram putters as well as Gateway, Discraft, Innova, and Aerobie discs, This is truely a disc golf loving community with several great courses in the area.

WHEN THE DRAINAGE AREA IS FINISHED I WILL UPDATE THIS TO A 3 STAR COURSE!!!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Youth park is a bad name, more like adolescent park would be better.

1    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Massively long concrete tees. They are smooth, but for some reason they are a good surface. Not very wide however and I would much rather have wider tees than longer tees. Also since the course is nearly flat completely, their likely won't be erosion around the teepads.

2) Nice Baskets and all are in good shape.

3) Nice practice area as designated by the scorecard, including an area fr wider open throws too, sure it may only be 200' long but sometimes a nice warmup on a specific shot is nice.

4) Awesome design and layout of the course. They used the water (but fairly too) on a few holes which is essential with it being there. They also used the southern part of the park very effectively shooting back and forth and in and out of the wooded area on the course. This was awesome and obviously by design because you had trees and such to force your hand.

5) ALternate baskets on 1, 2, 7, 14 would really step those holes up in difficulty, so I like that

6) Scorecards and maps provided at the first tee which is a bonus especially for a newer course where new people will need navigation help and such.

7) Tee sins are very nice and #'d on the back of the sign so you can see which tee it is if you approach from behind. This will help cause traffic issues when busy!

8) Plenty of parking by the building, or apparently it is ok to park out by the course. Also multiple signs are visible along the main road pointing to the course and a sign also saying "Disc golf course" at the building in the parking lot.

9) Course is 100% isolated from other activities and that is an awesome design characteristic. It makes you feel like you are the only thing going on in the park that day.

10) Very well placed baskets incorporating the trees to make you shape your shot. This is key to this course being what it is. With less trees or less thought in design, this course could have very well been horrible and boring,
Cons: 1) Course is an a flat square lot so it can be wet and muddy at times. We played 2 days after a major ran came through and it was wet, but not unnavigable, just a few puddles to avoid but this is the dry season in FL so I can only imagine what the course would look like them. A couple of old school bridges with some blocks and a couple planks would be a nice bonus, drainage would be difficult too because the course is very very flat.

2) Turf is only adequate right now. You can still see the seed rows and in a year or so this won't be an issue when the bermuda spreads and covers all the ground. Until then the course will remain wet longer and be slippery in the thinner turf areas.

3) Forward tees only in a couple spots. I guess there are enough holes out there that playing from the back tee might be oo much especially as a beginner. It was almost that the thought the forward tee was only needed near the water.

4) Course challenge is not ever present there are a couple holes where the disc is simply straight out and easy to reach.

5) For a park called Youth Park I think it might be a little too challenging for the youth. That is why I think it should be called adolescent park, because they might be able to handle the distance. Forward tees would eliminate my feeling in this circumstance.

6) Completely flat . . . I know it is Florida, but there are almost no changes in ground. No hollows or slight rises, just plain flat.

Other Thoughts: I had a good timd despite this course being so much less than Tocobaga. It was fun to play and a lot less challenging but it has a lot of redeeming values in my opinion. This is a great park for the aveage disc golfer . . . challenging enough to be fun, but not frustrating to play. Forward tees would make this course more suited to Youth and I would upgrade the overall courses slightly because of this change.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.