Disc Golf Store
Pinellas Park, FL 
Youth Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Short but sweet

5+    11/15/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great tee pads, excellent signage, quick to play, lots of birdie opportunities, brand new course!
Cons: Short and very open. Gets very wet in the summer, I once walked 4 holes in calf deep water.
Other Thoughts: A great course to learn to play or if you dont have a lot of time for a long round at a bigger park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Small But Mighty

1    9/26/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Ron_Geracci
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course with the small amount of land given. Every hole has a new challenge to it and very fun to play. I think this is a very good course for anyone wanting to have a good time and/or learning DG. The course is also very well maintained the cut the grass weekly (if weather permits). The signage was very easy to read and understand and very appealing and the teepads were the perfect size. Plus, the lake there is well monitored for any gators or moccasins and you allowed to go for a swim and fish for some discs.
Cons: Because of rainy season, the majority of the time I was tromping through a swamp. ALOT of ants here, so be careful, the little buggers are all over the place so wear shoes with socks.
Other Thoughts: As a person who has only been playing DG for a couple days now, this will be a course I hit up alot when the rainy season is gone and passed, it's a short course and a good place to practice, could fit 36 holes in about 3, 4 hours top, easily.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/6/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: plenty of birdie ops. great use of the land provided. a nice break from the tougher courses in the area. good design.(thanks C.R.) signs look great.
Cons: some low areas w/ankle deep water on a couple holes in the front and back nines.
Other Thoughts: being generally a weekend only player, and in my late 40's. I like this course because I find it rewarding, and not so demanding. This means more fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Use of the Land Given

1    8/24/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: dangitboy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I will give credit to C.R. here for being creative with the small amount of land he had to work with. The tee pads are a good size. The course is easy to navigate. The course is not crowded. Port-a-johns on site. Great beginner course!
Cons: The biggest two are:

More than 50% of the holes are flooded and I mean over your ankles. You can play 1 and 2 without getting your feet soaked, but 3-6 and then 8-13 you are constantly trudging through some nasty swamp water. Then 15 and 16 you are wading through more water, no way around it.

The course is extremely short. I mean short. I brought a full bag and used a roc and putter 90% of the time. Some shots get boring and redundant.
Other Thoughts: There are maybe 5 holes that I would say are fun/interesting, but not difficult. All holes are easily reachable if you can throw 250-300. Most holes have little to no technical challenge/wide open. In the dry season (winter) it could be a better play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun 4 All and Still Challenging!!

5+    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the land that is available!! Great flow and awesome teesigns (best signage I have ever seen!! Other courses in the area need to get with the guys at the Rec. Dept. that made them and get some of these sweet signs in at their courses). Large concrete teepads, with brand new Chainstars. Pond comes into play on about 3 holes. Alternate pins on 4 holes and #2 has 2 tees. Practice hole next to Potties/ Ballfield. Scorecards at hole 1 in the mailbox. Plenty of parking. Very high reward for good lines and accuracy. Enjoyed EVERY hole on the course!! They were all different shots and challenges

Trash cans on every 3rd hole. 2 Porta-Potties by hole #1 and the practice hole. Very clean course!!! Just an awesome course and a statement when DG'ers and the city work together (thanks to Patrick Murphy, Pinellas Park Building Dept., for getting a course in here and working with CR so well)
Cons: I don't look for faults, but if I had to, this is my gripe:

Can get flooded on on the backside of the course. I played the course by tromping through it and it didn't really affect my round (this is NOT a con, more a terrain flaw that is only effective in the rainy season/ summer. The course will be dry 8-9 months out of the year). ***UPDATE*** Talked to Pat and he said they had surveyors in to fix the drainage problem. A small, shallow ditch will run from fairway #3 south thru the back field and join the large ditch at that end of the course

Could use 1 of the Porta-Potties on the opposite side of the course. I would prefer a Pro Shop on the course, but FL seems to keep those on the DL.

Completely flat and kinda short (yet still has decent challenges)
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill levels. I have personally seen several kids playing for their 1st time here, so it is getting more youngsters exposed to the sport.
I am thoroughly impressed with the forthought and detail taken into consideration on this course. Great work C.R.!!

Favorite holes:
Front, Hole #7: If you read my reveiws, you know I love throwing over water. This hole provides it with a shot is over the pond the entire time. The long position the hole is only 15 ft from the waters edge. Takes some balls and accuracy. I throw LHBH with a nice S-turn that can sail past the hole and OB or sit down just past the pond
Back, Hole # 12. Trees all over the obvious route, but I throw a mean hook left of the tree and let it fade back right to the hole


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.