Timnath, CO 
Timnath Reservoir DGC Share
Uploaded By: TimnathDiscGolf Hole #8 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Uphill 276 feet



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Forgotten

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Could play a safari round here. If it is windy, that combined with the decent elevation change could make it somewhat interesting. You would certainly have some fast greens with the elevation. If you're like me, you need some form of tee to know where to throw from.
-This course is kind of a vantage point over the area around it. The views east, north and south are alright and when not hazy or foggy, the views to the west are awesome. You can see Long's Peak, Mt Mary Washington, Storm Mountain, and all the other peaks of Rocky Mtn National Park and the Northern Front Range.
Cons: -I couldn't find any tees. They were apparently once made of black gravel.
-There is pretty much nothing else to do at this park other than attempt to play disc golf so I could see some shady characters gathering in the parking lot to do nefarious acts and avoid the long arm of the law. I really don't care what they do but that could intimidate some disc golfers and make them fear for the safety of their vehicles.
-There are literally no trees on the course. Not one. There is no wind-block and no challenge from any obstacle.
-I only counted 7 baskets total. It appears that at least 3 of them have been stolen.
-The grass looks like it could get super long in the summer and fall. It was just starting to come out of hibernation when I played so it was no problem.
Other Thoughts: If this course had a little TLC, it would be ok, probably a 1.5. That is only because there are some hills here. Otherwise they just put out a bunch of baskets in an open field. If the 3 Rivers Disc Golf Club were to take over this course like they have many others in the area, I think we would see a lot of improvement. However, I know that they already do a lot of work and this course might seem like a lost cause to them. They should almost pull the baskets here and sell them to somebody else to put in a course somewhere. The land really isn't suitable for disc golf. I wouldn't recommend coming here unless you are a local looking to get some field work or are a course bagger.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth Even Considering Playing

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape
-Some elevation change
-Wide open space to practice throws
Cons: -Tee-pads are all but non-existent these days. We only found about two or three of the tee-pads. They are very small patches of black gravel on the ground. They used to have very small markers on them. The remaining markers that are still there are very badly faded, so you don't even know what hole number the tee-pad is for even if you manage to find the tee-pad.
-The baskets are basically all placed in a wide open field and the hole number is marked on the inner pole, but not on the top. So you don't even know what basket is the right basket to throw to even if you manage to find a tee-pad.
-There are very few, if any obstacles in the area that the course plays through, so all of the shots get super repetitive and the course is not very exciting.
-The flow of the course doesn't make much sense and navigation is nearly impossible since you can't even find the tee-pads. The map of the course is not informative at all and doesn't help navigate the course.
-The course provides no challenge
-Basket 1 is missing
-This course will get terribly overgrown during the summer making it even more frustrating having to look for your discs.
-No tee-signs
-The tee-pads that are still there are gravel and in terrible shape
Other Thoughts: This course is not worth the stop. If the town of Timnath or some volunteers put some time into laying out actual tee-pads, adding tee-signs and taking care of the course, this land could support a decent course. For now, there are too many other good course options in the Ft. Collins/Windsor area to waste any of your time here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The baskets are in very decent shape and the views of the mountains are spectacular. You are almost always going to be the only person on the course. There is a good reason for this, however.
Cons: There are only 8 baskets (obviously one has been lifted). I can't even find where one was supposed to be. And the tees no longer exist. I searched for a good 20 minutes and could not find any trace of tees or even the tee markers this site claimed to be there. There are a lot of cacti and other stuff you can poke yourself on, and with no clear sense of flow and a map that is beyond bad, its extremely easy to find yourself in them.
Other Thoughts: There is no worse course you can find in the area of Fort Collins. Drive the extra 15 minutes to Heritage, Edora, Windsor, Hughes stadium, or even the hour up to sundance trail. It's well worth the hour drive to avoid this course. 2.5 is an abomination. I'm not rating this course a 0.0 because it deserves a 0, but rather because the average rating needs to be brought down. If the tee pads and signs are placed back and hole 1 re-appears, i would increase the rating to a 1 to 1.5.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play It Before Joe Bob Steals The Rest Of The Baskets

1    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I respectfully would like to disagree with my fellow reviewers here. I see this course as a complete nightmare. There are no signs, almost no tee boxes and I'm pretty sure the # 1 basket has been lifted.

Out here on the lonely praires seems like a perfect opportunity for some 300 lb. redneck driving his 4 x 4 complete with gun rack, with a big chaw of Red Man, drinking straight Crown on the rocks out of a 7-11 Big Gulp cup and listening to Guns & Roses is going come driving out here in the middle of the night and help himself to some baskets.

I also recently read that some Palentoligists were here looking for dinosaur bones and stumbled across what they determined to be .........old tee boxes. Using the latest in Carbon14 dating methods, they determined they were from either the Disco era or 2009. They only found some wooden kindling pieces and after some extensive studying determined that they were onced used by some ancients as .....tee signs!!!!!!!

Amazingly after all this, the remaining baskets are still in pretty good shape. The views are nice.

Cons: Signage, teepads, Basket # 1. Security, Security, and Security.
Other Thoughts: I don't think this course will last. I'm thrilled that the local teens haven't decided to trash the baskets. I'm amazed the baskets have lasted this long. It's kinda of a nice hilly piece of property, makes for some great downhills. Needs some serious help though! Who's going to step up?

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  8 hole course

5+    1/4/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: carpy1179
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. I'm always the only one playing which is pretty cool. I can let my dog run around and get some exercise and take as long as I want because no one else is ever here. The scenery is fantastic, with prairie dogs on the course, geese in the reservoir, and from the top of the hill on the course you can see for miles. The course makes the best of the terrain that is available. The elevation changes are used wisely. Hole 2 and 9 are both blind shots. Hole 3 puts the one tree on the entire course right between the pad and the basket. Great course to get out there and get back into the swing of things if you haven't played for a while.
Cons: If you like wooded courses, this is not your course. Be sure to wear closed toe shoes because there are a lot of cacti that could poke your feet if you're wearing sandals. The wind is often a major factor here. As I mentioned, there's no trees anywhere so the wind just blows and blows. However, having said that, I've actually played here a lot on calm days, so it does happen. Lastly, I was greatly disappointed to discover that hole 1 is missing. It makes me really mad when holes disappear. I have no idea what happened to it, but now this course and Fort Collins High School are both 8 hole courses. What a disappointment.
Other Thoughts: If they replaced hole 1, that would be fantastic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    9/19/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: Cigar34
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this was a fun course, nothing spectacular, but the views and usually playing the course with nobody around is great! Some fun elevation changes, including a shot from the top of a hill straight down. Spread out and a fun quick play, perfect for all skill levels!
Cons: Lots of cactus, burrs, and gopher holes! And in the Summer time snakes if that bothers you!
Other Thoughts: Great course to let loose and throw some plastic! Bring water and a camera, beautiful area!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Rough and Open Prairie - Be Prepared

1    7/1/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coming in at almost 3500' of open terrain, big arms will love this place and the ability to have the room to shape any shot to their liking. Four of the nine holes log in at over 400' and the course finishes on a blind downhill 615' classic bomb shot towards the reservoir.

The biggest pro may be the great elevation shots. I applaud the designers for using the landscape to the best of their ability in incorporating the elevation pin placement. Hole four is almost zen like on a calm summer day with the tee box on the highest point of the course overlooking the Colorado prairie with the Rocky Mountains as the backdrop. Then, the hole drops a good 80' or more to one of the lowest spots on the course. It's a fantastic hole.

The course is well manicured in the designated fairways for being in the middle of nowhere. Someone has a good four-wheel drive tractor that has mowed 20' to 25' fairways for all holes. Granted, you go right or left, you're playing in the prairie grass, but losing a disc would be difficult. Lastly, even though the course is well laid out, first timers should bring a map to aid in navigation.

BEST HOLE/S: #4
Cons: There is one tree. Literally there is one tree that guards #3 pin, but the course makes up for it in the amount of cactus, stickers, and yucca. For better or worse this is truly a western prairie course. I kept thinking that is place would be an amazing place for an ice bowl, because even on the calmest day, you're getting lake effect wind from one side and wind off the mountains from the other. Standing on top of #4 in January probably brings to meaning to the word misery.

While some people enjoy long open straight shots for every hole, I got bored after #4, and was ready to be done after just one round. If you like more wooded or traditional courses, I would suggest heading to Oxbow DGC in Windsor, or simply making your way to Fort Collins and playing Edora Park or Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC.

This is to be expected, and was something I was very used to growing up with fields behind my house, but I forgot how miserable the short grass prairie is for your socks. I must have spent twenty minutes after my round picking out the hundreds of seed barbs from my shoes and socks. Bring an extra pair of socks - you will thank me.

The tee boxes are made from crushed asphalt, they are too short and virtually useless. It feels more natural to tee from the dirt here anyway. Each tee has 5" to 6" tall wooden markers that indicate the hole number. I give them another year the weather will destroy them - they aren't great. They can be easy to miss too, but the mowed grass is best indicator of where you should go, so it's usually not an issue.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: More so than most reviews, please note that all of the pros and cons listed here are based very much on this specific type of course. It's very much an extreme example that people dream about or can't stand. Being the Machismo opposite, I tried to find things to love about here - and I knew I was playing a prairie course, but this is rough and rugged classic east Colorado prairie that I could rather do without. It's simply hard for me to love a course with literally one tree. Having said this, again - some people can't get enough of open landscape, so just come in with the knowledge of what you're about to experience.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Cool new course!!

2-4    11/27/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very peaceful. This course was a lot of fun despite the absence of water and trees. A few short holes for the ol' ace run, and some long bombs to let the big dogs eat. Hole 4 has an impressive drop in elevation, while easily reached it is a pure thrill to watch discs descend upon the pin. The long holes will test any arm and add to the challenge, especially in the wind. Lots of elevation judgments on shots to keep you guessing. Tees and baskets are marked. The course is much more fun than I thought it would be at first sight. There is a port-o-let on site. The scenery on top of the hill is some of the best on the front range. The road leading up and into the reservoir is now paved and so is the parking lot.
Cons: Cactus and sticker grass everywhere. I saw the biggest Garter snake I've ever seen while traversing hole 6. Thankfully we had obtained a map which helped us find our way. No shade except @ the lakeshore, which would be a perfect place for a picnic between rounds.
Other Thoughts: Hours of operation are restricted, but are roughly 7:30 to 7:30. Winter hours are roughly 8-4pm. This would be a great place for a sunset round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.