Waupaca, WI 
Waupaca High School DGC Share
Uploaded By: jeepluvr81 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Super fun wooded nine

1    9/2/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I gave this a 3 because its better than decent/typical. A very challenging wooded 9 holer compared to most. mostly wooded on all holes. Signs with hole # and distance at each tee. Very clean and well thought out. Definately the best School course i've played. Hole # 7 is awesome with really not a bland hole on the course. The carpet teepads seem to be decent. It was dry when i played and i don't know how they'll hold up long term. Nice baskets. A practice basket near #1. Very easy to navigate, good flow. just plain fun and about 15 to 20 minutes to standing rocks with the same designer, and you can tell.
Cons: Not many for a school course. heavily right turning shots. Make sure to drive past the schools 2 entrances about a quarter mile to a lot on left by athletic fields 8-10 with a sign for disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: I played it on my way to standing rocks and had a blast with each. Like i said its the best school 9 hole i've played. very technical and hole #7 is very cool.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very entertaining 9er

1    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
Pros: + Plays in a wooded, hilly area in an area without many courses
+ Fun design
+ Hole 7 is an incredibly unique design
Cons: - Short, very short at times
- Bugs
- Upkeep
Other Thoughts: Easily the best 9 hole I've played and the most fun. Lots of ace run shots to be had, Hole 7 is the signature hole here with a beautiful view from the tee for it. Great pit stop on a trip to standing rocks when in the area

 Waupaca Alpaca

1    8/28/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice kiosk at on the way from the parking lot to #1. Not much info on it, but its always nice to see a board to post disc golf related things to expose the sport to more people.

2) Metal engraved signs with Hole # Distance and a general hole layout.

3) Practice basket with a perfect putt 360 putting game. This is off to the side of #1 and would be a nice place to warm-up or simply practice your putting.

4) Yellow powder coated baskets seemed to be in decent shape and are much easier to see than the Grey Mach baskets in the woods.

5) Directionals were helpful in a few spots helping to navigate the course, even though the course was mostly intuitive in layout.

6) Surprising elevation for a school course and it was used well to create a few different kinds of shots. You might want to bring your pet alpaca to help carry your bag up and down a couple of those hills.

7) Nice variety in hole styles with a couple open in the prairie, a few up and down the elevation changes amongst a moderate wooded area. Then a few holes with more dense woods creating a nice variety of shots needed and hole design.
Cons: 1) Fairways are rough, meaning stumps, rocks, and all sorts of things to trip over.

2) Overgrowth along the sides of many of the fairways so you really want to keep it straight and avoid those areas. I am sure there are some noxious weeds in some of these areas so be careful.

3) Garbage was around in spots on this course but overall it wasn't too terrible.

4) The course could use a little more maintenance, perhaps a workday to clear the branches and the underbrush on a few holes would really clean up this course and improve the overall image of the course.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad school course, I would be happy to play this course every day after school and during gym class. It has a lot of good characteristics and a little more maintenance would do this course a lot of good.

All in all this course was fun to play despite its issues. It is simply overall an average course, but has potential to be a little better than it currently is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of the beter HS courses around

1    8/22/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation used very well; uphill and downhill holes. Though the course is fairly short overall; the uphill shots require some umph as they are fairly steep uphill.
Wooded aspect of course adds valid toughness on all holes. Hole #6 was birdied by all three of us; an is the easiest hole; but you will note that it's an interesting shot. I tomahawked over the top of all the blocking trees.
Outdoor carpet/astroturf tees work well (can't speak to how they will hold up long term).
Tee signs homemade with laminated paper at the moment. All are present at this time; and give good length and hole shape info.
No next tee signs; but paths are surprisingly well worn in, in the direction needed to next hole and we had absolutely no problems with navigation.
Very scenic course. Beautiful piece of land for disc golf. Scale of course in small; but, with that said, this piece of land is wonderful for it's size.
Bright yellow baskets for easy spotting.
Cons: These same bright yellow buckets are a bit of a negative. They tend to spit putts rather than catch them. Buckets are home made (by the high school students?). Chain assembly a bit on the tight side.
Not sure how the outdoor carpet is going to hold up long term.
Signs will need to be permanent at some point. At some time before permanent signs are installed; I can see the laminated paper signs becoming unusable.
Rough hewn, rounded logs (@3" X 3"), at end of tees are visually appealing; but may be considered a footing hazard by some players.
Other Thoughts: Course seemed to be designed by a forehand player and shot balance leans in that direction. This is a relatively new feature I am noticing in course design....i.e. courses that favor forehand play. I am a rhbh player with a good anheizer game; but these new designs favor shots that are forehand related rather than anheizer (if you know what I mean). This, of course, can be considered a pro if you're a forehand player; or want to work on the forehand aspect of your game.
This is one of the more beautiful and well done high school courses (and I've played many), I've ever seen.
As regards directions; King Street, is a right at the first stop light (but, didn't seem to have a street sign present). Then, you need to go farther than you think....past the school proper, to get to the course.
I will come back to play this one again. Great little stop in course on the way across the center of the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NICE LITTLE 9ER

1    8/20/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 631  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice tee pads(they use out door carpeting)
-decent signage that describes the holes(laminated piece of paper showing u the flight path)
-plays entirely in the woods
-tight fairways
-all sorts of variety left turns, right turns, uphill shots and down hill shots
Cons: -course is short with no hole longer than 280 feet but the woods helps make up for it
Other Thoughts: Course walk thru.
1- 240' dog leg right with woods boardering the right side of Fairway
2- 174' uphill shot with lots of trees scatterng the fairway
3- 183' down hill with a 20' high tunnel to shoot thru
4- 264' after 200' it dog legs right at about 45 degree angle also at the turn there are a few trees scattering the fairway....
5- 249' left dog leg tight fairway with heavily wooded rough
6-183 Straight shot with one tree in fairway which creates a 10' high tunnel shot to get to the pin.
7- 275 dog leg left that tees of down hill the first 80 then forces u to shoot back uphill
8- 239 blind shot with a slight dog leg left
9- 209' slight down hill thru a 15' tunnel with a few trees scattering the fairway
1eally enjoyed this course, it was lots of fun and found myself wanting to play another round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course

1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very short and provides a challenge in many ways. The 7th hole hasn't been finished yet but looks like it will be a nice hole. Baskets are excellent
Cons: Bugs and weeds are very annoying. Weeds can make it difficult to get to your disc if it isn't thrown accurately
Other Thoughts: This course is very new. It was just built by the Waupaca High School Students! The course isn't very long but deserves some credit. Stop and play if you're passing by!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.