Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good open course

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good open course in Indianapolis. Good length to holes and some interest to pin positions. Quality tee boxes make for consistent drives.
Cons: Can be repetitive on open holes. Prioritizes big arms over accuracy. Average hole length of 350'.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth trying but feels a lot like other public park courses

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Your Typical Large City Course

1    7/10/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent lengths on a lot of holes. Gives you a chance to really rip some drives
- Pretty good shot selection; I think I found myself throwing more anhyzers than hyzers, which you don't always experience. Looks like a course that would favor left-handed BH throwers
- Teepads are good for gripping
- Good course for rollers. I threw a couple and had very good results due to the short cut grass.
- Trees will pose a challenge to your throws, making you think about your shot. Holes 10 and 16 come into mind for this.
- Nice elevation changes. Hole 4 was probably my favorite just because you get to see the disc soar a little downhill to the basket.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest issue I had with the course. As the description says, YOU WILL NEED A MAP--especially with the lack of signage. Trust me. I thought I'd be okay navigating from tee one, and I quickly had to get my map out. Even with the map, you still find yourself wandering a little bit until you get used to the layout.
- Insufficient signage (see above)
- A lot of shady activity at this park. Not exactly a course I'd want to play in as the sun was going down.
- Course was very crowded with players when I played around 3pm. I'd suggest playing earlier in the day.
- Some holes play close to the road and paths. Watch out for pedestrians and cars on your throws--especially the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad park. Kind of a typical city park in terms of the layout, shots, and amenities. Definitely could use some TLC on signage, "next tee" signs, and other resources. I played this on a road trip across the country and I found its location to be pretty convenient off I-70. Looks like people in Indianapolis have a couple of decent courses to choose from. This one's nothing to scoff at!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Close

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Plenty of chances to stretch your arm.
Cons:
Flow was a bit choppy, re-tracing your steps from basket-5 to tee-6, and a bit of a walk from basket-9 to tee-10.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length of nearly 360', and five holes >=~ 400', this course should appeal to those who really like cutting loose. Holes 5-14, sans #6, are very similar, ranging from 270'-400', playing across relatively flat, grassy fields, with a few, randomly-placed, large hardwoods to miss enroute to the basket. While holes 1-4, 6, and 15-18 could well be described as open, they are more than just grip-n-rip. Numbers 1, 6, and 15 require right-turns of various degrees and distance. Number-2 has you throwing across and open slope to a guarded basket, and number-3 has you throwing up a steep slope. Numbers 4 and 18 are fun downhill-then-across-valley shots to open baskets. Nearly 600' number-16 squeezes you a bit at the midpoint, with a road on the right and woods on the left, needing an up-n-over approach to reach the basket. Number-17 has you throwing across the top of a slope, with the road on the left, and the steep hill on the right ready to whisk your discs away if they get on their edge.

There's definitely a bit of right-turn bias at this course, so you're understable discs of forehand shots will get plenty of work. Technicians would be bored here, but bombers should have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is a nice, 18-hole course with good tee pads, baskets, and adequate signs. There is good parking, a kiosk with a map, and a few trash cans throughout the course (though no real benches for the course itself).

The course has a variety of lengths and shot shapes. It uses the scattered trees and elevation changes well. This is particularly true on holes 4 and 18 which feature beautiful views as you throw down and across a water detention valley. Holes 1, 6, and 15 require some nice anhyzer shots which, if overdone, can result in a visit to the creek valley. Hole 16 from the long tee is a very nice hole, requiring you to navigate around some small trees in a fairway bounded by the road and the woods, then to shoot over a levee to a basket on the edge of a drop-off. Hole 17 is another very interesting hole with the road running the length of the hole on the left and a steep drop-off to the detention valley on the right.

Even with this detention area, the course is rarely wet due to excellent drainage and its presence beside a creek. While this creek runs alongside or behind roughly half the holes, it never really comes into play unless you have a very errant shot. This could be viewed as a pro or a con.

The course has a number of concrete stones set in the ground near certain baskets. These stones have arrows on them pointing to the next hole and are generally found on those holes where the next tee is not obvious.

A number of smaller trees have recently (11/5/10) been planted around the perimeter of the park, but these do not really interfere with the course at all.

A small bonus is the presence of shorter, alternate tees on holes 1, 9, and 16.
Cons: This course definitely requires a map or a local in order to successfully navigate it. It has some serious flow issues, though none that make it not worth playing (and, from a design standpoint, were probably unavoidable, given this particular park). There are long and less-than-obvious walks between holes 4 & 5, 6 & 7, 9 & 10, and 14 & 15. In addition to the lengths of the walks, the ones between 4 & 5 and 6 & 7 basically require you to walk right past a tee you have already played. But again, these flow issues do not really detract significantly from the overall course.

This is a purely presonal preference, but I do not like a monstrously long, anhyzer hole as the first hole of a course. In this regard, it is easy enough to start on hole 5 or 2 (depending on where you park) in order to avoid this starting hole.

From a safety standpoint, the course requires you to throw over walking paths a few times (though I have never seen anyone walking on them, so perhaps it is a moot point).
Other Thoughts: Much has been made about the safety of the park itself. I have never had any difficulty, but I don't usually play there in the late afternoon or evening. And the fact that this needs to be mentioned gives you some idea of the kind of neighborhood that surrounds this park.

I enjoy the course. It challanges me with its length (I am a short-arm) while also giving me some very realistic birdie opportunities. It has good variety and is scenic enough for inner-city Indianapolis. Definitely worth playing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a trip!

2-4    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy course to find. Good distance on most holes so you can let er rip. Doesnt seem to get crowded. Well manicured. course map located on this site made it very easy to navigate. No real disc loosing threats.
Cons: A little to wide open for my taste. I didnt notice trash cans or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: To those who say its in a bad neighborhood obviously havent ever been in a bad neighborhood. The course was fun and quick to play. It's the only course i've played in IN so i dont have much to compare to but It is def an above average course compared to the rest of the country.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Enough

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has many options and the temp. course they sit up at the Checkered Flag Open is pretty good. It has plenty of differant shots and some fun elevations.

The flood plan it plays through can lead to some interesting roll aways if you don't think about your landing. There is a great mixture of holes on this course that makes it a pretty fun course to play.
Cons: Kinda in a Ghetto! I was cussed at just for looking at someone walking by.
Other Thoughts: I would ONLY play this course during the tourney. I wouldn't go out of my way to get there.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 interesting

1    7/12/2006   3/4/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2009
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: nice layout, good distances from the pro tees. the park in general is in good shape, multiple tee pads on some holes etc. Baskets seem to be in great shape.

some holes are wide open and others have trees which help keep it fresh. distances are good as well, not a pitch and putt course by any means.
Cons: navigation problems, I would have had trouble finding my way around if it hadn't been for tournament play. had to continously ask a local how long some holes were because the signs were damaged at the time.
Other Thoughts: I played it during a tournament so it had a different configuration than what it normally did. I didn't notice any problems other than navigation and sign damage. I haven't been back to the course in over 3 years so I should probably get back there and give it a more solid review.

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.