Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 430ft.   5 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is an excellent disc golf course in a mature park near downtown Indy. This is definitely my favorite course I've played thus far in the central Indiana area.
-All shots required
-Nice challenge tee to green....several challenging and intimidating putts where going for it and missing could be costly (such as #16)
-Concrete tee pads are in good condition
-Nice mix of length of holes. No true pro-par 4's or 5's, but several are long and challenging enough to make a par 3 a great score (especially #1 and 16)
-The course had some very memorable holes. One of my favorites was the elevated tee at #18, but there were so many others.
Cons: -Not the easiest course to navigate so bring a map!
-Not in the best part of town but also didn't feel unsafe at any time during the round
-Would be nice to have a few benches around
-Some holes were close to roads and a walking trail so be careful when throwing
-Tee signs are in need of being replaced
Other Thoughts: If you're up for 36 holes, stop by nearby Washington Park (I rated 3.5) first to warmup before coming here to it's more challenging and scenic big brother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

5+    11/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All shots required, RHBH,RHFH,low shots, high shots long turnovers, uphill, downhill.
- Pretty, throw a couple shots over a ravine with elevated tee and elevated basket too. Makes putting TOUGH on those ones though.
-quite a few low ceiling shots, mixed with some wide open shots
Cons: -Park can get crowded on the middle holes (6-10) i've had to skip these before.
- not in the best part of town. I've never felt unsafe, but I also play at good times, Daylight hours the whole time. Play on a weekend, or during the middle of the day is my advice.
- couple of long walks between holes, that aren't the most obvious. Def check out a map beforehand (they have one posted on site)
Other Thoughts: my favorite public course in Indy. I like that I can air it out on some holes, but on others i have to be precise to score well. Has a couple of hard turning right holes including the one over 600' Most courses don't have a huge anny hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent park, really nice walks
-Plenty of chances to air out the disc and also make technical shots
-Nice tee pads and signs, also navigation arrow bricks next to baskets
-Lots of L/Blind Hook shots
Cons: -Sewage creek that runs through park
-some walks between holes are pretty far
-Mostly flat fairways apart from holes on pond bed
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, it was totally empty and most of the park was for that matter. Washington Park had 7-8 groups playing the course at all times on the same day. I'm not sure exactly what this speaks to except maybe preference. If you like long walks and perhaps a picnic, I'd say go Brookside. If you wanna play with newer players or want to play a quick round or just enjoy variety in holes, I'd say go Washington. Hard to go wrong with either of these courses though. Play both in one day and decide yourself..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course. Some long holes and memorable shots.
Cons: Not super well marked. Take a map!!!!
Other Thoughts: George Washington Park is another great course and it's only a few minutes away. Worth driving down and playing both!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Good variety of shot types required (wooded, open, elevation change, etc)
-Long compared to other Indianapolis area courses
Cons: -Difficult to navigate the first time around
-Not located in the best part of town (however I have never had any issues while playing)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course varies from hole to hole. 4 distinct "areas" of the course with 3-5 holes in each area. Offers a lot of variety. Plenty of distance, plenty of different shots and disc selection. The course is pretty challenging. the park itself is really nice.
Cons: Finding ones way around could be pretty difficult. My first time there i was with someone who knew the way, but i dont really know how you'd find your way from 4 to 5, from 9 to 10, and from 14 to 15. this difficulty is the price paid for the different "areas" of the course mentioned above. its easily worth it if you go with someone who knows their way around.
Other Thoughts: a lot of people are saying how bad of a neighborhood this course is in...nothings gonna happen. its really no big deal.

the courses i have played, in order of best to worst (imo):
brookside (this course)
James Dillon park
Northwestway park
Avon
Sahm park


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros are the course itself. Good holes (in spite of kids using them for monkey bars), concrete tees, almost always well mowed when I've played there. Spacious. Even when its kind of crowded, you don't feel on top of other players and parties as the course flows all over the park without crossing fairways even tightly neighboring fairways. Lots of good distance holes to show off your epic drives to your sweetie and enough trees to keep you from just unloading all the time. Interesting holes (3, 4 and 18) with the elevation difference which can penalize an inaccurate drive on 17 as well. Just a fun course to play and I think a great one for beginners and intermediates.
Cons: Cons: That which is not the course. The signs are well worn and not very helpful to any new players. Print out and bring a map, I don't know how someone would find hole 5, 7, 10 or 15 without it as they are not marked or visible from the previous hole. PeeWee Football Practice is often happening in the gully under holes 4 and 18 in the fall. I'd like to see at least one hole that doglegs left on this course. The course needs more trash cans and restrooms (although I'm not sure if the locals could handle them).
Other Thoughts: The "locals" are an issue. But reading reviews where Washington Park gets raves and Brookside gets downgraded shows this can change. A police station was built into Washington and its made a huge difference, a little more police presence at Brookside could eliminate this issue in my opinion. Notable events include a kid trying to run off with my disc, my friends truck being broken into and his radio being stolen out of it, a PeeWee Football player's 300lb Mom not seeing me putt out at 6 and squatting by the bushes on the way to 7 for an interesting "Hey, how ya doin'?" moment with her panties down, a day laborer sleeping it off on the 7th Tee, and of course the oft-mentioned murder. If the locals would embrace the game (or at least respect it), this course would be a couple of easy upgrades away from being outstanding.

**Update** - Additional tee pads added to holes #1, 9, and 16. Sadly, pee-wee football has started up again, meaning holes 4, 17 and 18 can't be played in the evening and unsupervised kids are using baskets as monkeybars. 18 is now pretty bent up.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside

5+    10/20/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, wide variety of shots and elevation changes, its a great course
Cons: it is in a pretty bad part of town, I wouldnt reccomend playing by yourself, one of the tee pads is dirt... other than that its great.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played it, Make sure you do!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park

6/3/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of shots, some very fun elevation changes, minimal chance of losing discs, pretty park and terrain with some very long holes. Few people on weekdays.
Cons: In a rough area, can be difficult to find next tee on certain holes, they require you to walk over a bridge and out by the road. Not too many shots in the woods, but there are many trees around.
Other Thoughts: I like this park a lot, my two favorite holes in Indy are at this park. I love the elevation changes on 3, 4, and 18. Gotta check this park out if you are in Indy. Very fun.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside Park, Indianapolis

5+    9/26/2005   5/26/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very large course, full 18 holes. Nice variety, good layout, nice usage of trees and levee as obstacles.
Cons: Located in rough part of town. Holes 3, 4, and 18 require going onto what is basically a floodplain. Can be very muddy depending on the weather.
Other Thoughts: I lost my disc golf virginity to this course many moons ago and have continued to return for more each and every summer. You shouldn't leave here disapointed (unless you throw your disc into the creek off the first tee and lose it, which I have done and have seen done more than once), 2nd best course in Indy, George Washington Park (less than 5 miles away!) being the best.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.