Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 516ft.   4 / 516ft.   5 / 516ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Corpseside

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: discpicable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of long and short shots. Also a great ratio of open shots to technical ones. The baskets, though more shallow than I'm used to playing, are in great condition. Same for 17 of the pads.
Cons: Can get very soggy after rain. Difficult to navigate. It's in a pretty rough part of town.
Other Thoughts: I always have a fun time here. But if you have a noodle arm (like me) prepare for your score to suffer on this course. My father-in-law got a disc stuck in a tree on 9 and a guy across the street got my attention with his megaphone and told us to use his 12 ft. bamboo pole to knock it out. That made me think better of the neighborhood. But, then again, my mother-in-law was punched in the face and robbed there while she was walking her dog and, a couple of years ago, disc golfers went into the creek looking for a disc and stumbled upon a corpse. Play at your own risk.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation

Awesome 1st hole

Nice distance course

Nice pads

Good balance
Cons: Poor signage

Difficult to navigate

Other Thoughts: This course has more than meets the eye.

I love long courses. This course is long, but still loaded with deuces. One third of the 18 holes are over 350ft. Hole one is 600ft. Nice start!

A lake bed plays into the front and back nine. With this, you get tremendous elevation shots. Hole 4 and 18 both shoot from the upper rim to the lower opposing side, creating awesome finesse, sail shots.

The course has nice diversity of lengths and angles. For the most part, its pretty much an open course. Open, but not plain. There are plenty of trees, just nothing too tight. You will still have to shape some nice lines for par.

You will definitely need a map. Don't hit the course without it...unless you want to wander.

This was a very fun course. All said and done, it has just about everything you look for. I needed most discs in my bag and used multiple releases.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course with lots to offer.

1    1/24/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 59  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The variety of shots that you get at brookside is it's best attribute. it opens with a 600+ footer that favors a forehand throw, and then rolls into a shorter shot that runs into some trees. Couple all of that with some of the most drastic elevation changes that you can have on a course in the midwest, and it makes for a fun day.
- The pads, save for pro pad on 9, were all in good shape.
Cons: - not all of the holes are marked very well, and there is no way to know where the next hole it. Aside from that, this course was fun.
Other Thoughts: Take a local with you!
If I played this course by myself, I would have missed half of the course.
This is a fun course that favors the forehand player, or someone with a bunch of anyhyzer shots in their bag. Loads of fun and lots of variety.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course varies from hole to hole. 4 distinct "areas" of the course with 3-5 holes in each area. Offers a lot of variety. Plenty of distance, plenty of different shots and disc selection. The course is pretty challenging. the park itself is really nice.
Cons: Finding ones way around could be pretty difficult. My first time there i was with someone who knew the way, but i dont really know how you'd find your way from 4 to 5, from 9 to 10, and from 14 to 15. this difficulty is the price paid for the different "areas" of the course mentioned above. its easily worth it if you go with someone who knows their way around.
Other Thoughts: a lot of people are saying how bad of a neighborhood this course is in...nothings gonna happen. its really no big deal.

the courses i have played, in order of best to worst (imo):
brookside (this course)
James Dillon park
Northwestway park
Avon
Sahm park


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course, lots of variety

5+    9/2/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice teepads and baskets
-tons of shot variety for every type of throw
-mature trees and and not so thick rough
-low ceiling shots
-elevation change (3,4,18)
Cons: - lack of trashcans
- signs are old and need updated
- sometimes the other people on the course can be a problem
Other Thoughts: All but a few holes on this course use the same teepad, but the Indy Disc Golf Club should be putting in an actual pad on 9 for the pro pad, as well as an Am pad on hole 1. Hole 16 has both a pro and am pad. This year's Checkered Flag open was a big success with Ams playing on Saturday and Pros on Sunday, big turnout for both divisions.

****Key info for people who have never played this course: After hole 4 (big elevation change downhill, 283 ft) go past the tee for 1 and cross the bridge with the fences on both sides, from their walk up the hill to the right to find the tee for 5. Hole 5 runs down the access road to the left with the parking lot to the right. Hole six is across the access road from the basked on 5, its a big anhyzer shot for RHBH. From the basket on 6 cross the access road again, walk past the tee for 5 and the teepad for 7 is next to the basketball courts. After you bucket hole 9 walk to the left around by the road, then follow the dirt trail along the road to the pad for 10. After hole 14 walk around the bridge on the sidewalk (the road will be to your right) and around the corner to the teepad for 15.

www.indydiscgolf.com

****Pro pad on one has been repoured to make for a longer tee pad. Am pad has been poured on one as well. Pro pad has been poured on hole nine too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros are the course itself. Good holes (in spite of kids using them for monkey bars), concrete tees, almost always well mowed when I've played there. Spacious. Even when its kind of crowded, you don't feel on top of other players and parties as the course flows all over the park without crossing fairways even tightly neighboring fairways. Lots of good distance holes to show off your epic drives to your sweetie and enough trees to keep you from just unloading all the time. Interesting holes (3, 4 and 18) with the elevation difference which can penalize an inaccurate drive on 17 as well. Just a fun course to play and I think a great one for beginners and intermediates.
Cons: Cons: That which is not the course. The signs are well worn and not very helpful to any new players. Print out and bring a map, I don't know how someone would find hole 5, 7, 10 or 15 without it as they are not marked or visible from the previous hole. PeeWee Football Practice is often happening in the gully under holes 4 and 18 in the fall. I'd like to see at least one hole that doglegs left on this course. The course needs more trash cans and restrooms (although I'm not sure if the locals could handle them).
Other Thoughts: The "locals" are an issue. But reading reviews where Washington Park gets raves and Brookside gets downgraded shows this can change. A police station was built into Washington and its made a huge difference, a little more police presence at Brookside could eliminate this issue in my opinion. Notable events include a kid trying to run off with my disc, my friends truck being broken into and his radio being stolen out of it, a PeeWee Football player's 300lb Mom not seeing me putt out at 6 and squatting by the bushes on the way to 7 for an interesting "Hey, how ya doin'?" moment with her panties down, a day laborer sleeping it off on the 7th Tee, and of course the oft-mentioned murder. If the locals would embrace the game (or at least respect it), this course would be a couple of easy upgrades away from being outstanding.

**Update** - Additional tee pads added to holes #1, 9, and 16. Sadly, pee-wee football has started up again, meaning holes 4, 17 and 18 can't be played in the evening and unsupervised kids are using baskets as monkeybars. 18 is now pretty bent up.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a trip!

2-4    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy course to find. Good distance on most holes so you can let er rip. Doesnt seem to get crowded. Well manicured. course map located on this site made it very easy to navigate. No real disc loosing threats.
Cons: A little to wide open for my taste. I didnt notice trash cans or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: To those who say its in a bad neighborhood obviously havent ever been in a bad neighborhood. The course was fun and quick to play. It's the only course i've played in IN so i dont have much to compare to but It is def an above average course compared to the rest of the country.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the Hood

1    7/12/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good distance, great variety, and some really unique shot opportunities make this course a must play for intermediate and up. Good placement of tees and baskets make the sparse mature trees count.
Cons: As everyone has stated this course is in the middle of the hood. I've only played there once but my dad plays a lot in his Indy circuit and has never been bothered before. Aside from that a few holes play through high traffic areas so be careful as you go. One tee was missing and a few signs are gone. With such distance between holes in spots that can be annoying. All in all a good course with few flaws.
Other Thoughts: A few spots to lose a disc so play safe when possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside

2-4    6/4/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice elevation changes
-Good variety of distances
-Scenic area
Cons: -Sometimes have to deal with waist-high grass in the lake bed
-Not the greatest part of town
-Easy to lose your disc on a few of the holes (especially hole 1)
-Several of the holes (1, 6, and 15 come to mind) really favor lefties. This isn't a con per se, but it definitely punishes people who like to throw RHBH.
Other Thoughts: I really wish the designers had made more use of the elevation changes provided by the lake bed. It only comes into play on a few of the holes (3, 4, 18, and possibly 17). Hole 10 is long and fairly easy to birdie...just be careful not to land your disc up in one of the short trees. Those things are prickly. I ripped the skin off my arms climbing up to retrieve my driver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice long course

2-4    4/10/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot more holes with good length than any others in the area. It's nice to be able to have the chance to rip it a few times on a course, especially when these longer holes are not all wide open. Brookside offers a nice mix of some open holes across a flood plain and holes through scattered mature trees. The course also calls for a nice mix of shot selections, with lots of holes that turn both ways, and some straight ones mixed in.

The few holes that play in the part of the park with elevation changes do a nice job of making use of this elevation. I really enjoy the shots from one side of the flood plain to the other, both up and down.

The majority of the tees are nice concrete pads that seemed large enough, and were in good shape. The couple tees that were not concrete were at least level and clearly defined. Most of the signs were also intact, and had distance and par for the hole.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the navigation issues. There are three places where the next tee is not at all obvious, and requires a fairly long walk. As some previous reviewers stated, these walks would not be bad at all if they were clearly marked and easy to follow. There were also some signs that were missing, and this was in a part of the course that had obviously been changed at some point, leaving some confusion in the layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will test many different parts of your game, and makes for overall an enjoyable round. I would agree with the other players who have said that this and nearby George Washington Park make a great pair, and between them you will really feel like you've used almost all your different shots.

The course is not in the nicest part of town, but neither I nor anyone I know has had any issues playing here, and all the people I've met on the course (including many non dg players) have been friendly.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.