Indianapolis, IN
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 309ft.   3 / 309ft.   4 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great aged course

5+    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 63  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Mach 3 baskets that catch great.

Concrete Tees: Every hole except for 9 has a concrete throw pad (hole 9 was moved a few years ago). Hole 1 and 16 have shorter alternate tees.

Solid intermediate course. Challenging for beginners but easy to save par for experienced players.

Elevation: part of the course plays along and over a levee that doubles as a large sledding hill in the winter. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 15, 16, 17, and 18 have some form of elevation. Holes 3, 4, 17, and 18 have major elevation.

Water hazards: Many holes have water hazards if you overthrow or or throw a wild disc. Water is not a factor on this course. These holes are 7, 10, 12, 14, and 15. Keep it away from trees and you should be fine.

Variety: Long open holes, hilly bomb throws (4 and 18), many mature trees that will make or break your day, hyzers, anhyzers, and a few blind shots (6, 15, 16). Not many repetitive holes (see cons).

Benches and trash cans on site. Benches near parking lot, hole 5 and hole 7. Trash cans near start of course and hole 7.

Room to expand: a ton of open space to expand course. During tournaments here, this land is used for additional holes.

Decent hand drawn signs that list par, distance, and picture of hole.
Cons: Only 1 hole per tee (with exception of 1 and 16). Alternate tees would greatly improve this course on many holes regardless if they are similar difficulty or a different difficulty. It would add variety. Hole 9 needs a concrete pad.

Signs need updated. Newer signs would make this course more visually appealing. Old ones are starting to fade. Course also needs a map at the start, and next hole signs/arrows.

Not in nicest part of town.

Navigation can be tricky for new players. After hole 4, cross bridge next to hole 1 tee, hole 5 is to the right. After hole 6, walk past tee for hole 6 to 7 tee. After hole 9, walk along the road until you get to hole 10 tee. It's about a 2 minute walk. After hole 14, either walk to bridge and backtrack half of hole 15 to tee or cross creek at the road. Next hole arrows would greatly help new players.

Holes 11-14 are all repetitive and feel like the same hole plus or minus a few trees. It doesn't take away from the rating of the course but in the summer, there is not much shade. These holes could use some new trees to make it more difficulty and less repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I equally like this course and nearby Washington. This course is much more challenging and hilly. The levee is my favorite part of the course. This is one of the courses that I play every year. Haven't had a bad experience here. Course is a great compliment to Washington Park.

Additional tees, new signs, a few new trees on holes 11-14, and a course map would greatly improve this course. I would definitely recommend it to anybody in Indy or anybody visiting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Caution: low ceilings!

2-4    6/29/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 150  Reviewed: 121  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessible at the 'crossroads of America', Brookside Park has a sprawling and challenging disc golf course that uses the distances, elevations and turns of this somewhat urban park to very nice effect. With holes ranging from 217 to 601 feet, the shorter holes are usually still challenging because of the low ceilings created by the wonderful, mature park trees. Only four of the holes risk those dreaded disc searches if you pull too tightly into the rough: most of the holes are out in the open, but have lines shaped by the woody obstacles you've got to work around, or sometimes across a steep sided basin.

Generous concrete tees at each hole (and short tees on holes 1, 9 & 16) are joined by adequate, if aging, signage showing distances, as well as some of the obstacles, and decent (again, if aging) DGA baskets. There are arrowed bricks at the baskets where needed indicating the direction you'll need to walk to the next tee (but you'll still want a map and/or a guide your first time here).

The course opens out with a humongous right-bending hole where the 300 foot driver needs to try to get to the large tree by the short tee. Monster arms can find a line around much deeper, but a deuce here would be amazing. The second hole is back to the left, and in the trees just sort of the pathway stairs, followed by an uphill hole 3 with one tree forcing a hyzer or an anny line. The fourth is an ace run downhill back to the parking lot, followed by a trek through the tunnel bridge over the creek to the 5th tee up to your right. You come back toward the bridge on a cool uphill anny (rhbh) hole #6, where you do NOT want to crank it too tight to the right and risk dropping off the edge of the earth in the woods!

From hole 6, cross past the 5th tee again to play 7, 8 & 9, which range from low ceilings to open field shot, and back to the corner (don't confuse baskets 7 & 9, both of which can be seen from their approaches). Then you hike along the road to the straightforward hyzer drive on hole 10, and the next four traditional park-like baskets. Once more around the road to another anny on 15, but this time downhill. You still want to avoid going too tight to the right, as there is a bridge and a steep-cliffed creek down in the woods here.

Hole 16 is memorable from the long tee: drive to or just past the short tee for a look at the ridge and the trees that guard the (blind) basket beneath a beautiful, huge tree, and just before the drop into the basin beyond. Then try to keep your drive on 17 from rolling down the hill, and finish with a downhill 342 footer on 18, back to the parking lot and shelter.
Cons: If anything needs updating at this park first, it would be newer signs and next tee indicators. Then, a decent bathroom and benches would be helpful. The flow of the design is a little awkward, having to cross past the 5th tee to get to #7, and the walks after holes 10 & 14 are right up against the roadway. Finally, the neighborhood kids that use the basketball courts have a tendency to pick up your discs as if they own them (even in the middle of a tournament with over 80 players on the course), so I'm not entirely sure I'd be comfortable playing alone here (at least on holes 7-9), because I'm not a runner, and can't afford to lose my drivers.
Other Thoughts: The park is large enough for 3 to 6 really nice temp holes used in tournament play, and I know those who enjoyed the 24th annual Checkered Flag Open agree: we can all overcome a rain delay if we yell loudly enough, and long enough, "I Wanna Play!!!"

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good open course

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good open course in Indianapolis. Good length to holes and some interest to pin positions. Quality tee boxes make for consistent drives.
Cons: Can be repetitive on open holes. Prioritizes big arms over accuracy. Average hole length of 350'.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth trying but feels a lot like other public park courses

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long Way Around

5+    5/27/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside Park is a very fun and challenging course! Its located only 5-10 minutes from downtown Indy. There are a lot of great reviews written on Brookside so I'll reiterate the key pro's and con's in my opinion.

*Long challenging holes, but with the addition of a few alternate tee pads (1,9,16) the course sets up nicely for intermediate & adv/pro level players.
*A decent variety of shots, especially in the beginning and end of the course.
*Fun elevation changes on the holes located around the large water detention area. ( its almost always dry with cut grass)
*very nice park,lots of space with mature trees and usually well maintained.
*concrete pads are in good shape
*most holes have clear routes which reward good tee shots, but there is also some level of creativity and risk reward as well
Cons: *overall decent baskets, but they are old and not the most reliable
*signs are out of date
*navigating the course can be tricky at first, and there is a long walk between more than one hole
*wind can be a major factor in the large open areas (added wind challenge can be a plus or minus)
*some sections of woods have thick undergrowth and steep slopes
*use caution when sports teams are practicing or people are walking in the open areas
*holes 11-14 are pretty redundant with moderate length and mostly straight ahead shots
Other Thoughts: Definitely a Brookside fan! Its a old course that continues to play well year after year. Its in need of some updates, but a course you should play in Indy.

A lot of people compare Washington Park and Brookside... since they are only 5 minutes apart... and I rated both courses at 3.5, but for slightly different reasons. I find myself having a bit more fun at Washington because of the variety of shots, course layout,ace opportunities and disc golf atmosphere. On the contrary, Brookside for the lengthy challenge, the park itself is very pretty and spacious, and the course isn't as crowded.

Cant go wrong.. PLAY THEM BOTH!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is an excellent disc golf course in a mature park near downtown Indy. This is definitely my favorite course I've played thus far in the central Indiana area.
-All shots required
-Nice challenge tee to green....several challenging and intimidating putts where going for it and missing could be costly (such as #16)
-Concrete tee pads are in good condition
-Nice mix of length of holes. No true pro-par 4's or 5's, but several are long and challenging enough to make a par 3 a great score (especially #1 and 16)
-The course had some very memorable holes. One of my favorites was the elevated tee at #18, but there were so many others.
Cons: -Not the easiest course to navigate so bring a map!
-Not in the best part of town but also didn't feel unsafe at any time during the round
-Would be nice to have a few benches around
-Some holes were close to roads and a walking trail so be careful when throwing
-Tee signs are in need of being replaced
Other Thoughts: If you're up for 36 holes, stop by nearby Washington Park (I rated 3.5) first to warmup before coming here to it's more challenging and scenic big brother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

5+    11/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All shots required, RHBH,RHFH,low shots, high shots long turnovers, uphill, downhill.
- Pretty, throw a couple shots over a ravine with elevated tee and elevated basket too. Makes putting TOUGH on those ones though.
-quite a few low ceiling shots, mixed with some wide open shots
Cons: -Park can get crowded on the middle holes (6-10) i've had to skip these before.
- not in the best part of town. I've never felt unsafe, but I also play at good times, Daylight hours the whole time. Play on a weekend, or during the middle of the day is my advice.
- couple of long walks between holes, that aren't the most obvious. Def check out a map beforehand (they have one posted on site)
Other Thoughts: my favorite public course in Indy. I like that I can air it out on some holes, but on others i have to be precise to score well. Has a couple of hard turning right holes including the one over 600' Most courses don't have a huge anny hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Tale of Two Halves

5+    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: burdphil
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The "front side" of the course (see my Other Thoughts below for details).
-The most challenging course in Indy.
-Great use of the unique landscape.
-Requires a solid range of different shots.
-Not a lot of other park traffic to contend with for the most part.
-Good concrete teepads for both pro and am tees.
-An older course that has some character.
Cons: -Signage stinks.
-Some of the baskets could use updating.
-Navigation can be difficult. The last time I played there a new player came up to us on hole 15 trying to figure out where hole 10 was. We had trouble just trying to explain to him how to get there.
-Definitely not in the best part of town.
-No available restrooms/benches/amenities of any kind.
-Don't go in the creek.
Other Thoughts: Brookside is really divided into two separate parts which I will refer to as the "front side" and the "back side." The front side basically consists of holes 1 through 4 and holes 15 through 18, while the back side has holes 5 through 14.

The front side of Brookside is great. These holes largely incorporate a massive rain basin (don't worry, it's almost always dry) that creates some very sharp and interesting elevation changes. Holes 1 and 16 are very long and difficult, legit par 4s for an am like myself, and even the pros in the league I play in often struggle to get these in 3. The other holes on the front side are much easier, but are equally different and entertaining.

The back side of the course is much less interesting. It's your basic, straight-forward dg course with some variety in length and a bunch of trees that you have to throw under and around, but nothing too special. You essentially just grind your way through it so you can get back to the fun holes on the front side of the course.

Overall I would give the front side of Brookside a 4 and the back side a 2.5, which I'll average out to a 3.5. It's the toughest course in Indy (which may not be saying much) and definitely one you don't want to miss if you're visiting the city and looking for a place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    11/25/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a fairly large park that has some other activities present, but the disc golf is pretty well separated. There are a few spots close to some basketball courts, and some busy roads, but there shouldn't be much interference.
- The majority of the holes here are on flat ground, with lots of trees or forest to force some different lines. It kicks off in a big way with a 600' dogleg right around a dense forest. Most other holes have lots of mature trees to contend with, some of which are pretty low and take away a lot of options. Overall, a straight shot or hyzer can get the job done on most of these.
- Other holes are more open, but have noticeable elevation changes to contend with. #3 is up the side of a hill, and #4 and #18 come back down in a big way. #6 is an uphill RHBH anny, while #15 is a significant downhill RHBH anny shot. These are both interesting holes that make good use of the trees and hills. #2 and #17 have sloping greens playing on the hill as well.
- Some baskets are pretty well protected by trees, and others have sloping greens that can punish a bad putt or approach shot. Drive or upshot placement is vital to leave a good look at the basket, while avoiding the risk of a miss turning into a very bad miss.
- Excellent variety in hole length, lots of different shots because of it. Two holes over 400', another at 570', and one more at 600' for the big arms. A few shorties as well, which are legit ace runs with a backboard both up and down the hill. Good mix in between these too. Holes #1 and #16 are both solid par 4's, with one a 90 degree turn around the woods, and other up a sloping fairway, over a hill, and finishing near some trees with a sloping green.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signs. Navigation is pretty tricky without the map, definitely check it out beforehand.
Cons: - A good variety in holes overall, but there are many that feel very similar. The flat section of the park uses the trees to make things interesting, but they are all straightforward and don't require much thought. Distance and very basic line shaping are the only key.
- The roads that border the course make for some interesting OB at times, but overall it is an eyesore and a distraction. At least the course is well spread out anyway. Some long walks in between holes as well, including next to a busy road.
- When I was there it smelled pretty bad in some places. The warning signs for raw sewage in the water are definitely believeable.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that rewards players with bigger arms. Lots of deuce chances here; especially for players that have accurate distance. A decent amount of fun shots as well, thanks to the different elevation changes that are well used. Overall it is pretty open, though, and doesn't place too much emphasis on accuracy. More experienced players will probably cruise through, but should enjoy it. Everyone else should find it a bit challenging.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 41  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent park, really nice walks
-Plenty of chances to air out the disc and also make technical shots
-Nice tee pads and signs, also navigation arrow bricks next to baskets
-Lots of L/Blind Hook shots
Cons: -Sewage creek that runs through park
-some walks between holes are pretty far
-Mostly flat fairways apart from holes on pond bed
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, it was totally empty and most of the park was for that matter. Washington Park had 7-8 groups playing the course at all times on the same day. I'm not sure exactly what this speaks to except maybe preference. If you like long walks and perhaps a picnic, I'd say go Brookside. If you wanna play with newer players or want to play a quick round or just enjoy variety in holes, I'd say go Washington. Hard to go wrong with either of these courses though. Play both in one day and decide yourself..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Your Typical Large City Course

1    7/10/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent lengths on a lot of holes. Gives you a chance to really rip some drives
- Pretty good shot selection; I think I found myself throwing more anhyzers than hyzers, which you don't always experience. Looks like a course that would favor left-handed BH throwers
- Teepads are good for gripping
- Good course for rollers. I threw a couple and had very good results due to the short cut grass.
- Trees will pose a challenge to your throws, making you think about your shot. Holes 10 and 16 come into mind for this.
- Nice elevation changes. Hole 4 was probably my favorite just because you get to see the disc soar a little downhill to the basket.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest issue I had with the course. As the description says, YOU WILL NEED A MAP--especially with the lack of signage. Trust me. I thought I'd be okay navigating from tee one, and I quickly had to get my map out. Even with the map, you still find yourself wandering a little bit until you get used to the layout.
- Insufficient signage (see above)
- A lot of shady activity at this park. Not exactly a course I'd want to play in as the sun was going down.
- Course was very crowded with players when I played around 3pm. I'd suggest playing earlier in the day.
- Some holes play close to the road and paths. Watch out for pedestrians and cars on your throws--especially the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad park. Kind of a typical city park in terms of the layout, shots, and amenities. Definitely could use some TLC on signage, "next tee" signs, and other resources. I played this on a road trip across the country and I found its location to be pretty convenient off I-70. Looks like people in Indianapolis have a couple of decent courses to choose from. This one's nothing to scoff at!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.