Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 318ft.   4 / 601ft.   5 / 601ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Interesting Older Course In An Interesting Older Neighborhood!

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside Park in downtown Indianapolis is a large city park that has probably seen and experienced much during it's lengthy life. The disc golf course features some really interesting throws, including a couple of fun throws over the large ravine where the course begins and finishes. There are also some challenging tunnel shots along the way.

There is a large kiosk at be beginning. The concrete tee pads are very adequate. Both the tee signs and the baskets with the big red # are starting to show their age.

The course opens with a very challenging hole. # 1 is a 602' behemoth that requires an anhyser around the long, right turning fairway. Miss right and you're into some serious and thick rough.

# 4 is one of huge enjoyable downhill throws over the opening ravine. # 18 finishes with another cross the ravine to an open basket 342' across and sitting an open area.

I agree with reviewer burdphil who wrote of Brookside kind of being two seperate courses, basically 1-4 and then 15-18 being the front side and the middle holes 5-14 being the back side of the course. I, to, found those holes on the front side as being far more interesting. Those middle holes had more of of a typical city park course feel to them with back and forth holes including a couple interest sting low tunnel shots.
Cons: The baskets and signs are in need of upgrading.

Middle holes are fairly mundane feeling.

Sketchy neighborhood.

Navigation is a little tricky.

Other Thoughts: Playing alone, I was a little nervous. As I was traveling, my car was filled with my belongings. Once I crossed the bridge to get to the backside, I didn't feel real comfortable until I got back to where it was visible again.

I also ran into a dude and this skanky looking girl at the # 7 tee box, by the tennis courts. I'm fairly certain that my showing up at # 7 unannounced, postponed what he was just about to get. Then he asked me for a light. Sorry, Dude, I don't smoke!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brookside

1    6/8/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: ajluty
Played: 84  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course seems to be well maintained. They were actually mowing the fairways and cutting branches while we were there.

I played on a week day, but only encountered two other players. Park was pretty quiet so didn't have to worry about hitting any other park goers.
Cons: Some holes are spread out, which requires a lot of walking between holes. Definitely need a map to navigate because there is no signage to direct you. A few of the holes are right next to each other which could cause problems for errant drives.

There were some alternate tee pads, but some were not marked. Other that were marked appeared to have incorrect distances.

Maybe we missed it, but we had a hard time figuring out where to park and start. Decided to start on hole 7 and finish with 6.

On most courses when they are mowing they will move to another location and let you play through. That was not the case here. We repeatedly had to wait for the mower to drive through the holes. At one point he came inches away from running over our discs by the basket. Must have just been a dumb worker.
Other Thoughts: I would consider this an OK course for the average player. A good mix of longer and shorter holes. Most shots are either lightly wooded or not at all. Some elevation changes playing over levee, but mostly flat holes. Tee pads and baskets were adequate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Challenge

1    5/18/2016   5/19/2016
Review By: conkygotshot
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For city park in a very flat Indianapolis, there is a fair amount of elevation change
Some heavily wooded holes mixed with open bombers
Concrete tee pads are in good shape
Lots of interesting and memorable holes
Huge old growth trees
Generally well kept
Hole 4 is really fun ace opportunity from an elevated tee over a valley to a basket.
15-18 a fun final four
Cons: Take someone who knows the course with you if you can or print off the map on here as navigation between holes can get a little confusing
A couple of the tee markers seem like they have the wrong distance
8-14 stretch is a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: I have played probably 20-25 rounds in my first year of disc golf. This course is very fun but would be much more fun if I had more experience and could throw further. Not a lot of birdie opportunities for a noodle arm, as it probably should be.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/10/2016   5/11/2016
Review By: Harvard
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads. Great use of land. Wide array of shots. Tee signs updated except for a few... Baskets were moved and the distances are off on hole 5, 12, & 16. Correct distances are on here. This course allows you to open up and throw some big drives. Also has some cool use of elevation on some holes. You have to be on your game to score well here. Have to take advantage of the deuce opportunities. Over all a very fun and challenging course. Great course for advance and up.
Cons: With out a course map it's hard to follow. After hole 4 cross the bridge close to were you teed off by hole 1. After 5 follow the side of the road you are on to 6's tee. You will be walking back towards 5's tee but on the other side of the road. After 6 cross the road again, and head towards th basketball courts. After hole 9 walk towards the road and take a right. Follow it around to 10's tee pad. Do not take the small access road you will pass on your right. After 14 walk towards the road. Follow the sidewalk around and take it to 15's tee.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall. We are working on making it a 27 hole course. Check out indydiscgolf.com for league and tourney info.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great aged course

5+    12/23/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Mach 3 baskets that catch great.

Concrete Tees: Every hole except for 9 has a concrete throw pad (hole 9 was moved a few years ago). Hole 1 and 16 have shorter alternate tees.

Solid intermediate course. Challenging for beginners but easy to save par for experienced players.

Elevation: part of the course plays along and over a levee that doubles as a large sledding hill in the winter. Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 15, 16, 17, and 18 have some form of elevation. Holes 3, 4, 17, and 18 have major elevation.

Water hazards: Many holes have water hazards if you overthrow or or throw a wild disc. Water is not a factor on this course. These holes are 7, 10, 12, 14, and 15. Keep it away from trees and you should be fine.

Variety: Long open holes, hilly bomb throws (4 and 18), many mature trees that will make or break your day, hyzers, anhyzers, and a few blind shots (6, 15, 16). Not many repetitive holes (see cons).

Benches and trash cans on site. Benches near parking lot, hole 5 and hole 7. Trash cans near start of course and hole 7.

Room to expand: a ton of open space to expand course. During tournaments here, this land is used for additional holes.

Decent hand drawn signs that list par, distance, and picture of hole.
Cons: Only 1 tee per hole (with exception of 1, 9, and 16). Alternate tees would greatly improve this course on many holes regardless if they are similar difficulty or a different difficulty. It would add variety.

Signs need updated. Newer signs would make this course more visually appealing. Old ones are starting to fade. Course also needs a map at the start, and next hole signs/arrows.

Not in nicest part of town.

Navigation can be tricky for new players. After hole 4, cross bridge next to hole 1 tee, hole 5 is to the right. After hole 6, walk past tee for hole 5 to 7 tee. After hole 9, walk along the road until you get to hole 10 tee. It's about a 2 minute walk. After hole 14, either walk to bridge and backtrack half of hole 15 to tee or cross creek at the road. Next hole arrows would greatly help new players.

Holes 11-14 are all repetitive and feel like the same hole plus or minus a few trees. It doesn't take away from the rating of the course but in the summer, there is not much shade. These holes could use some new trees to make it more difficulty and less repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I equally like this course and nearby Washington. This course is much more challenging and hilly. The levee is my favorite part of the course. This is one of the courses that I play every year. Haven't had a bad experience here. Course is a great compliment to Washington Park.

Additional tees, new signs, a few new trees on holes 11-14, and a course map would greatly improve this course. I would definitely recommend it to anybody in Indy or anybody visiting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Caution: low ceilings!

2-4    6/29/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 283  Reviewed: 268  Exp: 5.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easily accessible at the 'crossroads of America', Brookside Park has a sprawling and challenging disc golf course that uses the distances, elevations and turns of this somewhat urban park to very nice effect. With holes ranging from 217 to 601 feet, the shorter holes are usually still challenging because of the low ceilings created by the wonderful, mature park trees. Only four of the holes risk those dreaded disc searches if you pull too tightly into the rough: most of the holes are out in the open, but have lines shaped by the woody obstacles you've got to work around, or sometimes across a steep sided basin.

Generous concrete tees at each hole (and short tees on holes 1, 9 & 16) are joined by adequate, if aging, signage showing distances, as well as some of the obstacles, and decent (again, if aging) DGA baskets. There are arrowed bricks at the baskets where needed indicating the direction you'll need to walk to the next tee (but you'll still want a map and/or a guide your first time here).

The course opens out with a humongous right-bending hole where the 300 foot driver needs to try to get to the large tree by the short tee. Monster arms can find a line around much deeper, but a deuce here would be amazing. The second hole is back to the left, and in the trees just sort of the pathway stairs, followed by an uphill hole 3 with one tree forcing a hyzer or an anny line. The fourth is an ace run downhill back to the parking lot, followed by a trek through the tunnel bridge over the creek to the 5th tee up to your right. You come back toward the bridge on a cool uphill anny (rhbh) hole #6, where you do NOT want to crank it too tight to the right and risk dropping off the edge of the earth in the woods!

From hole 6, cross past the 5th tee again to play 7, 8 & 9, which range from low ceilings to open field shot, and back to the corner (don't confuse baskets 7 & 9, both of which can be seen from their approaches). Then you hike along the road to the straightforward hyzer drive on hole 10, and the next four traditional park-like baskets. Once more around the road to another anny on 15, but this time downhill. You still want to avoid going too tight to the right, as there is a bridge and a steep-cliffed creek down in the woods here.

Hole 16 is memorable from the long tee: drive to or just past the short tee for a look at the ridge and the trees that guard the (blind) basket beneath a beautiful, huge tree, and just before the drop into the basin beyond. Then try to keep your drive on 17 from rolling down the hill, and finish with a downhill 342 footer on 18, back to the parking lot and shelter.
Cons: If anything needs updating at this park first, it would be newer signs and next tee indicators. Then, a decent bathroom and benches would be helpful. The flow of the design is a little awkward, having to cross past the 5th tee to get to #7, and the walks after holes 10 & 14 are right up against the roadway. Finally, the neighborhood kids that use the basketball courts have a tendency to pick up your discs as if they own them (even in the middle of a tournament with over 80 players on the course), so I'm not entirely sure I'd be comfortable playing alone here (at least on holes 7-9), because I'm not a runner, and can't afford to lose my drivers.
Other Thoughts: The park is large enough for 3 to 6 really nice temp holes used in tournament play, and I know those who enjoyed the 24th annual Checkered Flag Open agree: we can all overcome a rain delay if we yell loudly enough, and long enough, "I Wanna Play!!!"

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good open course

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good open course in Indianapolis. Good length to holes and some interest to pin positions. Quality tee boxes make for consistent drives.
Cons: Can be repetitive on open holes. Prioritizes big arms over accuracy. Average hole length of 350'.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth trying but feels a lot like other public park courses

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long Way Around

5+    5/27/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: spcrosbie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside Park is a very fun and challenging course! Its located only 5-10 minutes from downtown Indy. There are a lot of great reviews written on Brookside so I'll reiterate the key pro's and con's in my opinion.

*Long challenging holes, but with the addition of a few alternate tee pads (1,9,16) the course sets up nicely for intermediate & adv/pro level players.
*A decent variety of shots, especially in the beginning and end of the course.
*Fun elevation changes on the holes located around the large water detention area. ( its almost always dry with cut grass)
*very nice park,lots of space with mature trees and usually well maintained.
*concrete pads are in good shape
*most holes have clear routes which reward good tee shots, but there is also some level of creativity and risk reward as well
Cons: *overall decent baskets, but they are old and not the most reliable
*signs are out of date
*navigating the course can be tricky at first, and there is a long walk between more than one hole
*wind can be a major factor in the large open areas (added wind challenge can be a plus or minus)
*some sections of woods have thick undergrowth and steep slopes
*use caution when sports teams are practicing or people are walking in the open areas
*holes 11-14 are pretty redundant with moderate length and mostly straight ahead shots
Other Thoughts: Definitely a Brookside fan! Its a old course that continues to play well year after year. Its in need of some updates, but a course you should play in Indy.

A lot of people compare Washington Park and Brookside... since they are only 5 minutes apart... and I rated both courses at 3.5, but for slightly different reasons. I find myself having a bit more fun at Washington because of the variety of shots, course layout,ace opportunities and disc golf atmosphere. On the contrary, Brookside for the lengthy challenge, the park itself is very pretty and spacious, and the course isn't as crowded.

Cant go wrong.. PLAY THEM BOTH!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: lukejones
Played: 65  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is an excellent disc golf course in a mature park near downtown Indy. This is definitely my favorite course I've played thus far in the central Indiana area.
-All shots required
-Nice challenge tee to green....several challenging and intimidating putts where going for it and missing could be costly (such as #16)
-Concrete tee pads are in good condition
-Nice mix of length of holes. No true pro-par 4's or 5's, but several are long and challenging enough to make a par 3 a great score (especially #1 and 16)
-The course had some very memorable holes. One of my favorites was the elevated tee at #18, but there were so many others.
Cons: -Not the easiest course to navigate so bring a map!
-Not in the best part of town but also didn't feel unsafe at any time during the round
-Would be nice to have a few benches around
-Some holes were close to roads and a walking trail so be careful when throwing
-Tee signs are in need of being replaced
Other Thoughts: If you're up for 36 holes, stop by nearby Washington Park (I rated 3.5) first to warmup before coming here to it's more challenging and scenic big brother.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

5+    11/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 63  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All shots required, RHBH,RHFH,low shots, high shots long turnovers, uphill, downhill.
- Pretty, throw a couple shots over a ravine with elevated tee and elevated basket too. Makes putting TOUGH on those ones though.
-quite a few low ceiling shots, mixed with some wide open shots
Cons: -Park can get crowded on the middle holes (6-10) i've had to skip these before.
- not in the best part of town. I've never felt unsafe, but I also play at good times, Daylight hours the whole time. Play on a weekend, or during the middle of the day is my advice.
- couple of long walks between holes, that aren't the most obvious. Def check out a map beforehand (they have one posted on site)
Other Thoughts: my favorite public course in Indy. I like that I can air it out on some holes, but on others i have to be precise to score well. Has a couple of hard turning right holes including the one over 600' Most courses don't have a huge anny hole.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.