Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 410ft.   3 / 410ft.   5 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

5+    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course. Some long holes and memorable shots.
Cons: Not super well marked. Take a map!!!!
Other Thoughts: George Washington Park is another great course and it's only a few minutes away. Worth driving down and playing both!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Close

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Plenty of chances to stretch your arm.
Cons:
Flow was a bit choppy, re-tracing your steps from basket-5 to tee-6, and a bit of a walk from basket-9 to tee-10.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length of nearly 360', and five holes >=~ 400', this course should appeal to those who really like cutting loose. Holes 5-14, sans #6, are very similar, ranging from 270'-400', playing across relatively flat, grassy fields, with a few, randomly-placed, large hardwoods to miss enroute to the basket. While holes 1-4, 6, and 15-18 could well be described as open, they are more than just grip-n-rip. Numbers 1, 6, and 15 require right-turns of various degrees and distance. Number-2 has you throwing across and open slope to a guarded basket, and number-3 has you throwing up a steep slope. Numbers 4 and 18 are fun downhill-then-across-valley shots to open baskets. Nearly 600' number-16 squeezes you a bit at the midpoint, with a road on the right and woods on the left, needing an up-n-over approach to reach the basket. Number-17 has you throwing across the top of a slope, with the road on the left, and the steep hill on the right ready to whisk your discs away if they get on their edge.

There's definitely a bit of right-turn bias at this course, so you're understable discs of forehand shots will get plenty of work. Technicians would be bored here, but bombers should have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is a nice, 18-hole course with good tee pads, baskets, and adequate signs. There is good parking, a kiosk with a map, and a few trash cans throughout the course (though no real benches for the course itself).

The course has a variety of lengths and shot shapes. It uses the scattered trees and elevation changes well. This is particularly true on holes 4 and 18 which feature beautiful views as you throw down and across a water detention valley. Holes 1, 6, and 15 require some nice anhyzer shots which, if overdone, can result in a visit to the creek valley. Hole 16 from the long tee is a very nice hole, requiring you to navigate around some small trees in a fairway bounded by the road and the woods, then to shoot over a levee to a basket on the edge of a drop-off. Hole 17 is another very interesting hole with the road running the length of the hole on the left and a steep drop-off to the detention valley on the right.

Even with this detention area, the course is rarely wet due to excellent drainage and its presence beside a creek. While this creek runs alongside or behind roughly half the holes, it never really comes into play unless you have a very errant shot. This could be viewed as a pro or a con.

The course has a number of concrete stones set in the ground near certain baskets. These stones have arrows on them pointing to the next hole and are generally found on those holes where the next tee is not obvious.

A number of smaller trees have recently (11/5/10) been planted around the perimeter of the park, but these do not really interfere with the course at all.

A small bonus is the presence of shorter, alternate tees on holes 1, 9, and 16.
Cons: This course definitely requires a map or a local in order to successfully navigate it. It has some serious flow issues, though none that make it not worth playing (and, from a design standpoint, were probably unavoidable, given this particular park). There are long and less-than-obvious walks between holes 4 & 5, 6 & 7, 9 & 10, and 14 & 15. In addition to the lengths of the walks, the ones between 4 & 5 and 6 & 7 basically require you to walk right past a tee you have already played. But again, these flow issues do not really detract significantly from the overall course.

This is a purely presonal preference, but I do not like a monstrously long, anhyzer hole as the first hole of a course. In this regard, it is easy enough to start on hole 5 or 2 (depending on where you park) in order to avoid this starting hole.

From a safety standpoint, the course requires you to throw over walking paths a few times (though I have never seen anyone walking on them, so perhaps it is a moot point).
Other Thoughts: Much has been made about the safety of the park itself. I have never had any difficulty, but I don't usually play there in the late afternoon or evening. And the fact that this needs to be mentioned gives you some idea of the kind of neighborhood that surrounds this park.

I enjoy the course. It challanges me with its length (I am a short-arm) while also giving me some very realistic birdie opportunities. It has good variety and is scenic enough for inner-city Indianapolis. Definitely worth playing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Good variety of shot types required (wooded, open, elevation change, etc)
-Long compared to other Indianapolis area courses
Cons: -Difficult to navigate the first time around
-Not located in the best part of town (however I have never had any issues while playing)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indy's Best Course

5+    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: •Nice use of the Topography •Shots Up & Down hill,on #3,4,18. Sides of hills,#2,6,17. Over a "Levee",#16. •Mach 3? Targets. Catch very well with deep baskets. •All concrete tees are perfect! •No Large,or even small, Limbs on the course. •Large Paved Parking lot with Nice sized Pavilion,trash cans and DG only Info board.
Cons: •Grass needs cut more often, seems everytime I play it it's a week or more past the time. •Not enough trash cans,I diid see more. But they need to be bolted down to a small concrete pad. •Benches, the only ONE I remember is located by the basketball courts.•Tee signs need to be replaced but with the Vandalism I can see why they may not get done. As another reviewer posted,I believe, "Four areas of DG".... Well posted! Print the new map! You'll need it.
Other Thoughts: I've heard that members of the Indianapolis disc golf club (Indydiscgolf.com) have been doing work on the courses. I was interested in what was done, I did some work on the course about 10 years ago. New atees signs,built the Information board painted the number plates. Well, the active members have made this course much better. The first thing they did was upgrade the Bulletin Board,New Plexi-Glass,updated information,Course map (highly recommend taking a picture,if you can,with hour phone. If you forgot to print one off Links/Files,you'll need it!). A new #1 tee pad.The old one had a rather large corner cracked and broken off,anyway the new tee is now PRO #1 601' anyzer. #1 Am. is 318' straight shot with a low canopy in front of the tee. No tee sign,yet? #8 plays to a very large tree which makes your Approach a low canopy shot. But,to a smaller tree behind the large one I thought I was throwing to. #9 has two new concrete tees. All number plates have been repainted with white background and red numbers. Brush has been cleared out on #6. this COULD make it easier to Ricochet/Roll down the steep hill. Brush was also cleared out by #15 tee.Last I played I remember a bush that needed trimming. Members also removed part of an over grown bush around #17 tee. So you can see it better,it's about 100' north by the road. Thanks to all for the hard work! It needed it. The neigborhood has it's problems. I didn't see any "Neighborhood Crime watch signs" or enough street lights (that may or may not work) so there's a few reasons why the course/park gets vandalized?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Close to a 4 star...

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple of very nice elevation changes (Can't tell by the photo's on here though); and almost all of the holes are 300-450 with one over 600 feet. You will need a nice array of shots to do well; and most pro's will be able to have a birdie shot (based on 3's for all holes, not par); although for the rec player, expect to go several shots over if counting by 3's. Very clean and well kept grounds.
Cons: While the first five holes are easy to follow, there are a couple of holes after that where you will need to look down at the ground where the course has little (perhaps 3 inches wide X 10 inches long) concrete markers directing you to the next tee (give the course designers credit for putting these in the ground though!). The signs for each hole have been damaged (apparently many times over by the locals); but were generally helpful, albeit all hand drawn due to the on-going vandalism). Another con was that that holes 11-14 (Can't quite recall which holes though) were nothing more than 300 footers over flat ground that were paralleling each other, which was kind of redundant (especially when there is plenty of room available to amend this injustice!!!).
Other Thoughts: I don't recall a sign showing where the course was within the park; however we were eventually able to find hole #1 by driving around the perimeter of the park. We played the course on a sunny Saturday morning; yet we were apparently the only player's on the course; so whether it was because it was just hot out (99 degrees); or a testament to the surrounding neighborhood I don't know; but it seemed a shame that there were not other players enjoying this fun course. If this course were in my community (Louisville KY), it would be played all the time! My bottom line is to play it; however think twice before playing it by yourself...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Corpseside

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: discpicable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of long and short shots. Also a great ratio of open shots to technical ones. The baskets, though more shallow than I'm used to playing, are in great condition. Same for 17 of the pads.
Cons: Can get very soggy after rain. Difficult to navigate. It's in a pretty rough part of town.
Other Thoughts: I always have a fun time here. But if you have a noodle arm (like me) prepare for your score to suffer on this course. My father-in-law got a disc stuck in a tree on 9 and a guy across the street got my attention with his megaphone and told us to use his 12 ft. bamboo pole to knock it out. That made me think better of the neighborhood. But, then again, my mother-in-law was punched in the face and robbed there while she was walking her dog and, a couple of years ago, disc golfers went into the creek looking for a disc and stumbled upon a corpse. Play at your own risk.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation

1    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation

Awesome 1st hole

Nice distance course

Nice pads

Good balance
Cons: Poor signage

Difficult to navigate

Other Thoughts: This course has more than meets the eye.

I love long courses. This course is long, but still loaded with deuces. One third of the 18 holes are over 350ft. Hole one is 600ft. Nice start!

A lake bed plays into the front and back nine. With this, you get tremendous elevation shots. Hole 4 and 18 both shoot from the upper rim to the lower opposing side, creating awesome finesse, sail shots.

The course has nice diversity of lengths and angles. For the most part, its pretty much an open course. Open, but not plain. There are plenty of trees, just nothing too tight. You will still have to shape some nice lines for par.

You will definitely need a map. Don't hit the course without it...unless you want to wander.

This was a very fun course. All said and done, it has just about everything you look for. I needed most discs in my bag and used multiple releases.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course with lots to offer.

1    1/24/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The variety of shots that you get at brookside is it's best attribute. it opens with a 600+ footer that favors a forehand throw, and then rolls into a shorter shot that runs into some trees. Couple all of that with some of the most drastic elevation changes that you can have on a course in the midwest, and it makes for a fun day.
- The pads, save for pro pad on 9, were all in good shape.
Cons: - not all of the holes are marked very well, and there is no way to know where the next hole it. Aside from that, this course was fun.
Other Thoughts: Take a local with you!
If I played this course by myself, I would have missed half of the course.
This is a fun course that favors the forehand player, or someone with a bunch of anyhyzer shots in their bag. Loads of fun and lots of variety.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course varies from hole to hole. 4 distinct "areas" of the course with 3-5 holes in each area. Offers a lot of variety. Plenty of distance, plenty of different shots and disc selection. The course is pretty challenging. the park itself is really nice.
Cons: Finding ones way around could be pretty difficult. My first time there i was with someone who knew the way, but i dont really know how you'd find your way from 4 to 5, from 9 to 10, and from 14 to 15. this difficulty is the price paid for the different "areas" of the course mentioned above. its easily worth it if you go with someone who knows their way around.
Other Thoughts: a lot of people are saying how bad of a neighborhood this course is in...nothings gonna happen. its really no big deal.

the courses i have played, in order of best to worst (imo):
brookside (this course)
James Dillon park
Northwestway park
Avon
Sahm park


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.