Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft.   4 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Tale of Two Halves

5+    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: burdphil
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The "front side" of the course (see my Other Thoughts below for details).
-The most challenging course in Indy.
-Great use of the unique landscape.
-Requires a solid range of different shots.
-Not a lot of other park traffic to contend with for the most part.
-Good concrete teepads for both pro and am tees.
-An older course that has some character.
Cons: -Signage stinks.
-Some of the baskets could use updating.
-Navigation can be difficult. The last time I played there a new player came up to us on hole 15 trying to figure out where hole 10 was. We had trouble just trying to explain to him how to get there.
-Definitely not in the best part of town.
-No available restrooms/benches/amenities of any kind.
-Don't go in the creek.
Other Thoughts: Brookside is really divided into two separate parts which I will refer to as the "front side" and the "back side." The front side basically consists of holes 1 through 4 and holes 15 through 18, while the back side has holes 5 through 14.

The front side of Brookside is great. These holes largely incorporate a massive rain basin (don't worry, it's almost always dry) that creates some very sharp and interesting elevation changes. Holes 1 and 16 are very long and difficult, legit par 4s for an am like myself, and even the pros in the league I play in often struggle to get these in 3. The other holes on the front side are much easier, but are equally different and entertaining.

The back side of the course is much less interesting. It's your basic, straight-forward dg course with some variety in length and a bunch of trees that you have to throw under and around, but nothing too special. You essentially just grind your way through it so you can get back to the fun holes on the front side of the course.

Overall I would give the front side of Brookside a 4 and the back side a 2.5, which I'll average out to a 3.5. It's the toughest course in Indy (which may not be saying much) and definitely one you don't want to miss if you're visiting the city and looking for a place to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    11/25/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 460  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a fairly large park that has some other activities present, but the disc golf is pretty well separated. There are a few spots close to some basketball courts, and some busy roads, but there shouldn't be much interference.
- The majority of the holes here are on flat ground, with lots of trees or forest to force some different lines. It kicks off in a big way with a 600' dogleg right around a dense forest. Most other holes have lots of mature trees to contend with, some of which are pretty low and take away a lot of options. Overall, a straight shot or hyzer can get the job done on most of these.
- Other holes are more open, but have noticeable elevation changes to contend with. #3 is up the side of a hill, and #4 and #18 come back down in a big way. #6 is an uphill RHBH anny, while #15 is a significant downhill RHBH anny shot. These are both interesting holes that make good use of the trees and hills. #2 and #17 have sloping greens playing on the hill as well.
- Some baskets are pretty well protected by trees, and others have sloping greens that can punish a bad putt or approach shot. Drive or upshot placement is vital to leave a good look at the basket, while avoiding the risk of a miss turning into a very bad miss.
- Excellent variety in hole length, lots of different shots because of it. Two holes over 400', another at 570', and one more at 600' for the big arms. A few shorties as well, which are legit ace runs with a backboard both up and down the hill. Good mix in between these too. Holes #1 and #16 are both solid par 4's, with one a 90 degree turn around the woods, and other up a sloping fairway, over a hill, and finishing near some trees with a sloping green.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signs. Navigation is pretty tricky without the map, definitely check it out beforehand.
Cons: - A good variety in holes overall, but there are many that feel very similar. The flat section of the park uses the trees to make things interesting, but they are all straightforward and don't require much thought. Distance and very basic line shaping are the only key.
- The roads that border the course make for some interesting OB at times, but overall it is an eyesore and a distraction. At least the course is well spread out anyway. Some long walks in between holes as well, including next to a busy road.
- When I was there it smelled pretty bad in some places. The warning signs for raw sewage in the water are definitely believeable.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that rewards players with bigger arms. Lots of deuce chances here; especially for players that have accurate distance. A decent amount of fun shots as well, thanks to the different elevation changes that are well used. Overall it is pretty open, though, and doesn't place too much emphasis on accuracy. More experienced players will probably cruise through, but should enjoy it. Everyone else should find it a bit challenging.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 63  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent park, really nice walks
-Plenty of chances to air out the disc and also make technical shots
-Nice tee pads and signs, also navigation arrow bricks next to baskets
-Lots of L/Blind Hook shots
Cons: -Sewage creek that runs through park
-some walks between holes are pretty far
-Mostly flat fairways apart from holes on pond bed
Other Thoughts: When I played this course, it was totally empty and most of the park was for that matter. Washington Park had 7-8 groups playing the course at all times on the same day. I'm not sure exactly what this speaks to except maybe preference. If you like long walks and perhaps a picnic, I'd say go Brookside. If you wanna play with newer players or want to play a quick round or just enjoy variety in holes, I'd say go Washington. Hard to go wrong with either of these courses though. Play both in one day and decide yourself..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Your Typical Large City Course

1    7/10/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent lengths on a lot of holes. Gives you a chance to really rip some drives
- Pretty good shot selection; I think I found myself throwing more anhyzers than hyzers, which you don't always experience. Looks like a course that would favor left-handed BH throwers
- Teepads are good for gripping
- Good course for rollers. I threw a couple and had very good results due to the short cut grass.
- Trees will pose a challenge to your throws, making you think about your shot. Holes 10 and 16 come into mind for this.
- Nice elevation changes. Hole 4 was probably my favorite just because you get to see the disc soar a little downhill to the basket.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest issue I had with the course. As the description says, YOU WILL NEED A MAP--especially with the lack of signage. Trust me. I thought I'd be okay navigating from tee one, and I quickly had to get my map out. Even with the map, you still find yourself wandering a little bit until you get used to the layout.
- Insufficient signage (see above)
- A lot of shady activity at this park. Not exactly a course I'd want to play in as the sun was going down.
- Course was very crowded with players when I played around 3pm. I'd suggest playing earlier in the day.
- Some holes play close to the road and paths. Watch out for pedestrians and cars on your throws--especially the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad park. Kind of a typical city park in terms of the layout, shots, and amenities. Definitely could use some TLC on signage, "next tee" signs, and other resources. I played this on a road trip across the country and I found its location to be pretty convenient off I-70. Looks like people in Indianapolis have a couple of decent courses to choose from. This one's nothing to scoff at!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course. Some long holes and memorable shots.
Cons: Not super well marked. Take a map!!!!
Other Thoughts: George Washington Park is another great course and it's only a few minutes away. Worth driving down and playing both!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Close

1    6/12/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 437  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Plenty of chances to stretch your arm.
Cons:
Flow was a bit choppy, re-tracing your steps from basket-5 to tee-6, and a bit of a walk from basket-9 to tee-10.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length of nearly 360', and five holes >=~ 400', this course should appeal to those who really like cutting loose. Holes 5-14, sans #6, are very similar, ranging from 270'-400', playing across relatively flat, grassy fields, with a few, randomly-placed, large hardwoods to miss enroute to the basket. While holes 1-4, 6, and 15-18 could well be described as open, they are more than just grip-n-rip. Numbers 1, 6, and 15 require right-turns of various degrees and distance. Number-2 has you throwing across and open slope to a guarded basket, and number-3 has you throwing up a steep slope. Numbers 4 and 18 are fun downhill-then-across-valley shots to open baskets. Nearly 600' number-16 squeezes you a bit at the midpoint, with a road on the right and woods on the left, needing an up-n-over approach to reach the basket. Number-17 has you throwing across the top of a slope, with the road on the left, and the steep hill on the right ready to whisk your discs away if they get on their edge.

There's definitely a bit of right-turn bias at this course, so you're understable discs of forehand shots will get plenty of work. Technicians would be bored here, but bombers should have a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 21.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brookside is a nice, 18-hole course with good tee pads, baskets, and adequate signs. There is good parking, a kiosk with a map, and a few trash cans throughout the course (though no real benches for the course itself).

The course has a variety of lengths and shot shapes. It uses the scattered trees and elevation changes well. This is particularly true on holes 4 and 18 which feature beautiful views as you throw down and across a water detention valley. Holes 1, 6, and 15 require some nice anhyzer shots which, if overdone, can result in a visit to the creek valley. Hole 16 from the long tee is a very nice hole, requiring you to navigate around some small trees in a fairway bounded by the road and the woods, then to shoot over a levee to a basket on the edge of a drop-off. Hole 17 is another very interesting hole with the road running the length of the hole on the left and a steep drop-off to the detention valley on the right.

Even with this detention area, the course is rarely wet due to excellent drainage and its presence beside a creek. While this creek runs alongside or behind roughly half the holes, it never really comes into play unless you have a very errant shot. This could be viewed as a pro or a con.

The course has a number of concrete stones set in the ground near certain baskets. These stones have arrows on them pointing to the next hole and are generally found on those holes where the next tee is not obvious.

A number of smaller trees have recently (11/5/10) been planted around the perimeter of the park, but these do not really interfere with the course at all.

A small bonus is the presence of shorter, alternate tees on holes 1, 9, and 16.
Cons: This course definitely requires a map or a local in order to successfully navigate it. It has some serious flow issues, though none that make it not worth playing (and, from a design standpoint, were probably unavoidable, given this particular park). There are long and less-than-obvious walks between holes 4 & 5, 6 & 7, 9 & 10, and 14 & 15. In addition to the lengths of the walks, the ones between 4 & 5 and 6 & 7 basically require you to walk right past a tee you have already played. But again, these flow issues do not really detract significantly from the overall course.

This is a purely presonal preference, but I do not like a monstrously long, anhyzer hole as the first hole of a course. In this regard, it is easy enough to start on hole 5 or 2 (depending on where you park) in order to avoid this starting hole.

From a safety standpoint, the course requires you to throw over walking paths a few times (though I have never seen anyone walking on them, so perhaps it is a moot point).
Other Thoughts: Much has been made about the safety of the park itself. I have never had any difficulty, but I don't usually play there in the late afternoon or evening. And the fact that this needs to be mentioned gives you some idea of the kind of neighborhood that surrounds this park.

I enjoy the course. It challanges me with its length (I am a short-arm) while also giving me some very realistic birdie opportunities. It has good variety and is scenic enough for inner-city Indianapolis. Definitely worth playing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Challenging
-Good variety of shot types required (wooded, open, elevation change, etc)
-Long compared to other Indianapolis area courses
Cons: -Difficult to navigate the first time around
-Not located in the best part of town (however I have never had any issues while playing)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indy's Best Course

5+    7/27/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 203  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: •Nice use of the Topography •Shots Up & Down hill,on #3,4,18. Sides of hills,#2,6,17. Over a "Levee",#16. •Mach 3? Targets. Catch very well with deep baskets. •All concrete tees are perfect! •No Large,or even small, Limbs on the course. •Large Paved Parking lot with Nice sized Pavilion,trash cans and DG only Info board.
Cons: •Grass needs cut more often, seems everytime I play it it's a week or more past the time. •Not enough trash cans,I diid see more. But they need to be bolted down to a small concrete pad. •Benches, the only ONE I remember is located by the basketball courts.•Tee signs need to be replaced but with the Vandalism I can see why they may not get done. As another reviewer posted,I believe, "Four areas of DG".... Well posted! Print the new map! You'll need it.
Other Thoughts: I've heard that members of the Indianapolis disc golf club (Indydiscgolf.com) have been doing work on the courses. I was interested in what was done, I did some work on the course about 10 years ago. New atees signs,built the Information board painted the number plates. Well, the active members have made this course much better. The first thing they did was upgrade the Bulletin Board,New Plexi-Glass,updated information,Course map (highly recommend taking a picture,if you can,with hour phone. If you forgot to print one off Links/Files,you'll need it!). A new #1 tee pad.The old one had a rather large corner cracked and broken off,anyway the new tee is now PRO #1 601' anyzer. #1 Am. is 318' straight shot with a low canopy in front of the tee. No tee sign,yet? #8 plays to a very large tree which makes your Approach a low canopy shot. But,to a smaller tree behind the large one I thought I was throwing to. #9 has two new concrete tees. All number plates have been repainted with white background and red numbers. Brush has been cleared out on #6. this COULD make it easier to Ricochet/Roll down the steep hill. Brush was also cleared out by #15 tee.Last I played I remember a bush that needed trimming. Members also removed part of an over grown bush around #17 tee. So you can see it better,it's about 100' north by the road. Thanks to all for the hard work! It needed it. The neigborhood has it's problems. I didn't see any "Neighborhood Crime watch signs" or enough street lights (that may or may not work) so there's a few reasons why the course/park gets vandalized?

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Close to a 4 star...

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple of very nice elevation changes (Can't tell by the photo's on here though); and almost all of the holes are 300-450 with one over 600 feet. You will need a nice array of shots to do well; and most pro's will be able to have a birdie shot (based on 3's for all holes, not par); although for the rec player, expect to go several shots over if counting by 3's. Very clean and well kept grounds.
Cons: While the first five holes are easy to follow, there are a couple of holes after that where you will need to look down at the ground where the course has little (perhaps 3 inches wide X 10 inches long) concrete markers directing you to the next tee (give the course designers credit for putting these in the ground though!). The signs for each hole have been damaged (apparently many times over by the locals); but were generally helpful, albeit all hand drawn due to the on-going vandalism). Another con was that that holes 11-14 (Can't quite recall which holes though) were nothing more than 300 footers over flat ground that were paralleling each other, which was kind of redundant (especially when there is plenty of room available to amend this injustice!!!).
Other Thoughts: I don't recall a sign showing where the course was within the park; however we were eventually able to find hole #1 by driving around the perimeter of the park. We played the course on a sunny Saturday morning; yet we were apparently the only player's on the course; so whether it was because it was just hot out (99 degrees); or a testament to the surrounding neighborhood I don't know; but it seemed a shame that there were not other players enjoying this fun course. If this course were in my community (Louisville KY), it would be played all the time! My bottom line is to play it; however think twice before playing it by yourself...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.