Indianapolis, IN 
Brookside Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tough course, lots of variety

5+    9/2/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice teepads and baskets
-tons of shot variety for every type of throw
-mature trees and and not so thick rough
-low ceiling shots
-elevation change (3,4,18)
Cons: - lack of trashcans
- signs are old and need updated
- sometimes the other people on the course can be a problem
Other Thoughts: All but a few holes on this course use the same teepad, but the Indy Disc Golf Club should be putting in an actual pad on 9 for the pro pad, as well as an Am pad on hole 1. Hole 16 has both a pro and am pad. This year's Checkered Flag open was a big success with Ams playing on Saturday and Pros on Sunday, big turnout for both divisions.

****Key info for people who have never played this course: After hole 4 (big elevation change downhill, 283 ft) go past the tee for 1 and cross the bridge with the fences on both sides, from their walk up the hill to the right to find the tee for 5. Hole 5 runs down the access road to the left with the parking lot to the right. Hole six is across the access road from the basked on 5, its a big anhyzer shot for RHBH. From the basket on 6 cross the access road again, walk past the tee for 5 and the teepad for 7 is next to the basketball courts. After you bucket hole 9 walk to the left around by the road, then follow the dirt trail along the road to the pad for 10. After hole 14 walk around the bridge on the sidewalk (the road will be to your right) and around the corner to the teepad for 15.

www.indydiscgolf.com

****Pro pad on one has been repoured to make for a longer tee pad. Am pad has been poured on one as well. Pro pad has been poured on hole nine too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros are the course itself. Good holes (in spite of kids using them for monkey bars), concrete tees, almost always well mowed when I've played there. Spacious. Even when its kind of crowded, you don't feel on top of other players and parties as the course flows all over the park without crossing fairways even tightly neighboring fairways. Lots of good distance holes to show off your epic drives to your sweetie and enough trees to keep you from just unloading all the time. Interesting holes (3, 4 and 18) with the elevation difference which can penalize an inaccurate drive on 17 as well. Just a fun course to play and I think a great one for beginners and intermediates.
Cons: Cons: That which is not the course. The signs are well worn and not very helpful to any new players. Print out and bring a map, I don't know how someone would find hole 5, 7, 10 or 15 without it as they are not marked or visible from the previous hole. PeeWee Football Practice is often happening in the gully under holes 4 and 18 in the fall. I'd like to see at least one hole that doglegs left on this course. The course needs more trash cans and restrooms (although I'm not sure if the locals could handle them).
Other Thoughts: The "locals" are an issue. But reading reviews where Washington Park gets raves and Brookside gets downgraded shows this can change. A police station was built into Washington and its made a huge difference, a little more police presence at Brookside could eliminate this issue in my opinion. Notable events include a kid trying to run off with my disc, my friends truck being broken into and his radio being stolen out of it, a PeeWee Football player's 300lb Mom not seeing me putt out at 6 and squatting by the bushes on the way to 7 for an interesting "Hey, how ya doin'?" moment with her panties down, a day laborer sleeping it off on the 7th Tee, and of course the oft-mentioned murder. If the locals would embrace the game (or at least respect it), this course would be a couple of easy upgrades away from being outstanding.

**Update** - Additional tee pads added to holes #1, 9, and 16. Sadly, pee-wee football has started up again, meaning holes 4, 17 and 18 can't be played in the evening and unsupervised kids are using baskets as monkeybars. 18 is now pretty bent up.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a trip!

2-4    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy course to find. Good distance on most holes so you can let er rip. Doesnt seem to get crowded. Well manicured. course map located on this site made it very easy to navigate. No real disc loosing threats.
Cons: A little to wide open for my taste. I didnt notice trash cans or water fountains.
Other Thoughts: To those who say its in a bad neighborhood obviously havent ever been in a bad neighborhood. The course was fun and quick to play. It's the only course i've played in IN so i dont have much to compare to but It is def an above average course compared to the rest of the country.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc in the Hood

1    7/12/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good distance, great variety, and some really unique shot opportunities make this course a must play for intermediate and up. Good placement of tees and baskets make the sparse mature trees count.
Cons: As everyone has stated this course is in the middle of the hood. I've only played there once but my dad plays a lot in his Indy circuit and has never been bothered before. Aside from that a few holes play through high traffic areas so be careful as you go. One tee was missing and a few signs are gone. With such distance between holes in spots that can be annoying. All in all a good course with few flaws.
Other Thoughts: A few spots to lose a disc so play safe when possible.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside

2-4    6/4/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Dover202
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice elevation changes
-Good variety of distances
-Scenic area
Cons: -Sometimes have to deal with waist-high grass in the lake bed
-Not the greatest part of town
-Easy to lose your disc on a few of the holes (especially hole 1)
-Several of the holes (1, 6, and 15 come to mind) really favor lefties. This isn't a con per se, but it definitely punishes people who like to throw RHBH.
Other Thoughts: I really wish the designers had made more use of the elevation changes provided by the lake bed. It only comes into play on a few of the holes (3, 4, 18, and possibly 17). Hole 10 is long and fairly easy to birdie...just be careful not to land your disc up in one of the short trees. Those things are prickly. I ripped the skin off my arms climbing up to retrieve my driver.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice long course

2-4    4/10/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot more holes with good length than any others in the area. It's nice to be able to have the chance to rip it a few times on a course, especially when these longer holes are not all wide open. Brookside offers a nice mix of some open holes across a flood plain and holes through scattered mature trees. The course also calls for a nice mix of shot selections, with lots of holes that turn both ways, and some straight ones mixed in.

The few holes that play in the part of the park with elevation changes do a nice job of making use of this elevation. I really enjoy the shots from one side of the flood plain to the other, both up and down.

The majority of the tees are nice concrete pads that seemed large enough, and were in good shape. The couple tees that were not concrete were at least level and clearly defined. Most of the signs were also intact, and had distance and par for the hole.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the navigation issues. There are three places where the next tee is not at all obvious, and requires a fairly long walk. As some previous reviewers stated, these walks would not be bad at all if they were clearly marked and easy to follow. There were also some signs that were missing, and this was in a part of the course that had obviously been changed at some point, leaving some confusion in the layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will test many different parts of your game, and makes for overall an enjoyable round. I would agree with the other players who have said that this and nearby George Washington Park make a great pair, and between them you will really feel like you've used almost all your different shots.

The course is not in the nicest part of town, but neither I nor anyone I know has had any issues playing here, and all the people I've met on the course (including many non dg players) have been friendly.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2012   5/7/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a longer course with large mature trees and a solid design given what there is to work with in the park. It makes good use of the few available trees to shape some of the holes. About half the holes are medium length (275-325ft) and the rest are longer (350-600ft).

There are some big elevation changes on a few of the holes at the start and end of the course which is around a man made drainage area. There are some of the most fun holes on the course.

The shot variety is good, there are a few holes that force turnover shots and some other with multiple routes through the trees. The trees create a low ceiling on some of the holes which adds to the challenge here.

There are walking paths and roads that come into play on a number of the holes. After playing a tournament here it seems they only play the roads as OB, not the walking paths. That's worth mentioning as it's not really noted on the signs.

If you've got a big arm you'll have fun out here trying to get your birdies. The course is beginner friendly because it is so open with little rough to worry about, but as previously mentioned it is on the long side.

There are two great par 4 holes holes here which I always like to see on a course. Hole 1 is the first par 4, a 600 ft turnover shot with rough on the right and OB road on the left; great starting hole. The next par 4 is on hole 16. The elevation changes as you approach the basket make it a fun but tough hole.

Water and restrooms are available at the large tan building about a 1000ft past hole 8's basket. On a hot summer day it's definitely worth the walk to get water since that's the only place it's available near the course.
Cons: The park and surrounding area is not in a very nice part of town. While I've not heard of anything bad happening to golfers here, I would not recommend playing here by yourself later in the day.

There is a walk from 4-5, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15. I didn't have much of a problem finding the next hole the first time I played here, but it wasn't obvious either. Signs pointing to the next tee would be a welcome addition. ***UPDATE*** It appears there are some small arrows pointing to the next hole but they don't stand out well.

The course can get a little muddy, especially the bottom of the dry lake bed, when it rains but that's pretty normal for a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth checking out when you're in Indy. George Washington Park is just couple miles away and these two courses compliment each other well.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Don't be SCURRED!

5+    4/1/2008   4/24/2009
Review By: btank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I LOVE this course, by far the best in Indianapolis. Great variety of shots, you'll get a good workout, spaced enough that you rarely have to wait, privacy if you need that sort of thing, don't think anybody will mess with you for drinking a beer or two.
Cons: Run down part of town.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the neighborhood scare you, but I'll just say its in an area where the people prefer basketball to frisbee golf.

They are used to disc golfers there all the time, since this course is so old, so they won't mess with you.

But take my advice:

If somebody calls you "cracker", LET IT SLIDE!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Brookside

5+    10/20/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, wide variety of shots and elevation changes, its a great course
Cons: it is in a pretty bad part of town, I wouldnt reccomend playing by yourself, one of the tee pads is dirt... other than that its great.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played it, Make sure you do!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Most Interesting in Indy

2-4    5/31/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: NoChinDeluxe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Giant dried up lakebed which offers some crazy shots of a cliff into the basin. Large steep-banked creek winds throughout and will swallow discs whole if you're not careful, but is pretty easy to avoid.
Cons: Rough neighborhood that almost makes it not worth playing. Poorly marked course and some holes are difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun because of the lakebed, but doesn't really offer anything that Washington can't give you. The neighborhood is pretty sketchy and I've had some nervous moments there with questionable characters hanging around. I always go play with a small group. Most holes are pretty straight-forward without many obstacles other than slight dog-legs are single trees that are generally easy to avoid. I'd rather play Sahm than this course on most occassions.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.