Course Extinct
Shoreline, WA 
Fircrest DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit   (Taken 5/2010)
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 This is the couse I built

5+    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: I built this course while I was working at the Recreation Center at Fircrest. unfortunately due to budget cuts the Recreation center was closed, and I was laid off. now the course remains unfinished.I had plans to make it a 9 hole course and I was working on building another home-brew basket...then the cuts. I am glad to see people are still visiting this course, the land may be sold to Shoreline for development soon, and I am sure the course will be lost when it is sold.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets But No Course!

1    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is actually a decent little spot for a course. The problem is there are temporary baskets but not the rest of the course. No signs, no teepads. I was able to navigate fairly easily with the on-line map that I printed. There's room here to put in nice little 9 holer. There is another section of the grounds south of the current course that could be incorporated into the layout. I'm not sure if that land is connected or could be used. It's lower then the current 5 holes. Number 4 would be a great little dog leg down into this valley. There is also a small wooded area north of the recreation center that could handle a couple of holes. Currently, there is a pink homemade basket that is made out of an old laundry basket.
Cons: Right now, everything but the land itself is a con in my opinion. The baskets are the cheap, flimsy temporary ones. They catch just fine but won't hold up. There are no teepads. There are no signs.
Other Thoughts: If the school allows this to become a 9 hole course complete with teepads and baskets, this could be a nice little course someday. Currently, it is the beginning of a course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fircrest DGC

2-4    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 189  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fircrest Disc Golf Course is a wonderful place to take someone who is new to the sport. It is open with a few obstacles (bushes and trees scattered throughout), little elevation (although there are some areas that may eventually be incorporated), and not extremely long. A round takes about 20 minutes if familiar with the land and gives players multiple chances to birdie and perhaps ace!

For only being a five hole course it still had some character. The baskets although not the best are good enough for what it was intended for. The flow works well as it has you beginning and ending in the same area (although if the course ever turns to a nine hole course they will have to adjust the layout a bit).

Shots are fairly straight forward with a slight dogleg left on hole three and a slight dogleg right on five (the two longest holes).

Maintenance is apparent making it easy to find your disc everytime although if you come up short on hole four (shortest hole) you could end up in a fairly large bush on the left that makes getting to your disc fairly hard. However, with some power an accuracey it is fairly easy to miss. Overall, perfect for testing new plastic without any real concern.
Cons:
Without a local to show you around it is very difficult to get around. Although you could still have a blast playing safari golf on the course there are no tee signs, indicators as to where the tee pads are, or where the next tee is located. However, we did print off a map and were pretty close the first time through until we ran into a local who showed us exactly where tee one, four, and five were.

Although the course is fairly short, it was still fun to play and long enough to work on a variety of shots.
Other Thoughts:
This course is located on a school campus and is used primarily for physical therapy for students with disabilities. Please be respectful and give pedestrians the right away as they are allowing us to play on a course that was initially meant for their use alone. They have opened it up for public as long as the land is respected. No alcohol or drugs and please clean up any trash you might see or bring with you.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/12/2011   8/16/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course on state land that is in good shape despite minimal work being done to it. Great place to go and practice in an open field or play a round when Mineral Springs(North Park) or Terrace Creek are busy with people as this course is seldom used by disc golfers or anyone else. Won't lose any discs here.
Cons: There is no way you can navigate it without a local guide, it is impossible. No markings for tee pads, no signs, no nothing, it is quite primitive. This course is really wide open and poses almost no challenge to any serious player. It's only five baskets with a homemade one on the other side of the main park that doesn't catch discs at all, in fact it spits them out by design.
Other Thoughts: Not really worth playing if you like serious courses but if you are looking for a practice course you could come here and throw a little bit out of desperation. Do not come here without someone who has played it before or you have the map online which does help out a lot.


*UPDATE*

Holes two and five have either been pulled out or stolen, not sure which, either way this place has become a field to throw in so my rating is going down to a zero. Course should be extinct very soon. :(

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.