Fulton, MO 
Veterans Park Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
veterans park

1    5/1/2013   8/20/2014
Review By: ustenido
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun shots, lots of holes playing along a creek instead of across it. Good parking, well maintianed course
Cons: Way to muh conflict with other park amenities.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see some redesigns of unsafe holes that conflict with other park amenities. There is a mix of great and terrible holes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    8/2/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: combs.alan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course with a variety of holes. A variety of skill sets are needed. Mostly open park area with plenty of trees to throw around. Always clean.
Cons: Park is pretty heavily used so sometimes some of the holes are hard to play for the people that are in the way. I've had to skip holes at points because of the park usage.
Other Thoughts: It's a great Sunday afternoon course. You can play the entire thing with a couple friends in about an hour and a half. Looks like the course is growing in popularity!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice City Park

1    7/5/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads, nice tee signs, nice baskets, well maintained park, multiple placements, trash cans, easy to navigate, water holes, friendly locals, & restrooms.

Veteran's Park is a nice park and course in the town of Fulton. The park was well maintained, with recently cut grass and emptied trash cans. Each hole has a concrete tee pad, descriptive tee sign and (many) include "next hole" arrows on the baskets. There are a few holes that play along the pond, which is a nice challenge and serene. I'd never played there, and the course was mostly empty, but we found our way around just fine. There were quite a few trash cans scattered throughout the park, which I thought was convenient. Though there weren't many golfers out when we were there, the rest of the locals that were using this multi-purpose park seemed friendly and tried to stay out of your way if they say you on the tee pad. Overall, a nice park to add to my list.
Cons: No real challenges, most holes <300', criss crossing holes, crammed into the space, too many mandos

Many of the holes are quite short, so you're basically driving and putting. The traditional challenge of a championship course isn't there. But, it is always fun to see how many birdies you can walk away with. I felt like there were a couple questionable design choices. Most notably, hole 10, where you drive through a playground? But, this seemed to be a relatively low traffic park, so it may not be an issue. There are also a few holes/fairways that seemed close to the roads. But, again, if the course doesn't see much traffic this probably isn't a concern. In my opinion, the designer made up for the lack of natural obstacles with the use of mandos. In most cases I would see these as design flaws, but they added another element to a course that otherwise would be much too easy.
Other Thoughts: This was a great little course to play while we were in town for another occasion. It was fun and low impact, so we were able to enjoy our walk in the park. I'd recommend a quick drive through the whole park before you start your round if you've never been to Veteran's Park. It was helpful for us to know which direction to head and helped get the lay of the land ahead of time.

Traveler's Tip: Fulton is a small town, so there are plenty of places to get drinks, food on the way in our out of the park. As I mentioned, the course is pretty short and open, so our round only took about 1.5 hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course - Needs Work

5+    11/24/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage at each tee, a course that is good for a wide range of players and abilities, a variety of shots needed to score well, good for shorter arms and for longer arms who need work on accuracy, really friendly locals.
Cons: The course feels a bit cramped in areas, plays close to parking lots and roads, several holes play dangerously close to the fairways of others (luckily it's a low traffic park), too many mandos as the result of a less-than-optimal use of the land, I could see first-timers having a hard time finding their way around this course, the course lacks clear 'lines' on some holes where it feels like you are just throwing at a basket behind a tree.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Advanced. I think someone really skilled at DG may get bored here - it's not very long and can be 'cheated' a bit with direct lines. The locals are very cool here and I thank them for showing me around and letting me play a round with them. Kudos for this small town for having a course at all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My thoughts

1    9/11/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Water comes into play
Good mixture of holes
Built in a very nice park
Cons: To short for better players
Some of the tee signs are to close to the pads
To many mandos
Other Thoughts: Nice course for people just starting to play it will teach you how to throw a lot of different shots

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Park Course

2-4    9/11/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a beautiful park course. Anyone can play this course without fear of "stomping through deep brush." The course has recently been stretched on a couple of holes pushing the difficultly. The creek and pond come into play on several holes. Baskets have been moved on a few holes and placed near the edge of the creek making aggressive putters take caution.
Cons: This course contains almost too many mandos for my liking. I really do not see the purpose of a mando on hole two whatsoever. To me it appears to be just another way to tighten a fairway of which I am not a fan in this case. Having said that, I do think this course needs a mando on hole 8. Nearly everyone in my group threw across the road and across 7's basket. Crossing fairways is a safety issue, and besides it is a much more beautiful and difficult hole taking the intended route. The OB on holes 1 and 2 are not clearly defined as well as the area near the playground equipment on hole 18.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It's nice to play a course without fighting through a jungle. This course makes good use of the park. Holes 5 and 14 in the long positions are two favorites from this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lot of Fun!

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ukebork
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course, right through Veterans Park. Nice and challenging, but fun to play. Fairly short. Well laid out, considering it has to compete with other park amenities/uses, and I even got my first birdie there! Good parking, nice tee signs, good pads.
Cons: Because of being in the middle of a multi-use park, some of the tee and target locations are a little awkward, but the course is designed as well as it could be. A lot of Mandos, again because of multi-use.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed playing this course, and even being an hour away, will plan more trips there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Derred Scheperle
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: grass was nice and short.. pads where nice all around nice park.. verry well kept and a nice place to play... the baskets are all marked verry nice! the signs are all there and verry clear.
Cons: i couldnt find pad #16 even with the sings.
pad #8 was covered in mud and to close to a playground. and they need a walk way over the creek to get from #17 to #18. i didnt see any par markings on any of the signs..

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  fun

5+    5/30/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: urdone
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good use of land within a multi use city park. concrete tees and tee signs look good.. good mixture of short ,medium and long shots.
Cons: still a couple of tees are in close range of playgrounds(8 and 18), shelter, sand volleyball(17), and 1 pin pretty close to a tee pad.
Other Thoughts: course plays well for all , always manicured, overall a great course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: it`s a very well maintained course.
the concrete tee pads are clearly marked and have all the info you`ll need for each hole. the baskets have arrows directing you to the next tee placement. the arrows on the baskets were very helpful a couple times. without them the course could be a bit difficult to follow. i`d say the course is challenging for all skill levels. if you have a booming and accurate drive, you`ll get some birdies, i don`t consider that a con. all in all an excellent course.
Cons: i was retrieving my disc from near the lake and slid down the bank and got all muddy, my bad.
Other Thoughts: just about anybody will enjoy this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.