Piqua, OH 
Duke Foundation DGC Share
Uploaded By: uppervalleyflyers Hole #18
4 / 445ft.   3 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good test course

1    5/25/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Soilmapper
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Wide open tee shots lets you test new discs or new throwing technique (for beginners testing their strength). This course makes you feel like a better player than you are.
Cons: In a few years, holes like #14 will be a different story... tree growth being the reason. More obstacles would be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: I am a casual player. I drive between 250-280 typically, with my BOSS driver. I got my first eagle on #16 with two long drives and a 10 foot putt; that hole should be a par 4 at best. Just too wide open to be more than a 3 rating. I am used to LOTS of trees from the tee pad onward.

Cooed course

1    3/7/2011   3/7/2013
Review By: Bushman71
Played: 149  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some nice holes, good signage, clean well kept park.
Cons: Lots of land and potential holes lay between holes. Could be 9 more holes put in between the holes. Witch also means long walks between holes
Other Thoughts: Make sure you make note of witch way the next hole is on the T-signs

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 R-E-S-P-E-C-T

1    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I respectfully disagree with the previous reviewers about the design. The whole time I played this course I kept thinking it was designed perfectly. Yes, the tee shots are open on 16 of 18 holes, but the second shots need skill and precision. The pin placements are genius. I've played alot of courses in this part of Ohio, and this one is by far the nicest asthetically. The mature evergreens on 5 and 13 are classic. Trash cans were available. The grass and landscape was nice. The signage was spot on. The parking was easily accessible. There are even signs along a couple roadways telling people to watch for disc golfers and flying discs. RESPECT baby!!!
Cons: The lake could've been designed for more risk.
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to play this one again. If you are in the area on I75 you should stop and play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open tee shots with very little trouble. Great for a beginner trying to find that perfect driver.

Nice cement tees and hole markers are accurate and detailed.

Almost all baskets are guarded by trees. Can be a pro or a con, depending on your perspective.
Cons: A few missed opportunities with hole design. Plenty of mature trees and obstacles that were NOT included in the course design.

Distance from the 18th basket back to the parking lot was a bit much. Might consider playing the holes starting at 6 and ending with 5 (One of the primary signature holes in my opinion). This will end you right at the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If you are a beginner to the sport, this course allows a lot of forgiveness in shot selection. There are only a couple holes where potential loss of disc is a factor.

Your approach game is important here for low scores. If you cannot get close to the pin on your second shot, you may be in trouble reaching par.

If you need a course to test out new discs, and you live close to Piqua, this could be a great place to grip it and rip it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
Pros: Cement tees in very good shape.
Good hole plaques at each hole.
Very nice course map at hole one.
Practice basket at hole one.
Good mix of holes, some good signature holes.
Cons: Wide open off the tees. (not all bad)


Other Thoughts: Very nice course. I liked the idea of the course being wide open off the tees but the baskets were surrounded by trees. Second shots very important here.

 Disappointed

1    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Armed with a recently purchased Buzzz and Force from MC Sports (I didn't bring my discs on my work trip) and fresh from a meeting I was really stoked to get a round in at a new course. My pre-round anticipation was high. This seemed to be the highest rated in the area.

The land here is nice for a course but there were so many missed opportunities out here that I left very disappointed with my experience.

First, the drives are almost all wide open and there tends to be holes where 95% is open then it's closed in around the putting green area. There are WAY too many holes like this and I'm really not a fan. I prefer more obstacles on the drive not just around the basket.

Second, the walks between the holes, wow.. Many of the walks from basket to tee are longer than the holes out there. It would be one thing if the long walk was to get through a bottleneck in the land or to setup a really cool hole, but many of the walks are just from lame hole to lame hole in a wide open area. WHY?

Third was most frustrating. There are many cool berms and OB areas around here that would make really cool putting greens. None of these are utilized in the design. Anytime you can put a basket on a side slope: do it!

OK, so there are two 'decent' holes and those are #4 (through the small tree stand) and that one with the lake on your left.

This course is a poor man's version of Lawrence Tech University. Not recommended. I would only play here if you are stuck in the area.

It's too bad the designer didn't steal some good ideas from other courses (like the college's namesake T. Edison did to other inventors). There is a 3.5 star course here with some major redesign.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Round

1    4/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A good variety of holes. Not one hole really reminded me of the others.
- Good mix of shorter holes and longer holes.
- Very nice cement tee pads. (also see cons)
- A nice map and practice basket by the first tee
- With the signs it was fairly easy to navigate for a first timer.
Cons: - Not a natural location for a course. It seemed kind of forced into the area.
- Some of the tee pads were short for the length of their holes.
- Long walks between about a handful of holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course was just decent. Nothing extremely beautiful about it and as I said before it seemed kind of forced into the location.
It did offer a few unique challenges and each hole was different which I was impressed with.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to go out of their way to play it, but if you are in Piqua you should try it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: BoB3k
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open, quiet.
Pretty good mix of shots, considering the land they had available.
Nice signs and cement tees.
Cons: Some hole designs feel forced, having to use what they had.
The walk between holes is often long, in a few cases, longer than the holes themselves.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course. It's pretty open, which is nice, but it would be HOT in the summer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A pleasant surprise

5+    6/27/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: uppervalleyflyers
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very diverse course. Long open hots and short technical shots. The course utilizes its surroundings well. Tee-signs and a new kiosk with a full map are now in place.
Cons: If you don't have a map, your first time navigating the course could be a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: A great course with a variety of shots. The college setting and view of Alexander Stadium at neighboring Piqua High School in the background provides for a nice round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long Walks

5+    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: shots17
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has diverse shots set up. Lots of open fields, tunnels, hills, turns, few rivers and pond. Also good variety of short and longer shots. I like that it's a solid 18 with no repetitive holes. Never very busy there but I usually play later in the evening. They used what was available around the college for the course.
Cons: Distance between holes is very long and if it's your first time playing there it is hard to navigate the course. After 18 you've walked like 3 miles. Not necessarily a bad thing tho.
Other Thoughts: Got my 1st ACE on 5.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.