Worcester, MA 
Newton Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
super fun course!

1    7/5/2014   3/24/2015
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course situated just behind some type of school, in a fairly large park. In general, the whole park seems to be a large hill, and the course plays up, down, and around it.

Variety- Each and every hole is unique, and this course requires every trick in the bag to get the birdies necessary to score well. The designer did a good job incorporating many different flight lines into the course, especially when most of the holes are single shot, reachable par 3s.

Elevation- As I said in the opening paragraph, this course plays on a hill, and there is significant amounts of elevation changes on nearly every hole.

Fun factor- Although this course does not have any spectacular top of the world shots, it still has quite a few very fun and enjoyable downhill ace runs that would definitely keep it fun for the casual, new, or recreational player.

Navigation+Signage- Although there are not an abundance of signs, the signs that exist serve there purpose well and make playing the course for the first fairly easy. Navigation is easy here, due to some next tee signs and the close, yet safe proximity, of teepad to basket.

Amenities- This course has brand new chainstar baskets, and because it is close to downtown, amenities are a very close distance away. Although I would not necessarily consider this an amenity in a normal review, the fact that two very highly rated and deserving courses, Maple hill and Pyramids are just up the road. At least to me, this fact makes this destination a lot more appealing and between this and the two above-mentioned courses, one could make a really nice day of golfing.
Cons: There are not many cons here as I feel that the designer did a very good job at utilizing the land available, just a few nitpicky details.

Trash- This course could use some cleaning up, or the occasional garbage can, as when I visited trash could be found fairly abundantly.

Erosion/mud- Due to the fact that there are low-lying areas at the base of the hill, there is accumalated mud, and on the few holes that do play towards the base of the hill, there is mud. This mud also seems to attract mosquitos. I could definitely see erosion becoming a problem in the near future if basket positions are not frequently moved. This is because, many of the baskets are situated very close to steep slopes, and many of the fairways play up and down such steep slopes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very surprised at the quality of the course, and it was not nearly what I expected when I pulled up. This is definitely a good fun break from the Maple hill and Pyramids courses, and I could definitely see myself frequenting this course for a fun round full of ace runs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun yet challenging

1    7/12/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Java Devil
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate from the very first tee, even on your first round
-Challenging (for a beginner like me)
-Invokes a good selection of technical shots.
-Was generally clean, tees and holes all in great condition.
-Locals very friendly.
Cons: -Can be very punishing if you end up in the trees.
-Broken glass scattered around the course.
-Holes could be short for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Take careful note of where you disc ends up as it can sometimes be difficult to find amongst the leaves (if you end up in the trees anyway).
Very hilly and can be steep so prepare for a good hike.
Wasn't very busy for a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon.
Generally, even for a beginner this course made for a good round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great community asset

5+    9/30/2012   12/19/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my former home course. The biggest pros are:
-Free
-Easy parking
-Great location, easily accessible to locals and close to highways
-Dynamic, challenging topography
-Certainly not an easy course, but not too challenging either. Suits players of a wide range of abilities. In order to birdie most holes, you need to play very good disc golf.
-Baskets in good shape
-The local caretakers are always working to improve the course
-Few thorns or poison ivy, which can't be said about a lot of courses in New England.
Cons: -Broken glass and litter are always an issue
-A few par 4s are too easy
-Sometimes the hills are a little too tough and can roll a missed putt VERY far from the pin
-Not many holes are particularly memorable (although 4, 7, 10, and 15 are my faves)
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It's got all the basics and then some to make an enjoyable disc golf experience. But it's certainly not a disc golf destination, just a wonderful, free community asset that has caring locals giving lots of love on a regular basis.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worn in well

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of hill.
Nice signage and next tee markers. I printed a map and never needed to use it. Feels solo as you do not see other holes or golfers.
Nice up and down. Not all up at once.
Overall a nice mature course well worth the visit and a return either tomorrow or on my next Boston visit.
Cons: Needs garbage cans at tees.
Need to wear good shoes, ideally not sneakers as the terrain is loose, rough, lots of broken glass, unstable footings.
Just a bit buggy today.
Other Thoughts: A very nice, well worn in course. This place would be ideal for a great tournament.
Good hole variety. Plays left and right. Plays up and down. Plays short and long. Nice and shady for a hot day.
Hole-by-hole comments.
1 - A great start. Open to begin and good tree placement. Nice basket location . Slight uphill and annie. Bare ground is good for disc skipping.
2 - Straight shot. Basket placement does not match sign indication.
3 - Slight uphill, Slight hyzer, Nice defined fairway.
4 - This is my choice for signature hole for this course... or at least signature rock. Nice tree gap and keenly placed rock for visual impact. Good basket placement in trees down and back. Nice tree gateway to shoot for.
5 - Nothing but trees. No clear shot. Just toss it and play tree pinball... You will not believe me when I tell you I let it rip and did not hit a single tree on my tee shot. Played my best hole of the day here. Drive at pin, lucky roll and drop in for a deuce.
6 - Not as annie as the sign shows. Slight downhill shot.
7 - The glass gallery. Long hole, Slight uphill. Nice tree choices and a mando?
8 - Short but a nice hole.
9 - Uphill and blind. Nice big tree. Nice climb here. Good to throw up, up, up.
10 - Long left side slope on ridge. very steep pin area. if you miss the putt... and you will... killer roll away, your next putt will be even longer... and uphill, too.
11 - Uphill. Blind. Shorty. Good, simple fun.
12 - Uphill shoot through a nice tree gate placed just far enough from tee pad that you will hit the tree instead of split the uprights... likely.
13 - Longish downhill sweeper. Very nice hole. If you have a pretty good arm with placement ability you can drive the pin area for a deuce. I did not.
14 - Hard dog leg annie. if you have good annie vbending middie control... say a Innove Wedge, you can drive the pin area... bend it hard. Nice to see as most holes with this hard a dog leg tend to go Hyzer rather than annie.
15 - Huge downhill with roll away sloped pin area. very gald this hole does NOT play the other direction. Steep, downhill hole. Steepest of the course.
16 - Moderate uphill shot slight slope to the right dissimilar from leftie slope on hole 10.
17 - Comparitively (for the course) level connector hole to put 18 in a place to bring us back to start of course. Good use of existing trees for shot options.
18 - Short, simple finish hole. out with a whimper, not a bang. Perhaps you should play the 18 pad to the practice basket near tee #1 instead for some challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Workout

2-4    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jrennie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked---it's easy to find baskets and next tees. Challenging for intermediate players. Excellent location. Easy to find. Plentiful parking. Free. Good hole variety (but could be better). Great exercise workout due to elevation changes. Not too many trees.
Cons: Parking not available during school hours. Only one set of tees/holes. Some steep uphill holes. Can be difficult to find errant drive without spotters on some holes (#10, #13, #15, #17). #18 is too short. Broken glass on some holes, esp. #7.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. Even though it's a workout, I love the large number of uphill holes with limited (vs. Pyramids) trees; I feel that they reward good drive technique and reduce random chance tree-hits. #13 and #15 are fun-and-a-bit-scary drives.

How to make this course better: add a few longish out-in-the-open holes, lengthen some of the flat and/or downhill holes, clear brush where errant drives are likely to fall on downhill/steeply-sloping holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Walkin' on Broken Glass

2-4    7/18/2015   6/30/2012
Review By: adlacro
Played: 71  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free. Solid 18 hole course with nice Chainstar baskets. Many holes incorporate elevation, but every hole has fair lines to hit and are reachable with birdie looks or easy up and downs for the average player. Signs, for the most part, depict the hole well enough to guide you through, and arrows on bricks near the basket direct you to the next tee. Not far from the Marshall Street gems as well as the highway.
Cons: There was a lot of broken beer bottles around the tees and lots of shards. Some TLC regarding this could improve the rating. Some tee pads are too short for a full run-up so take note of that. Regarding the signage, if you don't look underneath the basket for the green arrow stones, you're looking, and it can take more than a few minutes to find the next tee, especially after hole 3. Other park users may not be aware of flying discs, just keep this in mind and you'll be okay. If you have a large group, send someone up to spot on 10 and 15. You'll be really glad you did.
Other Thoughts: This gem in the heart of downtown Worcester is a thrill for those seeking elevation and working on their uphill driving without paying the big bucks of Maple Hill/Pyramids. A nice challenge and well thoughtout design. Unique top of Newton Hill pole near baskets 3, 9 and 12 worth the few minutes to go check out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Newton Hill

5+    2/28/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: DVinci24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a free course with lots of parking. There are practice baskets to warm up on, including the 18 basket as long as no one is playing it. All around its a very solid course with no water, so there aren't any real worries about losing a disc. I've played this course more times then i could count and i still find it challenging. This course also gives you a bunch of birdie opportunities mixed in with some tough holes which makes the course really fun to play.
Cons: Some broken glass on holes, sometimes you can run into people walking their dogs or other people hanging out there. Also its right next to the high school and they do run cross country their, and even have races which can sometimes interfere with play but its not too bad. It is a very hilly course which can add some added fun and excitement into some holes but on some other holes it can get a bit ridiculous. For instance the basket on 10 is in an incredibly difficult position and a lot of the times really hurts your score.
Other Thoughts: The only other thoughts i have are that the fairways are fairly open on most holes, but as soon as you go out of the fairways, the woods are very thick to get out of and can even make it difficult to find your disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elm Park Course/ Newton Hill Woo

5+    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: kthibodeau1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging but not overly frustrating.

This course is very well kept and is very high quality.

This course is well played but not overly busy.

Large parking lot at dorhety High upper lot. Multiple access points in addition to main entrance. (hole 7 behind tennis courts and 16 along park ave.)
Cons: A few spots, especially tee boxes, that retain water and are always muddy.

I few baskets are on severe slopes and make even good approaches run up to a 100 ft away. It can be a drag but forces you to play safe and learn how to control roll.
Other Thoughts: The use of arrows at the base of baskets is great for finding your next hole. I like it better than signs.

Its worth my weekly trip from fitchburg, 20 miles away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Newton Hill

5+    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good challenge with with trees and branches
basket is visible from almost every tee
markers pointing to next tee
no water hazards
Cons: hills
for beginners trees and branches are a problem
glass on some holes
Other Thoughts: overall its a compact course that takes about 1hr and half to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 behind the high school

1    9/4/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great course, very challenging.
Cons: very hilly.

Hole #3 is confusing to find..it's to the right after disc catcher under oak trees that form like a bridge..walk through it and your all set the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: 10 minutes from maple hill and pyramids

20-25 minutes from buffeman lake

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.