Worcester, MA 
Newton Hill Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 353ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun yet challenging

1    7/12/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Java Devil
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate from the very first tee, even on your first round
-Challenging (for a beginner like me)
-Invokes a good selection of technical shots.
-Was generally clean, tees and holes all in great condition.
-Locals very friendly.
Cons: -Can be very punishing if you end up in the trees.
-Broken glass scattered around the course.
-Holes could be short for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Take careful note of where you disc ends up as it can sometimes be difficult to find amongst the leaves (if you end up in the trees anyway).
Very hilly and can be steep so prepare for a good hike.
Wasn't very busy for a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon.
Generally, even for a beginner this course made for a good round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet City Course

2-4    4/21/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Even Mix of shots. You will play up/down hill, left/right, mostly tight wooded, but a few places to let it fly.
Fair layout.
Tee pads are in really good shape with some current work being done.
Baskets are in excellent condition.
Even for being on a hill, the course flows very well, and you don't feel like all you're doing is climbing all round.
Lots of trash cans.
Plenty of seating around tees.
A few spots with broken glass, but for the most part a very clean course.

Cons: Lots of leaves on the course, easy to lose disc.
A few tee pads could be a bit longer.
15 was unplayable due to construction work.
No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Man if I could get something half as nice built in my city!
Had a really nice round here.
I am not a player who likes to throw uphill or walk uphill (Hated Devens), but this is course didn't wear me out because of the terrain.
It looked as if some work was being done to improve the course further, and that is a great thing.
Start your trip to Maple Hill a few hours early and warm up on this one.
It's free to play, free to park, but bring a few bucks to drop in the donation pole.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great community asset

5+    9/30/2012   12/19/2013
Review By: gabereif
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my former home course. The biggest pros are:
-Free
-Easy parking
-Great location, easily accessible to locals and close to highways
-Dynamic, challenging topography
-Certainly not an easy course, but not too challenging either. Suits players of a wide range of abilities. In order to birdie most holes, you need to play very good disc golf.
-Baskets in good shape
-The local caretakers are always working to improve the course
Cons: -Broken glass and litter are always an issue
-A few par 4s are too easy
-Sometimes the hills are a little too tough and can roll a missed putt VERY far from the pin
-Not many holes are particularly memorable (although 4, 7, 10, and 15 are my faves)
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It's got all the basics and then some to make an enjoyable disc golf experience. But it's certainly not a disc golf destination, just a wonderful, free community asset that has caring locals giving lots of love on a regular basis.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good City Course

5+    9/15/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: Riords
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed for the amount of land given for the course. Plenty of up hill and down hill shots. Free to play.
Cons: lots of glass on most of the course. and its a public park, not really a busy public park, but from time to time people are walking, running, biking, ect....a public high school shares the property.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worn in well

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of hill.
Nice signage and next tee markers. I printed a map and never needed to use it. Feels solo as you do not see other holes or golfers.
Nice up and down. Not all up at once.
Overall a nice mature course well worth the visit and a return either tomorrow or on my next Boston visit.
Cons: Needs garbage cans at tees.
Need to wear good shoes, ideally not sneakers as the terrain is loose, rough, lots of broken glass, unstable footings.
Just a bit buggy today.
Other Thoughts: A very nice, well worn in course. This place would be ideal for a great tournament.
Good hole variety. Plays left and right. Plays up and down. Plays short and long. Nice and shady for a hot day.
Hole-by-hole comments.
1 - A great start. Open to begin and good tree placement. Nice basket location . Slight uphill and annie. Bare ground is good for disc skipping.
2 - Straight shot. Basket placement does not match sign indication.
3 - Slight uphill, Slight hyzer, Nice defined fairway.
4 - This is my choice for signature hole for this course... or at least signature rock. Nice tree gap and keenly placed rock for visual impact. Good basket placement in trees down and back. Nice tree gateway to shoot for.
5 - Nothing but trees. No clear shot. Just toss it and play tree pinball... You will not believe me when I tell you I let it rip and did not hit a single tree on my tee shot. Played my best hole of the day here. Drive at pin, lucky roll and drop in for a deuce.
6 - Not as annie as the sign shows. Slight downhill shot.
7 - The glass gallery. Long hole, Slight uphill. Nice tree choices and a mando?
8 - Short but a nice hole.
9 - Uphill and blind. Nice big tree. Nice climb here. Good to throw up, up, up.
10 - Long left side slope on ridge. very steep pin area. if you miss the putt... and you will... killer roll away, your next putt will be even longer... and uphill, too.
11 - Uphill. Blind. Shorty. Good, simple fun.
12 - Uphill shoot through a nice tree gate placed just far enough from tee pad that you will hit the tree instead of split the uprights... likely.
13 - Longish downhill sweeper. Very nice hole. If you have a pretty good arm with placement ability you can drive the pin area for a deuce. I did not.
14 - Hard dog leg annie. if you have good annie vbending middie control... say a Innove Wedge, you can drive the pin area... bend it hard. Nice to see as most holes with this hard a dog leg tend to go Hyzer rather than annie.
15 - Huge downhill with roll away sloped pin area. very gald this hole does NOT play the other direction. Steep, downhill hole. Steepest of the course.
16 - Moderate uphill shot slight slope to the right dissimilar from leftie slope on hole 10.
17 - Comparitively (for the course) level connector hole to put 18 in a place to bring us back to start of course. Good use of existing trees for shot options.
18 - Short, simple finish hole. out with a whimper, not a bang. Perhaps you should play the 18 pad to the practice basket near tee #1 instead for some challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Workout

2-4    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jrennie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked---it's easy to find baskets and next tees. Challenging for intermediate players. Excellent location. Easy to find. Plentiful parking. Free. Good hole variety (but could be better). Great exercise workout due to elevation changes. Not too many trees.
Cons: Parking not available during school hours. Only one set of tees/holes. Some steep uphill holes. Can be difficult to find errant drive without spotters on some holes (#10, #13, #15, #17). #18 is too short. Broken glass on some holes, esp. #7.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. Even though it's a workout, I love the large number of uphill holes with limited (vs. Pyramids) trees; I feel that they reward good drive technique and reduce random chance tree-hits. #13 and #15 are fun-and-a-bit-scary drives.

How to make this course better: add a few longish out-in-the-open holes, lengthen some of the flat and/or downhill holes, clear brush where errant drives are likely to fall on downhill/steeply-sloping holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Walkin' on Broken Glass

2-4    2/2/2013   6/30/2012
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2013
Pros: It's free. 18 holes with Chainstar baskets in very good shape. You need to be in good shape to play this course a lot. There is lots of elevation in this unique Southwick designed course. A few right hand turning shots, but otherwise mostly straight. Off the fairway is challenging and summer growth will require more pitchouts to the fairway than a look at getting through, and the winter is easier to play here. Not far from major highways and local restaurants, as well as the downtown Worcester area and the Marshall Street gems. Tees are in pretty decent shape with okay signage. No excessive overgrowth on fairways, always a plus in my book.
Cons: There was a lot of broken beer bottles around the tees and lots of shards. Some TLC regarding this could improve the rating. Some tee pads are too short for a full run-up so take note of that. Regarding the signage, if you don't look underneath the basket for the green arrow stones, you're looking, and it can take more than a few minutes to find the next tee, especially after hole 3. Other park users may not be aware of flying discs, just keep this in mind and you'll be okay. Course a little slippery in spots becuase of rain water iced over.
Other Thoughts: This gem in the heart of downtown Worcester is a thrill for those seeking elevation and working on their uphill driving without paying the big bucks of Maple Hill/Pyramids. A nice challenge and well thoughtout design. Unique top of Newton Hill pole near baskets 3, 9 and 12 worth the few minutes to go check out.

 Newton Hill

5+    2/28/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: DVinci24
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a free course with lots of parking. There are practice baskets to warm up on, including the 18 basket as long as no one is playing it. All around its a very solid course with no water, so there aren't any real worries about losing a disc. I've played this course more times then i could count and i still find it challenging. This course also gives you a bunch of birdie opportunities mixed in with some tough holes which makes the course really fun to play.
Cons: Some broken glass on holes, sometimes you can run into people walking their dogs or other people hanging out there. Also its right next to the high school and they do run cross country their, and even have races which can sometimes interfere with play but its not too bad. It is a very hilly course which can add some added fun and excitement into some holes but on some other holes it can get a bit ridiculous. For instance the basket on 10 is in an incredibly difficult position and a lot of the times really hurts your score.
Other Thoughts: The only other thoughts i have are that the fairways are fairly open on most holes, but as soon as you go out of the fairways, the woods are very thick to get out of and can even make it difficult to find your disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elm Park Course/ Newton Hill Woo

5+    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: kthibodeau1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging but not overly frustrating.

This course is very well kept and is very high quality.

This course is well played but not overly busy.

Large parking lot at dorhety High upper lot. Multiple access points in addition to main entrance. (hole 7 behind tennis courts and 16 along park ave.)
Cons: A few spots, especially tee boxes, that retain water and are always muddy.

I few baskets are on severe slopes and make even good approaches run up to a 100 ft away. It can be a drag but forces you to play safe and learn how to control roll.
Other Thoughts: The use of arrows at the base of baskets is great for finding your next hole. I like it better than signs.

Its worth my weekly trip from fitchburg, 20 miles away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but watch the hills

2-4    8/27/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Evilhippy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its free, there is plenty of parking and a few practice baskets. There are a few tree enough to make it interesting but not so many as to make it frustrating and the elevation changes make for some fun drives.
Cons: Hills, the are a few holes where the basket is on the side of a hill and if you miss the putt you better be chasing the disc because it will be in the next area code before you know it.
Other Thoughts: My roommate has lost 3 discs on this course so keep an eye on your plastic!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.