Worcester, MA 
Newton Hill Share
Uploaded By: goofboy Hole #8 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 155ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Excellent Use of Land

2-4    3/20/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: andapos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation change. Some holes are very challenging. Beginners will enjoy this course. Overall good design with some very surprising variety given the location. Very tight and wooded.
Cons: Navigation is a problem, a course map printed online is a must. Parking can definitely be an issue when school is in session. No opportunities for long drives.
Other Thoughts: Played this course for the first time this week and I have to say I was impressed. It was a great use of the land with some good challenges. There isn't any real consequences for errant shots, which is great for beginners, but not for more advances players.

The only real problem I had was with the navigation of the course. At times we had to backtrack through parts of the course to find the next tee pad. A map is a must. Some baskets have arrows under them pointing to the next tee, but not all of them. Even with a map getting from the basket at 3 to the tee at 4, and the basket at 9 to the tee at 10 is troublesome.

To get from 3 to four, turn back from the 3rd basket, there will be a little path to follow. Same deal for 9 to 10. The map shows that you should go in the complete opposite direction.

Even with the navigation issues, this course is definitely worth playing. Its free, uses elevation effectively, and challenges accuracy rather than length. Well done.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Public Course

1    3/20/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of the land. The holes are well designed.
-Great risk/reward putting on several holes.
-Nice clean fairways.
-A wooded course that's not overcrowded with trees.
Cons: -Extremely tiring from constant uphill terrain.
-No real ace opportunities.
-Tough navigation (could improve with tee signs).
-Parking can be an issue if school is in session.
Other Thoughts: Worcester finally has a disc golf course, and it's a great one. Located behind Doherty High School, Newton Hill is a fantastic wooded course that is appropriate for all skill levels. While the front 9 was certainly entertaining, holes 12-15 are clear winners.

Unfortunately, even with a course map, my friend and I had a tough time finding some of the tee pads. Certainly, this could improve with the installation of tee signs, which I'm sure will come eventually. I don't think this course is fully finished yet.

All in all, Newton Hill is an awesome free public course. Definitely a wooded course, but the fairways are clear. The course design is absolutely fantasic in terms of correct use of the land. Southwick did a marvelous job designing this course. Give it a try as soon as possible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Be Bery Bery nice!

1    12/19/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(For a mostly wooded course, there is far to little punishment for poor shots or decisions. It is very evident that a ton of work has been done recently in clearing as evidenced by neatly stacked piles of logs, saplings and underbrush throughout the course. Great work, great pride, but overdone for my taste. It is suitable for beginners though.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(While half the holes are a perfect challenge to me, other holes are too long to make birdies even a possible hope. As stated, this course is wide enough for beginners and the lengths are long enough to make many holes legit par 4's for Red level players (250-275' drives). This course does not have the perfect mix of lengths for me, but is still quite fun!)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(Great care has been taken to provide a great mix in all categories of variety - well done! My one complaint is the excessive amount of uphill throws - as evidenced by the large number of downhill transition paths from basket to next tee. While uphill holes test certain DG skills, downhill holes add more to the course, IMO.
My favorite hole is steeply downhill #4. A large sharp boulder is strategically placed about 1/3 of the way down the corridor fairway forcing you to float your shot higher than you want, but tempting you to throw as low as possible risking an encounter with said boulder. A very fun touch shot with big punishment for poor execution.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
(In the summer, the foliage will keep you from realizing you are in an urban park other than 11 & 12 where you pop out into the open and see the street and a garage. Overall the course is beautiful and secluded with a large clearing in the middle of the park that the course plays in and out of and around.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == D+
(In my estimation, only uphill 420' #7 is a legit par-4. With a low ceiling and narrow gaps at the hole's mid point, it takes two good medium-power well-placed drives to achieve a birdie 3. A really good par-4....wish there were several more!)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Very Good Course

2-4    11/22/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: mbertrandverizonnet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All new baskets, some very interesting holes, good workout!
Cons: After the first 4 holes or so - it's mostly up and down a steep hill. Little crowded the couple times I've gone.
Other Thoughts: Be nice to have tee signs with distance and direction to basket.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Newton Hill

1    11/11/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: WolfRoc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course has arrows on almost every basket pointing to the next tee. nicely designed shot path.
Cons: it would be nice to have a sign or something giving basket facts(location, etc.) a little tough to play being steep hills covered in leaves, i did a lot of falling down hills that day. on a couple of the baskets you might wanna be a little careful due to park ave. its pretty close to the street.
Other Thoughts: very decent course look forward to playing it again.
- for future reference make sure you wear a good pair of shoes for the hills

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great addition to Central MA disc golf

2-4    11/1/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: lazy cake
Played: 313  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great location that takes advantage of a previously underutilized park.
-Solid lay out. Each hole naturally flows in to the next, no 10 minute walk between holes but also not so close as to be dangerous.
-Lots of time on the hill. I really appreciate good elevation change and this park provides plenty of it. Holes 4 and 7 and almost the entire back 9 have significant elevation change. Plenty of opportunity for both uphill and downhill throws. Some of the elevation changes are quite significant (numbers 7, 9, and 15 stand out).
-Course doesn't favor backhand shots over forehand shots. Being backhand dominant, I appreciate the course challenging me to improve my forehand game.
-Brand new Chainstar baskets.
-Good mix of open (by New England standards) and wooded shots. No hole strikes me as being more luck over skill from the tee box.
-Nice mats at the tee box.
Cons: -A little tricky to navigate as there's no sign pointing to the first hole from the parking lot (you'll see 18 when you pull in, walk off to the right and slightly up hill to find the first tee).
-No signage for each hole but not really a problem as you can see most baskets from the tee.
-Sometimes tricky to make it between holes if the brick with the arrow is missing.
-As of Halloween, the basket for three is made of plastic chains (all others are Chainstars) but I assume this is changing.
Other Thoughts: Lots of great improvements still being made to the course. Since it is brand new, there are still a few rough edges but based on the amount of volunteers who've been putting in lots of hours, it would seem that Newton Hill will be another challenging, hilly, Central Mass DG course. I spoke with the designer who told me that he was inspired by the design at Devens and it certainly shows.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great work in proress

5+    10/21/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The tee pads are pieces of rubber laid on the ground, very similar if not the same as Marshall Street and Pyramids. There are next tee signs; however they are painted bricks with arrows placed in the ground either next to or near the basket area. There is a great change in elevation. The elevation change will kick your butt. Every other hole goes up and then down. The hole variety is great and very mixed: there is no real grip and rip shots, while there is a variety of doglegs right and left and tunnels. There is also a basketball and tennis court next to hole 7 so your family can have fun while you disc! The tee boxes that are on hills are either dug out or have a nice rock formation around them so that they are all level. Probably the most beneficial is that hole 18's basket is right next to the parking lot. All of the holes nave nice tee sign and new Chainstars.
Cons: Since the parking lot is shared with a school parking could be limited during school hours. The navigation is a work in progress. There are no benches or bathrooms. There is a lot of trash and damage to the course and baskets.
Other Thoughts: The tees are marked by painted stones with the number on them. Make sure to bring extra water as you will need it. Tee one is at the very top of the parking lot to the right.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A Work in Progress

1    9/9/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: KazamaSmokers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right smack in the middle of the 2nd-largest city in New England. Could not be more convenient. Shows the signs of being a true labor of love - little things that you can't fake. Nice mix of uphill/downhill and wooded/moderately open territory. Part of a revival of a long-neglected Worcester park.
Cons: Not all holes have baskets. Some tees can be hard to find. But the Marshall Street folks and the "Friends of Newton Hill" are working on it.

UPDATE: Most holes now have baskets, and some fantastic foundations for tees. This is now a 4 star course!
Other Thoughts: There are 10 colleges in the Worcester area. This is a fantastic asset for the college culture in the city. Just blocks from WPI and Becker and about a mile from Assumption.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Newton Hill

5+    4/7/2010   8/30/2009
Review By: SaturnDiscGolfer
Played: 97  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Play free, 4 miles away from Marshall Street (Pyramids-Maple Hill DGC). Elevation hill and mixed wooded.
Cons: Rent-a-Cop informed me to "don't allowed parking there during school hours " or get permit for parking from school (sound silly).
Other Thoughts: Playing will leading you counterclockwise from tee # 1(uphill from parking lot) to tee # 18-(Corner of end of parking lot). 18 new DGA baskets was installed. Best time playing there after school hours (2:30 pm) or school closed

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.