Milledgeville, GA 
Myrtle Ridge Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #9 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
overgrown

1    5/20/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: ghahn
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ya better be good...
Cons: Too overgrown. Spent too much time searching for my disc. Finally decided that I didn't want to spend $16 to play the course!!!
Other Thoughts: this course was too over grown for me to comfortably continue

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Continues to Improve

5+    2/18/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: StarRyanO
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the technicality of a high skill level course. Combined with the recent placement of new pins on all but hole 1, 2, and 18 makes this course a sweet destination. Free and open to the public only maximizes the reasons to check it out. Trails clearly guide you through your round. Each hole now has a sponsor meaning cement teepads and nice teesigns/direction signs to come.
Cons: The teepads are all natural meaning not all of them are flat and roots and mud can be in the way. I always play hole 4 from the front of the mud because the true "teepad" will never be dry haha. The direction signs are small and forest green meaning they blend in and there has not been a recent course map update in years. Hopefully one will come soon and the maps will be available on the new board with the Myrtle Ridge graphic! FRESH! Honestly those are my only complaints besides the endless need to clean the fairways now and then.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful and continues to impress me each year. I lived in milledgeville and went to GCSU so I've played this course well over 100 times. I knows it's flaws and it's treasures, and I have a little bias that only a home course can bring. That being said if you leave near the area or are passing through and want some amazing discgolf I HIGHLY recommend heading to this course. New renovations should help with the cons to make this course PRO level and highly sought after. Itll blow you away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/24/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: Macdisc5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic design and challenging.
Free to play.
Great variety of holes as far as elevation change and turns.
Cons: There are no concrete teepads, only natural dirt/grass.
#4 becomes a flood plain after rain, which in addition to the lack of concrete teepads is annoying, but the course designer says to drive from beyond the "swamp."
There is not much of a fairway on #18, only a footpath with tall trees and brush on either side.
Course still needs some cleanup work.
There are briars all over the course so watch out!
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course, it just needs some financial backing to add teepads and to clean it up a bit. They made great use of the land and it is well designed. It is mostly wooded, with a couple of open holes right off the bat(#1, #2, and partially #3). I have seen great progress since this course opened a few years back, it now has permanent baskets and has been cleaned up a great deal. All holes are par 3's, but that makes for a challenge on several of them. Hopefully they add concrete teepads before too long. Once that happens and with some attention this will be a favorite course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

5+    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: James Powell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of long/short, left/right, up/down.
Fairly easy to follow. Rough has been thinned out in the last year and natural foot traffic has helped as well. The guys have done a lot of work and it is showing! Trees are a part of playing wooded courses, Fairways are shaping up.
Cons: Tees are a problem on some holes. Specifically 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 16. Concrete would help, and that is probably the next step. Random piles of tree limbs and trimmings need to be moved. Stray limbs here and there could be cut back as well.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a lot of improvements could be made to make the course more appealing, but after playing at least once a week for almost two years, the course never gets boring and continues to evolve. Definitely a favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Getting better

5+    8/1/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: adubsauce
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Baskets on each hole is a huge plus. Tee Boxes are easy to find.
Cons: To many trees-have had my discs hit limbs that were extended well into the fairway many times. To much brush & debree(random briar patches & fallen limbs on course). Could improve the teeboxes, some are to small, some have to many roots, and some are just not flat at all. Needs to have wider fairways-to much looking for a hidden disc thats no further than 2 feet off the fairway because of brush & debree. Maybe get some kind of sign to point out where exactly the course is located, I have had alot of people get confused in finding the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome if you have a dog; I take my dog with me every time and she loves the exercise as well as being off her leash and able to run around. Watch out for snakes, I've seen a few on this course. Bring some water for sure, you could be out there a while hunting if you're not careful. Keep an eye on your disc and where it goes/lands! I've noticed today that some of the baskets have been moved to more appropriate positions and a few bushes/trees have been re-moved as to help make fairways a little clearer and putting greens had brush/bushes taken out to make the green more open and visible.

 Potentially potent

1    11/24/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
Pros: This course has enough distance and variety to be a very fun and challenging course. Elements of elevation, shot shaping, and length are mixed throughout. A few very nice holes. There is also a short nine if you don't want to play 18.
Cons: Natural tees are marked with posts, but no signage or next tee indicators. Fairways are in need of some sculpting and definition. Flow of the course is not always easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: A bit of concrete and a couple of work days could raise the rating of this course in a hurry. As an explorer, I'm glad to have stopped here to play. As a destination, there is still quite a lot to be desired.

 Work in progress

1    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: - Decent variety of shots
- Elevation changes
- Baskets in good shape
- Next tee signs are a big help
Cons: - Fairways not well defined
- Lack of tee signs with distances
- Natural tees not always flat
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that has a lot of potential but it requires a couple of dedicated individuals to get it where it could be. The first two holes are fairly unoriginal straight shots. The first hole could benefit from being a hundred feet further around the corner. Second hole is fine but leads to a bit of a flow issue going to hole three. Hole three is a blind big hyzer shot which is great up until you throw the upshot. No real green to hit so being a few feet off means you have to search for you disc in deep brush. The wooded hole are pretty well thought out but once again just need to be thinned out in places. Getting rid of a few small saplings and maybe one or two bigger trees in a middle of a few fairways could benefit the fairways. The last few holes are almost completely overgrown.

I do like the alternate tee pad for hole nine which allows you to play to hole 15's basket and just have a short round. Bit of walk from the last hole back to your car. Hopefully this will be consider when the course adds a few more holes.

 Would be better if it was played more/kept up

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: -Nice use of the given land.

-Nice having another course in the area

-once you get paste the first 4 holes, most holes we're really good and well thought out
Cons: -Hard to follow course flow in some places (small green sigs are hard to follow)

-VERY overgrown in some areas, (better with more traffic/matinence)...stay on the fairways or risk losing your disc (lost 2 on this round...one to a snake(That "bowl" on hole 3), and one in the woods.)

-Some Blind shots which are always interesting.

- Course was obviously crammed on the back side of the campus in what was once used as a drainage area.

-grass tees/ wood poles for signs

-went on a dry week and the first few holes felt muddy...hate to see it on a wet week

-Very few trashcans/benches (useful on a hot day
Other Thoughts: Good course for what they we're given to work with, but it just wasn't well trafficked enough yet, or well maintained....as this course becomes more popular...It has the potential to be one of the best in the area.


In the winter when i come back i might re-review this, as it might be a better course with the overgrowth backs off for the winter.

 This will be a good one

1    4/12/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Luke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17 Years
Pros: Elevation change
shot variety
fairness
location
serenity
Cons: not finished
Other Thoughts: I can't wait until this is done. They will cut a trail through the woods to get to Rolling Hills DGC, which is 300 feet away. I think this course will remind people at once of Sequoyah Park and The old Ant Farm.

 Brand New Course

1    2/7/2010   2/12/2010
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
Pros: Brand new course, so kudos to the course builders / designers for their effort on another new course for our sport. Decent mix of open holes (1-3), and wooded holes (4-15). Its obvious that a lot of work has been done to clear out the wooded holes in terms of removing trees and shule from the fairways. Looks like more trees / stumps have been marked for removal. Wooded holes require accurate throws, and also require you to turn the disc both ways, but not so tight that's its unfair. Course has a good variety of distances. Moderate terrain changes, with 12 (downhill) and 13 (uphill) being the most dramatic. Some holes felt like par 4's, but hard to tell with no distances or par indicators (yet). Plenty of holes to reach with one good shot as well. Brand new Mach2 baskets. Pretty good "next tee" signage. I never got lost. Hole 12 was the "signature" hole for me, downhill right to lefter, nice view with a good path through the trees. Course is located directly on the GCSU west campus / athletic complex. The speakers from an ongoing baseball game provided a soundtrack for my round. Course is close to Rolling Hills DGC in Milledgeville. I played them both fairly quickly, 26 holes total between the two.
Cons: Virtually all cons relate to the "new factor", i.e. the inherent rough nature of a brand new course. Course is still very rough. While fairway paths have been cleared (with a lot of obvious work), there are still a lot of stickers, stumps, etc. in the fairways. Lots of long wheat grass on the open holes as well. I can see where it would be easy to lose discs here. I can't imagine playing this course in shorts (too rough), which would be a real issue for me on a hot summer day in Georgia. One set of tees per hole, grass only, sometimes uneven teeing areas. No real signage, save for some good "next tee" signs. Without signage / maps, I had to walk halfway on some blind holes to see the basket location. We've had a wet winter in Georgia, but the drainage seemed bad. The group in front of me quit after 3 holes due to the poor drainage. I soldiered on, but had to skip hole 4 as it was a swamp. Hole 3 is open, with a large grassy bowl to your right. That grassy bowl was so swamped, there were frogs in there making their own symphony. It would be real easy to lose your drive in that swamp on hole 3. Very slippery and muddy when I played. Only 15 holes when I played.
Other Thoughts: Cons relating to roughness should be expected for a new course. I'm sure with play, the rough edges will disappear. Consider this course still a "work in progress". At least its open with 15 decent holes. I also suspect as more dollars become available the course would get upgraded with better tees, signage, etc. Give this one some time, and it will only get better. Quick drive over to Rolling Hills for a different type of course - open and hilly. Make sure you go to the west campus / athletic complex off the 441 bypass. I was not familiar with GCSU and wasted a lot of time on the main campus before finally getting directions. Once you enter the west campus, the directions on the main page are perfect.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.