Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #12
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Respect the DeLa

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice new MachX baskets in each hole
-Large cement teepads with good grip on most holes
-Great variety of holes, very few seem similar
-Challenging, some may find it too difficult but I thought it was just right, not for beginners.
-Great views of Santa Cruz and the surrounding forest, not just on the signature Top of the World hole
-They sell discs at the golf pro shop on the road coming up to the course. They also have a shipping container set up at the course where they sell discs and they guy running it was very nice and knowledgeable.
Cons: -A few crossing fairways, which really bothered me since it's such a large course, it seems they could cut it down to 27 holes and avoid these crossings, but at the same time it might end up leaving a long walk between some holes.
-At least one teepad that was very small.
Other Thoughts: One thing I don't consider a con personally, but could go either way for others was the extreme elevation on a lot of holes, this is definitely a good hike. I enjoy the exercise and playing in Northern California that's usually the norm. The crossing fairways really bothered me, but I'm not sure what the best way to eliminate them would be. I went on a Saturday midday and it wasn't too busy, but we did have to wait on those in front of us a few times and for somebody to shoot on the crossing fairways. Overall this course lives up to the hype. You have to play it smart, know how to shape your shots and use the spin of your disc for good placements. I tried to be brave on a couple holes and ended up in the canyons along the fairways. I didn't lose any discs, but I gained a nice poison ivy rash. The poison ivy is easy to avoid if you stay on the fairways or at least don't go too far off them. The Kitchen and Top of the World holes are in my top 5 holes played and they're on the same course. I've played other top of the worlds but they pale in comparison to this one.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2013   1/4/2015
Review By: Chuckhuckaba
Played: 77  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A challenging course, but very fair. You need to execute a variety of shots to score well. Good mix of short and long holes. Not a bad hole on this layout. I'm from Michigan, so this course resembled some of the Northern Michigan courses I play back home. Very friendly locals, who are helpful when guiding you through the course.
Cons: None really, other than it was very busy when I played. That should be expected on such a nice course.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

ONE OF THE BEST!

1    12/11/2013   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Excellent variability
*Multiple pin positions
*Almost every hole has elevation changes
*Good people
*Great challenge, good variety in difficulty
*Very established course, well designed
*Variety in style of holes
*Discs for sale, clubhouse is a shipping container
*Weather is always nice
Cons: *Pay for parking
*Could lose discs easily on some holes (sheer drops, dense woods, blind shots)
*Some excellent skill required on some narrow, canopy covered fairways
*No maps available (take a pic of the map on the bulletin board)
*No bathrooms near when you get far out
*Outhouses only

Other Thoughts: The cons are really subjective, as the $2 parking is a pittance to experience this amazing course. Prepare to make a day out of playing this course, Bring food and water, which you can get from a mini mart on the way to the road leading to the course that also has a nice selection of discs. Everyone is nice and even though it is challenging for beginners, my friend who was a newbie didn't seem to mind since this place is so amazing. "The Kitchen" puts you on a precipice where you throw from one platform to another 100ft down, you need some accuracy here, if you miss you prolly just lost your disc! You may want a spotter for some holes. Some holes are wide open, some are through thickets where you have to throw super straight. Sometimes you will be throwing blind, over gulches, up and down, the variability is amazing. Truly memorable and a must for any enthusiast! World class.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/13/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Twgallagher2
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautifully laid out course with tons of variation. It offers challenging shots but will reward you with birdie opportunities for great shots. Probably the best course I've ever played.
Cons: Can get a big sluggish if you get stuck behind a large group/ inexperienced group.
Other Thoughts: Get there early and bring water to drink!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I <3 DeLa

5+    6/14/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course with all kinds of shots. Depending on what pin position the baskets are in there can be quite a bit of diffrence in how you have to shoot the hole. The greens are fast and dangerous, but that makes you think about your shot that much more. There are 27 holes here and none of them seem the same. You will need to bring your A-game to shoot well out here.
Cons: Paying to park kinda sucks, but it helps keep down the jerks out there. The top of the world shot while fun is dangerous as it plays over a few other holes, and if it's overthrown bad enough you can end up in the parking lot. The course also gets prety crowded on the weekends, especialy in the summer.
Other Thoughts: There's a guy in the parking lot who sells discs sometimes, I've gotten some great deals from him. The shop as you are coming in by the ball golf course sells discs as well, but their prices are much higher.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Once Wasn't Enough

1    4/19/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging in so many ways. If you've never played it, and this was my first go at it, it's everything you've heard. Tee box views that will blow you away. Blind shots, uphill and down hill. Good friendly help and locals.
Cons: Glad I had a guide! I did grab a map of DeLa from the Bolf course, just down the road. Still, course knowledge is so important. Beware of Rollers and skips on certain holes. Them's some steeeep canyons! Garbage cans lacking but servicing them could be pretty taxing. Carry out what you brought in. Watch out for the police, they have mountain bikes too.
Other Thoughts: I was on vaca for a week. Had played down the coast at Waller Park once and Heilman 4 rounds in two days. (I'd like to thank this site very much for the guidance!) De LaVeaga was my last stop before heading back to Sac.
Blew my mind! Some out of this world shots. The Kitchen on 12 was intimidating as all get out. Hooking up with a player who knew the course was so invaluable. Thank you Kari Rose and Fumi!
The crew maintaining the place take a lot of pride in what they do and the Pro-Shop/Snack bar guy is as helpful as can be.
Time to plan a camping trip in the area with the friends that got me hooked on this game.
The 3 hour drive, one way, will require more then one round.
BTW- You have to pay to park. $2.00. Don't overpay (like me) thinking the extra goes to the course, there is a donation box on the 1st hole for that. DOH!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent View from 27

1    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 163  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Many have wish-listed this place and for good reason. This is where the Pro's play and sharpen their game. Good use of tech and finesse shots. Multiple pin placements. Great elevation changes and use of land. Great scenery all around and particularly from 27.
Cons: Had I not gone to the Ball Golf pro shop (down the road) prior to my round, navigation would have been an issue on some of the holes. Generally, I'd say it's not suited for first-timers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a very challenging course and what I needed. It brought my game a new perspective; it's a long way to the top...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 test your mettle

2-4    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.8 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Superior design, isolated yet easy to get to from anywhere in the South Bay, absolutely incredible scenery all around, holes that you WILL NOT find anywhere else, extreme risk/reward, and a finisher that tells you you've been to an epic DG destination.
Cons: Several crossing fairways, minimal water & facilities on-site, not much in the way of trash cans. That's about it.
Other Thoughts: De La has long held its position as one of the crown jewels in the disc golf universe, and rightly so.

It begins with the trip up the hill, where you follow a stream up a narrow, tree-shaded canyon that eventually opens up into enough flat land to put a bolf course. On the other side of the bolf course you go on about a mile more to the DG course parking lot ($2).

The first hole is relatively short but plays up a 25-degree slope, which means that you get to warm up WELL before setting out. (Fortunately, there are a couple of practice baskets available to warm up on.)

From that point you're into the woods, out of the woods, up the hills, down the hills, around the trees, smacking into the trees, and generally having a ball until you get to #25.

Hole 25 plays up a very steep hill, after which you get to hole 26, which ALSO plays up a very steep hill. Then, thoroughly wiped out from a long (figure three hours for a round) day, you find yourself at the Top of the World, which makes it all worthwhile.

Enough has been said about TOW by other reviewers - read them and believe what you read. Once you've hucked your plastic off into that sublime space, you'll never be the same again.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Best course i've played!

1    2/18/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: hatchet
Played: 58  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wonderfull variety, with fantastic views.
well designed course, with a great environment.
Top of the world was so great, we walked back up and played it twice :)

Cons: Some short tee pads, and crowded, but you cant complain, its no wonder there are so many people wanting to come play there.
Other Thoughts: Long course with challenging shots and risk/reward opportunities!
Really fun, had a great time.
Thank you!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf the way it should be

2-4    5/28/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: badams
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 25.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of shots
Fantastic use of elevation and terrain
Easily located close enough to town.
Helpful and friendly locals.
Multiple places to purchase plastic on site.
Cons: Trash on course (most notably lots of broken glass on the fairway of 2.

Top of the world is a fantastic hole but the group I played with placed one in the parking lot and turned one over into a group on the tee of one. I was informed that the parking area seems to catch quite a few, mostly from those not accustomed to playing on extreme elevation.

Course can be a little difficult to navigate at times, highly suggest printing a map, following a group or playing with locals
Other Thoughts: This course lived up to it's reputation: physically demanding, requiring every shot in the bag, distance, technical, accuracy.

While on paper the course does not seem long it plays long due to holes that play uphill. number 1 starts it out with a hole that appears to be very reachable but always seems to demand an approach shot unless you have a big arm.

there were two new tee pads installed for pro worlds 14 & 15 I think ( maybe wrong) that make the holes more demanding, not through distance but by point of attack and shot selection.

The course demands the best of your game and physical endurance in order to score well so be prepared. I played 2 rounds in one day and knew I had been to DeLaveaga.

On a personal note if you happen to see a local with his dog on a leash (black bulldog terrier type mix), do not go near it it! It bit me on my thigh as I was invited to play through and walked past it. just a little blood.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.