Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22
3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Recommended, but not the best

1    7/11/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 189  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
33 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
Nice pro-shop with discs for sale. Large variety of shots required to compete on the course. Good terrain mix, with lots of elevation changes. Friendly locals. Awesome practice basket with bricks marking distances from 10'-40'. Best I've seen of that. #27 signature "top of the world" hole is a great view of the basket (and easy to lose a disc with a RHBH throw that hyzer's too much).
Cons:
For a supposedly legendary course I thought it felt kinda trashy, the tee signs were in need of repair, there was trash about, there were old sofas sitting out in the open. Basket #17 has been removed due to erosion and there's no sign saying that. The tee sign for #17 is also gone, so you could waste some time wondering what happened and looking around for naught. Several crossing fairways. Multiple pin positions indicated on the tee signs, but not all signs have distances for all pins. "Current pin" pinwheels on the tee posts may or may not be correct. Some blind holes not very accurately represented on tee sign maps. A temporary con but, road construction made it somewhat difficult to find the park.
Other Thoughts:
Hole #8A was added between #8 & #9. That's noted on the DGCR course map as the "?" hole. The basket removed from #17 was moved to make a new hole between #26 & #27 called "#26A". This hole is not noted on the DGCR map. When we played in July the ground was very dry and hard which produced a lot of skipping discs. It was a nice course, but I didn't get that overwhelming "ohhh-ahhh" that I was expecting from the reputation this course has.

33 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 Maby one of the best

1    7/11/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
18 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Open and tight holes while not too open on the open ones and not too tight on the tight ones
-Tunnel holes
-Distance
-Left and Right handed holes
-Uses every shot in your bag
-Hole 27 "Top of the World" is one of the most amazing shots in disc golf
-Friendly Locals
-Great Variety
-Concrete tee pads
-Signs
-Baskets
-There's a guy with a van in the parking lot that sells drinks, snacks and discs, both used and new at good prices.
Cons: -Some tee pads getting old and beat up
-One hole is completly blind (though I almost aced it)
-A few holes are not the best, but when you have 27, one or two being ok is not too bad
Other Thoughts: This course is rated as one of the best in the world, but I still think that there is room for improvement. The tees on some holes being worn out is just a fact of life when you have a course that gets as much use as this one.

I would recomend this course to anyone traveling through the area.

18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Quite disappointing

6/30/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.6 Years
19 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very long, so it's good for those who like to really haul off and throw it. I think this course might be a lot of fun once you know it very well, but it's definitely unfriendly to newcomers.
Cons: Poor signage. In many cases, it's really impossible to figure out where the basket is, unless you ask someone.

Very crowded, even at 2:00 on a Monday afternoon.

Dusty, hard fairways mean that discs skip and fly far beyond what you'd expect.

Finally, a number of holes are next to a deep gorge, which means a poor throw results in a dangerous climb down a steep hill to retrieve your disc.

This course is very difficult, really to point of being not fun. I like a challenge, but unless you know this course inside-out, forget it - don't even bother to keep score. Many baskets are placed in the middle of a clump of trees - there is simply no way to get a decent score.

Also, some of the other reviews talk about how scenic it is. I didn't see it. I brought my camera, and I didn't take a single picture. There's nothing striking or beautiful, other than the ball golf course you drive through to get to the disc golf course.

I'd heard about this course and read the reviews on this website, but it's not worth it. I've played many other courses that were far superior to this one.

I'm sure I'll get poor ratings from people who play this course a lot, but if you've played at any other well-regarded courses, you know that this one is good but definitely not great.

19 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite up to expectation

6/27/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.5 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of shots, with a number of challenging holes utilizing length, and pin placement. Some good fairways and very nice elevation change.

Locals seem quite helpful as well.

Very challenging
Cons: Not quite what I had expected. There were way to many holes that just seemed like gamble shots with very little to absolutely NO fairway. I personally don't see PRISON pin locations as golf holes. There were are 4 rather short holes that had basically no possible line to hit basket no matter how amazing a shot you had, and thus seems like poor holes to me. Even with a stunning shot, it still feels like pulling on a slot machine hoping you don't hit a tree. There is a couple of blind holes with VERY VERY poor tee signs... they would be completely impossible to find and play without a local guide or some extensive searching. Maybe after playing the course a few times this would be seen differently.

There are also a couple of crossing fairways, and on big crush holes too. There is lots of traffic and many blind holes, had to send out spotters and many holes and had people playing into us on about 5 holes because they didn't send out spotters.
Other Thoughts: Again, not exactly what I had expected, but after played a few times I'm sure it is an awesome place to play.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The best in CA.

5+    4/24/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2011
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, in one of the most ideal disc golf settings imaginable. Big Monterey pines and scrubby oaks along a ridge-line with deep inscribed canyons make up the natural backdrop of the course, all of which look down over the city of Santa Cruz and Monterey Bay. Simply gorgeous. There are at least a dozen epic ocean views at various spots on the course, if one pays attention.

The challenge here is amazing. Mistakes are punished brutally in subsequent throws...e.g., stray only a few feet off the fairway into the big trees on most of the holes, and you'll be hard pressed to have a subsequent upshot at the pin.

The variety of shots on this course is wonderful. You'll find just about every kind of throw will be needed just to stay at par. Uphill, downhill, right, left, flat, open, tight, tunnel, gut shots, low ceilings, you name it. Nevertheless, the route to perfection is possible, and each hole tantalizes the player with the possibility for that perfect shot off the tee.

Hole 13 is the most difficult "par 3" I've ever seen. The locals call it "I-5" as one is lucky to get there in 5 throws. If you have a big arm, try to hyzer a shot into the trees and get a big skip back toward the tee. Otherwise lay up in the meadow and try to navigate the oak limbs.

The old school locals and the Club at DeLaveaga are of course legendary, you'll run into numerous world champions, disc golf hall of famers, disc golf professors, and everything in between. The distance of the park from the city center ensures that only disc golfers will be encountered up here, so it is a bit like a disc golf nation. Good stuff. Lots of different age groups play at DeLaveaga, from under 10 to over 80 years old!

UPDATE, February 2011: New tees on holes 1, 5, 14, 15, 26, and 26a, and lots of new erosion control, wood chips, retention walls being installed. The course is getting a huge makeover for the 2011 PDGA Pro Worlds.
Cons: Some of the holes are thrown in seemingly as afterthoughts, in order to connect one hole to the next. But these still offer great play.

The only drawback I can possibly think of is that the park road figures prominently in vicinity to most of the holes/fairways/baskets, so one's peace is a bit disturbed by cars going to and fro, and the ever-present OB hazard of the road itself is a bit annoying, even if adding to the challenge (I would prefer if it were a river instead). But it is hard to think of anything that could realistically be done about it.
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course a 5, but I must hold out and think there will be an even better course out there somewhere...at least, that is the way it seems in my dreams.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 More Course Than I Could Handle!

7/14/2005   3/14/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
20 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The general diversity of the course is amazing. The beauty with the Pacific Ocean in the distance. The overall challenge of the course. The fast greens, how treachorous they can be to quickly turn a birdie opportunity into a bogey 4. The competition a player can find there. If you are a top player or think you are or want to become a pro, then you need to make the effort to play this course. The chance to play #27 which is probably the single most famous hole on any disc golf anywhere. I don't think it the prettiest hole I've ever played but it's the one that I'd like to return to play again and again.
Cons: The two crossing fairways is not a preferred option. Playing up the hill to get to #27. As a weak, armed, amatuer type player, I felt the course was too "big" for me. Not too long off the tees neccessarily like Paw Paw or the Texas Circle R Ranch courses, just the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Can the average ball golfer duffer enjoy a round of golf on a championship course that challenges Tiger Woods? I say yes to some degree and in other ways, it just leads to degrees of frustration. Maybe DeLaveaga is that. But in stating that, Golly, I want to go back and play #27 again.

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  Dela Local Loves DG

3/10/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: norcaldger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Tee Pads, Fairways, Drop Offs, Trees to go around and through, makes one think out to throw off the tree and throw there 2nd throw.
Has some beautiful view of Santa Cruz. Has a world champ as a course pro and some Big Guns that are up and comers.
Cons: Crossing fairways/crowds/dumb people/etc.
Smokers and the ones that don't pick up their
butts. Some Pin Positions stay the same(yes I know the "there is no alt Pin on that hole") sorry that does do.
Other Thoughts: Grip It To Rip It
Teach people Disc Golf
If you see a beginner on a course, take some time out and teach/show them a bit about either driving or putting.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, diversity, and beautiful scenery. What folks have said about getting to use every shot in your bag is true. Outstanding use of elevation, and not just for the Top of the World drive (#27), some of the side-hill looks give you an awful lot to consider (especially #15). #12 is a cool shot from the top of a hill. When the pin is to the right you have a choice, a long straight anhyzer out to the left or the adventurous can try to cut the dogleg off to the right. Be prepared for a long search if you try this route and are unsuccessful. Most holes you're (me anyway) happy with a par but tehre are some birdie opportunities mixed in
Cons: Two sets of crossing fairways, 5 & 6 and 13 & 16. This course is where I found out I have an immunity to poison oak as I've spent hours trapsing through the rough here. Tough to navigate the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: When playing for the first time and you're approaching the pin and you see the ground drop off on either side of the green, don't throw there, it's worse than you can imagine. This course does have some things that could be improved, particularly the crossing fairways, but it's simply the one course I would choose to play if I could only pick one, and I've played close to 100. There are tougher courses, and some maybe even as pretty, just none that are more fun to me which is why I've pegged it at a 5. If you're coming from San Jose take your time and take care, highway 17 is beautiful and dicey. If it's raining beware of mudslides.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 One of the alltime greats

2/19/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most would rate this the best course in the country. I can understand why. 27 holes with many elevation changes, open and wooded holes. A tough course yet at the same time very fun. I went on a non-tournament day and the course was literally packed. I would love to play this course in a tournament. Every shot in your bag will be used. Must earn all birdies. Lots of fast greens, and each hole was distinctly different. (Big plus)
Cons: I wish I could play this course more.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 De La

2/14/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: delaveagabeast
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - There are 23 absolutely unique holes at De La Veaga and 4 holes that are essentially the same, give or take 15ft on the pin position. By far the greatest diversity in holes that i've ever seen.
- As the last poster had mentioned, hole #27(top of the world) is a quite amazing hole that can be thrown at so many ways because of the height you're at.

-Home course of Nate Doss. His dad is the gentlemen selling discs over by the parking lot holes. This guy is young and amazing, want to see him ace that hole #27 with his mid-range, would be awesome in person
Cons: -Santa Cruz is a very interesting city, but it has some people who protest the college students by writing things like "No Slugs," on tee signs out there. I'm not a slug first of all(UCSC student) but it's immature and downright retarded to bash the people that fund Santa Cruz(especially at this time, when Santa Cruz is broke with all this road work we've been putting off).

Other Thoughts: With that being said, i've never had any bad encounters out there and everyone has been as friendly as can be(minus one guy who yelled at us cause he couldnt find his disc and thought we stole it, as we politely told him where it did land. douche)

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.