Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 A Great Challenge

9/15/2007   9/18/2007
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.5 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Never played a course this challenging. Dying to play it again sometime. The variety of shots was amazing.
Cons: Hole 27 is breathtaking, but having those teeing off and yelling is only useful if one is acquainted enough to know where they are standing. It was a bit scary hearing "___ tee!!!!" and thinking hard to figure out where I was. The port-o-potty was filthy and overflowing.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Elite NorCal Course

1    8/13/2002   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Length, layout, variety, wild, beautiful setting, design, elevation changes.
Cons: At least one crossing fairway, other minor flow issues.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves every accolade it gets; it is in many ways one of the best and most interesting courses I've ever played. Like Novato but wilder and woolier, DeLaveaga is whole different game. Way up a hill and in the wilderness, this course is surrounded by canyons and well wooded. Except for water, this course has plenty of every challenge possible: uphill, downhill, trees, in the open, dog leg challenges, elevated teepads, and just plain long holes. None are unreasonable in their demands, but each is just challenging enough. I'll also remember this course for the abundance of serious players. Lots of friendly people who could really throw were out the day we were.

DeLaveaga features mid-size concrete teepads and good signs, and if you use the color map on their Web site it should be a real easy course to follow. Without a map, though, it was a challenge. Lots of baskets are up big hills or down big hills or way back in the trees and it's tough to know where to throw.

Overall, if you're in the area at all, you've got to play this course. The layout and unique challenges and sheer scope of the course make it one of the best courses in the world.

Favorite Hole - #27 - launch off top of huge hill with view of the Pacific on a good day down over tall trees.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 worlds top courses

5+    5/30/1996   5/30/2007
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2010
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this course has it all!
everything in your bag will be used, and will make you a better player as a result.
it seems this course has suffered from when i played it las,t based on other reviews. i think i need to make a road trip....
Cons: certain level of skill needed for maximum experience, not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: one of the top courses in the world.

05-26-2010
Time for an update. Finally made it back to this course. Tournament setting only, all holes were set long. This course has changed dramatically since I was last there in '96. the terrain is the same but the foliage is completely changed. Trees and bushes are much taller and bigger, the pin placements in the long position for the most part are new from '96, and the teepads are in different spots for 25% of the course. For tournament play the long positions were awesomely tough for an average pro, I cant imagine how frustrating it would be for a beginner. Fairways are well established from high usage, no grass to speak of except for the first part of the course, and I-5 (hole 13?). Alternate pin placements were examined and it looked like it would still be technically and physically demanding compared to an average course. So Delaveaga in my mind is still one of the premier courses to play, whether recreationally, or competitively, as the course definitely has what it takes to challenge all levels of disc golfers.
Yes there is erosion on the course, but show me an area around there that wouldn't be with high usage like that, in other words its not a detraction, it's a natural change to the landscape from people playing disc golf, and it doesn't make the course play any better or worse except for maybe a few tree roots sticking out on some fairways that may give you a bad bounce from an errant throw.
What I didn't like: Some of the tee signs show neglect, are missing information about new pin placements. You now have to pay to park where the course is, its only a couple of bucks but still……and one last thing, I forgot about, crossing fairways. There are two areas that cross, there is no re-design to change that fact. Holes 5 and 6 cross which is not so bad since tee pad 6 is elevated, and the fairways on holes 13 and 16 cross. I don't care what course it is, this is fundamentally wrong for course design and should be avoided at all costs if only for the safety/liability issues. I believe I gave this course a 4.5 orginally, but because of the negatives I just listed it goes down to a 4. This is still one of my favorite courses, the beauty and atmosphere cant be beat, and I always want to play it again no matter how poorly I play there.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal

4/20/2002   5/24/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Variety, scenery, and challenge. Long drives, elevation changes, tunnel shots, dangerous OB and fast greens keep you on your toes and keep the stoke high!

3 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.