Santa Cruz, CA 
DeLaveaga Park Share
Uploaded By: Raoul Duke  
Hole #17 (basket relocated to hole #26A)



Reviews: 79
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
  Dela Local Loves DG

3/10/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: norcaldger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Tee Pads, Fairways, Drop Offs, Trees to go around and through, makes one think out to throw off the tree and throw there 2nd throw.
Has some beautiful view of Santa Cruz. Has a world champ as a course pro and some Big Guns that are up and comers.
Cons: Crossing fairways/crowds/dumb people/etc.
Smokers and the ones that don't pick up their
butts. Some Pin Positions stay the same(yes I know the "there is no alt Pin on that hole") sorry that does do.
Other Thoughts: Grip It To Rip It
Teach people Disc Golf
If you see a beginner on a course, take some time out and teach/show them a bit about either driving or putting.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/7/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation, diversity, and beautiful scenery. What folks have said about getting to use every shot in your bag is true. Outstanding use of elevation, and not just for the Top of the World drive (#27), some of the side-hill looks give you an awful lot to consider (especially #15). #12 is a cool shot from the top of a hill. When the pin is to the right you have a choice, a long straight anhyzer out to the left or the adventurous can try to cut the dogleg off to the right. Be prepared for a long search if you try this route and are unsuccessful. Most holes you're (me anyway) happy with a par but tehre are some birdie opportunities mixed in
Cons: Two sets of crossing fairways, 5 & 6 and 13 & 16. This course is where I found out I have an immunity to poison oak as I've spent hours trapsing through the rough here. Tough to navigate the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: When playing for the first time and you're approaching the pin and you see the ground drop off on either side of the green, don't throw there, it's worse than you can imagine. This course does have some things that could be improved, particularly the crossing fairways, but it's simply the one course I would choose to play if I could only pick one, and I've played close to 100. There are tougher courses, and some maybe even as pretty, just none that are more fun to me which is why I've pegged it at a 5. If you're coming from San Jose take your time and take care, highway 17 is beautiful and dicey. If it's raining beware of mudslides.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 One of the alltime greats

2/19/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most would rate this the best course in the country. I can understand why. 27 holes with many elevation changes, open and wooded holes. A tough course yet at the same time very fun. I went on a non-tournament day and the course was literally packed. I would love to play this course in a tournament. Every shot in your bag will be used. Must earn all birdies. Lots of fast greens, and each hole was distinctly different. (Big plus)
Cons: I wish I could play this course more.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 De La

2/14/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: delaveagabeast
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - There are 23 absolutely unique holes at De La Veaga and 4 holes that are essentially the same, give or take 15ft on the pin position. By far the greatest diversity in holes that i've ever seen.
- As the last poster had mentioned, hole #27(top of the world) is a quite amazing hole that can be thrown at so many ways because of the height you're at.

-Home course of Nate Doss. His dad is the gentlemen selling discs over by the parking lot holes. This guy is young and amazing, want to see him ace that hole #27 with his mid-range, would be awesome in person
Cons: -Santa Cruz is a very interesting city, but it has some people who protest the college students by writing things like "No Slugs," on tee signs out there. I'm not a slug first of all(UCSC student) but it's immature and downright retarded to bash the people that fund Santa Cruz(especially at this time, when Santa Cruz is broke with all this road work we've been putting off).

Other Thoughts: With that being said, i've never had any bad encounters out there and everyone has been as friendly as can be(minus one guy who yelled at us cause he couldnt find his disc and thought we stole it, as we politely told him where it did land. douche)

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Where it all began for me...

5+    5/16/2000   1/22/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2014
29 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything! This course is well layed out and very challenging. Located in the Santa Cruz mountains about 15 minutes from downtown, this 28 hole pro layout will require you to play your best.

DeLa provides endless possibilities as to which discs are necessary to use due to its multiple approaches on each and every hole.

The terrain is unique as you play with massive Redwoods, Eucalyptus, and many other trees and local folliage. Huge elevation changes throughout, and fast moving fairways play a major factor so just know that once your disc hits the ground it may continue to travel another 20-50 feet (which can be a pro or con depending on where it lands).

Along the way you will run into long tunnel shots, tight fairways, several doglegs left and right, and multiple uphill and downhill approach shots that require much finesse. On this course you will also come upon OB's which include asphalt roads/parking lot, and VERY steep ravines that most likely will not give your disc back.

The course layout has you starting from the parking lot having you throw in the NW direction and looping back four times throughout as you have a chance to stop at the parking lot for a drink, more discs from local vendors, lunch, or the restroom if needed.

The flow moves well due to the size of this course as it is large enough to keep people moving at a good pace (although some weekends can get pretty bad). The overall design is fantastic and the enjoyment factor here is second to none and the level of competition is some of the best in the world.
Cons: Tees signs are a little broken down and the bathrooms can get pretty ripe on those really hot days considering the amount of foot traffic that comes in and out of there so you might want to try to go before you get there.
Other Thoughts: This is where it all began for me and I have always been partial to this course for giving me its all and more. I feel at home here and it brings back a lot of happy memories. The view's are incredible including the epic "Top of the World", but has many other holes that are truely amazing. DeLa also hosts wonderful tournaments with a lot of history and prestige.

This course is "Disneyland" for adults. The locals are friendly and pick up games are quite competative. Although some people dislike the idea of paying to park, I think it is vital to maintaining such a prestigous course such as this. I recommend this place to anyone in the area. The experience is second to none in California and perhaps the entire west coast.

29 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Challenge

9/15/2007   9/18/2007
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.8 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Never played a course this challenging. Dying to play it again sometime. The variety of shots was amazing.
Cons: Hole 27 is breathtaking, but having those teeing off and yelling is only useful if one is acquainted enough to know where they are standing. It was a bit scary hearing "___ tee!!!!" and thinking hard to figure out where I was. The port-o-potty was filthy and overflowing.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Elite NorCal Course

1    8/13/2002   9/10/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2009
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Length, layout, variety, wild, beautiful setting, design, elevation changes.
Cons: At least one crossing fairway, other minor flow issues.
Other Thoughts: This course deserves every accolade it gets; it is in many ways one of the best and most interesting courses I've ever played. Like Novato but wilder and woolier, DeLaveaga is whole different game. Way up a hill and in the wilderness, this course is surrounded by canyons and well wooded. Except for water, this course has plenty of every challenge possible: uphill, downhill, trees, in the open, dog leg challenges, elevated teepads, and just plain long holes. None are unreasonable in their demands, but each is just challenging enough. I'll also remember this course for the abundance of serious players. Lots of friendly people who could really throw were out the day we were.

DeLaveaga features mid-size concrete teepads and good signs, and if you use the color map on their Web site it should be a real easy course to follow. Without a map, though, it was a challenge. Lots of baskets are up big hills or down big hills or way back in the trees and it's tough to know where to throw.

Overall, if you're in the area at all, you've got to play this course. The layout and unique challenges and sheer scope of the course make it one of the best courses in the world.

Favorite Hole - #27 - launch off top of huge hill with view of the Pacific on a good day down over tall trees.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 worlds top courses

5+    5/30/1996   5/30/2007
Review By: martinb
Played: 160  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2010
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: this course has it all!
everything in your bag will be used, and will make you a better player as a result.
it seems this course has suffered from when i played it las,t based on other reviews. i think i need to make a road trip....
Cons: certain level of skill needed for maximum experience, not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: one of the top courses in the world.

05-26-2010
Time for an update. Finally made it back to this course. Tournament setting only, all holes were set long. This course has changed dramatically since I was last there in '96. the terrain is the same but the foliage is completely changed. Trees and bushes are much taller and bigger, the pin placements in the long position for the most part are new from '96, and the teepads are in different spots for 25% of the course. For tournament play the long positions were awesomely tough for an average pro, I cant imagine how frustrating it would be for a beginner. Fairways are well established from high usage, no grass to speak of except for the first part of the course, and I-5 (hole 13?). Alternate pin placements were examined and it looked like it would still be technically and physically demanding compared to an average course. So Delaveaga in my mind is still one of the premier courses to play, whether recreationally, or competitively, as the course definitely has what it takes to challenge all levels of disc golfers.
Yes there is erosion on the course, but show me an area around there that wouldn't be with high usage like that, in other words its not a detraction, it's a natural change to the landscape from people playing disc golf, and it doesn't make the course play any better or worse except for maybe a few tree roots sticking out on some fairways that may give you a bad bounce from an errant throw.
What I didn't like: Some of the tee signs show neglect, are missing information about new pin placements. You now have to pay to park where the course is, its only a couple of bucks but still……and one last thing, I forgot about, crossing fairways. There are two areas that cross, there is no re-design to change that fact. Holes 5 and 6 cross which is not so bad since tee pad 6 is elevated, and the fairways on holes 13 and 16 cross. I don't care what course it is, this is fundamentally wrong for course design and should be avoided at all costs if only for the safety/liability issues. I believe I gave this course a 4.5 orginally, but because of the negatives I just listed it goes down to a 4. This is still one of my favorite courses, the beauty and atmosphere cant be beat, and I always want to play it again no matter how poorly I play there.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal

4/20/2002   5/24/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Variety, scenery, and challenge. Long drives, elevation changes, tunnel shots, dangerous OB and fast greens keep you on your toes and keep the stoke high!

3 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.