Brian Head, UT 
Brian Head Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 619ft.   -- / --   3 / 619ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bleh

1    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I expected a lot better course.

That being said here are the pros:

The mountain views are simply amazing. I absolutely love playing the resort courses for the views, the clean air, getting away, hiking and playing disc golf all blended together makes for a good time.

The course is challenging. It's not often that you find a course that makes you bring your big arm, but this one does in a big way.

Multiple lines for just about every hole. This may be in part due to the lack of trees as obstacles.

The course flowed pretty good. I had a guide who had played it many times, but the map was pretty good and the navigation was pretty easy to determine.

The fairways were pretty devoid of long weeds. This may explain my final con...

My favorite hole was hole 10, the shortest hole on the course, but the huge drop in elevation makes you have to use finesse when you're used to using brute force.
Cons: With a rating of 3.63 at the time of this writing, and hearing a ton of hype about how amazing it is, I expected a lot more from this course. I was quite disappointed though.

To begin with, the tee pads are the worst I have ever played on. I've played nearly every course in Utah and the tee pads here are worse than the worst natural tee pads at Base Camp. The worst part is that these ones are new! They used to be just a log or something showing where to tee off from, now they are framed in and filled with uneven dirt with huge rocks. I've never feared for my knees more than on this one. Seriously, the tee pads knocked this course down a full point they were so bad.

The baskets aren't much better. Single chain, beat up old things with gaping holes in the basket big enough for your disc to fall out. Many of them were at odd angles and a couple of them are a good 5 inches short (from the top to the bottom of the cage).

Not a lot of variety in throws, strangely. Don't get me wrong, there are 2-3 uphill shots and a couple flat ground ones, but virtually every hole is the same thing: long shots with very little obstruction. There is literally not a single tunnel shot on the course. In fact, the only real time trees come into play is if you get off the fairway.

It is a disc eating course. There are rocks everywhere, and given the number of times you are throwing downhill your disc gets some speed going before slamming into them. For the first time I heard a disc's slapping sound as it hit a rock actually echo! The long downhills give plenty of opportunity to lose discs too.

Lack of tee signs. This was offset somewhat by a good map they provide though.

And last, (and certainly least), there were cow pies EVERYWHERE!
Other Thoughts: It's very windy and is prone to quick weather changes. Wind mixed with big throws was not a great combo. Bring a jacket.

It is extremely high elevation, so be sure to bring sun block. There are also a ton of bugs. You can expect to get bit or stung by something before the day is out, so bug spray is also recommended.

Wear shoes with good traction. The terrain is very loose and it's an extremely long course.

Overall I think this was a good course, but not deserving of the high rating it has been given. It's not a course I will go out of my way to play again, at least not until they fix those horrific tee pads.

*PS I'll upload a picture of one of the new tee pads so all can see them in their glory. Just look for a picture titled New Tee Pad.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Life Elevated

1    8/16/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the more scenic courses I've played. The red rocks that define Utah, surrounding mountains, and I believe you can see part of Cedar Breaks National Monument (which is similar to Bryce Canyon). Anyway, good stuff.

There are some huge downhill drives to be had here. Probably 40% of the drives could be described this way.

You'll likely have the course to yourself, and you definitely get the sense of mountain serenity that I really enjoy. At nearly 11,000 feet, hole 1 is the highest hole I've played.
Cons: There is not much variety here. Nearly every hole is wide open. The main challenge is making sure that your disc doesn't fade or turn off the fairway into the trees that line many of the fairways (these are ski trails, after all). There are no technical holes. Think of Mt. Charleston in Nevada, which features the same sort of great downhill holes but also ducks in and out of the trees along the ski trails. If you are going to have a lack of variety, Brian Head's is still pretty fun. But toward the end I was ready to move on.

Navigation was so so. On some holes there were "next tee" signs that were helpful. But there were a few times I scrutinized the map and couldn't orient myself to the next tee pad. The tee pads are usually not a long walk from the basket, but if you go in the wrong direction you could be hiking back up. At this elevation, you don't want that.

Lots of opportunities for lost discs (see below).
Other Thoughts: It is $10 to ride up the lift. It's not a detachable quad, so it takes over 15 minutes to get up. The entire course did take me over 2 hours to complete, and I usually play much more quickly than that.

I lost two discs on hole 10, a cool hole that is about 200 feet long and 100 feet down. Both drives were bad drives (one that kept going and going, and the other a spike hyzer that ended up somewhere halfway down the hill), so I don't really blame the course, but there are a number of places where lost discs are very possible.

Bring a windbreaker. It rained pretty steadily on me late in the round, even with no clouds at all in the sky when I began. It also hailed on me very briefly, which was a first. Not too bad if you come prepared.

I do enjoy courses at elevation like this. But a few short, technical holes can easily be made a part of a course like this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

high altitude fun

1    7/26/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: super awesome alpine course!
new tee pads are much nicer than NO tee pads!
that said, tee pads are not amazing, otherwise would be 4.5 course.
holes were set up LONG for average player. fun, but hella challenging. PAR (3) is a very good score on almost any hole.
Cons: might be slightly confusing for a new person without a guide.
seriously long drives for most holes.
def possibility of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: not the same TLC that goes into Solitude, but certainly an amazing course to play if you are in the area!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Trip - Tee off at 10,900 ft.

5+    6/30/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 241  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoy playing rugged western courses and this one is amazing. It is extremely scenic, rugged and challenging. Seasonal course plays from nearly 11,000 feet down to the base at 9,600 feet. Definitely worth the journey if you want a high altitude adventure.

The course is well designed for the land and provides a variety of shots for experienced players. The views and overall experience are amazing. There were plenty of wildflowers to enjoy on both early and late season visits.

The lift price was reasonable and the ride up is quite enjoyable and definitely worth the price.

Course map and score card are available in the base shop. With the map and tee signs the course is easy enough to navigate. The map is not to scale, but it gets the job done if you know how to read one.
The tee areas are fairly easy to find. Even though many tees were rocky and not level, I was able to play in my sturdy golf shoes.

This is an adventure course. Allow time to play and enjoy. Plan to stop for a break or two on the way down to enjoy the views. Bring ample water.

The genuine treat at Brian Head is the amazing mountain views and endless vistas. The bright coral colors of the surrounding Claron Formation are stunning, even if you are not into geology.


Cons: Even though the tee areas are easy to find with signs, the actual tees are natural. Some are very rocky and not leveled. Course would rate even higher with more developed tee pads although I understand the challenge that would present.

Not recommended for beginners. Definitely not for toddlers or strollers.


This is black diamond terrain - with or without snow. There are some steep uphill and downhill walks. Even if you quit playing the course, it is still a long walk back down the mountain.

You must walk up or get shuttle on days when lift is not in operation. I personally wouldn't want to walk up this mountain. It is already a long walk down and the high altitude adds to the challenge.

Located in very small resort town. Bring your own food and supplies as there are only one or two food shops and restaurants.

Only very expensive emergency gas is available on the mountain. Fill up before you visit.

Other Thoughts: Takes time to play. Allow at least three hours for one round - more if you are newer player or you are not in great shape. Bring enough water and snacks for the entire round.

Don't forget your camera.

Some areas are extremely steep. Although Tee 11 has one of the most amazing views on the course, it is a tough walk down. Avoid walking down the face; take the wide trail to the right to get down to the basket.

Weather can change quickly, be prepared.

I played here in September 2011 and enjoyed it so much; I came back for an entire week in 2012. This is also a Mountain Biking resort, so I was actually able to play my last round on my bike!

Brian Head makes a great base camp for visiting Zion, Brice Canyon and the North Rim Grand Canyon and more. Recommend both epic Brian Head MTB rides, Dark Hollow and Bunker Creek.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

In a word, AMAZING!

1    9/23/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 125  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful mountain scenery, especially with the fall colors that were starting to fill during my late-September round.

The "Elevation 11,000 feet" sign close to Hole #1 is not something I had seen on a disc golf course prior to this round. I did not have any trouble breathing, but the air is different up there.

While this may be rather obvious, the elevation offered here at Brian Head is a lot of fun while it tests your skills throughout the course. There are extreme uphill and downhill holes.

The map/scorecard serves as an excellent course guide if needed.

I'd like to pick a "signature" hole, but there are just too many. This course was easily one of my most unique/fun/exciting disc golf experiences to date and I quickly added it to my list of favorites.
Cons: Some of the teepads were uneven. Concrete or flypads would be nice, but I understand that may not be feasible because of the other activities that share the land.

Some of the pictures on the tee signs were missing. It appears they had blown away.

Watch out for the cowpies. During my ride on the ski lift, I saw a herd of cows wandering on the course. They left many gifts. ;)
Other Thoughts: All of the aforementioned cons were completely overshadowed by the pros here at Brian Head.

Bring plenty of water/snacks, especially if you are not accustomed to playing disc golf at 11,000 feet. You will not have an opportunity to get back to the parking lot until the end of your round.

I highly recommend using a good pair of hiking boots or shoes.

The $9 lift ticket was worth every penny.

This course will chew up DX or similar plastic in a hurry with the rough terrain.

I'm not sure I can accurately describe the beauty and uniqueness of Brian Head Disc Golf course. I already have been recommending this course to anyone that has an opportunity to play it. If you are on the fence about playing here, please get off and make some plans to have fun here at Brian Head!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Very Tough Course!

1    7/17/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: brownj702@gmail.com
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The elevation changes and scenery were beautiful. It was really cool to watch the disc fly forever while throwing downhill.
Cons: Be prepared to lose some discs and get a workout! The terrain makes it very difficult to locate your discs, even on good shots. There are no tee pads, and the tee areas are very rocky and some sloping downhill, making it very difficult to had any kind of run up.
Other Thoughts: It's a course I'm glad I played, but wouldn't go out of my way to play again. It's fun but the hike downhills and time spent looking for discs made it annoying at times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 EXCELLENT Course!

1    7/4/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: ajbridg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Extremely beautiful scenery
-Challenging "big arm" throws
-LOTS of diversity and obstacles(moutain forest, large drop offs, etc...)
-Very rewarding hike
-Throwing down hill makes you feel like you can throw forever (I outdrove a 780ft. hole!!)
Cons: not for the weak of heart. This course is long, and there are a few holes where you have to hike back up the mountain. Be prepared to be exhausted.
Other Thoughts: This course is about an hour away from my cabin in Dixie National Forest and I'd play it again in a heartbeat. $8 for a lift fee is well worth playing this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and fun!

1    8/18/2008   5/13/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays down and across the ski area at Brian Head resort. This means that this course is all about the elevation. Nearly every hole has some kind of elevation change, including a couple holes with pretty extreme downhills.

The course was well-laid out, and did a good job of using the space. Holes played across and back up the mountain, so not every shot was a downhill bomb even though the course starts at the top of the mountain. It might have been difficult to follow without a map, but the map and scorecard available at the base of the mountain made it very easy to play the course and find each hole.

The tee signs were easy to read, with distances that seemed pretty accurate, and with enough information that it was easy to figure out where the baskets were on a couple blind holes.

The scenery on this course is simply amazing, with great views of Utah mountains on just about every hole, and beautiful old evergreen trees throughout.
Cons: The tees were natural, and a few were uneven and sloped, making it difficult to get a good run-up without fear of twisting an ankle. There were some places on the course where the undergrowth was pretty overgrown, and made it a little too easy to lose discs even on a fairly good shot. There are some navigation issues where even with the map you might have to search a little for the next tee, the signs are nice but they don't stick up enough to see from a distance.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play this course again if I was anywhere near this area. The beautiful scenery combined with some truly epic holes made for a great disc golf experience.

You do have to pay to ride the lift up to the top, but the fee is pretty reasonable. There is also the alternative to hike up the mountain (I did this because I had my dog along on the trip). It is a strenuous hike up, especially if you are not used to high elevations, but if you have the time to spare, I thought it was a beautiful walk and made playing back down even more rewarding.

Even if you take the lift up, be prepared to do a lot of strenuous walking to complete this course. You'll need lots of water and good, sturdy shoes. Plan for this course to take more time and energy than just about any other 18 hole course you've played, especially because it is at such a high altitude.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 You Best Be In Shape!

7/26/2004   2/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lovely Utah mountain scenery! Countless opportunities for some some of big air throws we all love. You ride the chair-lift up to 10,000 ft. and then play thousands of feet down. My playing partner overthrew a 398 ft. straight down the mountain shot by approximately 300 ft. and still managed a four on the hole.
Cons: You have to pay for the lift, was $8 in 2004. A slight mis-fire can result in a few hundred foot trek up and down the mountain back to basket. Your not playing on grass, it's rugged, tears up your discs.
Other Thoughts: Don't bring your grandfather. Bring water! Prepare for some big air and a major workout. And having said that, after playing it once, that would be enough for me.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.