Layout Extinct

Mayfield, KY 
Kess Creek DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: astrowolf67 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 one of the worst

1    5/11/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: pchoukalas
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: first three holes are cool but all easy birdies and ace runs. could be challenging with wind and one hole is 553 feet .
Cons: field that is all the last six holes are. wide open
really lame lay and did not look like much effort was put into design a lot of woods that could be used .
Other Thoughts: if you dont live in mayfield not even worth a ten minute drive

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/20/2009   9/17/2010
Review By: Nailscars
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very wide open course. Good condition. The first 3 holes in the woods are fun holes.
Cons: Very wide open course. When the trees grow iin this will be different, but right now there isn't much more than tee boxes and baskets on holes 4-9. It is pretty easy for newer players to have a disc fly into the playground area.
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect course to introduce someone to the sport of disc golf. There are nice open holes where they can get used to throwing the discs and close to the parking lot holes for practice.
If would start a new player on hole 4 and then end on the 3 that go through the woods.
Kess Park is the perfect place to go play if you have a new driver and you want to just wing it for a while. Keep that in mind and it should be worth playing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Course...and you can tell...

1    3/6/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kess Creek has a few things going for it. The baskets are in excellent shape, simply because they are almost brand new. Tee pads are in excellent shape for the same reasons. The course is set in an area that is rather small so you are never far away from your vehicle. It was relatively quiet when I played this weekend, but I fear that could change based on the other activities of the park. An effort has been made to plant some trees along the open fairways. Once these trees mature, there will be more evidence of design. There are signs at each hole which do cover all the information that you typically look for; par, distance, etc.
Cons: Many courses loop around a pond, or some other natural facade. This course loops around a party pavilion and a playground. Holes 8 and 9 could potentiall be a problem if the park was crowded. In its current state, Kess Creek lacks design in any form past hole #3.
Other Thoughts: If the trees mature well, and the parks department keeps the course manicured, this course could grow into something nice. When I left the course, I was concerned about how to grade it. In the future, it will probably be much better than it is now. As of this point, it is a nice stop if you are in Mayfield and you want to play. I played a round by myself in 24 minutes. It doesn't take long. I do have concerns about how the parks department will handle the safety concerns that will undoubtedly arise. It only takes a parent or two who use the park to complain of the safety issues...and this course does leave this window open.

Some have said that there are par 5s or 4s here. I totally disagree. While hole 7 is long, there are absolutely no obstacles and if you can throw 300 feet, you should be "parked" for an easy 3. I am still recovering from knee surgery, played the course with only 2 discs, and had no trouble staying under 27. I also consider myself a perfectly average player. An advanced player could expect to shoot in the low 20s here without any problem.

Kess Creek will probably become a very nice course. However, I feel that it's reviews to this point have been somewhat inflated. It is by no means an above average course. Like I have said...and repeated...it may become something special one day. As it stands today, it has 3 wooded holes with some basic design elements, and 6 WIDE open holes.

If you're in Mayfield and want to play, by all means give it a shot. If you are passing through Paducah and wondering if it's worth driving 40 minutes to play...it's not.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  jac

1    10/20/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: jjcarmichael
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is tight and can be played very quickly. I got through it in less than 20 min. The park is new and well mantained. Easy to make par.
Cons: Needs bathrooms. If you have kids you can bring them with and see them play while you do your thing. Needs trees, something to make a challenge on open holes. Not and easy course to locate.
Other Thoughts: I had a good time...especially since I hadn't played in a while. When they get the back nine done it may have potential

 Crowded on weekends

5+    4/10/2010   10/11/2009
Review By: astrowolf67
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight course, two rounds can be played in less than an hour. First three holes offer somewhat of a challenge.
Cons: Once you get past the first three holes, the last six offer no terrain, or natural challenges. It's just grip it and rip it time. During the fall, when I wrote my original review, the park was less crowded, and very suitable for beginners. Now that spring and better weather have arrived, the park was crowded, to the point that playing two rounds of 9 was virtually impossible. The lack of terrain challenges on 4-9, was more than compensated by having to avoid people on our first round. We gave up on our second due to a couple of fairways being taken over by more than a dozen kids playing soccer, and the tee pad for hole 9 having a picnic table moved on to it.
Other Thoughts: While this is a nice little city park, and, the course is well laid out for the area allowed, it's just too small of an area for all that the city is putting in it. The course is easily playable during early morning or late afternoon week days. But, on nice weekends, it's just too crowded to safely play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just Ok

1    10/1/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Both open and wooded holes.
2. There are a couple of ace runs.
3. There are several holes where you can reach back and throw hard.
4. There are a couple of pavilions with picnic tables where you can sit down.
5. The signage was good and there was no problem locating any of the holes.
Cons:
1. Holes 4 thru 9 are too wide open. No trees at all over three feet tall.
2. Some of the holes run close to a play area.
Other Thoughts: The first three holes are in the woods and require some technique. The rest of the holes are wide open. It's nice to able to reach back and throw hard but a few trees would make it more enjoyable. They have planted some trees so somewhere down the road it may turn into a really good course. The tee for hole 7 is on the other side of the basketball court.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice and Beginner Course

5+    3/19/2010   9/27/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 6 of the 9 holes are wide open which is good for a beginner learning to throw. You can really practice your drives and long fairway shots on this course. It is the best course in the area for practice of drives and fairway shots. The first three holes in the woods are not too difficult but test good throws.
Cons: Several of the holes are too long for a par 3, esp., for beginners. There should be a couple of par 4's and a par 5. The 7th hole is over 550 feet and is a par 3 which is too long for beginners. I think it should be a par 5, or at least a par 4. (You can tell that the park has taken steps to improve the first three holes.) Drainage seems to be a problem throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This course's main disadvantage is that it is an open park area where kids and families mingle about on a few holes. There are two holes where that is really a safety concern. I really enjoy this course. If the pars were accurate, I could really feel good about my game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New course----Great Course

1    9/4/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open holes with the front three holes some of the best i have ever seen...park plays through a wide open park with young trees that are going to make this course great once they mature...Hole 7 is a 533 par 3 which is wide open so let it rip...hole 9 has a possible ace run....
Cons: Couldn't find a basket for hole 3 didn't know if it was lost or stolen but i hope it's up for next weeks AT&T Event...
Other Thoughts: We played this course as the sun was going down so we rushed to get it done...this course was really wide open except for the first three which i really enjoyed...i am wondering however if some of the holes are going to be a problem with the closeness of the playground...this really is a great course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.