Clemson, SC 
University Beach DGC Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #5
3 / 284ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Look elsewhere

1    8/24/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: wakecounty123
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Close to Clemson I guess? The beach area near it seems pretty nice and it's never really too packed.
Cons: Overgrown grass and weeds, people parking on the course, trash, no tee boxes or signs anymore, missing a basket on one hole
Other Thoughts: I'd suggest looking for another course to play on.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very Open

1    4/24/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: craw66
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets, nice view, and good place to practice throwing in open fields.
Cons: Finding your way around is tough, there is little to no signage, I played a couple holes not knowing if I was on the tee pad or not.
Other Thoughts: The course could be a decent course, add some tee boxes and some signage and it could be 3.0 course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring out your friends and drivers!

1    4/13/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is where it all started for me. My brother in law invited me for a round and I jumped at the chance as I had wanted to try this sport out for a while. After the round here I was hooked! I enjoyed my round here and look forward to playing here again sometime.
1: Has a great location close to downtown so it is easy to get to from the University or other areas of the city. The course also has ample parking.
2: Bright Orange baskets make locating the target much easier than other courses I have played.
3:Good mix of holes. The first three holes will challenge your accuracy skills as you go into the woods, then its out into the open for the majority of the course.
4: Beginner friendly. It's a great location to introduce people to the sport (may want to skip the first 3 holes till they get the hang of throwing more accurately)
5: Ideal course for bringing out your favorite drivers and honing in your distance throwing skills. There are not a lot of trees or other obstacles on most holes to get in your way so you should be able to get good use from your long distance discs here.
6: Course is well designed and made the best use of the space they had. There is adequate distance between fairways and although most of the land is open fields you still get a bit of variety every few holes.
7: Has some memorable holes including the first 3 holes in the woods and one of the latter holes that has the basket placed directly behind a baseball backstop fence. This latter hole was unique and made you think about how you would get your disc over the tall fence or around it.
Cons: Not a lot of cons here, just a couple of minor things that you should keep in mind.
1:Can be hard to find the next tee if you are unfamiliar with the course. The signage is very limited and often you have to look for the tee markers on the ground. This is likely due to the course being used as parking for football games and other sports that are played here. Having a copy of the course map will help a lot here.
2: The land that the course is on is used for other sporting events and as overflow parking for football games so it is not always open.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast here and would certainly play here again. This is a wonderful course for fans of wide open fairways This is the place to throw some good long distance disc golf and not be hindered by a ton of trees along the way. It also provides a good mix of holes which consists of a sprinkling of challenging forest golf, a chunky amount of open field golf and a few holes that have a bit of both. The course also makes good use of the topography offered. If you are in the Clemson area and are looking for a quick fun round or want to show your friends how fun the game can be you should have a good time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Okay course.

2-4    10/31/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful view of the lake. Good use of terrain and trees available. Baskets are nice. Lots of long holes which is a nice change from other courses like sertoma and shaver. If you throw average of around 350 or higher, this course will be fun to launch some discs full power for once.
Cons: Really hard to find the next tees and baskets to throw at. Had to guess where to throw most of the time. And then you don't know the footage of the hole. Makes choosing a disc difficult. Lots of wind can come off the lake which can suck for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Needs tee pads, next tee signs and tee signs. I know this field is used for footbal parking. but cement tee pads wont damage or be damaged by cars driving on them. And they can make some semi permanent tee signs that are better than the few they have. Clemson college is right there, get some of the students to make tee signs as a project or something.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Head for the Beach Instead

1    6/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: University Beach DGC is a functional 18 hole disc golf course with orange Discatchers. There are three of the shortest holes on the course leading off, all through some brushy woods with a bit of elevation change. Beginning with hole 4, the fairways open up considerably, and the distances grow also. Sparsely scattered trees dot the landscape, along with those orange baskets. Elevation drops and rises again slightly across the vast grassy field. A great opportunity to test different shot shapes in the gentle breeze. One hole was guarded by a backstop fence for a baseball diamond. The last few holes play close to fairly tall stands of trees, giving something to accompany the targets.
Cons: The overall lack of almost anything to dictate shot shapes over most of the course diminishes interest and some of the fun in my opinion. After missing signs caused us much searching for poorly marked tees on holes 5, 6, and 7, and being examined by a group of slightly annoying summer camp children, we stood near the 8th tee where the next seven or eight baskests are all visible in the blazing hot, sunny field. Wishing I had brought sunscreen, we almost quit there, knowing exactly what was in store for us. Almost no relief from the relentless sun, and long, repetitive holes. However we pressed on, and luckily most of the tee signs were still present from hole 12 to the end of the course, reducing the searching for the flat orange and purple discs marking the tee boxes. Printing the map is advised if you plan to play this course. I shot a 58 with my friend posting a 57. There were no benches or trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: There are positive aspects and attributes to this course, but I didn't play it with the usual amount of enthusiasm. Some what boring, and extremely vulnerable to the sun and heat is what I will remember about this course. So many nearby courses that are more fun would make it a last resort if I were to play in that area again. If you insist on playing there take a map, sunscreen, water and hope for clouds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/24/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I gave this a 4.0 because it's a very challenging course that requires a good arm to score well. The course flow is pretty good and the multiple tees do add to the challenge. A couple of the tee pads are cement, but others are just grass. There are some elevation changes and a number of holes tucked behind trees. I certainly wouldn't call it an easy course by any means especially if there's wind involved. Lots of long holes and you've got to have a pretty decent all-around game to score well.
Cons: The draw backs are lack of signage which I know used to be there but I think because of football season a lot of them got taken out. Same with tee markers. I think holes 11 and 12 are missing (again I know they were there just got taken out for some reason.
Other Thoughts: There's water all around the park, yet it really doesn't come into play at all. Pretty much a big arm course with lots of wide open fairways that can be forgiving.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    5/6/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: ChaseReamer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -gives an open course after the first few holes (which bodes well for beginners like myself)
-Very few places to lose a disc (holes 1-3)
-Close to the University
-Offers alternate tee shots for different difficulties
Cons: -Sometimes hard to figure out where the hole is.
-2nd hole is misleading in a sense that you can't see the water from the tee shot so its definitely a possibility of losing a disc in the water.
Other Thoughts: All around good course especially for beginners who are just learning the tendencies of their discs. all around a good solid course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open but kinda ... well

5+    7/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: mwierda
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice and open so crank it. If you grip lock your second shot will be fine.
Cons: Kinda boring b/c you throw back and forth across a field.
Other Thoughts: I find this course fun but not challenging. That is not to say I shoot under par. In fairness I realize they designed what they could w/in the limits they had. I will play it again ... after all it is a disc golf course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 University Beach DGC

1    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for winding up and letting it rip. Lots of very long, wide open holes with few obstacles. The course is built in a parking lot used during Clemson football games, so you can imagine a wide open grass field with just a handful of trees here and there. The first three holes are wooded before you get into the wide open parking lot holes. Despite the apparent dullness of the course, there is something intangible that makes this a fun course to play. The lakefront vistas make for a nice backdrop.
Cons: There are multiple tee pads, but really you are choosing between the long orange tees and the really, really long purple tees (those nauseating Clemson colors!). Many players will find the holes repetitive and non-challenging. The "fairway" on hole #3 is a seriously overgrown alley with a narrow winding path running through it; needs some serious brush cutting.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to practice your long throws without being penalized for ones that sail off course. Not a lot of variety, but if you want to work on your distance, this is the place. Not bad being able to cool off in the lake afterwards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 100  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT pins! Brand new with Clemson orange rim and Clemson purple numbers.
The tee markers and next tee signs are well done, again, in Clemson colors. You'll never forget whose campus you're on here!
Not crowded at all, and very clean considering they had a home football game two days ago.
Course is wide open after the first 3 holes, so you can try all your shots. Hyzers, annies, rollers, work on your wind techniques, etc.
Two pins for most holes(pro/am), nice touch. Orange for AM, purple for PRO.
Great use of the land that's there. Not much elevation change, but they use what is there. Basket behind the baseball backstop is a nice touch.
Cons: Hole 1 is tough to find. Hole 3 should be chopped through with a machete, as the "fairway" is shoulder high nettles, weeds, and grass with no clear pathway to traverse.
Water is there, but never in play.
Navigation is difficult on a couple transitions. Pin 6 to tee at 7 is a tough one to figure.
You can see lots of holes just standing in one spot, but may be difficult to figure out where you're going until you get on the right path. The tees try to help by lining you up right at the basket.
Other Thoughts: Great place to work on your game all around, from driving, mids, putting, rollers, wind, etc. Not a challenging course by any stretch, but good length from the pro tees allow you to stretch out your arm a bit and test your accuracy with few obstacles.
Tee pads would be a great addition, but probably not possible as this turns into a parking lot for gamedays.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.