Minneapolis (Brooklyn Park), MN
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: itzbrian17 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 400ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice for parents

5+    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Spiky
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some enjoyable holes, a couple long enough to make a 3 a decent score for most. Wind at your back on the middle third can play tricks on you just when you want to air it out for a 450' hole, it's usually steady. (yes, I'm calling wind a pro)

Very nice practice basket with concrete distance markers.

Good concrete tees on all holes.
Cons: Nothing special here. Trees are too few to affect much. Straight shots, mostly. No tournaments are coming here. No real elevation change, you do throw down a hill once.

The last hole plays right into a bench that always seems to have someone sitting on it, and walkways. I'm just waiting to overthrow a drive and take grandma's head clean off.

#1 looks like it is set up to be a dogleg mando to the right following a row of bushes/small trees, but there are no signs, so you can just throw straight across the angle. Maybe just call it a mando to make it more interesting.
Other Thoughts: Nice park, now that they finally finished remodelling the whole thing. The 9 holes circle around the playground, so you can drop kids of many ages and still watch them while you play. Nice playground that kids seem to love. Good for parents that want to play a round without hassle.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good place to learn

5+    6/13/2012   9/5/2010
Review By: mstephens627
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket near parking lot with marked incremental distances

Well maintained course includes wood chip greens and regularly mowed fairways

Course flows clockwise

Many open holes to let it rip and practice shots without worry of losing a disc

Concrete tee pads with marked hole # and distance (some are wearing off or illegible)

Aside from the predominantly flat course, there are a couple of more interesting holes. Hole 7 has one throwing around or over the crest of a hill toward a blind target and hole 8 shoots off the top of the hill. Hole 8 is labeled 400', but plays horizontally more like 310'.

Of the times I have played at Central it hasn't been too busy, but enough players to keep a steady flow.
Cons: Hole 9 can be hazardous to children playing nearby as there is a bike path running parallel. The park building on the right is something to try and stay clear of as errant shots could hit someone by surprise if your disc wraps around the building on the fade.

Most holes are generally long and open with a scattering of mature trees, which can make the course uninteresting for those looking for more tight, wooded shots.
Other Thoughts: On the whole Central has a good basic,beginner-friendly, well-kept course, and I would recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

If you happen to get your disc caught up in a tree use a rock from one of the parking lot drainage culverts by hole 2 to get it down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Daveman3000
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean course with no bugs, nice and open with some trees. love the sledhill hole. Was a longer course then I thought it would be.
Cons: pretty easy course, no real changes from hole to hole. Really not all that much to complain about though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good ol fun

2-4    4/24/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: long, mid and shorts are all present. Good for fun or for practice. They have a tee pad ontop of a sledinghill where its a nice throw down. They also have a putting basket that has blocks making distance from 2 - 40 ft away from basket it is very cool.
Cons: kind of in a busy area in public park so you have kite flyers walkers, kids and bikers all who know the course is there but dont pay attention.
Other Thoughts: good course easy to get three or more rounds in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to sneak in after work

5+    11/30/2009   4/1/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - If you dont have much time to play and you want to squeeze in a quick 10.
- Good mix of shots for the limited space.
- Long (400+) and short holes
- A few holes play through mature trees.
- Nice large consistent cement tee pads
- Wind can be a factor
- A large playground for the other family members
- Other park goers seem to actually know whats going on and are courteous
- Nice tee signs
- Practice basket with distance from pin markings spiraling out.
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Flat
- Gets old quick
- Alot of chucker population
- They have several events over the year and holes 7,8, & 9 are essentially unplayable. If you're not a local/townie you won't know about it.
Other Thoughts: I lived close by for a short while and would come here to get field practice and putting practice.
Hole 10 is from the dirt patch by the baseball benches to the practice basket.

Favorite Hole #5 - A 398' shot underneath large mature trees. No real optimal line to the basket withot working the disc hard. Essentially there is 3 main lines to take for RHBH. 1 is a roller. 2 is straight shot with a hard hook to the basket. 3 is a gentle turnover shot. The basket is protected by a tree in front of it and some pines that act as backstop behind it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: CReb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mach3's for baskets, well maintained, even in EARLY early spring, decent distance for most holes. Awesome target practice / putting green.
I love how maintained they keep it.
Friendly locals (being a townie helps)
Very little grafitti
Nice neighborhood
For me it is 2 blocks away, so location is a pro for me.
Love the tees with distances on them
Easy to see pin locations.
Cons: Lack of signage actually on the course (despite easy to see pins and distances on tees people complain and ask where to throw.)
Lots and lots of kids, everywhere, particularly the last 3 holes (playing on the hill, playground, etc.) some of the "gangstas" will touch or throw discs, beware of this. If you see kids on the hill, throw and follow your disc quickly, I can't count how many times I have seen people pick up discs. One time the cops were called due to a confrontation over a touched disc, no one wants that.
Other Thoughts: If you have your number on your disc and it is lost, you will get it back. I am 2 for 2 on having lost discs returned.
Love this course, I am there at least 3 days a week.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not a bad place

2-4    3/18/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole layout, wraps around the park, most holes are about 400 feet, well maintained, wood chips around all the baskets, cement tees and nice baskets, each tee give you the hold number and distance. Great little practice basket set up, with blocks buried to give you distances to work on putting, made for a great game after a round to just relax with a friend.
Cons: Nothing really special, no major obstacles, there are trees, but not many, if you can throw a straight shot you're golden here as there is a straight path to all the holes. The teeboxes are aimed a bit off line on some of the holes, just feels a bit off that way.
Other Thoughts: Good multiuse park, last time there had a lot of kids running around, was just completely redone within the last couple years, and the layout is nice, not a bad experience, and on a side of town that doesn't have much in the way of courses. Not worth a special trip, but if you are in the area it isn't a bad course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good for Beginner

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: ironmeden
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Being this is my first time playing I thought it was a easy course. It was nice to walk around and go at my own pace. The people on the course were very courteous.
Cons: There were a lot of kids running around and playing the putting areas. This really is irritating.

 Long fairly open course.

1    4/26/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly in that there aren't too many holes that require specific shots. They are al open enough you can pick your line and throw however you want to.

2) Nice baskets

3) Main challenge on this course is its distance on a few holes. 250' is the shortest which can be out of reach for weaker arms (like me on some days). 3000' for a 9 hole course!!!!

4) Nicely maintained park for sure. It does have a golf course attached to the property so the park workers take care of the disc golf course well also. Has a nice restroom area that looks brand new, and it was unfrotunately locked when I played because I had to pee!
Cons: 1) Not enough variety or challenge except distance.

2) Too open to be a great course but it is well taken care of.
Other Thoughts: Best practice facility I have ever seen. Concrete landscape blocks set into the ground in a spiral around the basket. Each measured in 2 foot increments, so you can throw from 10, then 12, then 14, etc etc etc and I think it goes well above 32'. I would be a solid putter if I had this to challenge me. Throw one from every block until you make it all the way through!!!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/14/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well placed trees on this course make for some very difficult shots on a few holes. There is a good variation in the amount of power needed to get to the hole, with most of the holes needing a pretty hefty drive.
There is one nice downhill drive that claims it is 400 feet but which plays like a 300 foot drive roughly.
This course would be tough for most beginners because they don't have there distance down.
Cons: A little tough to find the first tee if you park in the wrong parking lot. Some of the holes play near a busy street which could pose a safety hazard.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.