Worthington, MN
Olson Park Campground Share
Uploaded By: Bubbajoe Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 182ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short But Semi-Sweet

1    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mjfreunder
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety of holes. The first two holes give players a chance to warm up before they head into the woods.
- The flow of the course is phenomenal. The course loops around back to the parking lot as you play through it. Course designers never need to post a course map if they don't want to, because every hole leads to the next without any direction needed.
- Ace runs galore, especially if you can throw straight every time.
- It's a beautiful setting for a disc golf course. You're right along the lake and can see it easily from the wooded holes.
- Having the camping facility nearby has to be a nice commodity.
- Scorecards are available at the start of the course.
Cons: - The wide open holes, while they provide a nice warm-up, are a little bland. Holes 2 and 9 are less than fun because there's nothing in front of you but the basket.
- Nearly every hole is very short. The only exception is hole 9, which is wide open. Holes 2 and 6 are both less than 200 feet.
- The tee pads, while nice, are pretty short. That's a con for a player like me, as I have a long wind-up before my delivery. I felt a little hindered by the pads at times.
- Like others have said, I was a little unnerved by the amount of people on the nearby trails. It would take a really bad throw to put them at risk if they stay on the trail, but things happen.
- The open holes are subject to windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: I have passed by this course several times while driving from Rochester to Sioux City, and I finally had enough time to stop and play it. I'm really glad I did. I will come back many more times in my travels to play.

I originally gave this course a 2.5 because of its length, but I decided to bump it up to a 3.0 because I enjoyed it so much. It might not be great for more advanced players, but for a recreational player like me, it's just what the doctor ordered.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun easy course

2-4    8/8/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: govigsfly
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners.
Some wide open shots, some in trees, some around curves.
One long shot at end.
Cons: Wind effects 4 baskets.
Some tall grass that could lose disc in.
Other Thoughts: They did a great job of fitting 9 baskets in the space and a good variety of shots (open, in trees, corners, short and medium length).
Took about 35 for group of 9 to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short but fun

2-4    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: DiscGolfKing7
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Many ace and birdie chances
Course is near a lake
Great signage on every hole
Nice practice hole righ by hole #1
Cons: No change of distance or elevation
Could lose a disc in the tall grass
Course is a ways from downtown worthington
Other Thoughts: Had a lot of fun here. Over I would come back here again.

 short but sweet

2-4    6/26/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good for teaching beginners
-Overall on the short side but has variations in distance
-The middle holes are in the woods
-Campground near by
-Scorecards located in mailbox, nice looking too
-Maps on each hole
-Decent tees
-Great baskets
-Course looks good with nice mature trees and lake nearby
-Garbage near parking lot
-Good ace runs and lots of birdies
Cons: -Bike path a little too near
-A few holes are too open or too short, #2 especially
-Could lose a disc in the rough on the wooded holes
-People like to walk around on the wooded holes like they are trails
-Can be very windy on the open holes

Other Thoughts: Course is nothing spectacular but if you're passing by it wouldn't be a bad stop. If you're an advanced player you might want to pass it by. This course could maybe be expanded deeper into the woods for a harder 9 holes later.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - New baskets and tees.
- Very nicely kept.
Cons: - No signs yet.
- Random paved tee like pads in a couple spots.
- Lots of wide open wholes with wind.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course. It has open long shots for beginners and some wooded challenging shots that make for a fun game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Begginer Course.

5+    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Easy to spot Discatcher baskets
-Very good flow, easy to find next tee
-Course will teach basics to the beginner (hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots)
-Mowed fairways and greens.
*New Signs with posted distances*
*New located at hole #1*

*=added to course since first review
Cons: -Hole #9 is a straight shot into the middle of a field with no trees. (I think this is to teach new players how to drive long without punishing them.)
-Fairways could be mowed wider in some locations.
-Concrete Tees are short for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to teach a new person the sport, and interesting enough to give a more advanced player to do if they live near.

Hole #8 is confusing for the first time with no signage. The basket is hidden behind tree on the left, however I threw at the basket I saw from the tee it ended up being #3's basket. I asked another person that I played with later and they said they did the same thing the first time.

I don't know if this was planned or not but hole #1 will have a steady headwind all day with no wind protection.

There is a bike trail running along the course, expect many passerby's to stop and watch you play at the newly installed course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.