Junction, TX 
Junction County Park Share
Uploaded By: cad614 Hole #2 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun course with wind -- straightforward

1    4/26/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good, basic course. Decent mix of shots. If you and friends agree to use logical OBs (path and across, concrete areas, etc.), the course become more challenging -- especially with wind.

Last few holes of the original 18 are actually pretty cool and give the course a little more variety.
Cons: Short, mostly flat, holes become similar. Not super technical without the wind. On a calm day, I'd be upset if I wasn't taking a lot of birdies; on a high-wind day, pars become challenging and make the course a lot more fun.

Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but a good stopover, just off the interstate, if you're traveling through TX.

Nothing exciting, but quick and fun -- no real drawbacks either. Just simple and entertaining.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, maybe not on a weekend!

1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 73  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the park. Built in a Pecan bottom, so a surprising number of trees for Junction. Good variety of holes. Some require drives through the trees while others are wide open. A couple of baskets are pushed up onto the adjacent roadway embankment to give the only elevation change on the course, but their placement adds interest. The adjacent river is scenic but doesn't really come into play unless you really shank a drive. On the other side of the river there are six "bonus" holes in the city park. Decent holes that play among the trees on that side. Good tee signs on all 24 holes. A great location for 24 total holes!
Cons: The 18-hole course is built inside of the county park. It is built around a number of playgrounds, volleyball courts, basketball courts, picnic tables and parking lots. We had it to ourselves on Monday morning, but there was plenty of evidence that the park is heavily used on weekends. I don't think that you could safely play many of the holes if the park was busy.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads are small on the County side (bigger on the City side) but the ground is flat and hard so run-up wasn't an issue for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Might be too busy on a holiday weekend

1    1/7/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good balanced design. Just enough tight and open holes. Not too long or too short. The holes near the water are close enough to make you think but safe shots are there if you don't want to lose a disc.
Cons: Gravel roads all over the park make it easy for cars and people to be in the way of disc golfers. Hole 18 plays over a parking lot. If its a big holiday weekend it may not be playable.
Other Thoughts: No contact for any locals. Tee signs on 2 holes are gone already. Baskets are installed about a foot too high. Yes all of them. Shot -5 without too much trouble so it is not a pro course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a nice course!

2-4    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: spellfish
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has alot of baskets! When we played this course we met and got to play with the designer and there are 18 holes on one side of the river and six on the other with three temp holes for tourns. Also look for the Hidden bonus Tee box on #11
Cons: There are small tee boxes but there is plenty of room behind them to run up so its no big deal unless it just rained as the mud is very sticky
Other Thoughts: Make a day of it and check this course out...there is almost no one playing this course and you have it all to yourself. Plus its a grat park with playgrounds pools and much more.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course in a Place I Didn't Expect It

1    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: WD09
Played: 253  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice new Discatcher baskets. Textured concrete tee pads. Good signs with maps and distances. It is easy to follow the flow of the course.

This course uses the property well with a variety of pin placements. In addition to a few baskets in the open, there are baskets on hillsides, baskets surrounded by trees, baskets near water and baskets near the road. There is a variety of hole lengths and a good mixture of lefty and righty-friendly drives. Most holes have obstacles to avoid and a few play like a forested course, requiring a well-selected line off the tee to make it through the trees. My favorite hole is #15, which plays about 250' between trees and across water to a basket with water behind it and to the right of it.
Cons: There are three main cons to this course: 1. The tee pads are very small. I don't take much of a run-up, but they are too short for me. 2. Several of the tees are very close to the previous basket, which would be troublesome with several groups playing the course. 3. If the park were busy with picnickers and kids on the playgrounds, an errant throw could cause big problems in many places on the course.
Other Thoughts: Nice restroom facilities on site and two high-quality playgrounds for kids that might be along for the ride. It is a beautiful park, with water and a scenic bridge. Junction is a great place to stop and stretch on a long drive through this part of Texas. I am happy to see a nice course there! I started off by rating this course at three stars, but after reflecting on the review I have written, I am bumping it up to 3.5. Play this course if you are in the area!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.