Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 73
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Good shoulder season course

5+    5/28/2016   5/28/2016
Review By: PaddyBudz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

Multiple Pin positions from short to long

Good mix of distance and elevation

27 Holes

-Doesn't get too crowded, good for early morning/evening rounds

-right next to a dog park
Cons: Wind - with it being right up against the foothills it can get windy

Soupy - The course is in an open space/flood plane so during the rainy season and mid spring when it is wet the course can and does flood from time to time making certain holes unplayable

lack of signage - it looks like at some point in the past there were t-box signs showing pin positions and distance but they wore out or were vandalized and tore down, now there is no signage and it is all LOS or just knowing where stuff is from playing before

navigation on the top 9 - non-existent, so unless you've played it before you won't know where to go

grass can eat discs when it is long

wide open, so you can throw sky high shots without much penalty
Other Thoughts: Like other reviewers said even though APEX puts their name all over it they don't do anything for it. John Bird (the designer and course manager) does everything from mowing, to moving baskets to other course maintenance. So if you want the grass mowed and play the course more than once or twice a year throw a few bucks in the donation box.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/21/2016   5/21/2016
Review By: Beardface
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long Course
-Varied Shots
-Lots of Fun Obstacles
-No Pedestrians/Multi Use
-Relatively Intuitive Layout
Cons: -Can be Crowded
-Easy to Lose a Disc
-Potential for Marshy Wet Areas
-Lots of High Grass
-Holes 19+ need some serious love
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today with no info except a cell phone photo of the map at the kiosk near the parking lot. The course flows pretty well if you take a second to orient yourself between holes, and has some interesting shots throughout.

I spoke a little while with the course manager, John Bird, and learned that this course is entirely maintained by donations. Grass is mowed when there is enough money to by a few tanks of gas and sharpen the mower blades. Most of the cons every review listed would be improved through more funding, so I encourage you to donate!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent disc golf course in Denver area

1    7/23/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 27 hole course that is used strictly for disc golf. With all the tall grass and vegetation, it is pretty clear where to go for the next hole by how the course is mowed. The course has a good mix of downhill, open, and wooded shots. The tee pads are nice and concrete for effective drives.
Cons: Tall grass and vegetation on most holes can force you to waste time looking for your disc. Watch out for cacti if you do end up looking. The area around tee #3 can get wet and muddy being the low point. The course could use signs to help guide people the right way. Holes #19-27 do not have concrete tee pads so it can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses in Denver since it does have a good variety of holes and you don't have to deal with any pedestrians getting in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: 00greenwj
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes

long shots with lots of variety

Cons: poorly maintained, currently covered in waste high grass that eats discs. barely playable.

cactus everywhere on the back back 9
Other Thoughts: Hopefully it gets mowed soon. might be best played in winter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rat's nest

1    6/3/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Rowick
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a bit more entertain albeit a lot more frustrating than watching grass grow which is pretty much all the maintenance that goes into it

A lot of different holes and a lot of different lines to take on most holes

Could be a really good course like 3.5-4 rated if the people whose job it is to matain the land pretended to care about doing so
Cons: I could go on for days about what a pain in the neck it is to play on 40 acres of thigh deep grass, but I will assume most people reading this already know that

No tee signs just a pole with a numbed sticker(that a tee sign could be very easily attached to) but a lot of sings saying keep out most of which seem to be right where you need to go making this probably the most unwelcoming course I have ever played after I lost my 4th disc on hole ten all of which would have been easy to spot of the course had been mowed anytime in the past year I was done I will stay in Aurora and play the better courses here

Other Thoughts: I don't think that all DG courses have to be pristine but I feel like we should at least try to have a fairway of sorts at least on some holes I live in Aurora which is a little bigger but a lot poorer town and some how we keep our course mowed I guess people in Arvada just don't want to spend money on something that isn't a status symbol

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    10/24/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: livin_tll
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun and long course. Good for just hucking it without having to worry about obstacles. Follow the paths in the dirt to find the next tee or pin.
Cons: Can be windy. Often. Confusing the first time.
Other Thoughts: Not many trees. Good and bad

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I would nest here if I were a bird

2-4    6/21/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great course for locals
- Easily accessible for regionals
- 27 holes!
Cons: - Lots of marshy areas with tall reeds on a number of holes
- Can get crowded
- Not too many trees
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses I've played in the Denver Metro region. You can bring your dog to the next-door dog park for canine socializing before or after!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Metro area

5+    6/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 17  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very long tees, hard to loose discs (unless the weeds are thick), course layout is fun and spread out
Cons: not well marked, takes a long time to play
Other Thoughts: This course is great at the right time of year- when the weeds are dry. the length of the holes makes it challenging

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: ksctrail
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a decent course needs some maintenance
There is a decent mix of long and medium range shots. There are a few holes with trees surrounding the pin and a few holes with some elevation change.
Cons: the course is overgrown with weeds. The course layout is difficult to follow. The markings to the next tee box and the pin placement are missing.
Other Thoughts: I was told that the course has not had the proper upkeep this year due to attention being focused on the restructuring of Johnny Roberts course. Hopefully, the course will have better upkeep after the reopening of Johnny Roberts.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not in good shape

1    6/24/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Gnuckle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are a few elevation changes, and a few trees to make some challenging holes. Also some great distance shots to challenge your arm.
Cons: At the time the weeds were waist deep everywhere on the course. Causing a 10min search on every throw for your disc. Was not maintained at all.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a fun city course, but without any maintenance it is abysmal and would not play it again.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.