Arvada, CO
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Park entrance sign



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not much going on here.

1    8/30/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long open shots with not much chance of losing a disc.
Holes are all in pretty great shape.
Cons: Boring. Only two elevation shots, 1 & 3, everything else is pretty much grip it and rip it.
Easy to get lost on the course with no directions or helpful arrows.
Other Thoughts: I'm noticing here in Colorado people who play courses feel no responsibility to care or maintain them, too bad. This course would be good if the people playing it helped out and made the holes more interesting to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Distance Variety

1    8/27/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lot of hole variety. There are a few that thread the needle and a few that are just long. The course does the best it can with most of the built in obstacles (trees and rocks, ect.) Other than 18 the pins are mostly dead red off of the tee box. You will need to being your best game to do so but birdie is possible on 80% of holes.
Cons: The course is not very fluid in some areas. If I wouldn't have taken a picture of the map leaving the first tee we would have missed a few holes mid round. There are many well tread paths that will normally lead you to the next hole but they can be decieving your first time out.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture of the map your first time out. everything is pretty clear but the paths will lead you astray if you don't have an idea of which well walked path is the correct one. Its very dry terrain in the summer so remember to bring good amounts of liquids.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent with potential

5+    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 99  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large variety of distances
-Quite a few different pin placements for the holes that get changed up pretty frequently
-Many of the holes give you a chance to just let you rip the disc but you also need decent accuracy to score well on this course
-Good use of the trees and elevation that is available on the land
-Trash cans and benches throughout the course
-Nice big concrete teepads on the first 18 holes
-Map of course and information board at the first hole
-Good DGA baskets
Cons: -Very very easy to lose a disc on this course as during the summer months the grass and other underbrush at the course grows rather high and it can be pretty difficult to find your disc at times
-This course has no tee signs except on one hole, there use to be stone tiles with the hole number on them but many of them are either shattered or just missing now.
-The flow of the course can be a little difficult to follow ( since many of the tiles with hole numbers are gone and not at the holes it can be a little difficult knowing if you are throwing off the right pad your first few times playing, and navigation after hole 18 can be pretty hard to follow at times.)
-Every hole after hole 18 has dirt teepads which if there has been a lot of moisture can be full of puddles and nearly unusable
-Parts of this course can hold a lot of water and if it has been wet recently, the course will be really wet and muddy
-It seems like there is always at least one hole closed for one reason or another (When I was there last they had 7 different holes closed with the baskets for all of them pulled, so they were unplayable).
-Bring lots of water as there is not a lot of shade on the course and if it is a warm day it can get pretty hot out there
Other Thoughts: This is a course that is a lot of fun but has some major flaws that if fixed could majorly improve this course. If you are looking for a course to play this one provides quite a few fun holes and is worth the drive to check it out. I believe the best times to play are either in the fall after some of the grass and weeds have died out or in the spring before the grass and weeds have had a chance to sprout.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Birds Nest: Flat & Long

5+    5/10/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very flat course with a decent amount of trees. It requires many long shots, but is not very technical, and does not require a large variety of shots. There are a few fun shots which require tight negotiation through cottonwood groves. The back-back 9 is my favorite part of this course. While it is underdeveloped, it has a majority of the courses challenging shots. I enjoy coming here on a calm day in winter, spring, and early-summer.
Cons: I have been there many times where parts of the course are shut down due to flooding or construction. Last year (2010), 3 holes were closed due to flooding for a majority of the summer, and this year (2011) 4 holes are closed due to construction. In late summer YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DISC. No matter how good of a discer you are, the tall grass and more likely the thousands of tiny bushes will swallow a disc at some point. I have had a few rounds which took an extra hour or so due to so many lost discs within the group. Also has the ability to get extremely windy.
Other Thoughts: With the back-back nine adding up to 27 holes, Bird's Nest is a great place to have a reasonably long day on a course that is not too hard, but requires a good amount of long throwing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Playin the Nest

5+    4/9/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The folks who run this course are always making nice improvments every year. Good mix of long and short with some tight tree shots.
Cons: They have some rock circles that are OB if you land in them. Not a big fan of that because a lot of them you cannot see off the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the good work! My North West Denver Metro. course of choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to break in a new distance driver. Makes use of landscape the best it can with how open it is. This course seems more challenging than it should.
Cons: The rock circle OB markers are difficult to see and gauge from the tees. This favors people who play the course regularly. Navigation is a bit lack.
Other Thoughts: Not the best beginner course, and with the other courses within 20 minutes I would not go out of my way to play this one if I didn't get to the others first. Worth the stop if you already have them done.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Guess I missed the wind, good for me.

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing to notice about Bird's Nest is that it is in its own unique area. There is signs for a dog park and a disc golf course, each with their own area and parking area just below an urban reservoir . The course is not shared with anything else, I love that, golfers here are in their own world with only other golfers to share it with. There are maps but you probably wont need one, from-basket-to-tee is in most parts a pretty worn path. The tee pads are humongous, you can chuck, and have a barbeque on em at the same time. There are some good elevated shots that are memorable. The view is fantastic with the Rockies looking over your shoulder perhaps adding some wind. Having an extra six holes from the norm is great. Bird's Nest is very clean for a big empty lot. The powers that be have also done a fantastic job gathering up all the rocks and making either cool tee areas or obstacles out of them.
Cons: As Valkyrie Kid mentioned before, the polished granite tee signs don't feel right, It did irk me to see some of them smashed, on the other hand it felt like the logical result for the markers by the hands of some jackass kids. There are a few trees here, most of them small and on one side of the course. What they lack in tress they have made up for in hills and OB and distance but scores should still be lower here. There were a few times I threw into the other fairway and still came out with par. Some of the course feels crammed together, as I was always near the other fairways.
Other Thoughts: I Like this course, I look forward to getting back here next time I am in the west Denver Boulder area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Does The Wind Always Howl Through Here?

4/5/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is mostly open range other than a couple small groves of trees. It has the most over-sized concrete tee pads I've ever seen. There are a couple chances ( #1 and #4) to throw some big air off elevated tees. They've planted some trees which will help this course in future years. They obviously have the support of the local rec department.
Cons: The course has these granite?? signs at each tee saying what hole you are playing but they aren't attached to anything. Many of them have been slammed down and broken by the local "midnight marauding teenagers." I understand they were donated but I'd rather have a normal tee sign announcing par and distance, etc. Also, I think the course designers missed a great chance to use an elevated mound for a tee pad. I understand it's sometimes used for a basket placement but personally I'd prefer it as a tee pad location. I hope the wind doesn't always blow like it did the day I played. It was pretty brutal. Blew my favorite blue Valkyrie driver way the hell off course and lost. Hope whoever finds it will put it to good use!
Other Thoughts: As you are driving up the street looking for the course, you suddenly see an official city street sign that says, "Disc Golf Parking Ahead." I was thinking that disc golf has truly arrived when it has an official city street sign!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.