Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    12/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-some slight elevation change, not much for Colorado though
-Intermediate to advanced course, average shots is around 400' depending on basket placement
-a few shots have some tree so added difficulty
-multiple basket placements
-free to play, but they do take donations for maintenance
Cons: -the course could really use better signage, both tee signs and signs between shots to navigate to the next hole
-there's a few holes where you tee pretty close to baskets, to make a slight safety issue
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course, but if it just got some love, like better signs its could be a quality course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

2-4    9/25/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Hakire13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily accessible if you're coming from Golden, Boulder, Morrison or even Littleton (C-470). Plenty of parking with a bathroom in the parking lot (only place on the course so keep that in mind.) This course has great views of the mountains as well!
This was the first disc golf course I have ever played so as a beginner, it's treated me pretty well. Lots of different shots you can use, some up hill, down hill and flat. Variety included in one course.
Cons: Some of the pins are hard to see. Wish there was a marker of some sort that would stick out so it was able to be viewed from the tee box.
9/25/13: Due to the recent flood, there are new water hazards (by the first few holes). Might want to have a spotter look out for your drives. In addition, the water has caused a lot of bugs to come out. Bring BUGSPRAY!
The landscape is pretty monotone: lots of browns and greens, wheat colored grass and shrubs. A bright disc is MUST at dusk.
Other Thoughts: No running water-bring your own.
A few trash cans on the course (pack it in, pack it out in your bag.)
No maps so if you can, play with someone who has been there before.
Overall: this course is the one I have played the most. Definitely looking forward to more Fall outings to make it my "home" course! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool little course, it plays relatively easily and quick. The course area is dedicated to disc golf so there are no moving obstacles like a walking path, cars or playgrounds. Though the course is pretty wide open, they made good use of the trees that they did have. There is a big dog park right next to the course, so if you have a four legged friend, this is a good place to stop before or after.
Cons: Since it is so flat and open, we had a little trouble figuring out which pin we were shooting at, but a short walk up the fairway cleared up the confusion. They could use some good tee signs and more trees for shade, but overall, this is a good course.
Other Thoughts: Its pretty dry out there and we didn't see any drinking fountains or bathrooms, so bring water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sneaky Long!

2-4    10/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 23.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Great teepads, and they face exactly where you want them (somehow that is a rarity these days...)
---Easy to navigate
---Out in it's own area, very little, if any, non-disc golf traffic to worry about
---A classic course of the Denver area that much work has been put in to over the years
---Well-maintained...up until hole 18.
Cons: ---Wind! Bird'd Nest is set an an open basin, so the wind whips right off the mountain and there's no protection
---Some of the holes are long just for the sake of being long, which I hate
---Nasty terrain. Even in winter months there is yucca, cactus and other pricklies everywhere
---No tee signs. Easy to navigate with a map, but still, tee signs would be most useful
---Any hole after 18 is basically roughing it...very little maintenence out there
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course, but it's not one I go out of my way to play. I've only played there once in a non-tourney and honestly, I didn't have a ton of fun. That's just me, though. I like my trees heavily wooded and shorter.

My suggestion for a first-timer is hook up with some locals. They absolutley OWN this course! They'll show you exactly which shots to make and what discs to use. Watching the locals rip up this course is the only reason I keep going back...if they can do it, why the heck can't I?

Also note that there is an awesome disc golf course, Phenix Disc Sports, nearby for all your golfing needs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ok course

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: carlp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wide open
very clean
good mix of distances
XL Tee pads..largest I've seen.
Cons: very confusing layout
tee pads need to be marked better.
Other Thoughts: overall this is a pretty decent course that would benifit from signage and a good signature hole. It was extremely clean compared to most courses and it isn't too crowded. Print a map from this site!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    3/23/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disc golf only park
*elevation changes
*wide open - air it out
*no water hazards
*suitable for beginners
*great t pads
*little chance of losing a disc
Cons: *not many obstacles
*prickly pear _hurts_ - keep your eyes on your path
*area gets very windy
*no shade
*little to no signage or obvious course flow
Other Thoughts: don't let some of these reviews fool you, there's more challenge here than meets the eye. The course's winds add a lot of challenge, and playing the OB's makes it acceptable. There are a technical holes, but there's not one hole that really sticks out as unique. Really needs some more basic signage, even some painted numbers and arrows would be a pretty big improvement. This course was great to introduce a n00b to, and to work on your game, but a decidedly average challenge to the experienced pro. Play it if you haven't yet, but I wouldn't make a special trip

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Donate if this is your favorite!

2-4    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: Great use of space and longer holes for booming shots. Good layout and easy to follow. Very few people play this course on a regular basis so you won't be rushed during play.
Cons: Very poorly groomed as it is in an "open space" area. Signs would be great if the course was adequately funded. Lots of bugs that like to bite out here and occasionally a rattlesnake.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a fun course, but if you are going to play all 27 holes (when they open up 3,4,6&7 again) you need high visibilty discs that contrast with the landscape when playing here(tye dyes are a bad idea).

 good time

1    6/18/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: mytireisfat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Very open spaced
--Nice hill shots
--Nice Tree shots
--No trash

Cons: --Very tall grass
--Markers missing or broken
--Some holes closed off, baskets gone
Other Thoughts: Thought it was a fun course. Would like to go back. wish they would cut the grass and weeds down. holes have no sign markers, and seems confusing, but figured it out pretty well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Day

5+    6/27/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice peaceful course. The entire park is for throwing. So no need to worry about non b-golfers. Very dog friendly. Great baskets on every hole. Good T boxes. There is tons of different pin placements and they are used on a regular basis. The extended 8 holes with the seasonal A and B holes. But when your done with the 26 holes and your looking at the walk back to the car well there's one more basket (Practice Basket) to complete your 27. Some good elevation changes on holes 1, 3, 4, and 5. Well placed baskets next to hills and trees for those tougher shots. Some short holes and some meaty big ones so bring your arm and make sure to strech that bad boy out cause you'll need it.
Cons: The rock formations that are "water hazards" in the middle of the fairway? I mean come on. They really need new signage, broken peices of rock and marble don't cut it for a course that asks for donations. Watch out for those big groups there on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: Really a great course just to go chuck it! Enjoy this one as it is pretty much in the foothills and a beautiful sunset. Bring water and/or beer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and quiet

1    4/27/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large disc golf course on land devoted to the course. No other park users to worry about. Hole one starts off on a hilltop and throw on down to the basket. From there the course has a little more elevation changes, with baskets on the top of some hills. Huge cement teepads on about 75% of the holes. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are paths that lead from one basket to the next teepad. Baskets are easy to spot form the teepad. The middle of the course has shorter holes that offer birdie and possibly an ace attempt. Lots of birds around that add to the relaxing environment.
Cons: Too many holes on this course. Some of the holes definately felt repetitive and I don't think they offer much to the whole experience. There was one really nice teesign on hole 15 that is great, but all the other teesigns are marble with a number on them and some of the holes, especially the last few, didn't enven have those. Not much of a challenge on some of the holes due to long, straight shots. To me it looks as though the course was built on wetland. Small little streams thorughout, large areas of standing water and other parts where the ground was moist. Bring boots for sure. I just dont think this land is approriate for a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course is privately funded and asking for donations at the start. It was built from the ground up by hard working people. There is potential for this course. They are working on pouring more teepads and new signs which will help a lot. I enjoy the quietness of the course. The elevation was used to the best of it's potential. Give it a little time and I think this course could be better. Overall, a decent place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.