Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Bird's Nest

5+    2/11/2017   2/11/2017
Review By: Williamburrows
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is built on a large area
-Friendly locals
-Variety of short and long holes, wooded and open, flat and elevation changes
-27 Playable holes
-2 basket practice area
-Scenic open space park
Cons: -1-18 holes are marked, but no signs with distances except 15
-19-C have lots of cactus and tall grass. Easy to lose discs on these holes and step on cactus.
-It can be easy to lose your way to the next tee and walk to the wrong tee pad. Specifically 5 to 6 and 13 to 14. Hole 17 basket is hard to see and many play back to 1 on accident. 19-24 and A,B,C are even more confusing and not marked well if at all.
Other Thoughts: I would give The Nest a higher rating if the holes were better marked with signs stating distances. I really enjoy playing this course, but I'm not even sure if the hole I play as A is actually C, and the one I play as C plays back to one of the 2 practice baskets. The Bird man does his best with the upkeep of this place, I just wish there was a millionaire disc golfer who would throw some cabbage at this course for signs and maintenance to make it just a little better. This could be a 5 star course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/9/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: Parataxis
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots for a front range course.
Fun use of trees later in the course.
Cons: Can be easy to lose a disc on some holes.
Can't say I love the first 8 or so holes.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you donate! It's pretty amazing that this course is entirely volunteer designed, built, and maintained. It's also pretty close to Phenix Disc Sports which is... amazing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent disc golf course in Denver area

1    7/23/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 47  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 27 hole course that is used strictly for disc golf. With all the tall grass and vegetation, it is pretty clear where to go for the next hole by how the course is mowed. The course has a good mix of downhill, open, and wooded shots. The tee pads are nice and concrete for effective drives.
Cons: Tall grass and vegetation on most holes can force you to waste time looking for your disc. Watch out for cacti if you do end up looking. The area around tee #3 can get wet and muddy being the low point. The course could use signs to help guide people the right way. Holes #19-27 do not have concrete tee pads so it can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses in Denver since it does have a good variety of holes and you don't have to deal with any pedestrians getting in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 120  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-some slight elevation change, not much for Colorado though
-Intermediate to advanced course, average shots is around 400' depending on basket placement
-a few shots have some tree so added difficulty
-multiple basket placements
-free to play, but they do take donations for maintenance
Cons: -the course could really use better signage, both tee signs and signs between shots to navigate to the next hole
-there's a few holes where you tee pretty close to baskets, to make a slight safety issue
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course, but if it just got some love, like better signs its could be a quality course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Old Faithful

2-4    9/25/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Hakire13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily accessible if you're coming from Golden, Boulder, Morrison or even Littleton (C-470). Plenty of parking with a bathroom in the parking lot (only place on the course so keep that in mind.) This course has great views of the mountains as well!
This was the first disc golf course I have ever played so as a beginner, it's treated me pretty well. Lots of different shots you can use, some up hill, down hill and flat. Variety included in one course.
Cons: Some of the pins are hard to see. Wish there was a marker of some sort that would stick out so it was able to be viewed from the tee box.
9/25/13: Due to the recent flood, there are new water hazards (by the first few holes). Might want to have a spotter look out for your drives. In addition, the water has caused a lot of bugs to come out. Bring BUGSPRAY!
The landscape is pretty monotone: lots of browns and greens, wheat colored grass and shrubs. A bright disc is MUST at dusk.
Other Thoughts: No running water-bring your own.
A few trash cans on the course (pack it in, pack it out in your bag.)
No maps so if you can, play with someone who has been there before.
Overall: this course is the one I have played the most. Definitely looking forward to more Fall outings to make it my "home" course! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 121  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool little course, it plays relatively easily and quick. The course area is dedicated to disc golf so there are no moving obstacles like a walking path, cars or playgrounds. Though the course is pretty wide open, they made good use of the trees that they did have. There is a big dog park right next to the course, so if you have a four legged friend, this is a good place to stop before or after.
Cons: Since it is so flat and open, we had a little trouble figuring out which pin we were shooting at, but a short walk up the fairway cleared up the confusion. They could use some good tee signs and more trees for shade, but overall, this is a good course.
Other Thoughts: Its pretty dry out there and we didn't see any drinking fountains or bathrooms, so bring water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sneaky Long!

2-4    10/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 25.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Great teepads, and they face exactly where you want them (somehow that is a rarity these days...)
---Easy to navigate
---Out in it's own area, very little, if any, non-disc golf traffic to worry about
---A classic course of the Denver area that much work has been put in to over the years
---Well-maintained...up until hole 18.
Cons: ---Wind! Bird'd Nest is set an an open basin, so the wind whips right off the mountain and there's no protection
---Some of the holes are long just for the sake of being long, which I hate
---Nasty terrain. Even in winter months there is yucca, cactus and other pricklies everywhere
---No tee signs. Easy to navigate with a map, but still, tee signs would be most useful
---Any hole after 18 is basically roughing it...very little maintenence out there
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course, but it's not one I go out of my way to play. I've only played there once in a non-tourney and honestly, I didn't have a ton of fun. That's just me, though. I like my trees heavily wooded and shorter.

My suggestion for a first-timer is hook up with some locals. They absolutley OWN this course! They'll show you exactly which shots to make and what discs to use. Watching the locals rip up this course is the only reason I keep going back...if they can do it, why the heck can't I?

Also note that there is an awesome disc golf course, Phenix Disc Sports, nearby for all your golfing needs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ok course

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: carlp
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wide open
very clean
good mix of distances
XL Tee pads..largest I've seen.
Cons: very confusing layout
tee pads need to be marked better.
Other Thoughts: overall this is a pretty decent course that would benifit from signage and a good signature hole. It was extremely clean compared to most courses and it isn't too crowded. Print a map from this site!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    3/23/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disc golf only park
*elevation changes
*wide open - air it out
*no water hazards
*suitable for beginners
*great t pads
*little chance of losing a disc
Cons: *not many obstacles
*prickly pear _hurts_ - keep your eyes on your path
*area gets very windy
*no shade
*little to no signage or obvious course flow
Other Thoughts: don't let some of these reviews fool you, there's more challenge here than meets the eye. The course's winds add a lot of challenge, and playing the OB's makes it acceptable. There are a technical holes, but there's not one hole that really sticks out as unique. Really needs some more basic signage, even some painted numbers and arrows would be a pretty big improvement. This course was great to introduce a n00b to, and to work on your game, but a decidedly average challenge to the experienced pro. Play it if you haven't yet, but I wouldn't make a special trip

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Donate if this is your favorite!

2-4    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.7 Years
Pros: Great use of space and longer holes for booming shots. Good layout and easy to follow. Very few people play this course on a regular basis so you won't be rushed during play.
Cons: Very poorly groomed as it is in an "open space" area. Signs would be great if the course was adequately funded. Lots of bugs that like to bite out here and occasionally a rattlesnake.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a fun course, but if you are going to play all 27 holes (when they open up 3,4,6&7 again) you need high visibilty discs that contrast with the landscape when playing here(tye dyes are a bad idea).

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.