Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #21 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Tee



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
I would nest here if I were a bird

2-4    6/21/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great course for locals
- Easily accessible for regionals
- 27 holes!
Cons: - Lots of marshy areas with tall reeds on a number of holes
- Can get crowded
- Not too many trees
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses I've played in the Denver Metro region. You can bring your dog to the next-door dog park for canine socializing before or after!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Metro area

5+    6/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very long tees, hard to loose discs (unless the weeds are thick), course layout is fun and spread out
Cons: not well marked, takes a long time to play
Other Thoughts: This course is great at the right time of year- when the weeds are dry. the length of the holes makes it challenging

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bird's Nest, Sept. 2013

5+    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Can utilize almost any disc in the bag if so desired, and ample chances to practice with longest drivers;
- Rarely crowded;
- The upkeep, especially on the first 18, has been good since early August: mowed grass and baskets are moving positions;
- Several occasions call for an over-the-tree-or-bush throw;
- Big concrete tee pads;
- No non-players to worry about hitting;
- Short holes near the middle of the course provide a few birdie chances for most players;
- Wind conditions can vary;
- The first hole is a downhill launch and screams "birdie."
- It's a quiet course;
- The light around sunset is usually great, as is the view of the foothills;
- Easy access - parking lot is big and close;
- Dog park next door.
Cons: - The course calls for few accurate/tight lines;
- All fairways are straight;
- Almost no reason to use a left-to-right throw;
- Might be hard to navigate for the first time without a guide or a map (go left after hole 2; follow the "road" East after 6).
- Terrain is rough in spots, including spiky things that will poke through shoes, esp. on holes after 19;
- Very limited signage, maps, distance markings;
- Few places to rest, and there's only one bathroom (at the entrance).
Other Thoughts: - It's a long course with no running water, so bring water;
- In its current configuration, I'd contend that at least three holes should be par 4.
- Drop into Golden afterwards and try one of their new breweries, or good ol' Golden City.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Birds Nest!

5+    8/15/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dedicated Course for Disc Golf
- Wide Open Fields to throw in
- Elevation Changes
- Over 18 holes
- Different Pin configurations depending on the season
- Difficult to lose discs
Cons: - Not a lot of shade
- Not a lot of places to sit
- Some holes are not mapped well
- Some holes lack major obstacles
- Can be very busy during weekend hours
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all types of players. For beginners, plan on throwing 3-4 times before reaching the pin, these holes are far!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Front Range Gem

2-4    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of room- there are always other golfers out with you, but there is a great deal of space to work around each other.

Great people- I've been out a lot recently, and everyone I meet lets me tag along when I ask. One cat I played with got a call to return his Destroyer when other players found it in the tall grass. Maybe this is typical, but I was impressed.

Trees and ground cover provide challenges, but there are multiple paths around them. Opportunities for anhyzers, fore-and backhand shots.

Despite the vast area, it is relatively clean. Not lots of trash (I encourage users to pick up a piece or two), and many of the loose rocks have been arranged into nice borders on the fairways.

Relative isolation of the course is coupled with quick access to Golden, Boulder, and Northwest Metro Denver.
Cons: I have not seen any yet, but the eastern edge of the course is low ground, and can be quite wet when the weather is right.

The last 9 holes lack tee pads, if I remember rightly.

Some marble tee markers set out by work crews have been broken up and scattered. Benches at several tee pads have been trashed as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is such a great use of otherwise wasted space. All of the people I've met out here have nothing but good things to say about it.

The first hole is my favorite, with a steep drop to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course to open it up.

5+    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: BaronVonDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice hole lengths. The concrete t-pads are the best I have ever seen!!! Long enough to allow for a good run-up and wide enough at the back to play all the pin positions.
Cons: Un-defined out of bounds. Its like playing on a giraffe and saying the brown spots are OB. The OB is defined by rocks laid out in a circle and very hard to know where is safe and where is OB from a distance.
Other Thoughts: Lots of prickly pear cactus. Good shoes is a must. I rated this higher than most because of the T-pads! I hope the back holes will get t-pads like the front.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there...

2-4    7/1/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a fair amount of holes that require us with big arms to actually use their drivers versus using mid-range or putters like other "so-called" courses. A few shots entail a little elevation change.
Cons: Signage is not what it could or should be. Very few trees for those seeking shade here in the hot CO summers.
Other Thoughts: Bring sunscreen, and lots of WATER. This course if played in the warmer months will not be very enjoyable as you are like an ant under a magnifying glass as this entire course sits in a bit of a valley which gets VERY HOT!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 birdies at bird nest

5+    3/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: seth.hyzer
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some very nice distance and terrain challenges that make this a tough one for such an open area. The first four throws include some elevation changes, the you have a few long distance tosses, and a few with some trees. A good course to play all day.
Cons: Other than spending a good amount of time looking for discs, none.
Other Thoughts: good course to work on your distance game

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like the Bird's Nest

1    11/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied shots
-Tons of distance to let it rip
-Great layout
-Elevation changes
-Lots of space and no crowds
Cons: -No trees, shade or water
-You will need the map for the last 9 holes
-The OBs everywhere suck and are not worth playing
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and almost was a 4 in my book, but it was easy to get lost on the back 9. There was a lot of work done on this place and they have made it look great. Bring a map and you will be good to go.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest

1    9/1/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Only Park. Traffic is kept to a minimal with this. A.k.a no people taking there mary ass time walking down the fairway of your next shot.
- Tough, long course. Not every hole can be driven off the tee.
-Good mix of shots to open up your bag.
-Great imagination/use of the land.
-Fun through it's entirety
-Completely run/funded by individuals who like to play DG
Cons: can be hard to navigate towards the end.
-Not enough signs or maps for the holes.
-mainly open shots
-Summer/Spring can get a bit crazy with the weeds and overgrowth... Easy to loose discs then.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very fun and challenging course to play. Definitely one of the better ones in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.