Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    7/14/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: player7217
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course made by John Bird himself. One of the most challenging courses in the arvada area with combinations of long shots, short and technical shots, and the always apparent wind. Each hole has at least 3 different pin placements so no matter how much you play it the pins always keep switching. Once your passed hole 18 the course frees up with most people calling it quits and you have the rest of the course to yourself.
Cons: Most of the time if not all of the time there is wind in the area. Not many trees with leaves on them so no shade really. Lots of cactus throughout course. If you cant throw the disc far you will have a tough time at this course as a whole and might get the wrong impression because of your score. Beginning to get more and more crowed with disc golf popularity continuing to rise. After hole #18 the tee pads become dirt and are hard to find at times. There are not many signs so if you haven't played try to team up with someone that has.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I have played. The layout is great and continues to get better every time I go with John Bird making improvements at all times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

just watch the wind

5+    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Swindler2
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open layout and accessable
Challenging for all skill levels
Not so hard its unplayable to new players
Cons: Windyish days are gale force winds at this course
No shade...mid to late summer this course is only for the brave or those who want sunburnt.
Other Thoughts: One of my top 20 courses in colorado. Inside the top 5 inside metro denver.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Front Range Course

5+    5/31/2006   7/23/2012
Review By: Hyzer Soze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great views, great layout. Well kept. I miss playing this course. Course designers did a good job of creating obstacles out of otherwise bland terrain. Great course for dogs. No pedestrian traffic at all...pure DG all day.
Cons: Absolutely no wind protection from the front range winds. Tee boxes tough to locate on the first go around.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that draws good people.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 birds nest

5+    8/11/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: concrete pads
18+ holes if you want to keep going
solid distance
Cons: minimal elevation changes
Other Thoughts: great all around course
this was one of my favorites when in CO
gusty winds can make your round go south in a heartbeat

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with a high ceiling.

5+    4/18/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 24+ holes, there is a practice basket at the beginning and two seasonal holes on the backside of the course.
- Concrete tees with hole numbers.
- Free to play (Donation course).
- Plays fast, about 3 - 4 mins per hole.
Cons: - Typically windy.
- Cactus litters the holes 18 - 24.
- Some holes are hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: From the street this course looks very unimpressive, but since it is close to my house I thought I would give it a try. I'm so glad I did. It has become one of my favorite courses.

With other courses by the time you hit your groove you are just finishing up. On this course you hit your rhythm and still have 15 holes to go!

This course is a great course for beginners or players who haven't played in awhile and need to shake off some rust. It's a great mix of challenge and "confidence builders". It also is a great opportunity to work on mid-range and approach discs.

This course is highly recommended

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very open course

5+    7/5/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: inuse23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A lot of holes
Good scenery
Fun terrain
Cons: Pants and shoes highly recommended for this course
Wear sun screen ! Most of this course is right out in the open under the sun. It can get unpleasant if you didn't prepare thoroughly.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course in the afternoon when the sun has started to sink.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

5+    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: 303dubreggae
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for newbs and pros alike. Most tee shots are wide open so you can grip and rip, but if you want to score you need to be accurate. I live within 2 minutes of the course so i play almost daily there and it does not get old. Bird is good about changing the basket location to add a different feel. The course is under construction right now with 4 holes removed but it is a 27 hole course so there is plenty to play.
Cons: The only real con is the WIND, people who know this course know that it is most often windy so try and pick a good day. Only other con I run into is people who do not know the course have a hard time navigating it, so a few arrows pointing to the next tee might be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Overall i consider this the best course in the area, never too crowded and most people are friendly and will let you play through, the course is very dog and beer friendly. A big arm will never have a bad day at this course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day nice people

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is very diverse. The park is well maintained and clean. People are very friendly and will let you play through.
Cons: Fairly busy. I encountered several groups over seven people, but of course they were considerate and let me play through. The course was a bit hard to follow in places.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to drive to Arvada, I would encourage going to Johnny Roberts. This course was great, but for the drive, Johnny Roberts is better.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 classic suburban denver

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: thumb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variation of distances, some elevation.
Cons: No trees. You can kinda just throw and as long as you get the distance correct you are good to go. Dry ponds are the stupidest thing ever... never play them unless its a tournament

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Growing up nicely

5+    8/21/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has allowed to to improve my game leaps and bounds. What makes me love this course? The holes are well thought out to use both distance and accuracy. Some holes require a big drive while some holes demand a drive be placed very accurately. The long tee pads give players a good run up to help maximize the drive. Hole #1 is a fun downhill shot that gets either love or hate from the wind. Hole #2 takes some of the trees at this dusty course in to play for a shot hole. Holes #9 & #10 are two of my favorite holes on this course. These holes demand a shorter, yet accurate drive. When hole #15 is in its eastern position it is guarded by many trees. I enjoy hole #18 as a quick drop off hill. I have played holes 19-24 only a handful of times. It appears that though is being put in to making these holes better. The course gets better every time I play it. A disc golf only park. Never crowded. Great for tournament or casual play.
Cons: This course lacks appropriate signage. Small numbers on the rocks near the tee pads are not visible. Rocks can mess up lower end plastic. Hole #7 can require a spotter for your disc. 18-24 does not have concrete tees. This course can get toasty in the afternoon sun. There are not too many places to retreat to shade so bring water.
Other Thoughts: John Bird truly loves this course. He is at the course often and is quick to show you new hole ideas and to discuss the future of the park. The changes made in the past year have improved the course nicely. Rumors of signage, concrete for 18-24, Pro shop and other amenities are floating around. Expect to see this course grow more and more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.