Arvada, CO
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Turd's Nest

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent variety of distance and a fairly long course overall.
-Nice pads
-Large parking area with porta-potties.
-Decent Front Range views.
-Flat
Cons: -Windy and open. No shade.
-Barely any trees for challenge
-Can easily lose a disc in the tall grass. Not my favorite kind of hazard.
-Signage was poor for a first timer. It's clear that this course is popular and if they would put a little more money into it then it would be at least a little more enjoyable. Bring a map or a local for sure.
-Signs near parking lot warning of car break ins
-Can be crowded with the only nearby course closed.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great course for guys who like to throw 400+ foot hyzer bombs all day. If you like to care about shot placement at all then you wont like this course.
-Very, very low fun factor for me. 24 long open holes just doesn't float my boat. I was waiting for it to end after about 5 holes. When I drove in, I could just tell that it was going to be a long and boring round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-some slight elevation change, not much for Colorado though
-Intermediate to advanced course, average shots is around 400' depending on basket placement
-a few shots have some tree so added difficulty
-multiple basket placements
-free to play, but they do take donations for maintenance
Cons: -the course could really use better signage, both tee signs and signs between shots to navigate to the next hole
-there's a few holes where you tee pretty close to baskets, to make a slight safety issue
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course, but if it just got some love, like better signs its could be a quality course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old Faithful

2-4    9/25/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Hakire13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily accessible if you're coming from Golden, Boulder, Morrison or even Littleton (C-470). Plenty of parking with a bathroom in the parking lot (only place on the course so keep that in mind.) This course has great views of the mountains as well!
This was the first disc golf course I have ever played so as a beginner, it's treated me pretty well. Lots of different shots you can use, some up hill, down hill and flat. Variety included in one course.
Cons: Some of the pins are hard to see. Wish there was a marker of some sort that would stick out so it was able to be viewed from the tee box.
9/25/13: Due to the recent flood, there are new water hazards (by the first few holes). Might want to have a spotter look out for your drives. In addition, the water has caused a lot of bugs to come out. Bring BUGSPRAY!
The landscape is pretty monotone: lots of browns and greens, wheat colored grass and shrubs. A bright disc is MUST at dusk.
Other Thoughts: No running water-bring your own.
A few trash cans on the course (pack it in, pack it out in your bag.)
No maps so if you can, play with someone who has been there before.
Overall: this course is the one I have played the most. Definitely looking forward to more Fall outings to make it my "home" course! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bird's Nest, Sept. 2013

5+    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: dmarsh27
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Can utilize almost any disc in the bag if so desired, and ample chances to practice with longest drivers;
- Rarely crowded;
- The upkeep, especially on the first 18, has been good since early August: mowed grass and baskets are moving positions;
- Several occasions call for an over-the-tree-or-bush throw;
- Big concrete tee pads;
- No non-players to worry about hitting;
- Short holes near the middle of the course provide a few birdie chances for most players;
- Wind conditions can vary;
- The first hole is a downhill launch and screams "birdie."
- It's a quiet course;
- The light around sunset is usually great, as is the view of the foothills;
- Easy access - parking lot is big and close;
- Dog park next door.
Cons: - The course calls for few accurate/tight lines;
- All fairways are straight;
- Almost no reason to use a left-to-right throw;
- Might be hard to navigate for the first time without a guide or a map (go left after hole 2; follow the "road" East after 6).
- Terrain is rough in spots, including spiky things that will poke through shoes, esp. on holes after 19;
- Very limited signage, maps, distance markings;
- Few places to rest, and there's only one bathroom (at the entrance).
Other Thoughts: - It's a long course with no running water, so bring water;
- In its current configuration, I'd contend that at least three holes should be par 4.
- Drop into Golden afterwards and try one of their new breweries, or good ol' Golden City.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Birds Nest!

5+    8/15/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Dedicated Course for Disc Golf
- Wide Open Fields to throw in
- Elevation Changes
- Over 18 holes
- Different Pin configurations depending on the season
- Difficult to lose discs
Cons: - Not a lot of shade
- Not a lot of places to sit
- Some holes are not mapped well
- Some holes lack major obstacles
- Can be very busy during weekend hours
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all types of players. For beginners, plan on throwing 3-4 times before reaching the pin, these holes are far!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not much going on here.

1    8/30/2013   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long open shots with not much chance of losing a disc.
Holes are all in pretty great shape.
Cons: Boring. Only two elevation shots, 1 & 3, everything else is pretty much grip it and rip it.
Easy to get lost on the course with no directions or helpful arrows.
Other Thoughts: I'm noticing here in Colorado people who play courses feel no responsibility to care or maintain them, too bad. This course would be good if the people playing it helped out and made the holes more interesting to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/14/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: player7217
Played: 89  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course made by John Bird himself. One of the most challenging courses in the arvada area with combinations of long shots, short and technical shots, and the always apparent wind. Each hole has at least 3 different pin placements so no matter how much you play it the pins always keep switching. Once your passed hole 18 the course frees up with most people calling it quits and you have the rest of the course to yourself.
Cons: Most of the time if not all of the time there is wind in the area. Not many trees with leaves on them so no shade really. Lots of cactus throughout course. If you cant throw the disc far you will have a tough time at this course as a whole and might get the wrong impression because of your score. Beginning to get more and more crowed with disc golf popularity continuing to rise. After hole #18 the tee pads become dirt and are hard to find at times. There are not many signs so if you haven't played try to team up with someone that has.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I have played. The layout is great and continues to get better every time I go with John Bird making improvements at all times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool little course, it plays relatively easily and quick. The course area is dedicated to disc golf so there are no moving obstacles like a walking path, cars or playgrounds. Though the course is pretty wide open, they made good use of the trees that they did have. There is a big dog park right next to the course, so if you have a four legged friend, this is a good place to stop before or after.
Cons: Since it is so flat and open, we had a little trouble figuring out which pin we were shooting at, but a short walk up the fairway cleared up the confusion. They could use some good tee signs and more trees for shade, but overall, this is a good course.
Other Thoughts: Its pretty dry out there and we didn't see any drinking fountains or bathrooms, so bring water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

just watch the wind

5+    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Swindler2
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open layout and accessable
Challenging for all skill levels
Not so hard its unplayable to new players
Cons: Windyish days are gale force winds at this course
No shade...mid to late summer this course is only for the brave or those who want sunburnt.
Other Thoughts: One of my top 20 courses in colorado. Inside the top 5 inside metro denver.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Front Range Gem

2-4    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of room- there are always other golfers out with you, but there is a great deal of space to work around each other.

Great people- I've been out a lot recently, and everyone I meet lets me tag along when I ask. One cat I played with got a call to return his Destroyer when other players found it in the tall grass. Maybe this is typical, but I was impressed.

Trees and ground cover provide challenges, but there are multiple paths around them. Opportunities for anhyzers, fore-and backhand shots.

Despite the vast area, it is relatively clean. Not lots of trash (I encourage users to pick up a piece or two), and many of the loose rocks have been arranged into nice borders on the fairways.

Relative isolation of the course is coupled with quick access to Golden, Boulder, and Northwest Metro Denver.
Cons: I have not seen any yet, but the eastern edge of the course is low ground, and can be quite wet when the weather is right.

The last 9 holes lack tee pads, if I remember rightly.

Some marble tee markers set out by work crews have been broken up and scattered. Benches at several tee pads have been trashed as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is such a great use of otherwise wasted space. All of the people I've met out here have nothing but good things to say about it.

The first hole is my favorite, with a steep drop to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.