Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    6/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to break in a new distance driver. Makes use of landscape the best it can with how open it is. This course seems more challenging than it should.
Cons: The rock circle OB markers are difficult to see and gauge from the tees. This favors people who play the course regularly. Navigation is a bit lack.
Other Thoughts: Not the best beginner course, and with the other courses within 20 minutes I would not go out of my way to play this one if I didn't get to the others first. Worth the stop if you already have them done.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest

5+    11/17/2009   5/18/2010
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Appealing to be on a course where you are not going to contend with other non-disc types. This course is dedicated to throwing it long and typically with wind as a factor being so close to the foothills. I like the driving range, a good idea to throw a few warm ups before playing. You have to navigate those O.B. 's to really score well.
Cons: I would say the wind. It can get real crazy at times. Give this course time and development it will be a real gem. I know for a fact there are visionaries out there and it will come together with time. The added trees and landscape will be valuable in years to come. Lack of water is an issue, so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: Since I tend to play Mt. courses, I always value every experience that Bird's Nest offers. It's a real treat to play a course that opens up and has some longer holes. Getting up and down can be a challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and quiet

1    4/27/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large disc golf course on land devoted to the course. No other park users to worry about. Hole one starts off on a hilltop and throw on down to the basket. From there the course has a little more elevation changes, with baskets on the top of some hills. Huge cement teepads on about 75% of the holes. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are paths that lead from one basket to the next teepad. Baskets are easy to spot form the teepad. The middle of the course has shorter holes that offer birdie and possibly an ace attempt. Lots of birds around that add to the relaxing environment.
Cons: Too many holes on this course. Some of the holes definately felt repetitive and I don't think they offer much to the whole experience. There was one really nice teesign on hole 15 that is great, but all the other teesigns are marble with a number on them and some of the holes, especially the last few, didn't enven have those. Not much of a challenge on some of the holes due to long, straight shots. To me it looks as though the course was built on wetland. Small little streams thorughout, large areas of standing water and other parts where the ground was moist. Bring boots for sure. I just dont think this land is approriate for a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course is privately funded and asking for donations at the start. It was built from the ground up by hard working people. There is potential for this course. They are working on pouring more teepads and new signs which will help a lot. I enjoy the quietness of the course. The elevation was used to the best of it's potential. Give it a little time and I think this course could be better. Overall, a decent place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great front range views.

2-4    12/2/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my first review using a rating form.
.
Number of holes 5/5 27 holes,plenty of disc golf to play.

Tee signs 1/5 There are hole numbers on the ground (often broken) which causes confusion to first time players
.
Tee pads 5/5 Some the best concrete tees I've played that give you plenty of room for run-up

Targets 5/5 Mach III all in excellent condition.They do tend to mix in with the vegetation sometimes though.

Map and scorecard availability 4/5 course map avaible at info kiosk and this website.

. multiple configuration 2/5 multiple target placements with only one set of tees.

. Variety of elevation 4/5 great use of elevation.The only complaint I have is that there are very few uphill holes.

Variety of shot types 3/5 For a relative open piece of land there is a good variety of shots though most holes a
straight shot will suffice.


Tight versus open holes 2/5 most holes are open to the limitations of the land.The few trees are used wisely.

Variety of shot length. 4/5 hole lengths range 180 feet to over 600.The average hole is around 300 feet.This
is a great variety.

layout and flow of the course 2/5 very hard for first timer without map to figure out the layout.Some tees are
a long walk from the last hole.It's very hard with the layout to play a quick
9 without jumping around.

. water holes 1/5 no permaneant water on course.though after it rains 13 has a water hazard,LOL

number of multi-shot holes 5/5 Unless you are an absolute bomber you will be faced with more multiple shot holes
than not
.
Rate the maintenance of the course 5/5 this course is very loved and well taking care of.Great care has been taking
to keep the course well manicured.

likelihood of losing a disc at this course 4/5 the underbrush can make it very hard to find your disc.there aren't any other real threats against loosing plastic.

shared use of the course 5/5 This is a disc golf park.There are no other park users to worry about hanging out in your
fairway or asking you stupid questions about what your doing.

.

.


.
overall scenic beauty of the course and surroundings 4/5 great views of the front range of the rockies and surrounding
areas.the maintaince road and surrounding parks detract a little.

.


.
the number of benches 1/3 a few benches spread out there a rocks to sit on but not usually very comfortable.

.


.


.
number of trash cans 1/3 very few trash cans.Seems players have a lot of respect for the course which is rare these days.

.


.
restroom facilities for this course 0/3 no restrooms avaible.
.


.
practice facilities for course 1/3 one practice basket on premise.

.


.
message board for course 3/3 great info kiosk with map and league info.





Course totals. 65/100 3.5/5
Other Thoughts: I rounded up to a 3.5 because I really enjoyed the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course.

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Definistrated29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee pads are awesome for the first 18 and pads for 19-24 and A,B,C are rumored to be coming in the future. The park is only used for disc golf so you never have to wait for a jogger or someone walking their dog. The course is rarely ever crowded and the views of the foothills are sweet. It has a good mix of long and short holes that allow you to use alot of discs. Holes 1 and 18 use the ridges to make for some fun downhill/sidehill shots. There are few water hazards and the native grass can be very long in some places, but as long as you have a good idea of where your disc landed, it usually isn't too hard to find.
Cons: The tees are marked only with rocks(the signs are in the works: there is one on 15) , so finding the next tee your first time playing can be a little difficult. The course is on open space land so there isn't plush green grass like some of the other courses that are located in city parks, so wear pants if you don't like itchy legs. There is no water available and very little shade, so on a hot day the course can be brutal if you don't have your own.

Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. With it being only a short drive from my house I usually play it a couple times a week. It is a fun course with a good mix of short and long holes. There are no water hazards until the two A and B holes and 23. Hole B is a fun shot between some bushes and over the creek. OB areas marked by rocks and flags. I suggest printing out the map under the links tab if it is your first time at bird's nest

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If Only There Were More Flying Bird's

2-4    10/16/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a well loved course, especially by the creator and care taker of this course, John Bird who is the current president of the Mile High Disc Golf Club. The course sits on an old farm which is also now the buffer zone between the local reservoir and the community. The course was well designed to take advantage of the terrain as much as possible. Holes 1, 4 and 18 do an exceptional job of this. The course also takes full advantage of the few trees that are currently there with a favorite being hole 15. Even with this course as open as it is, it still provides a significant challenge for most with length and that other features already mentioned. The first 18 holes have good tee pads for the most part (hole 2 is rather tiny). The baskets are consistent for the most part until some of the later holes. John Bird is still in the process of developing this course and as such there are now 25 holes that are regularly there with even more unique holes for tournament play including a tunnel hole under the road that passes by. There is also an extensive practice are which has one or more practice baskets and an area designated as a driving range. There are benches at many of the tee pads and a few trash cans as well. There is a good variety in distances.
Cons: The layout can be confusing if you do not look at the map or if they have not mowed the grass in a while. There is a lot of tall grass and bushes that may make it difficult for you to find a disc and it is always recommended that you play this course with someone else to have a better chance of finding all your discs. Because of where this course is located at the base of the foothills, it can get very windy here at times. For most the wind provides a little extra challenge and I have never seen the wind be so bad that you would consider not playing. There are no real tee signs at the tees and thus there is no real clue given as to distances unless you copy the info from this site down and take it with you. The tees on holes 19+ are dirt right now though I am guessing it is in the works to change that.
Other Thoughts: While this course may not be the most spectacular course in the world today, do not count it out for being something incredible in the future. There is a lot of love for this course by the local crowd and they are attempting to buy and play trees that will grow and make the course that much more interesting. With the design being so good this course could become amazing. Though it is 24 holes they can combine several holes to make an 18 hole tournament course that is really good right now and will only get better. This course is definitely worth a play if you are in the area and is a short drive from Johnny Roberts if you want to get two good courses in back to back. Now I know that the name of the course must have something to do with John Bird but I really would have loved to see more birds while playing, just saying.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Growing up nicely

5+    8/21/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has allowed to to improve my game leaps and bounds. What makes me love this course? The holes are well thought out to use both distance and accuracy. Some holes require a big drive while some holes demand a drive be placed very accurately. The long tee pads give players a good run up to help maximize the drive. Hole #1 is a fun downhill shot that gets either love or hate from the wind. Hole #2 takes some of the trees at this dusty course in to play for a shot hole. Holes #9 & #10 are two of my favorite holes on this course. These holes demand a shorter, yet accurate drive. When hole #15 is in its eastern position it is guarded by many trees. I enjoy hole #18 as a quick drop off hill. I have played holes 19-24 only a handful of times. It appears that though is being put in to making these holes better. The course gets better every time I play it. A disc golf only park. Never crowded. Great for tournament or casual play.
Cons: This course lacks appropriate signage. Small numbers on the rocks near the tee pads are not visible. Rocks can mess up lower end plastic. Hole #7 can require a spotter for your disc. 18-24 does not have concrete tees. This course can get toasty in the afternoon sun. There are not too many places to retreat to shade so bring water.
Other Thoughts: John Bird truly loves this course. He is at the course often and is quick to show you new hole ideas and to discuss the future of the park. The changes made in the past year have improved the course nicely. Rumors of signage, concrete for 18-24, Pro shop and other amenities are floating around. Expect to see this course grow more and more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Working toward excellence

1    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads, the best I have ever played on.
-Professionally designed & maintained
-Tall rough and moved fairways
-Disc golf only park
-24 Holes
-I like the OB lakes or hills or whatever they are. It adds a bit of challenge where this course really needs it due to it's open nature. I'd rather see the boundaries painted green or something or use fence posts to make them standout a little better, but with the fairways mowed and those areas not it gives a decent visual from the tee box.
Cons: -Tee signs are lacking
-Needs some navigation signs
-Gets somewhat redundant at the end, might have been better to only install 18 holes and have some permanent par 4s and 5s. That would make this course distinctive.
Other Thoughts: This course is cool because it's designed in such a way to make a championship course, but can also handle daily play. I really liked how they maximized the terrain and vegetation, they've done a whole lot with not much to work with. It's fun to play, but it gets kind of redundant since there isn't many trees so there seems to be a lot of wide open hyzers and it's really just a question if you can judge the wind properly. The only real defense on this course is the wind, but luckily there is usually a lot of wind in that area. It's the best modern style course in the area and worth playing. I shot -6.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C'est magnifique!

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a solid course with a lot of character. I was pleasantly surprised after pulling into the lot and seeing a barren landscape. There are very few trees, but many of the baskets are strategically placed and put the trees to good use. The tee pads are sizeable. The course is mowed and the thick grass won't eat any discs. #1 is a great open to the course. There is no water (someone in Denver knows how to make a course where you don't have to worry about losing any discs)! Good variation in short and long holes. Nice views of the surrounding hills. The course is laid out well with paths to the next tee pad. It is so remote I doubt it's ever crowded. It feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, despite the ginormous suburban homes nearby. Volunteers made this course and they have done well. Props to John Bird.
Cons: Let's be perfectly honest, the O.B. is a joke. It is marked using large rocks, but I completely ignored them. Too unnatural. A few of the tee pads have no markings. The tee pads have foul lines on them with cement extending past the lines. I ignored the foul lines, too. The land is dusty and rocky, can be unsteady. I'm waiting for the 27 hole version. As it is run by volunteers and donations, the last third is still a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: I read a post on the message board that said the course can be configured into a "World-Class" 18 hole course. Barring the growth of massive trees, this claim is far from reality. The course is lengthy and uses the small hills well. I can't wait to play it again to see how it changes. With so many birdie opportunities, it is a fun course to compete against your friends or your enemies for that matter. If you're in Denver, be sure to take the long drive here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very good course, just short of excellent

5+    7/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: colodiscgolfer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Biggest tee pads you'll find anywhere, quality baskets, good variety of holes that each present a unique challenge, good mix of long and short holes, tons of parking, generally not very crowded, disc golf only park so there's no wandering idiots to deal with, benches at almost every tee are a really nice touch especially on hot days.
Cons: OB is often very difficult to see from tee pad, and is often not marked on course map (14 and 17 have big OB areas next to fairway that are not on map). You often just see yet another field of weeds then approach your disc only to find a nice little row of rocks hiding behind the first 6 inches of weeds to indicate that you've just landed OOB. There's some bastardous kind of tiny burr that is always ends up covering my socks when I need to fish through the weeds for a disc. Lack of signage makes it difficult to find a few of the pins.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good course, that will only get better as time goes on and some of the smaller trees mature. I really feel that it would have been better to mark some of the OB with fence posts connected by rope than the current undetectable from the tee rock borders that are in place. Holes 1-18 are very solid, but 19-24 definitely seem like an afterthought that doesn't match the rest of the course's character. A definite 'must play' if you are in the area.

The practice basket that was stolen has just been replaced!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center