Arvada, CO
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #19 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice one

1    4/25/2007   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well designed. nice and Long. very well thought out, holes were not just put up. good use of terrain/elevation for hole placement.
Cons: when I played it the grass/weeds were 3 ft high, I spent a lot of time looking for my disc and sometimes the hole. but I have only played once so far.
Other Thoughts: the pics here look good I will have to try it again soon!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pray for no WIND!!

1    10/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, undulating hills. Grip-it-and-rip-it course. The big arms in CO enjoy playing this course. Great cement tee pads.
Cons: rock-lined OB's are tough to see. Due to lack of structure, rock OB's where added to make more challenging but are more unlucky than anything if you land in them. If it's windy, stay away. This course is located in a very windy area were gusts can reach 80-100mph and commonly are above 50mph. Lack of structure lends to windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: John Bird, a CO disc golf and frisbee legend, is the course designer. He puts his heart and sole into this course and has made many upgrades over the years to improve. As this course matures and planted trees grow, it will eventually evolve into a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What hole is this?

2-4    2/8/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 67  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are nice and even have a little extra after foul line for follow troughs. Very open course for the most part, some baskets are guarded by trees. Pin placements are good and they move them around. There are street signs on your way to the course, easy to locate.
Cons: The really bad thing about this course is that the tee sighs are slabs of granite with a number on it placed next to the tee pad. Then there are a couple of holes where you need to back track to get to the next tee pad. (#3 and #5, #14 and #17 I think)
Other Thoughts: Add Tee signs and maybe a directional arrow or two and would be very close to a 5!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open, Pray No Rain

1    4/15/2007   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, elevation changes, good chance to throw hard, and very tricky in the wind. Some imaginative pin placements and the OB regions add some technicality to the mostly wide open space. Good for beginners learning how to drive.
Cons: OB not always visible off the tee, sometimes you have to huck and hope. Not very inspiring and if the wind is not blowing, not particularly challenging for the better players. I hear it can be a swamp if it rains.
Other Thoughts: A million times better than the lame Boulder course (is it still there?)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Prairie

2-4    11/19/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf only park, long holes, with varying difficulty, lots of holes, easy to see holes (except #9), lots of open space, beautiful area, althought the course really isnt anything to look at, hole 15 (go there and you will see what i mean)
Cons: i have only played this course in the fall so everything was brown, and none of the trees had their leaves, im sure in the spring the course is really pretty all green, lots of prickly pear cactus make sure to where sneakers and long pants, probably extremely hot in the summer as there is very little shade
Other Thoughts: this is a wonderful course and i am very happy to have it close by, both times i have played have been weekdays and it isnt very busy at all, the wide openness of it also allows for play to not get bottlenecked in areas, great course, fun for beginners and pros

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Keep up the good work John Bird

1    8/23/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A disc golf only park means no interference from other activities. Huge concrete tee pads. Mach3 double chain baskets in good condition. Lots of parking available. There's a practice basket near the first tee and course information board. Lots of elevation in play here; the shot off the first tee is great, the uphill on #3 was challenging... It was nice to see some benches as well as trash cans and recycle bins.

On many of the holes here distance is the name of the game. If you can throw long off the tee you'll probably score well. But there are some shorter holes mixed in with good use of trees to add some challenge.
Cons:
The small rock fenced OB areas may be a good idea in theory, but I found them very hard to see from the tee box meaning it was more luck than skill if I landed in one. This would be less of a con for regular players with the course memorized. There's no indication at the tee which position the basket is in.

The stone tee signs are weak, have been broken or shattered and have no distances on them.

The mando on #2 looks obvious on the map, but standing on the tee in person I found it confusing which trees were the mando boundaries, as they didn't appear to be marked.
Other Thoughts:
A map will greatly assist first timers with navigating this course, but the grooved in walking paths help a lot too. I guess I was lucky that the wind was pretty calm when I played. I didn't have much trouble with this course and shot a 73 for 24 holes.

It's pretty obvious that this started as an 18-hole course as holes #19-#24 only have dirt tees and feel like they were just added in later. I think there's a plan to improve the new holes over time, but for now they pale when compared to the first 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with a ton of potential

5+    10/8/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: jbehm20
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Is a disc golf only area, has a driving range, 27 holes a plus if your looking for more, fairly easy to navigate through course with a worn path, some elevation change and tree placement. tee pads and pins in very good shape, each hole is numbered.
Cons: some vandalisism and littering has lessened the experience. Most holes are fairly easy and open, prickly pear cactus,
Other Thoughts: If you play in the later afternoon, a nice cross wind will usually come in adding to the challenge. Also, there is a driving range and putting range for those looking for some extra practice. Also, a great place to bring dogs as the course is spacious enough to not interfere with anything someone else is doing. As the trees on this course mature, it will become more challenging. I have been really impressed with how well this course is maintaned and presented.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 PDGA Perfect

5+    9/13/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you were going to craft a course which represents all the elements of a perfect PDGA course, Bird's Nest comes close. It exposes a player to a great deal of physicalness by demanding huge drives. It is arranged around the largest cement t-pads I have ever played. Very few baskets have any obstacles within thirty meters. This ensures that luck is at a minimum and the most powerful drivers and best putters will dominate. It has ample parking and one of the few disc courses with a driving range. It is completly dedicated to disc golf, has great flow, and a beautiful, scenic mountain backdrop. I've heard complaints about the lack of obstacles and trees, these people haven't played it when the wind comes from the North. I should warn you that when it starts blowing, the course becomes a monster. I deliberately expose myself to it to improve my tournament game.
Cons: This course demands professional PDGA signage, after all it takes PDGA specifications and standardization to the nth degree. Adding a few "tricked out holes", like the one that goes through a concrete tunnel, or utilzing the farm house/grain silo property, or elevated tees and drops on the 'South side would add some spice to the layout. The dry OB circles need to be better defined throughout the course and not just on the masterfully done first hole.
Other Thoughts: With John Bird's vision and work, I believe the course has the potential of being a five star rated course someday.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be fantastic

1    8/24/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course with HUGE possibilities, and it is a grand plan. Nice informatin board at the beginning of the course. Holes are long, short and challenging. Trees come into play for most of the first 18 holes. Most of tees were well marked with obvious baskets per hole.
Cons: It is a dry course in progress. Plenty of cactus and prickly weeds for some of the higher numbered holes. Last 6 holes currently seem unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that I will visit everytime I am in Colorado. The progess being made on the course is evident even though I played it only one time. The plan is good and the amount of work going into the course needs to be rewarded. It will be fun to see its progress.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Guess I missed the wind, good for me.

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing to notice about Bird's Nest is that it is in its own unique area. There is signs for a dog park and a disc golf course, each with their own area and parking area just below an urban reservoir . The course is not shared with anything else, I love that, golfers here are in their own world with only other golfers to share it with. There are maps but you probably wont need one, from-basket-to-tee is in most parts a pretty worn path. The tee pads are humongous, you can chuck, and have a barbeque on em at the same time. There are some good elevated shots that are memorable. The view is fantastic with the Rockies looking over your shoulder perhaps adding some wind. Having an extra six holes from the norm is great. Bird's Nest is very clean for a big empty lot. The powers that be have also done a fantastic job gathering up all the rocks and making either cool tee areas or obstacles out of them.
Cons: As Valkyrie Kid mentioned before, the polished granite tee signs don't feel right, It did irk me to see some of them smashed, on the other hand it felt like the logical result for the markers by the hands of some jackass kids. There are a few trees here, most of them small and on one side of the course. What they lack in tress they have made up for in hills and OB and distance but scores should still be lower here. There were a few times I threw into the other fairway and still came out with par. Some of the course feels crammed together, as I was always near the other fairways.
Other Thoughts: I Like this course, I look forward to getting back here next time I am in the west Denver Boulder area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.