Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Working toward excellence

1    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great tee pads, the best I have ever played on.
-Professionally designed & maintained
-Tall rough and moved fairways
-Disc golf only park
-24 Holes
-I like the OB lakes or hills or whatever they are. It adds a bit of challenge where this course really needs it due to it's open nature. I'd rather see the boundaries painted green or something or use fence posts to make them standout a little better, but with the fairways mowed and those areas not it gives a decent visual from the tee box.
Cons: -Tee signs are lacking
-Needs some navigation signs
-Gets somewhat redundant at the end, might have been better to only install 18 holes and have some permanent par 4s and 5s. That would make this course distinctive.
Other Thoughts: This course is cool because it's designed in such a way to make a championship course, but can also handle daily play. I really liked how they maximized the terrain and vegetation, they've done a whole lot with not much to work with. It's fun to play, but it gets kind of redundant since there isn't many trees so there seems to be a lot of wide open hyzers and it's really just a question if you can judge the wind properly. The only real defense on this course is the wind, but luckily there is usually a lot of wind in that area. It's the best modern style course in the area and worth playing. I shot -6.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C'est magnifique!

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a solid course with a lot of character. I was pleasantly surprised after pulling into the lot and seeing a barren landscape. There are very few trees, but many of the baskets are strategically placed and put the trees to good use. The tee pads are sizeable. The course is mowed and the thick grass won't eat any discs. #1 is a great open to the course. There is no water (someone in Denver knows how to make a course where you don't have to worry about losing any discs)! Good variation in short and long holes. Nice views of the surrounding hills. The course is laid out well with paths to the next tee pad. It is so remote I doubt it's ever crowded. It feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, despite the ginormous suburban homes nearby. Volunteers made this course and they have done well. Props to John Bird.
Cons: Let's be perfectly honest, the O.B. is a joke. It is marked using large rocks, but I completely ignored them. Too unnatural. A few of the tee pads have no markings. The tee pads have foul lines on them with cement extending past the lines. I ignored the foul lines, too. The land is dusty and rocky, can be unsteady. I'm waiting for the 27 hole version. As it is run by volunteers and donations, the last third is still a work in progress.
Other Thoughts: I read a post on the message board that said the course can be configured into a "World-Class" 18 hole course. Barring the growth of massive trees, this claim is far from reality. The course is lengthy and uses the small hills well. I can't wait to play it again to see how it changes. With so many birdie opportunities, it is a fun course to compete against your friends or your enemies for that matter. If you're in Denver, be sure to take the long drive here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very good course, just short of excellent

5+    7/27/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: colodiscgolfer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Biggest tee pads you'll find anywhere, quality baskets, good variety of holes that each present a unique challenge, good mix of long and short holes, tons of parking, generally not very crowded, disc golf only park so there's no wandering idiots to deal with, benches at almost every tee are a really nice touch especially on hot days.
Cons: OB is often very difficult to see from tee pad, and is often not marked on course map (14 and 17 have big OB areas next to fairway that are not on map). You often just see yet another field of weeds then approach your disc only to find a nice little row of rocks hiding behind the first 6 inches of weeds to indicate that you've just landed OOB. There's some bastardous kind of tiny burr that is always ends up covering my socks when I need to fish through the weeds for a disc. Lack of signage makes it difficult to find a few of the pins.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good course, that will only get better as time goes on and some of the smaller trees mature. I really feel that it would have been better to mark some of the OB with fence posts connected by rope than the current undetectable from the tee rock borders that are in place. Holes 1-18 are very solid, but 19-24 definitely seem like an afterthought that doesn't match the rest of the course's character. A definite 'must play' if you are in the area.

The practice basket that was stolen has just been replaced!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great and Getting Better

5+    7/19/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: TweekGeek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc Golf ONLY - no hikers, bikers, etc.. Johnny Roberts in old town Arvada, another great course, has a growing problem with park traffic. Most people there respect disc golfers, but not all. Be warned, and careful. I was really glad to see a disc golf only course so close by. I hope this will be a growing trend.
- Never crowded, no matter how full the parking lot looks.
- Challenging distances
- Challenging shots into trees, even more so in summer time.

I am lucky enough to literally have this course in my back yard, so I get to play it frequently. Even so, it still continues to challenge me and make me a better player. John (Bird) changes the hole locations frequently enough to keep it fresh. Be advised there are some long holes that might prove intimidating to a first-timer. Hole 1, while not the longest, usually provides a clue to the challenging nature of the course. Hole 3 doesn't look that far, but it is up hill, which in my opinion adds an additional 100+ feet to the "actual" distance. Hole 6, depending on basket placement, can be really challenging with a dogleg right over tall grass, and quite a bit of distance. Hole 14 will flat out test your arm.
Cons: - Wind. Try to get your round in early in the morning, or in the evening just before sunset in the summer. This course gets everything weather wise that comes off of the mountains, and the wind can change directions several times within a round.

- Tall grass outside fairways. This Depends on how much rain there is in the spring and summer. 2008 was super dry and the grass was not an issue. 2009 was definitely a banner year for rain, and the tall grass meant the occasional search for a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: John Bird continues to improve the course, adding more trees in 2009, with plans to install concrete tees on holes 19-24(?). If you are in the area, this is a MUST play course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BirdMan

5+    6/5/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Sectorado
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of holes to open it up on, never seems to get backed up, disc golf only course, multiple pin placements, huge tee pads
Cons: Can get really windy in the afternoon, no nice tee signs yet
Other Thoughts: Fun course, will get even better as time goes on and the trees grow

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest Disc Park

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this one. The mountains are visible the entire time you play, so needless to say, the place is gorgious. The tee pads are all concrete (minus the last 6), and after speaking with John Bird, tee signs are probably going to be installed soon. Not only do you get to play 18 awesome holes, there are 6 more...24 awesome holes. Really nice changes in elevation help you work all aspects of your game, as well as a good mixture of open to wooded shots. We had no problems navigating the course even without tee signs. Info board at the beginning of the course and a port-a-potty in the huge parking lot. Probably what I liked most was meeting the man who is responsible for the whole place...Mr. Bird was there and was ready to shake my hand as I was getting out of the car. If you see him there, go talk with him, he's a great guy. We probably spoke with him for half an hour before starting our round.
Cons: It had rained a lot before I got there, so it got a little swampy in parts of the lower course, but not too bad. I am not holding the lack of signage against it, since Mr. Bird plans on installing them soon. It was hard to tell where the "rock-out" areas, or "dry lakes," were.
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite of the courses I played in the Denver area. If you are in the area, you must find time to play this one, but allow enough time. It is a long walk, but very enjoyable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local Club Course

5+    11/15/2008   5/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A disc golf only course is always a pleasure to play. Amenities include a nice practice area with a practice pin and a driving area. The welcome sign/area is kept up to date with course and tournament info etc… The pads and pins are high quality. A lot of thought has been put into the layout and as the trees get bigger, the course will get better.
Cons: Many of the stone signs/markers have been broken. They are very unique and creative, but unfortunately they did not work out too well. I was going to mention a few more "cons" relating to the course such as the out of bounds markers, exposed terrain and wind, but I decided to take context into consideration. This is a disc golf park. Avid disc golfers play on it and they play the course more than once. The out of bounds markers are tough to see, but once you've played a few rounds you learn where they are located. The wind adds to the challenge. The tall weeds demand accuracy. It takes a bit more skill and perseverance to play this course than your average course and only avid disc golf players will likely enjoy playing this course often.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 temps you down into the valley with a downhill subtle right to left shot. From there the course calls for a big arm and sunscreen as you meander through the valley. Playing this course for the first time is a bit like being a new kid in school. You need to know the rules and be respectful. Get to know one of the locals and they will show you the ropes. This is not where you go to jack around. The players here take the sport seriously. The bottom line for this is course is that, in addition to Sunday morning at Johnny Roberts, this course is where you go to get to know the Denver disc golf community.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice one

1    4/25/2007   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well designed. nice and Long. very well thought out, holes were not just put up. good use of terrain/elevation for hole placement.
Cons: when I played it the grass/weeds were 3 ft high, I spent a lot of time looking for my disc and sometimes the hole. but I have only played once so far.
Other Thoughts: the pics here look good I will have to try it again soon!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pray for no WIND!!

1    10/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, undulating hills. Grip-it-and-rip-it course. The big arms in CO enjoy playing this course. Great cement tee pads.
Cons: rock-lined OB's are tough to see. Due to lack of structure, rock OB's where added to make more challenging but are more unlucky than anything if you land in them. If it's windy, stay away. This course is located in a very windy area were gusts can reach 80-100mph and commonly are above 50mph. Lack of structure lends to windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: John Bird, a CO disc golf and frisbee legend, is the course designer. He puts his heart and sole into this course and has made many upgrades over the years to improve. As this course matures and planted trees grow, it will eventually evolve into a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What hole is this?

2-4    2/8/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 74  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are nice and even have a little extra after foul line for follow troughs. Very open course for the most part, some baskets are guarded by trees. Pin placements are good and they move them around. There are street signs on your way to the course, easy to locate.
Cons: The really bad thing about this course is that the tee sighs are slabs of granite with a number on it placed next to the tee pad. Then there are a couple of holes where you need to back track to get to the next tee pad. (#3 and #5, #14 and #17 I think)
Other Thoughts: Add Tee signs and maybe a directional arrow or two and would be very close to a 5!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center