Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Course info board

Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Decent disc golf course in Denver area

1    7/23/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 44  Reviewed: 32
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 27 hole course that is used strictly for disc golf. With all the tall grass and vegetation, it is pretty clear where to go for the next hole by how the course is mowed. The course has a good mix of downhill, open, and wooded shots. The tee pads are nice and concrete for effective drives.
Cons: Tall grass and vegetation on most holes can force you to waste time looking for your disc. Watch out for cacti if you do end up looking. The area around tee #3 can get wet and muddy being the low point. The course could use signs to help guide people the right way. Holes #19-27 do not have concrete tee pads so it can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses in Denver since it does have a good variety of holes and you don't have to deal with any pedestrians getting in the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

5+    6/13/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: 00greenwj
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes

long shots with lots of variety

Cons: poorly maintained, currently covered in waste high grass that eats discs. barely playable.

cactus everywhere on the back back 9
Other Thoughts: Hopefully it gets mowed soon. might be best played in winter.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rat's nest

1    6/3/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Rowick
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a bit more entertain albeit a lot more frustrating than watching grass grow which is pretty much all the maintenance that goes into it

A lot of different holes and a lot of different lines to take on most holes

Could be a really good course like 3.5-4 rated if the people whose job it is to matain the land pretended to care about doing so
Cons: I could go on for days about what a pain in the neck it is to play on 40 acres of thigh deep grass, but I will assume most people reading this already know that

No tee signs just a pole with a numbed sticker(that a tee sign could be very easily attached to) but a lot of sings saying keep out most of which seem to be right where you need to go making this probably the most unwelcoming course I have ever played after I lost my 4th disc on hole ten all of which would have been easy to spot of the course had been mowed anytime in the past year I was done I will stay in Aurora and play the better courses here

Other Thoughts: I don't think that all DG courses have to be pristine but I feel like we should at least try to have a fairway of sorts at least on some holes I live in Aurora which is a little bigger but a lot poorer town and some how we keep our course mowed I guess people in Arvada just don't want to spend money on something that isn't a status symbol

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    10/24/2014   10/24/2014
Review By: livin_tll
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun and long course. Good for just hucking it without having to worry about obstacles. Follow the paths in the dirt to find the next tee or pin.
Cons: Can be windy. Often. Confusing the first time.
Other Thoughts: Not many trees. Good and bad

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I would nest here if I were a bird

2-4    6/21/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: nannermonkey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great course for locals
- Easily accessible for regionals
- 27 holes!
Cons: - Lots of marshy areas with tall reeds on a number of holes
- Can get crowded
- Not too many trees
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the better courses I've played in the Denver Metro region. You can bring your dog to the next-door dog park for canine socializing before or after!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Metro area

5+    6/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very long tees, hard to loose discs (unless the weeds are thick), course layout is fun and spread out
Cons: not well marked, takes a long time to play
Other Thoughts: This course is great at the right time of year- when the weeds are dry. the length of the holes makes it challenging

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    6/24/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: ksctrail
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a decent course needs some maintenance
There is a decent mix of long and medium range shots. There are a few holes with trees surrounding the pin and a few holes with some elevation change.
Cons: the course is overgrown with weeds. The course layout is difficult to follow. The markings to the next tee box and the pin placement are missing.
Other Thoughts: I was told that the course has not had the proper upkeep this year due to attention being focused on the restructuring of Johnny Roberts course. Hopefully, the course will have better upkeep after the reopening of Johnny Roberts.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not in good shape

1    6/24/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Gnuckle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a few elevation changes, and a few trees to make some challenging holes. Also some great distance shots to challenge your arm.
Cons: At the time the weeds were waist deep everywhere on the course. Causing a 10min search on every throw for your disc. Was not maintained at all.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a fun city course, but without any maintenance it is abysmal and would not play it again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Turd's Nest

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 358  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent variety of distance and a fairly long course overall.
-Nice pads
-Large parking area with porta-potties.
-Decent Front Range views.
Cons: -Windy and open. No shade.
-Barely any trees for challenge
-Can easily lose a disc in the tall grass. Not my favorite kind of hazard.
-Signage was poor for a first timer. It's clear that this course is popular and if they would put a little more money into it then it would be at least a little more enjoyable. Bring a map or a local for sure.
-Signs near parking lot warning of car break ins
-Can be crowded with the only nearby course closed.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great course for guys who like to throw 400+ foot hyzer bombs all day. If you like to care about shot placement at all then you wont like this course.
-Very, very low fun factor for me. 24 long open holes just doesn't float my boat. I was waiting for it to end after about 5 holes. When I drove in, I could just tell that it was going to be a long and boring round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

2-4    12/17/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tees
-some slight elevation change, not much for Colorado though
-Intermediate to advanced course, average shots is around 400' depending on basket placement
-a few shots have some tree so added difficulty
-multiple basket placements
-free to play, but they do take donations for maintenance
Cons: -the course could really use better signage, both tee signs and signs between shots to navigate to the next hole
-there's a few holes where you tee pretty close to baskets, to make a slight safety issue
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course, but if it just got some love, like better signs its could be a quality course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.