Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Park entrance sign



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Course

1    9/24/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool little course, it plays relatively easily and quick. The course area is dedicated to disc golf so there are no moving obstacles like a walking path, cars or playgrounds. Though the course is pretty wide open, they made good use of the trees that they did have. There is a big dog park right next to the course, so if you have a four legged friend, this is a good place to stop before or after.
Cons: Since it is so flat and open, we had a little trouble figuring out which pin we were shooting at, but a short walk up the fairway cleared up the confusion. They could use some good tee signs and more trees for shade, but overall, this is a good course.
Other Thoughts: Its pretty dry out there and we didn't see any drinking fountains or bathrooms, so bring water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

just watch the wind

5+    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Swindler2
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open layout and accessable
Challenging for all skill levels
Not so hard its unplayable to new players
Cons: Windyish days are gale force winds at this course
No shade...mid to late summer this course is only for the brave or those who want sunburnt.
Other Thoughts: One of my top 20 courses in colorado. Inside the top 5 inside metro denver.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Front Range Gem

2-4    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of room- there are always other golfers out with you, but there is a great deal of space to work around each other.

Great people- I've been out a lot recently, and everyone I meet lets me tag along when I ask. One cat I played with got a call to return his Destroyer when other players found it in the tall grass. Maybe this is typical, but I was impressed.

Trees and ground cover provide challenges, but there are multiple paths around them. Opportunities for anhyzers, fore-and backhand shots.

Despite the vast area, it is relatively clean. Not lots of trash (I encourage users to pick up a piece or two), and many of the loose rocks have been arranged into nice borders on the fairways.

Relative isolation of the course is coupled with quick access to Golden, Boulder, and Northwest Metro Denver.
Cons: I have not seen any yet, but the eastern edge of the course is low ground, and can be quite wet when the weather is right.

The last 9 holes lack tee pads, if I remember rightly.

Some marble tee markers set out by work crews have been broken up and scattered. Benches at several tee pads have been trashed as well.
Other Thoughts: This course is such a great use of otherwise wasted space. All of the people I've met out here have nothing but good things to say about it.

The first hole is my favorite, with a steep drop to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sneaky Long!

2-4    10/10/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 37  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Great teepads, and they face exactly where you want them (somehow that is a rarity these days...)
---Easy to navigate
---Out in it's own area, very little, if any, non-disc golf traffic to worry about
---A classic course of the Denver area that much work has been put in to over the years
---Well-maintained...up until hole 18.
Cons: ---Wind! Bird'd Nest is set an an open basin, so the wind whips right off the mountain and there's no protection
---Some of the holes are long just for the sake of being long, which I hate
---Nasty terrain. Even in winter months there is yucca, cactus and other pricklies everywhere
---No tee signs. Easy to navigate with a map, but still, tee signs would be most useful
---Any hole after 18 is basically roughing it...very little maintenence out there
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course, but it's not one I go out of my way to play. I've only played there once in a non-tourney and honestly, I didn't have a ton of fun. That's just me, though. I like my trees heavily wooded and shorter.

My suggestion for a first-timer is hook up with some locals. They absolutley OWN this course! They'll show you exactly which shots to make and what discs to use. Watching the locals rip up this course is the only reason I keep going back...if they can do it, why the heck can't I?

Also note that there is an awesome disc golf course, Phenix Disc Sports, nearby for all your golfing needs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brutal Terrain Skip 19-24

1    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice long trapezoidal concrete tee pads. Baskets in good condition and all are properly numbered. Trash bins are located throughout the course. Course loops around to front after 18 then a smaller loop brings you through 19-24 arriving back at the parking lot. Most of the challenge comes from the copious OB regions marked by rock perimeters, fence lines and private property lines. Parking is very convenient. Practice Baskets at the head of the course, though I would have liked to see them on a slope to practice different putting angles. This is a disc golf only park so there's no need to worry about beaming any walkers or bikers.
Cons: Needs signs and tee maps. Many tee pads are unlabeled which can be confusing. Some tee pads have cracks in the concrete. Only 1-18 are concrete, the others are dirt, which is a bit of a downer after playing 18 holes on awesome tee pads. Foliage maintenance also goes way downhill after 18: the grass is much higher and there is a lot more cactus. The benches are worthless; they look like they were put together by a middle school woodshop student. The terrain here is absolutely brutal. Cactus and yucca are really hard on the legs. I'm still pulling cactus needles out of my bag. While elevation is present, it is only utilized on a handful of holes; it could be better optimized. Most holes are point and shoot straight lines. Very few curves, and not much in the way of varied distances, save for a few bombs. In fact, most of the holes on this course are pretty forgettable. As far as scenery place goes, this place is quite ugly. The terrain is dry, dusty, monochromatic and dumpy. While there are some trees and natural obstacles on this course, they do little to add much in the way of technical challenge. If you can throw straight you'll make par on many of these holes no problem.
Other Thoughts: The terrain here is BRUTAL. Close toed shoes are a MUST and long pants are highly recommended. Probably a more enjoyable play during fall cause this area gets HOT in the summer and it's BONE DRY. Until there are concrete tee pads and better foliage maintenance on 19-24, they aren't really worth playing unless you're playing for completion's sake. Not a bad point and shoot course, but there are FAR more enjoyable and challenging courses on the I-25 corridor. If I ever come back to Arvada, I'm checking out the Johnny Roberts course and passing this one up.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

WOW WIND

2-4    5/12/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Open field shots. Great for practice of different throws. I guess the layout is fine, it really is an extensive course, although a few fairways do cross. Concrete tee boxes are also a very nice +.
Cons: WIND. This course rests on whats seems to be an open plain not far from the foothills. With that in mind, you are always bombing into the wind. The holes are hard to follow, even if you have a map. I found myself crossing holes quite a few times. Watch for #4 as it comes back on 3 and is slightly back toward the tee. Signs would be a great improvement considering the tight lanes.
Other Thoughts: If you're after wind practice, this course is right up your alley. The gusts can carry a disc well to the right or left leaving u with a challenging second shot andor putt. Make sure to pack the sunscreen as this course will cook u if ur not careful, the shade is rather slim.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

meh

5+    7/30/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: dog friendly, beer friendly, good mix of long and short holes, 25 holes to play, not crowded,
Cons: too open, too windy, some holes are too close together, ugly, silly OB rock areas, some areas are soggy when it rains,
Other Thoughts: they did a good job with the area they were given but you can only do so much with what you got.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Front Range Course

5+    5/31/2006   7/23/2012
Review By: Hyzer Soze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great views, great layout. Well kept. I miss playing this course. Course designers did a good job of creating obstacles out of otherwise bland terrain. Great course for dogs. No pedestrian traffic at all...pure DG all day.
Cons: Absolutely no wind protection from the front range winds. Tee boxes tough to locate on the first go around.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that draws good people.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ok course

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: carlp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wide open
very clean
good mix of distances
XL Tee pads..largest I've seen.
Cons: very confusing layout
tee pads need to be marked better.
Other Thoughts: overall this is a pretty decent course that would benifit from signage and a good signature hole. It was extremely clean compared to most courses and it isn't too crowded. Print a map from this site!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 birds nest

5+    8/11/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: concrete pads
18+ holes if you want to keep going
solid distance
Cons: minimal elevation changes
Other Thoughts: great all around course
this was one of my favorites when in CO
gusty winds can make your round go south in a heartbeat

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.