Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Course info board



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 ok course

2-4    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: carlp
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wide open
very clean
good mix of distances
XL Tee pads..largest I've seen.
Cons: very confusing layout
tee pads need to be marked better.
Other Thoughts: overall this is a pretty decent course that would benifit from signage and a good signature hole. It was extremely clean compared to most courses and it isn't too crowded. Print a map from this site!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 birds nest

5+    8/11/2009   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: concrete pads
18+ holes if you want to keep going
solid distance
Cons: minimal elevation changes
Other Thoughts: great all around course
this was one of my favorites when in CO
gusty winds can make your round go south in a heartbeat

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with a high ceiling.

5+    4/18/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 24+ holes, there is a practice basket at the beginning and two seasonal holes on the backside of the course.
- Concrete tees with hole numbers.
- Free to play (Donation course).
- Plays fast, about 3 - 4 mins per hole.
Cons: - Typically windy.
- Cactus litters the holes 18 - 24.
- Some holes are hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: From the street this course looks very unimpressive, but since it is close to my house I thought I would give it a try. I'm so glad I did. It has become one of my favorite courses.

With other courses by the time you hit your groove you are just finishing up. On this course you hit your rhythm and still have 15 holes to go!

This course is a great course for beginners or players who haven't played in awhile and need to shake off some rust. It's a great mix of challenge and "confidence builders". It also is a great opportunity to work on mid-range and approach discs.

This course is highly recommended

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    3/23/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disc golf only park
*elevation changes
*wide open - air it out
*no water hazards
*suitable for beginners
*great t pads
*little chance of losing a disc
Cons: *not many obstacles
*prickly pear _hurts_ - keep your eyes on your path
*area gets very windy
*no shade
*little to no signage or obvious course flow
Other Thoughts: don't let some of these reviews fool you, there's more challenge here than meets the eye. The course's winds add a lot of challenge, and playing the OB's makes it acceptable. There are a technical holes, but there's not one hole that really sticks out as unique. Really needs some more basic signage, even some painted numbers and arrows would be a pretty big improvement. This course was great to introduce a n00b to, and to work on your game, but a decidedly average challenge to the experienced pro. Play it if you haven't yet, but I wouldn't make a special trip

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Birds Nest

1    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide open, no major trees and easy to find discs. Shorter fairways that didn't always demand a driver
Cons: Missed baskets 6 and 7 because they were removed and 3 and 4 because of a huge group on 3. Poorly marked tees and basket direction. Weird mando places, not sure why they were there on two and 9.
Other Thoughts: A little TLC to the tees in giving directions to where basket is would be great. Take a picture with phone so you know where to go or do like we did and have a local be ahead of ya!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Distance Variety

1    8/27/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lot of hole variety. There are a few that thread the needle and a few that are just long. The course does the best it can with most of the built in obstacles (trees and rocks, ect.) Other than 18 the pins are mostly dead red off of the tee box. You will need to being your best game to do so but birdie is possible on 80% of holes.
Cons: The course is not very fluid in some areas. If I wouldn't have taken a picture of the map leaving the first tee we would have missed a few holes mid round. There are many well tread paths that will normally lead you to the next hole but they can be decieving your first time out.
Other Thoughts: Take a picture of the map your first time out. everything is pretty clear but the paths will lead you astray if you don't have an idea of which well walked path is the correct one. Its very dry terrain in the summer so remember to bring good amounts of liquids.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course to open it up.

5+    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: BaronVonDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice hole lengths. The concrete t-pads are the best I have ever seen!!! Long enough to allow for a good run-up and wide enough at the back to play all the pin positions.
Cons: Un-defined out of bounds. Its like playing on a giraffe and saying the brown spots are OB. The OB is defined by rocks laid out in a circle and very hard to know where is safe and where is OB from a distance.
Other Thoughts: Lots of prickly pear cactus. Good shoes is a must. I rated this higher than most because of the T-pads! I hope the back holes will get t-pads like the front.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Donate if this is your favorite!

2-4    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: Great use of space and longer holes for booming shots. Good layout and easy to follow. Very few people play this course on a regular basis so you won't be rushed during play.
Cons: Very poorly groomed as it is in an "open space" area. Signs would be great if the course was adequately funded. Lots of bugs that like to bite out here and occasionally a rattlesnake.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a fun course, but if you are going to play all 27 holes (when they open up 3,4,6&7 again) you need high visibilty discs that contrast with the landscape when playing here(tye dyes are a bad idea).

 very open course

5+    7/5/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: inuse23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A lot of holes
Good scenery
Fun terrain
Cons: Pants and shoes highly recommended for this course
Wear sun screen ! Most of this course is right out in the open under the sun. It can get unpleasant if you didn't prepare thoroughly.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course in the afternoon when the sun has started to sink.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there...

2-4    7/1/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a fair amount of holes that require us with big arms to actually use their drivers versus using mid-range or putters like other "so-called" courses. A few shots entail a little elevation change.
Cons: Signage is not what it could or should be. Very few trees for those seeking shade here in the hot CO summers.
Other Thoughts: Bring sunscreen, and lots of WATER. This course if played in the warmer months will not be very enjoyable as you are like an ant under a magnifying glass as this entire course sits in a bit of a valley which gets VERY HOT!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.