Arvada, CO
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #2
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 birdies at bird nest

5+    3/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: seth.hyzer
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some very nice distance and terrain challenges that make this a tough one for such an open area. The first four throws include some elevation changes, the you have a few long distance tosses, and a few with some trees. A good course to play all day.
Cons: Other than spending a good amount of time looking for discs, none.
Other Thoughts: good course to work on your distance game

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice day nice people

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is very diverse. The park is well maintained and clean. People are very friendly and will let you play through.
Cons: Fairly busy. I encountered several groups over seven people, but of course they were considerate and let me play through. The course was a bit hard to follow in places.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to drive to Arvada, I would encourage going to Johnny Roberts. This course was great, but for the drive, Johnny Roberts is better.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I like the Bird's Nest

1    11/20/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Varied shots
-Tons of distance to let it rip
-Great layout
-Elevation changes
-Lots of space and no crowds
Cons: -No trees, shade or water
-You will need the map for the last 9 holes
-The OBs everywhere suck and are not worth playing
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and almost was a 4 in my book, but it was easy to get lost on the back 9. There was a lot of work done on this place and they have made it look great. Bring a map and you will be good to go.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 classic suburban denver

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: thumb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variation of distances, some elevation.
Cons: No trees. You can kinda just throw and as long as you get the distance correct you are good to go. Dry ponds are the stupidest thing ever... never play them unless its a tournament

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest

1    9/1/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Only Park. Traffic is kept to a minimal with this. A.k.a no people taking there mary ass time walking down the fairway of your next shot.
- Tough, long course. Not every hole can be driven off the tee.
-Good mix of shots to open up your bag.
-Great imagination/use of the land.
-Fun through it's entirety
-Completely run/funded by individuals who like to play DG
Cons: can be hard to navigate towards the end.
-Not enough signs or maps for the holes.
-mainly open shots
-Summer/Spring can get a bit crazy with the weeds and overgrowth... Easy to loose discs then.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very fun and challenging course to play. Definitely one of the better ones in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Day

5+    6/27/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice peaceful course. The entire park is for throwing. So no need to worry about non b-golfers. Very dog friendly. Great baskets on every hole. Good T boxes. There is tons of different pin placements and they are used on a regular basis. The extended 8 holes with the seasonal A and B holes. But when your done with the 26 holes and your looking at the walk back to the car well there's one more basket (Practice Basket) to complete your 27. Some good elevation changes on holes 1, 3, 4, and 5. Well placed baskets next to hills and trees for those tougher shots. Some short holes and some meaty big ones so bring your arm and make sure to strech that bad boy out cause you'll need it.
Cons: The rock formations that are "water hazards" in the middle of the fairway? I mean come on. They really need new signage, broken peices of rock and marble don't cut it for a course that asks for donations. Watch out for those big groups there on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: Really a great course just to go chuck it! Enjoy this one as it is pretty much in the foothills and a beautiful sunset. Bring water and/or beer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to break in a new distance driver. Makes use of landscape the best it can with how open it is. This course seems more challenging than it should.
Cons: The rock circle OB markers are difficult to see and gauge from the tees. This favors people who play the course regularly. Navigation is a bit lack.
Other Thoughts: Not the best beginner course, and with the other courses within 20 minutes I would not go out of my way to play this one if I didn't get to the others first. Worth the stop if you already have them done.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest

5+    11/17/2009   5/18/2010
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Appealing to be on a course where you are not going to contend with other non-disc types. This course is dedicated to throwing it long and typically with wind as a factor being so close to the foothills. I like the driving range, a good idea to throw a few warm ups before playing. You have to navigate those O.B. 's to really score well.
Cons: I would say the wind. It can get real crazy at times. Give this course time and development it will be a real gem. I know for a fact there are visionaries out there and it will come together with time. The added trees and landscape will be valuable in years to come. Lack of water is an issue, so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: Since I tend to play Mt. courses, I always value every experience that Bird's Nest offers. It's a real treat to play a course that opens up and has some longer holes. Getting up and down can be a challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and quiet

1    4/27/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large disc golf course on land devoted to the course. No other park users to worry about. Hole one starts off on a hilltop and throw on down to the basket. From there the course has a little more elevation changes, with baskets on the top of some hills. Huge cement teepads on about 75% of the holes. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are paths that lead from one basket to the next teepad. Baskets are easy to spot form the teepad. The middle of the course has shorter holes that offer birdie and possibly an ace attempt. Lots of birds around that add to the relaxing environment.
Cons: Too many holes on this course. Some of the holes definately felt repetitive and I don't think they offer much to the whole experience. There was one really nice teesign on hole 15 that is great, but all the other teesigns are marble with a number on them and some of the holes, especially the last few, didn't enven have those. Not much of a challenge on some of the holes due to long, straight shots. To me it looks as though the course was built on wetland. Small little streams thorughout, large areas of standing water and other parts where the ground was moist. Bring boots for sure. I just dont think this land is approriate for a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This course is privately funded and asking for donations at the start. It was built from the ground up by hard working people. There is potential for this course. They are working on pouring more teepads and new signs which will help a lot. I enjoy the quietness of the course. The elevation was used to the best of it's potential. Give it a little time and I think this course could be better. Overall, a decent place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great front range views.

2-4    12/2/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my first review using a rating form.
.
Number of holes 5/5 27 holes,plenty of disc golf to play.

Tee signs 1/5 There are hole numbers on the ground (often broken) which causes confusion to first time players
.
Tee pads 5/5 Some the best concrete tees I've played that give you plenty of room for run-up

Targets 5/5 Mach III all in excellent condition.They do tend to mix in with the vegetation sometimes though.

Map and scorecard availability 4/5 course map avaible at info kiosk and this website.

. multiple configuration 2/5 multiple target placements with only one set of tees.

. Variety of elevation 4/5 great use of elevation.The only complaint I have is that there are very few uphill holes.

Variety of shot types 3/5 For a relative open piece of land there is a good variety of shots though most holes a
straight shot will suffice.


Tight versus open holes 2/5 most holes are open to the limitations of the land.The few trees are used wisely.

Variety of shot length. 4/5 hole lengths range 180 feet to over 600.The average hole is around 300 feet.This
is a great variety.

layout and flow of the course 2/5 very hard for first timer without map to figure out the layout.Some tees are
a long walk from the last hole.It's very hard with the layout to play a quick
9 without jumping around.

. water holes 1/5 no permaneant water on course.though after it rains 13 has a water hazard,LOL

number of multi-shot holes 5/5 Unless you are an absolute bomber you will be faced with more multiple shot holes
than not
.
Rate the maintenance of the course 5/5 this course is very loved and well taking care of.Great care has been taking
to keep the course well manicured.

likelihood of losing a disc at this course 4/5 the underbrush can make it very hard to find your disc.there aren't any other real threats against loosing plastic.

shared use of the course 5/5 This is a disc golf park.There are no other park users to worry about hanging out in your
fairway or asking you stupid questions about what your doing.

.

.


.
overall scenic beauty of the course and surroundings 4/5 great views of the front range of the rockies and surrounding
areas.the maintaince road and surrounding parks detract a little.

.


.
the number of benches 1/3 a few benches spread out there a rocks to sit on but not usually very comfortable.

.


.


.
number of trash cans 1/3 very few trash cans.Seems players have a lot of respect for the course which is rare these days.

.


.
restroom facilities for this course 0/3 no restrooms avaible.
.


.
practice facilities for course 1/3 one practice basket on premise.

.


.
message board for course 3/3 great info kiosk with map and league info.





Course totals. 65/100 3.5/5
Other Thoughts: I rounded up to a 3.5 because I really enjoyed the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.