Disc Golf Store
Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 BirdMan

5+    6/5/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Sectorado
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of holes to open it up on, never seems to get backed up, disc golf only course, multiple pin placements, huge tee pads
Cons: Can get really windy in the afternoon, no nice tee signs yet
Other Thoughts: Fun course, will get even better as time goes on and the trees grow

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bird's Nest Disc Park

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this one. The mountains are visible the entire time you play, so needless to say, the place is gorgious. The tee pads are all concrete (minus the last 6), and after speaking with John Bird, tee signs are probably going to be installed soon. Not only do you get to play 18 awesome holes, there are 6 more...24 awesome holes. Really nice changes in elevation help you work all aspects of your game, as well as a good mixture of open to wooded shots. We had no problems navigating the course even without tee signs. Info board at the beginning of the course and a port-a-potty in the huge parking lot. Probably what I liked most was meeting the man who is responsible for the whole place...Mr. Bird was there and was ready to shake my hand as I was getting out of the car. If you see him there, go talk with him, he's a great guy. We probably spoke with him for half an hour before starting our round.
Cons: It had rained a lot before I got there, so it got a little swampy in parts of the lower course, but not too bad. I am not holding the lack of signage against it, since Mr. Bird plans on installing them soon. It was hard to tell where the "rock-out" areas, or "dry lakes," were.
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite of the courses I played in the Denver area. If you are in the area, you must find time to play this one, but allow enough time. It is a long walk, but very enjoyable.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local Club Course

5+    11/15/2008   5/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A disc golf only course is always a pleasure to play. Amenities include a nice practice area with a practice pin and a driving area. The welcome sign/area is kept up to date with course and tournament info etc… The pads and pins are high quality. A lot of thought has been put into the layout and as the trees get bigger, the course will get better.
Cons: Many of the stone signs/markers have been broken. They are very unique and creative, but unfortunately they did not work out too well. I was going to mention a few more "cons" relating to the course such as the out of bounds markers, exposed terrain and wind, but I decided to take context into consideration. This is a disc golf park. Avid disc golfers play on it and they play the course more than once. The out of bounds markers are tough to see, but once you've played a few rounds you learn where they are located. The wind adds to the challenge. The tall weeds demand accuracy. It takes a bit more skill and perseverance to play this course than your average course and only avid disc golf players will likely enjoy playing this course often.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 temps you down into the valley with a downhill subtle right to left shot. From there the course calls for a big arm and sunscreen as you meander through the valley. Playing this course for the first time is a bit like being a new kid in school. You need to know the rules and be respectful. Get to know one of the locals and they will show you the ropes. This is not where you go to jack around. The players here take the sport seriously. The bottom line for this is course is that, in addition to Sunday morning at Johnny Roberts, this course is where you go to get to know the Denver disc golf community.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice one

1    4/25/2007   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well designed. nice and Long. very well thought out, holes were not just put up. good use of terrain/elevation for hole placement.
Cons: when I played it the grass/weeds were 3 ft high, I spent a lot of time looking for my disc and sometimes the hole. but I have only played once so far.
Other Thoughts: the pics here look good I will have to try it again soon!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pray for no WIND!!

1    10/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, undulating hills. Grip-it-and-rip-it course. The big arms in CO enjoy playing this course. Great cement tee pads.
Cons: rock-lined OB's are tough to see. Due to lack of structure, rock OB's where added to make more challenging but are more unlucky than anything if you land in them. If it's windy, stay away. This course is located in a very windy area were gusts can reach 80-100mph and commonly are above 50mph. Lack of structure lends to windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: John Bird, a CO disc golf and frisbee legend, is the course designer. He puts his heart and sole into this course and has made many upgrades over the years to improve. As this course matures and planted trees grow, it will eventually evolve into a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What hole is this?

2-4    2/8/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 69  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are nice and even have a little extra after foul line for follow troughs. Very open course for the most part, some baskets are guarded by trees. Pin placements are good and they move them around. There are street signs on your way to the course, easy to locate.
Cons: The really bad thing about this course is that the tee sighs are slabs of granite with a number on it placed next to the tee pad. Then there are a couple of holes where you need to back track to get to the next tee pad. (#3 and #5, #14 and #17 I think)
Other Thoughts: Add Tee signs and maybe a directional arrow or two and would be very close to a 5!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open, Pray No Rain

1    4/15/2007   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads, elevation changes, good chance to throw hard, and very tricky in the wind. Some imaginative pin placements and the OB regions add some technicality to the mostly wide open space. Good for beginners learning how to drive.
Cons: OB not always visible off the tee, sometimes you have to huck and hope. Not very inspiring and if the wind is not blowing, not particularly challenging for the better players. I hear it can be a swamp if it rains.
Other Thoughts: A million times better than the lame Boulder course (is it still there?)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Prairie

2-4    11/19/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf only park, long holes, with varying difficulty, lots of holes, easy to see holes (except #9), lots of open space, beautiful area, althought the course really isnt anything to look at, hole 15 (go there and you will see what i mean)
Cons: i have only played this course in the fall so everything was brown, and none of the trees had their leaves, im sure in the spring the course is really pretty all green, lots of prickly pear cactus make sure to where sneakers and long pants, probably extremely hot in the summer as there is very little shade
Other Thoughts: this is a wonderful course and i am very happy to have it close by, both times i have played have been weekdays and it isnt very busy at all, the wide openness of it also allows for play to not get bottlenecked in areas, great course, fun for beginners and pros

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Keep up the good work John Bird

1    8/23/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A disc golf only park means no interference from other activities. Huge concrete tee pads. Mach3 double chain baskets in good condition. Lots of parking available. There's a practice basket near the first tee and course information board. Lots of elevation in play here; the shot off the first tee is great, the uphill on #3 was challenging... It was nice to see some benches as well as trash cans and recycle bins.

On many of the holes here distance is the name of the game. If you can throw long off the tee you'll probably score well. But there are some shorter holes mixed in with good use of trees to add some challenge.
Cons:
The small rock fenced OB areas may be a good idea in theory, but I found them very hard to see from the tee box meaning it was more luck than skill if I landed in one. This would be less of a con for regular players with the course memorized. There's no indication at the tee which position the basket is in.

The stone tee signs are weak, have been broken or shattered and have no distances on them.

The mando on #2 looks obvious on the map, but standing on the tee in person I found it confusing which trees were the mando boundaries, as they didn't appear to be marked.
Other Thoughts:
A map will greatly assist first timers with navigating this course, but the grooved in walking paths help a lot too. I guess I was lucky that the wind was pretty calm when I played. I didn't have much trouble with this course and shot a 73 for 24 holes.

It's pretty obvious that this started as an 18-hole course as holes #19-#24 only have dirt tees and feel like they were just added in later. I think there's a plan to improve the new holes over time, but for now they pale when compared to the first 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with a ton of potential

5+    10/8/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: jbehm20
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Is a disc golf only area, has a driving range, 27 holes a plus if your looking for more, fairly easy to navigate through course with a worn path, some elevation change and tree placement. tee pads and pins in very good shape, each hole is numbered.
Cons: some vandalisism and littering has lessened the experience. Most holes are fairly easy and open, prickly pear cactus,
Other Thoughts: If you play in the later afternoon, a nice cross wind will usually come in adding to the challenge. Also, there is a driving range and putting range for those looking for some extra practice. Also, a great place to bring dogs as the course is spacious enough to not interfere with anything someone else is doing. As the trees on this course mature, it will become more challenging. I have been really impressed with how well this course is maintaned and presented.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.