Arvada, CO 
Bird's Nest Disc Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #23 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >
 PDGA Perfect

5+    9/13/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you were going to craft a course which represents all the elements of a perfect PDGA course, Bird's Nest comes close. It exposes a player to a great deal of physicalness by demanding huge drives. It is arranged around the largest cement t-pads I have ever played. Very few baskets have any obstacles within thirty meters. This ensures that luck is at a minimum and the most powerful drivers and best putters will dominate. It has ample parking and one of the few disc courses with a driving range. It is completly dedicated to disc golf, has great flow, and a beautiful, scenic mountain backdrop. I've heard complaints about the lack of obstacles and trees, these people haven't played it when the wind comes from the North. I should warn you that when it starts blowing, the course becomes a monster. I deliberately expose myself to it to improve my tournament game.
Cons: This course demands professional PDGA signage, after all it takes PDGA specifications and standardization to the nth degree. Adding a few "tricked out holes", like the one that goes through a concrete tunnel, or utilzing the farm house/grain silo property, or elevated tees and drops on the 'South side would add some spice to the layout. The dry OB circles need to be better defined throughout the course and not just on the masterfully done first hole.
Other Thoughts: With John Bird's vision and work, I believe the course has the potential of being a five star rated course someday.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be fantastic

1    8/24/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: dosahl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course with HUGE possibilities, and it is a grand plan. Nice informatin board at the beginning of the course. Holes are long, short and challenging. Trees come into play for most of the first 18 holes. Most of tees were well marked with obvious baskets per hole.
Cons: It is a dry course in progress. Plenty of cactus and prickly weeds for some of the higher numbered holes. Last 6 holes currently seem unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that I will visit everytime I am in Colorado. The progess being made on the course is evident even though I played it only one time. The plan is good and the amount of work going into the course needs to be rewarded. It will be fun to see its progress.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Guess I missed the wind, good for me.

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing to notice about Bird's Nest is that it is in its own unique area. There is signs for a dog park and a disc golf course, each with their own area and parking area just below an urban reservoir . The course is not shared with anything else, I love that, golfers here are in their own world with only other golfers to share it with. There are maps but you probably wont need one, from-basket-to-tee is in most parts a pretty worn path. The tee pads are humongous, you can chuck, and have a barbeque on em at the same time. There are some good elevated shots that are memorable. The view is fantastic with the Rockies looking over your shoulder perhaps adding some wind. Having an extra six holes from the norm is great. Bird's Nest is very clean for a big empty lot. The powers that be have also done a fantastic job gathering up all the rocks and making either cool tee areas or obstacles out of them.
Cons: As Valkyrie Kid mentioned before, the polished granite tee signs don't feel right, It did irk me to see some of them smashed, on the other hand it felt like the logical result for the markers by the hands of some jackass kids. There are a few trees here, most of them small and on one side of the course. What they lack in tress they have made up for in hills and OB and distance but scores should still be lower here. There were a few times I threw into the other fairway and still came out with par. Some of the course feels crammed together, as I was always near the other fairways.
Other Thoughts: I Like this course, I look forward to getting back here next time I am in the west Denver Boulder area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 No Wind Day at Bird's Nest

5/3/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: tommy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, scenic elevation changes, and 24 or so holes to play on.
Cons: Sagebrush and cactus patches can chew up your discs. In a very wind-prone location.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, gorgeous course that is a work in process. Try to play earlier in the day to avoid windy conditions and bring plenty of water.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Use of Land

4/6/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Big Distance, Many hole placements, Great place to practice your wind skills, OB Traps make you think about your shots. You definitely need to course manage this course.
Cons: Lack of trees, no shade, no break from the wind.
No water hazards.
No signage.
Other Thoughts: What this course lacks in water and trees, is made up with the unique way of using OB traps made out of rocks.
Course has great potential.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Does The Wind Always Howl Through Here?

4/5/2008   4/6/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is mostly open range other than a couple small groves of trees. It has the most over-sized concrete tee pads I've ever seen. There are a couple chances ( #1 and #4) to throw some big air off elevated tees. They've planted some trees which will help this course in future years. They obviously have the support of the local rec department.
Cons: The course has these granite?? signs at each tee saying what hole you are playing but they aren't attached to anything. Many of them have been slammed down and broken by the local "midnight marauding teenagers." I understand they were donated but I'd rather have a normal tee sign announcing par and distance, etc. Also, I think the course designers missed a great chance to use an elevated mound for a tee pad. I understand it's sometimes used for a basket placement but personally I'd prefer it as a tee pad location. I hope the wind doesn't always blow like it did the day I played. It was pretty brutal. Blew my favorite blue Valkyrie driver way the hell off course and lost. Hope whoever finds it will put it to good use!
Other Thoughts: As you are driving up the street looking for the course, you suddenly see an official city street sign that says, "Disc Golf Parking Ahead." I was thinking that disc golf has truly arrived when it has an official city street sign!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.