Battle Creek, MI 
Irving Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 245ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Irving Park DGC Review

5+    5/18/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: mcintosh105
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: This course is now a 27- basket course, 18 numbered baskets with nine alternate holes. Alternate B and Alternate F are two-part holes meaning there are two sets of teepads,fairways,and baskets within one hole Pros: Variety! as this course features short distance fairways,fairways with little or no elevation changes,doglegs, fairways WITH elevation changes,fairways next to water, and some have fairways where it will test your technical skills. Open shots,woods,water,going up and down hills pretty much anything goes on here! Baskets are discatcher chainstairs and are in overall excellent shape! The baskets painted blue are only 5 or 6 years old. Even the older baskets are in great shape and the chains catch very well. There are a variety of teepads offered here concrete,rubber mats,and natural pads. The concrete pads are a little on the small side as in length but they are in excellent shape and are level. Most of the holes have teesigns, the signs show a layout of the hole,the hole number or letter,footage distance,and par info. There is even a next hole sign after hole 5 going to hole 6. The course is designed well and flows pretty good. I will mention on the Cons that navigation can be confusing if you never played here before. The flow of the course is well thought of as hole #1 and 18 are pretty much only separated by a parking lot. I find that very important when playing courses as it just makes it easier in my opinion. Holes:Alternate A-hole through 6 start off on flat land and some holes next to water(Alt A,1,2,Alt X,Z,12,13)and holes next to a road(holes3,Alt C Alt Y,13). Alternate B,7,Alt C,Alt D,8,10,11,Alt E,Alt F,17 are in woods. Hole 16 starts off open and then the basket is in the woods, and hole 18 starts off in the woods but then the basket is in an open field. The Second part of Alt B shares a fairway and basket with hole 7. This course is very well maintained as in lawn maintenance fairways are mowed very well and trees are cut and maintained. Some of the holes have benches and trash bins, but the bins are not emptied out very often and most of the time are overflowing. As previously mentioned this course offers a variety of elevation. Some flat fairways, a few downhill shots, a few uphill shots. I love the variety that this course presents. Hole #13 the signature hole to this course is a very challenging hole. The fairway runs parallel to Emmitt Street and parallel to a pond, also the fairway is a dogleg. The fairway is narrow with the road to the right, and pond to the left and even a little spillway leading to the pond straight ahead and you will have to walk over a narrow strip of land to get to the basket. Not to mention there are trees growing out of the pond. Forcing you to pick a certain line to the basket. This is a par-three course Footage distances range from the shortest(Alt F)at 155 ft to the longest(Hole 6)at 360 feet. There is a good variety of open shots to tight technical shots here so there is never a "bland" repetitve feeling here. Overall challenge is excellent that is if you golf all the holes including the alternates. This course caters to all levels of disc golfers beginners will like the short distances and short holes. Intermediates and pros alike will feel challenged with the tight lines that they will be forced to throw on some of the holes Most of the holes are aceable. Scenery here isn't too impressive but not boring either as this park is in inner city battle creek nearby downtown area. This course can be crowded at certain days and times of the day. From what I have encountered the locals are friendly for the most part here and very little interference from non-dgers. Amen ties include: a port-a-john, Alt A basket can used a practice basket, bulletin board letting you know of any tournaments,leagues or other disc golf related events, cemented pathways that lead around the park,a gazebo, playground and a couple of duck ponds.
Cons: My main con is navigation, if you never played here or not from the Battle Creek area you will not find all the holes on this course. There is no map of my knowledge. I play here most of the time and I know the course by heart. I am a local of Battle Creek and if you would like someone to show you around the course here is my facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dvmcintosh. My name is Christopher McIntosh. Please feel free to friend request me and send a private message to me and we will set up a day and time so I can meet you and show you around the course. There are not too many other cons to mention other than the overflowing trash bins, some of the teesigns have been removed or knocked over and the three new alternates X,Y,Z do not have teesigns at all. Some of the park-goers that are either walking the concrete pathways or riding bi-cycles you will have to watch for. For example Hole #2 teepad sits to the right of a concrete pathway and the pathway winds around so when you throw be sure to look or have a spotter there with you to make sure no one is coming around the bend! This can be dangerous! Also just a personal pet peeve of mind are fairways next roads and busy roads at that! Hole3,Alt Y,Alt C, and 13 are next to a road to please be careful when throwing! Pretty much every course has their trouble makers and rowdy ones. This course can be busy at times as well.
Other Thoughts: The ponds of this course are notorious for drawing in mis-thrown discs and if you do not have a floating disc then either have a device that can get a lost disc out of the water or be careful how you throw next to the water holes. Holes 12 and 13, and Alt X and Z is where the water comes into play for the most part. The water can be a factor on hole 1,2,10 but would require a extremely hard and terrible throw to go into the water from these holes but from what I have heard it has been done before. This course is pet friendly and is encouraged to keep them under control, also whatever you bring in please make sure you leave with. Please do not litter! Several leagues and tournaments and ace-runs take place at this park and even glow rounds! Please feel free to friend me on facebook if your not familiar with this course. If you are in the Battle Creek area make sure to get a round in here.

 a map would be EXTREMELY helpful

1    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 254  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a multi multi use park in "inner city" Battle Creek. a much nicer park than the surrounding area. you are sharing this park with a lot of non-DG'ers please be wary of this!!

Teepads- although there are at least three different types of tee pad here (concrete, rubber mat, dirt) they are all of decent quality. The concrete is nice and level and the rubber mats are in good repair.

Challenge/Variety- for a short 24-hole course, the variety here is pretty impressive. there is a little of everything here to help you stay entertained.

Elevation-- used very well where it's available.

Water-- not really a factor except for a hole or two. there is a couple of larger ponds and a smaller spill way that come somewhat into play but errant throws should be fairly limited.
Cons:
Routing/Nav-- Horrible. not knowing where the lettered holes are, or what order they will appear makes this one a bitch to figure out. next tee signs, a map, or an accurate description of what order holes will appear in would be immensely helpful. I knocked a full disc off for this as it is just downright frustrating to navigate at times.

Upkeep- I know this is the inner city but the trash is out of hand. there are currently four tires (yes, tires) surrounding the trash can on the first tee, welcome to the ghetto.

Baskets- the chain stars are GREAT! the disc-king's are awful. they have little tines that stick above the rim of the basket that kicks your disc out on a good putt that may just be over the lip. annoying to say the least. they are blue, which stands out a bit.

Other Thoughts: there is some greatness here and there is certainly room for improvement. all in all an enjoyable round!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mandylan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes aren't crazy long, but not short enough to be boring.
Very nice signage. The tee signs are actual pictures from the tee box, so it is really easy to figure out where the basket is.
Very friendly locals.
Lots of elevation changes make this a very interesting course.
Cons: There are a few holes that are very close to the road and that can be intimidating / annoying.
It can be confusing to find the next hole, but there were very helpful locals to guide us.
Finding where to park can be slightly hard if you don't know the area. (We managed to find it, but did have to drive around a little).
Lots of geese (we actually skipped a hole to avoid them)
Other Thoughts: Hole #10 had a tree down in front of the tee. Nothing that caused a problem while throwing, but did make it hard to find the tee.
Hole #11 is across the road to the right. There was a sign there, but it was on the ground when we went.
Look at the signs closely as there are multiple baskets in view from some of the tees. Lots of opportunity for black aces! LOL

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great course, many long shots that are in the open and also in the woods, front 8 are rubber tee pads, the rest our cement tee pads. Signs are everyhole sponsnor by differnt business. baskets are good.
Cons: its hard to think of cons on this course, every hole is well placed out.
Other Thoughts: very clean, some holes had benches where u can take a break. Every hole u can par, and even some holes are aceable, I played lastnight and birdie and par the whole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 86  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-rounded urban park course. Has a majority of flat, short-to-average length holes with moderate tree density, as well as some dense wooded holes. Has some water holes, but only two or three in which losing a disc is a possibility (13 is the most hazardous).

Has quite a few holes with elevation changes (Holes 6, 11, 16, 17, 18). Excellent new photographic tee signs will hopefully start a trend. Custom baskets work well. Also has navigational aids. Free course.
Cons: It's hard to find this course if you aren't a local (Emmett Rd entrance, across from Kellogg C.C.). No disc or convenience stores nearby, and there are limited routes to the south and west. Like Begg Park, some holes come a bit close to residential areas, but these are still decent holes. Not exactly a country-club setting, and this course in general lacks super-long, challenging, or epic quality holes.
Other Thoughts: Has low level/squishy grass areas similar to Riverside Park in Grand Rapids, but the park had no flooding issues in spring 2011. Average, somewhat aged rubber tees are slippery at times but still much better than grass.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Constantly improving

5+    10/6/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly short and not too difficult. An experienced golfer should shoot well under par. Although there are very few opportunites to air it out the course gives a good variety of holes and shots.
Easy to navigate.
Located in a city park with playgrounds, bike paths, etc--many things for the non-discers in your family.
Many Ace Runs!
Less than 1 mile from Arcadia brewing Co.!!
Cons: Very few opportunities to air it out.
Many non-discers using the park so LOOK BEFORE YOU THROW.
Other Thoughts: The course is just over a year old and still getting settled in. It might be the easeist course you ever play but it is a very fun course with good scoring variance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice small course

5+    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: brian lee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice use of a small part. It is well taken care off and the holes are fun to play.... some holes are relatively easy par 2 however they make changes to the course to make it more challenging
Cons: A lot of people play there... not a great place for night discing.:...... the tees are rubber and tree roots are a problem... u can slip on the tees

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK Course

5+    8/20/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free course with a bit of variety. Not every hole is the same. Some distance but mostly short. Some water comes into play on a couple of the holes.
Cons: No concrete pads. The signs are not very helpful.
Other Thoughts: The water that comes into play is pretty nasty and you might want to try your hardest to stay away from it. Believe me, I threw in there twice my last round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Change up

2-4    8/22/2009   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean and good upkeep, Free, good use of elevation, newer. a few really neat holes that really uses what they have well. has some technical short holes
Cons: little variety, on the smaller side. short
Other Thoughts: good for a beginner

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to Moderate difficulty, unique city course.

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
-Best baskets of any course I have played
-Outstanding variety of holes, elevation, flat, wooded, open, steep, gentle slopes, shooting up and shooting down, water holes, very well designed.
-Some holes are really superior and would be signature holes on any course
-Dog friendly (if you have them under control)
-High fun factor
-Moderatly grueling workout
-Scenic and wooded for a city course
-Clear paths to shoot
Cons: -
-Busy busy busy
-Rubber and dirt tee pads, not the easiest place to tee off
-Somewhat short
-Some holes right next to private homes
-Could use better signs and markers to next tee but they are sufficent for such a new course
-Next to a few busy roads, be careful for small children and animals
-Not secluded
-Water can be nasty and hazardous to your discs
Other Thoughts: -
-Located in a city park, the place has more to offer the family then just disc golf. I saw people fishing, rollerblading, walking, and kids on the playground equipment.
-The first time I played this course I started off disappointed and thought how simple and easy the first few holes were. At about hole 6 it starts to get much more challenging and fun.
-Some of the shorter holes are very challenging with the trees and use of elevation.
-All of the holes can be reached with one shot. However you have to be on your game in order to achieve this.
-Accuracy is a must for this course
-Lots of different types of shots can be utilized
-I was surpised by this course and really enjoyed it. It has a lot more to offer then I originally thought it could. It was a nice challenge and required careful play to do well. I am debating between a 3.5 and 3.0 if I could it would get a 3.25. If cement tee pads and a few more anemities like benches were done I would be happy to rate this higher. This course has some really good potential and it was a lot of fun to play. A nice addition for the Battle Creek area with Pinball pines and Begg Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.