Battle Creek, MI 
Irving Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 245ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    9/5/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Irving Park DGC boasts 27 holes ranging from flat, open, park-style holes to technical exercises that make the most of moderately wooded elevation. Letter holes are interspersed fairly randomly with the numbered holes. The layout allows for just the numbered holes or a mixture of both. While working its way through a multi-use park, the course avoids most other activities (a walking path comes into play on the first several holes but shouldn't be too much of an issue during play).
- The wooded holes do a pretty good job of elevating this course from "one-dimensional park course" to "balanced and fun." There's enough variety with the elevation, the wooded sections, the more open areas, a bit of water scattered here and there (albeit without any true water carries or real danger) to keep things interesting. Some holes are short aceruns while others will make even experienced players work a bit harder. Nothing approaches "super challenging" but there are some solid golf shots here.
Cons: - This course is fairly bare bones when it comes to amenities. If you require perfect tees, Google Earth level accuracy on tee signs, next tee markers, benches, etc...then this is NOT the course for you. There are a ton of tee signs that are missing or inadequate. Not much (if anything) in the way of "hey, some lettered holes are hidden over that way" or "next tee signs." I actually kind of enjoyed the challenge of finding the lettered holes, because the course is decent enough in layout to not make it a super hassle or anything. I did not locate A and B (I realized too late that they were interspersed almost from the beginning) but found C on out...some people are going to HATE trying to track these down without a guide and signage. F was especially weird.
- Tee pads were a mix of short concrete tees (serviceable enough if a bit "pygmy") and lumpy rubber mats (which did the trick for my round but could cause issues in non-ideal conditions).
- A bit of trash scattered about and goose poop in several areas. I can deal with most course issues; but man, I just really dislike having to two-step it around lil' piles on the fairway. Only affects a handful of the holes closer to the water.
- There are a couple of spots where the course plays awfully darn close to some busy roadways.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I liked Irving Park well enough. The park is fairly pretty in places, while a little bit trashy in others. Battle Creek has a nice enough downtown area, and the surrounding buildings add some visual interest to parts of the round. The wooded, elevated holes made this course.
- Typically, having to "track down" 9 holes that aren't labelled is going to piss me off. For some reason, I liked the challenge of finding them on this course. It never felt like I had to walk crazy amounts to locate anything, and every time I took a guess as to the next tee, I seemed to get it right. So, despite a really terrible lack of signs, the flow's pretty darn intuitive.
- FYI, I don't believe the listed course info re: distances, water, or hole number is correct. Also this course could really use pictures (I didn't realize it only had two or I'd have gotten some during my round). Some local needs to get on it and update course info and pics!!
- With all the "warts" I wanted to rate this course at 2.5-discs; however, there was just enough variety, elevation, and wooded holes to make this a 3.0 because of the 9 extra lettered holes. Some decent tees, signs, and a juuust a lil' love in a few areas and I see this course threatening to crack into 3.5 range.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Irving Park DGC Review

5+    5/18/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: mcintosh105
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is now a 27- basket course, 18 numbered baskets with nine alternate holes. Alternate B and Alternate F are two-part holes meaning there are two sets of teepads,fairways,and baskets within one hole Pros: Variety! as this course features short distance fairways,fairways with little or no elevation changes,doglegs, fairways WITH elevation changes,fairways next to water, and some have fairways where it will test your technical skills. Open shots,woods,water,going up and down hills pretty much anything goes on here! Baskets are discatcher chainstairs and are in overall excellent shape! The baskets painted blue are only 5 or 6 years old. Even the older baskets are in great shape and the chains catch very well. There are a variety of teepads offered here concrete,rubber mats,and natural pads. The concrete pads are a little on the small side as in length but they are in excellent shape and are level. Most of the holes have teesigns, the signs show a layout of the hole,the hole number or letter,footage distance,and par info. There is even a next hole sign after hole 5 going to hole 6. The course is designed well and flows pretty good. I will mention on the Cons that navigation can be confusing if you never played here before. The flow of the course is well thought of as hole #1 and 18 are pretty much only separated by a parking lot. I find that very important when playing courses as it just makes it easier in my opinion. Holes:Alternate A-hole through 6 start off on flat land and some holes next to water(Alt A,1,2,Alt X,Z,12,13)and holes next to a road(holes3,Alt C Alt Y,13). Alternate B,7,Alt C,Alt D,8,10,11,Alt E,Alt F,17 are in woods. Hole 16 starts off open and then the basket is in the woods, and hole 18 starts off in the woods but then the basket is in an open field. The Second part of Alt B shares a fairway and basket with hole 7. This course is very well maintained as in lawn maintenance fairways are mowed very well and trees are cut and maintained. Some of the holes have benches and trash bins, but the bins are not emptied out very often and most of the time are overflowing. As previously mentioned this course offers a variety of elevation. Some flat fairways, a few downhill shots, a few uphill shots. I love the variety that this course presents. Hole #13 the signature hole to this course is a very challenging hole. The fairway runs parallel to Emmitt Street and parallel to a pond, also the fairway is a dogleg. The fairway is narrow with the road to the right, and pond to the left and even a little spillway leading to the pond straight ahead and you will have to walk over a narrow strip of land to get to the basket. Not to mention there are trees growing out of the pond. Forcing you to pick a certain line to the basket. This is a par-three course Footage distances range from the shortest(Alt F)at 155 ft to the longest(Hole 6)at 360 feet. There is a good variety of open shots to tight technical shots here so there is never a "bland" repetitve feeling here. Overall challenge is excellent that is if you golf all the holes including the alternates. This course caters to all levels of disc golfers beginners will like the short distances and short holes. Intermediates and pros alike will feel challenged with the tight lines that they will be forced to throw on some of the holes Most of the holes are aceable. Scenery here isn't too impressive but not boring either as this park is in inner city battle creek nearby downtown area. This course can be crowded at certain days and times of the day. From what I have encountered the locals are friendly for the most part here and very little interference from non-dgers. Amen ties include: a port-a-john, Alt A basket can used a practice basket, bulletin board letting you know of any tournaments,leagues or other disc golf related events, cemented pathways that lead around the park,a gazebo, playground and a couple of duck ponds.
Cons: My main con is navigation, if you never played here or not from the Battle Creek area you will not find all the holes on this course. There is no map of my knowledge. I play here most of the time and I know the course by heart. I am a local of Battle Creek and if you would like someone to show you around the course here is my facebook: My name is Christopher McIntosh. Please feel free to friend request me and send a private message to me and we will set up a day and time so I can meet you and show you around the course. There are not too many other cons to mention other than the overflowing trash bins, some of the teesigns have been removed or knocked over and the three new alternates X,Y,Z do not have teesigns at all. Some of the park-goers that are either walking the concrete pathways or riding bi-cycles you will have to watch for. For example Hole #2 teepad sits to the right of a concrete pathway and the pathway winds around so when you throw be sure to look or have a spotter there with you to make sure no one is coming around the bend! This can be dangerous! Also just a personal pet peeve of mind are fairways next roads and busy roads at that! Hole3,Alt Y,Alt C, and 13 are next to a road to please be careful when throwing! Pretty much every course has their trouble makers and rowdy ones. This course can be busy at times as well.
Other Thoughts: The ponds of this course are notorious for drawing in mis-thrown discs and if you do not have a floating disc then either have a device that can get a lost disc out of the water or be careful how you throw next to the water holes. Holes 12 and 13, and Alt X and Z is where the water comes into play for the most part. The water can be a factor on hole 1,2,10 but would require a extremely hard and terrible throw to go into the water from these holes but from what I have heard it has been done before. This course is pet friendly and is encouraged to keep them under control, also whatever you bring in please make sure you leave with. Please do not litter! Several leagues and tournaments and ace-runs take place at this park and even glow rounds! Please feel free to friend me on facebook if your not familiar with this course. If you are in the Battle Creek area make sure to get a round in here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a map would be EXTREMELY helpful

1    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 262  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Aesthetic-- plays through a multi multi use park in "inner city" Battle Creek. a much nicer park than the surrounding area. you are sharing this park with a lot of non-DG'ers please be wary of this!!

Teepads- although there are at least three different types of tee pad here (concrete, rubber mat, dirt) they are all of decent quality. The concrete is nice and level and the rubber mats are in good repair.

Challenge/Variety- for a short 24-hole course, the variety here is pretty impressive. there is a little of everything here to help you stay entertained.

Elevation-- used very well where it's available.

Water-- not really a factor except for a hole or two. there is a couple of larger ponds and a smaller spill way that come somewhat into play but errant throws should be fairly limited.
Routing/Nav-- Horrible. not knowing where the lettered holes are, or what order they will appear makes this one a bitch to figure out. next tee signs, a map, or an accurate description of what order holes will appear in would be immensely helpful. I knocked a full disc off for this as it is just downright frustrating to navigate at times.

Upkeep- I know this is the inner city but the trash is out of hand. there are currently four tires (yes, tires) surrounding the trash can on the first tee, welcome to the ghetto.

Baskets- the chain stars are GREAT! the disc-king's are awful. they have little tines that stick above the rim of the basket that kicks your disc out on a good putt that may just be over the lip. annoying to say the least. they are blue, which stands out a bit.

Other Thoughts: there is some greatness here and there is certainly room for improvement. all in all an enjoyable round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: mandylan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes aren't crazy long, but not short enough to be boring.
Very nice signage. The tee signs are actual pictures from the tee box, so it is really easy to figure out where the basket is.
Very friendly locals.
Lots of elevation changes make this a very interesting course.
Cons: There are a few holes that are very close to the road and that can be intimidating / annoying.
It can be confusing to find the next hole, but there were very helpful locals to guide us.
Finding where to park can be slightly hard if you don't know the area. (We managed to find it, but did have to drive around a little).
Lots of geese (we actually skipped a hole to avoid them)
Other Thoughts: Hole #10 had a tree down in front of the tee. Nothing that caused a problem while throwing, but did make it hard to find the tee.
Hole #11 is across the road to the right. There was a sign there, but it was on the ground when we went.
Look at the signs closely as there are multiple baskets in view from some of the tees. Lots of opportunity for black aces! LOL

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great course, many long shots that are in the open and also in the woods, front 8 are rubber tee pads, the rest our cement tee pads. Signs are everyhole sponsnor by differnt business. baskets are good.
Cons: its hard to think of cons on this course, every hole is well placed out.
Other Thoughts: very clean, some holes had benches where u can take a break. Every hole u can par, and even some holes are aceable, I played lastnight and birdie and par the whole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/25/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-rounded urban park course. Has a majority of flat, short-to-average length holes with moderate tree density, as well as some dense wooded holes. Has some water holes, but only two or three in which losing a disc is a possibility (13 is the most hazardous).

Has quite a few holes with elevation changes (Holes 6, 11, 16, 17, 18). Excellent new photographic tee signs will hopefully start a trend. Custom baskets work well. Also has navigational aids. Free course.
Cons: It's hard to find this course if you aren't a local (Emmett Rd entrance, across from Kellogg C.C.). No disc or convenience stores nearby, and there are limited routes to the south and west. Like Begg Park, some holes come a bit close to residential areas, but these are still decent holes. Not exactly a country-club setting, and this course in general lacks super-long, challenging, or epic quality holes.
Other Thoughts: Has low level/squishy grass areas similar to Riverside Park in Grand Rapids, but the park had no flooding issues in spring 2011. Average, somewhat aged rubber tees are slippery at times but still much better than grass.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Constantly improving

5+    10/6/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly short and not too difficult. An experienced golfer should shoot well under par. Although there are very few opportunites to air it out the course gives a good variety of holes and shots.
Easy to navigate.
Located in a city park with playgrounds, bike paths, etc--many things for the non-discers in your family.
Many Ace Runs!
Less than 1 mile from Arcadia brewing Co.!!
Cons: Very few opportunities to air it out.
Many non-discers using the park so LOOK BEFORE YOU THROW.
Other Thoughts: The course is just over a year old and still getting settled in. It might be the easeist course you ever play but it is a very fun course with good scoring variance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice small course

5+    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: brian lee
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice use of a small part. It is well taken care off and the holes are fun to play.... some holes are relatively easy par 2 however they make changes to the course to make it more challenging
Cons: A lot of people play there... not a great place for night discing.:...... the tees are rubber and tree roots are a problem... u can slip on the tees

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OK Course

5+    8/20/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free course with a bit of variety. Not every hole is the same. Some distance but mostly short. Some water comes into play on a couple of the holes.
Cons: No concrete pads. The signs are not very helpful.
Other Thoughts: The water that comes into play is pretty nasty and you might want to try your hardest to stay away from it. Believe me, I threw in there twice my last round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Change up

2-4    8/22/2009   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean and good upkeep, Free, good use of elevation, newer. a few really neat holes that really uses what they have well. has some technical short holes
Cons: little variety, on the smaller side. short
Other Thoughts: good for a beginner

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.