Disc Golf Store
Provo, UT 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: troyskeen Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Posts not baskets

1    8/12/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
Pros: 1) Located in a large, beautiful park
2) Restrooms and pavilions for more than disc golf outings
3) Reasonable but not outstanding course layout
4) Decent signage
5) Nice mix of short and longer holes
Cons: 1) Some icky water in small ponds comes into play. I don't mind some water on a course, but this stuff was nasty.
2) Holes are posts instead of baskets. That's not all bad, but it's an entirely different experience than play with baskets.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park and nice local course, but nothing to go out of one's way for. If you are in the area and looking for more of a traditional disc golf outing I recommend Jolley's Ranch in Payson Canyon just above Hobble Creek Golf Course.

Short Lil Guy

5+    10/14/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: Well maintained park. Easy to determine the holes. Two playgrounds for kids.
Cons: No baskets so you don't get the real feel of a disk golf course, (I'm in love with the chain noise, what can I say).

SHORT holes, terrible obstacles, like the parking lot and people's back yards.
Other Thoughts: The park is a nice thought kind of course. It is clearly designed to skirt around the exterior of the park, which is just fine. A couple of the holes can't be thrown if soccer games are going.

Overall it's not a course I would go out of my way to play. We have a lot of family stuff at that park so it's ok to be able to bail on the boring stuff and throw a bit, otherwise I wouldn't bother.

 Nice walk for 9 posts

2-4    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: FHL88
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Easy to spot the "hole" from the "tee" - one minor exception (8, 9)

Open space, nicely landscaped - especially now that they've reduced the swampy pond

Obstacles are challenging - the high-fenced tennis court, the rushing river, the gated houses just off of a few fairways. I imagine the parking lot hole would be worse when the park is more populated.

(Ridiculously close to work for me)
Cons: Flat, flat, flat course. There's a hill near the first post - I don't know why it couldn't be taken advantage of (may be park reason for it)

Mostly long, straight holes, with a couple of short ones.

Would have liked a little direction in knowing which post was 8 and which was 9, without pulling out a Jack Bauer scope
Other Thoughts: It looks like they're renovating it and putting in a stream through the park (it has that look) so it might become more of a hazard later.

I played right before a snowstorm, so it was crazy windy.

Overall, I enjoyed it more than the last time I'd been there, over a year ago, and with it being so close to work and home, I'll probably go there more often.

  

1    3/26/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: Side Arm Dave
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent lengths. Well marked except no #1 tee location. Not busy at all. One hole over parking lot could be considered a "lake".
Cons: Object course (no baskets). Very close to playgrounds. Only a few obstacles, mostly open grass. Not a very exciting course.
Other Thoughts: It was windy the day I went there. That was the only challenge presented from this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Newbie Friendly

1    8/23/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: redbeard
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: clearly marked tees and pins, some interesting rough and out of bounds areas (river bank, playground and islands of wilderness)
Cons: not very challenging, most of the fairways are wide open grass, with a straight shot from tee to pin.
Other Thoughts: Good place to play with kids, nice playground for them while you throw a few.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.