Powhatan, VA 
The Monster @ Fighting Creek Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #7 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 587ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quick Comment

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Maybe I shouldn't even post a review since I didn't play the course but didn't know where else to provide feedback.

Stopped by twice to play the course but didn't find the starting point the first time (it's not by the library as was described. (I just updated the directions) Keep going to the next parking parking area and you'll see the sign posted in the pics.

Second time we found the starting point but when the wife saw she had to wade through knee deep weeds just to get to the first tee she was less than thrilled. When I waded through and looked at hole #1 it took 10 minues to figure out the basket location. We looked around just to check out holes 9,10 & 11. Never found #10 pad.

A map posted at the beginning of the course would be VERY useful since nothing is posed on here and the posted scorecard is apparently from the older layout and incorrect.

Looks like it could be interesting but I saw no-one playing the course. Needs a lot of work. I gave it only a 2.5 just because I saw no real reason to come back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: ChuckDiscs
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the longest courses in Virginia if you play from the longs. The hole placements are decent and vary in difficulty. They have drawn maps at each hole (the long pads) to show you the length of hole and where the basket location is. White arrows on trees to point you in the direction of the next hole.
Cons: Poorly kept, the grass needs to be cut and the short tee pads are in desperate need of attention The pads are a bit small and are what seems to be carpet with crush rock underneath. Which is fine but most of the AM pads are, in my opinion, a little on the small side width wise.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 was the most memorable for me. There was 4 of us that played and we all seemed to enjoy ourselves. With a little better upkeep and maybe better maps or directions to get to the next hole this course would get a higher rating from me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Wooded, Distinct Challenge

2-4    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Length, quiet, exercise
Cons: Length, hard to find tees
Other Thoughts: There's no course quite like The Monster at Fighting Creek. The long holes along wide pipeline easements, the long walk for the whole course, and the choice of pink to mark all tees are all distinctive features you won't find on any other Central Virginia course. To make the best of your time on this course, you'll need to bring your straightest long range driver, bring your best long game, and be long on patience to find the tees and follow the course all the way through to the end.

Nine of the first 10 holes at Fighting Creek follow the same pattern as #1; if you're playing the longs, find the pink markers set flush in the ground that show the hole (1L). If you're playing the shorts, continue along staring intently at the ground, until you find the pink markers that say (1S) or maybe just some unmarked pink boards, or maybe only some shards of pink wood. Stare down the 30-40 foot wide right-of-way with thick woods on either side, and throw your straight long range driver as far as you can, focusing on simply staying in the easement. Hole #1, and others, may play around a bend, or up a small hill, but otherwise that's the approach, except for the one hole that's mostly in the woods, is a good bit shorter, and has little to no discernable fairway. Most of these holes are bona fide par 4s and 5s, especially from the longer, much better marked tees.

#11 starts a short run of different holes; open shot to a basket set alongside a hill, downhill shorter shot to a basket placed precariously between a retention pond and sharp drop-off, and the a tee right on the same drop-off down to a basket placed back in the woods along a stream. Then from #14 on the holes are maybe not quite as long, but still longer than average, and are pretty much so in the woods, with fairways ranging from pretty well wooded to what some might consider unreasonable.

Even with a map, finding all the tees at this course is a challenge. Playing the longs is a good bit easier in this regard; while the markers are set flush in the ground, most (but not all) were there the times I've been out to this course. A few of these tees have carpet pads, but most are just natural. Even with the map, finding the short tees can be a challenge; some are marked as well as the longs, some have just a bit of pink marker or a flag to indicate their location, most can only be found with careful searching along the ground, and some might not be there at all. If by chance the grass ever got long here, finding the tees, long and short, would be nigh on impossible.

Fighting Creek is one of those courses that might provoke a wide range of opinions. If distance is the strength of your game, you come with a map and a lot of patience or play a round with some locals (though judging by the unworn state of the teepads, I'm not sure this course has many locals), enjoy long walks in non-distinct but quiet woods, and play on a nice day in fall or spring, then you might really enjoy the course. If you have more of a touch game, like well marked, well played courses in city or state parks, get tired of simply chucking it as far as you can for a bunch of holes in a row, or conversely have a low tolerance for wooded courses, or play on a hot buggy day, well Fighting Creek might not be for you. I've rated it Decent/Typical but really it's anything but Typical. Rather, it's a course of extremes; part frustrating and aggravating, but part interesting and challenging in a way most courses are not.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    8/15/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: mandingo.chupacabra
Played: 125  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: People went to the effort to build a course that has a well defined sense of self. (This course is meant to be demanding, and it doesn't back down from that on any hole)
...So Kudos to Them!

The complaints about it being difficult to navigate are not really valid. There are problems, but it is not any worse than a run of the mill course.

Holes 11 through 13 are real standout holes. Very well done. When the designers had real options on where to put holes they made good decisions
Cons: The wooded holes are like Iron Hill, minus the fairways.

The course does not engage your brain. When you are standing on the tee trying to figure out how to get to the pin the answer is almost always power. When the answer is not power it's prayer.

(Some of this is because of the geography. Most of the open holes are down very long easements cut by the county so there are only so many options.)

Portions of the course smell like roadkill raccoon slow roasting over charcoal briquettes made of processed pig poop. That's not really a knock on the course, because you have to work with what's available, but if you have a delicate constitution you should play Bryan instead.
Other Thoughts: My review may come off as being negative, but on the whole the course makes for a mediocre round of disc golf.

The fact is this course isn't much different than a pitch and putt course, it's just longer.

Given the layout I would have liked to see something on the order of 18 open holes followed by 9 wooded holes (there seems to be space to fit that in), but that is something of a nit-pick.

There are problems with the course, but this is a good start and with a few tweaks over time this could become something special.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Monster!

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long holes. Variety of shots. Open, Tight in trees. Left turns, right turns. Super long holes for those who want to test their arms.
Cons: This might be the first course I have reviewed where the cons might outweigh the pros. Lets start off and say this course heavily favors Pros. The pro tees are much easier to find then the ams...get back to that soon. All of the pro tee boxes are also nice. there are either rubber mats, or gravel tee boxes. As far the ams go...none of the such. Some of the tees have pink tee blocks showing you where to throw from, but some are missing, or were just impossible to find.

If you aren't a great player, you might be spending a lot of time hunting for discs. We didn't lose any, but most of the fairways are lined with thick trees on both sides, so unless you can throw long and straight every time, be ready.

Also...the ticks are horrible!

And on to the course layout. The map is somewhat helpful, and impossible to navigate the course with out it, but even with it, the course is still very hard to navigate. If you are playing the pro tees, you will have a little easier of a time. The AM tees thought...which we played from, were impossible to find on some holes. We ended up just throwhing from the Pro tees on some holes or just making up our own starting blocks. But make sure you print out the map! Impossible without it!


Oh, and the grass is over a foot tall on most of the open holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the cons some it up. This course has potential. There are a lot of fun holes, but it does not have enough players playing this course to ware down on the trail and to make the paths visible

Summing it up.

Mow the grass!
Put up signs on each hole.
Make better amateur tees!.


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.