Powhatan, VA 
The Monster @ Fighting Creek Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #7 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 587ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The monster it is.

1    1/11/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent signs, left to rght mixture of holes. Decent elevation holes.
Cons: Natural tees are caked in mud and has a piece of carpet to keep your footing. Tee boxes are missing a lot of markers, some of the holes have been altered for the footage.No clear route to take on several holes.
Other Thoughts: It is always nice to play new courses. A little more TLC and few more lanes this course could really have something. I just felt like I was playing the same hole several times with a long drive and then another long drive for an upshot. It felt like an open driving range then the basket would be tucked away in the woods for a putt.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than advertised

2-4    3/10/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Nice innova baskets. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Great use of elevation changes! Rubber tees with nice signs on long tees. Nice library at the first hole and practice basket with restroom when open.
Cons: Long! Not that that in and of itself is a con, but players need to be warned. Long doesn't cover it, LOL. Shorts are poorly marked, no tees or signs for shorts, only pink wooden markers in the ground. very hard to see, let alone find at all. On most courses this isn't a problem because the shorts aren't too far off from the longs, but not at The Monster. The map will help, but it's still a nightmare if you play here for the first time. Try and meet up with someone who knows the place or a long day will turn into an all day event for one round!
Other Thoughts: After reading all the negative reviews I was expecting far worse. The Monster lived up to its name and was overall a good course. While not for the beginner, if you have played for a while it will be tough but not impossible to complete and maybe par. If both sets of tees were marked with pads and signage it would make for a much better time, as finding your way around would be much easier. Overall I enjoyed my day at The Monster and would return, but with a little tweaking and additions of pads and signs for both tees, this could be a premiere course.

Note: Hole #7 over 1000 feet with left and right hand turns the whole way to the basket was an amazing challenge!

Played at the very end of winter and couldn't imagine playing in the summer with all the growth in full bloom. Discs would vanish into the brush with little effort.

If you get lost at any time, look around you for trees or the ground marked in pink. That will get you headed in the right direction. You will either be headed toward the basket or the next tee. It is really helpful.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Raw Monster

1    4/23/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees, where the long tees are really long, so big arms should love them. There is a good mix of holes, some wooded, some semi wooded/open and some mostly open.

Elevation is used very effectively, seldom are you not throwing up or down a hill or slope. Nice basket placements, optimizing the maximum difficult available.

Though, there are no next tee signs, there are pink spots on nearby trees to aid in course navigation. Course map is very good and a must to navigate the course, so make sure you have one before playing.

Plenty of parking, with bathrooms available next door in the library.
Cons: Finding tees, especially the short tees is very difficult, if not impossible, without the course map. There were a few short tees I still couldn't find. A little confusing finding #13.

Since some of the holes are very long, and you must throw through some tight blind fairways, without a spotter, losing a disc is a good possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course still has that raw feel to it. The last 4 holes are very wooded and tight, and probably need some more thinning out to make them more reasonable.

From the short tees, there are only a few deuce holes, so if you are looking for a pitch and putt course, this isn't for you.

Better identification markers for the tees would make this course so much easier to navigate. As the course matures, this would improve the enjoyment of playing this course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Pink monster

2-4    3/7/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Dual tees
- Longs have gravel or rubber mats
- Good variety
- Long arms welcomed
- Practice Basket
- Painted basket rungs and trees aid in navigation.
- Parking is near tee 1 and the course loops you back to the start.
- Park has other amenities for kids.
Cons: - Tees have no distance marked on them and are only marked with flush arrow boards, shorts easy to miss or not found on 10,12, and 18
- Fairways on wooded holes are extremely heavily wooded
- Mats used at long tees with gravel could be moved to short tees to aid visibility
- No kiosk with course map, or maps/scorecards to take with( in the works, funds being raised)
- Painted trees on 18 I found misleading or the fairway is that dense
- Course leaves you kinda out there after 9(it's a long course)
Other Thoughts: I came out after I first heard about the course and played what I could find which was holes 13 through 18. I then heard a lot of buzz about the work going into the course on the local board and looked forward to getting back out to play the whole course. Well I got back out there and gave both the longs and shorts a go just to be fair.

Finding the course was much easier this time as a nice Pink sign near the practice basket welcomes you to the course. From what I had heard and/or seen I think one and two kinda got flopped or maybe just one reversed, but this made a huge difference as you can now find one's tee with no problem. On the county site they have maps and scorecards available and are planning/raising money for tee signs and a welcome station, when it goes in it will be a big help. Without a map navigation is reasonable because there is a painted rung on top of the baskets that leads to the next long tee and most fairways have some trees with paint on them to help guide you way along the fairway. I still had to check the map on my phone a few times as the short tees are hard to see(didn't find the short tees for 10,12, and 18). The long tees are gravel and/or rubber mats, and the shorts are natural. All tees are marked with flush Pink arrow boards, but there are only hole numbers listed on them. I notice a couple single Pink arrows that help point you in the right direction, but may be confused with the short tees. The course is a hike so with holes 11 and 12 playing near some of the other facilities in the park you may be able to take a break, but then 13 takes you back into the woods and 18 brings you full circle back to 1.

The course has a good mix of holes, 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9,10,11,12 play mostly in the open along some pipeline right of ways. Holes 1,4,10,11,12 stand out for bringing trees into play somewhere along the hole and thus giving it some Challenge, hole twelve even has a retention pond to watch out for. The rest have wide enough fairways so the challenge is the length. Holes 5,13,14,15,16,17,18 are in the woods, and I mean woods. Two holes stood out 13 and 15. On 15 you have a slight uphill shot with a horseshoe at the end. On 13 you throw down a nice hill into the woods with a creek just behind the basket. 13 is the only hole I think looks noticeably different than the last time I played. All of the wood holes I hope will see a lot of work in the future as they are extremely dense and almost more luck than skill. The painted trees really help guide you in the woods but be careful on 18 as the paint spots don't seem to mark the hole correctly.

I have greatly mixed feelings about this course. There are some great holes here but the longs are too long for my taste and I don't know if some of the longer holes truly benefit from there length. Future improvements considered IMO the biggest flaw at the moment is the woods need a lot of definition; however I'm sure being as new as it is this will be overcome. I found I really liked some of the long tees and some of the short tees or that I thought there would have been a great place for a tee somewhere in between. A few things to suggest, one is move the mats to the short tees where gravel is already at the longs, two move 8s basket to the other side of the fairway and on top of the little hill, and three the short tee on 12 could be on the far side of the pond to make a short but really challenging shot. Overall it's a good course and will grow into a great one, glad to have it join the greater Richmond areas collection of courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ebbs
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is now "playable." All 18 baskets are in and have fairly legitimate fairways that will really challenge all players with length, tightness, and/or elevation changes depending on the hole. Holes 1-4 play in a county right of way with hole 2 playing around 1000'. Hole 5 is a tight anheyser with holes 6-12 being back out in the right of ways.
All the right of way holes have 60 to 80 foot fairways with considerable length to them and are woods lined.
Holes 13 to 18 play in the woods and are tight.
Cons: The course begins at the library and ends down a pathway to the right of tee 1.
Unfortunately there are no maps or scorecards yet. The best map available currently can be found at:
http://powhatandiscgolf.org/default.aspx
There is no way of losing your disc in the fairway, but off the fairways it is very easy to spend some time finding your disc at this point.
Tees are too small right now...3 by 5 rubber mats.
Many ankle biters exist in the woods and additional clearing is definately needed.
Other Thoughts: The course will only get better with more work in the future and is worth checking out. Plan on a round taking 2 and a half hours with 2 to 3 players and some time spent looking for discs if you go off the fairway.
AS OF JULY OF 2010 STILL EXPECT THE WORST OF THIS COURSE. PEOPLE ARE SLAMMING IT AND THEIR COMPLAINTS ARE THE TRUTH. SLAM THIS REVIEW, WHO CARES BUT THIS IS WHERE THE TRUTH LIES. THERE IS NO WATER TO DRINK OUT THERE, HIGH GRASS IN THE FAIRWAYS BUT IT IS NOT THICK GRASS, REALLY DENSE WOODS LINE THE "OPEN" HOLES, LENGTH IS VERY LONG, NO SIGNS AT ALL, TEE PADS ARE THERE BUT STINK ON THE LONG HOLES, YOU WILL NOT FIND THE SHORT TEES, SOME OF THE BASKETS YOU CAN'T SEE FROM THE TEE AND WON'T BELIEVE THAT THEY REALLY WILL BE THERE, THE MAP THAT EXISTS STINKS, NO ONE WILL BE OUT THERE PLAYING WITH YOU, 100 FOOT TREES HAVE BEEN CUT DOWN AND ARE LITERALLY SITTING IN THE FAIRWAYS ON THE WOODS HOLES, AND IN A FEW MORE YEARS AT THE CURRENT PACE THE MONSTER HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE ONE OF THE BEST COURSES IN VA.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.