Powhatan, VA 
The Monster @ Fighting Creek Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #16 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 313ft.   3 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun course

2-4    7/24/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: RedElectricDragon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very long course. A nice variety of shots after the 1st nine.
Cons: Signage should be numbered with the hole numbers. In some places there are multiple unmarked arrows pointing to different tees. Some of the tee signs are broken.
Other Thoughts: No one wants to talk about hole 10? The tee is behind a baseball field and is hard to find. You have to avoid two huge hazards and the fairway is very small. Need some serious control teeing off here.

What a Pleasant suprise!

1    1/7/2013   1/15/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long holes
Clear signs detailing where the baskets are for both the long and short tees
A great mixture of long open holes and tightly wooded holes
Carpet tee pads

Cons: Lots of walking
40 miles from where i reside
A little confusing finding the next holes
score card for this course is wrong ( holes are in different places than what it says)
Other Thoughts: I have avoided this course because of the bad reviews but i gave it a shot anyway and WOW AM I GLAD I DID! Its got two separate thousand foot par 5's and a lot of hills to climb but i love courses with diversity and this one has got it.I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to get a workout and play a jewel of a course!

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Course updates are awesome!

2-4    12/19/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DUBONE
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new updated course plays so much better than before, the tee boxes seem a little nicer as well. Directional arrows in the trees help out for easy navigation as well as map boxes on each hole. This was my 4th time playing here and the first 3 were not so good, but the new updates to the course made it worth while. I will be going back =)
Cons: The only con I can think of is a few of the wooded holes have too many trees on them and I also had to jump across the creek a couple of times because there are no bridges.
Other Thoughts: This is a very long course but there are benches and picnic tables along the way if you need a break.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Huge Monster Lives up to it's title

1    3/18/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most courses you want to know if you might lose a disc or two...this is the first course where I lost my arm. Yes be sure to sharpie your name and number on your throwing arm as you too may lose it on this enormous big arm course. I found a few arms lying in the retention basin on hole 12 and a few off to the side near 652 ft uphill #6 and surprisingly a few just left in the middle of the 1087 ft fairway of hole 7. Seems the Monster likes the taste of weenie arms as much as plastic. So be prepared this is a course for those with stronger arms.....A real game changer...the first 10 holes are unlike any DG experience I have ever had prior. Combining massive length with enormously wide but well defined fairways through dense woods. These holes are all routed atop an enormous pipeline system that must be visible from outerspace via satelite, so the fairways are wide and every branch from the ground to treetop is cut so there is zero overhang here. What you are left with are 10 low cut grassy fairways that are between 70 ft and 130 ft wide and avg 600 feet in length with massive hardwoods towering but not impinging the defined lanes. These 10 holes are massive and often dogleg and change direction. The sheer size of the holes make's one feel as though they are riding a moped on an airstrip...as in feeling miniature and meek as you drive, drive and drive again. The fairways are more than ample but given the great distances I found myself often fading or turning into those thick schule filled woods and had to pitch out and drive again.I would imagine this is a big arm player's dream course though as there is no where else that I have played with such a unique and big arm tempting look. 2 holes had intersections (7 & 9) where you could easily overthrow and go through the hyzer intersection and would have to drive back and anhyzer back to fairway. A unique feature that I have often envisioned and am glad to have seen it finally. (yeah I missed the hyzer both times and had to reverse re-drive both holes with anhyzers) Once your out of the craziness of the monstrous fairways it's off to 2 great more traditional field holes 11 shoots out of some small woods over a wide open field to a sloped green and 12 fires over a road and around some trees over a retention basin to a fast green. After that the course dives into the woods on 13 which is fun and from there its a smattering of tight technical holes where you will escape the bigness of the beast but have to deal with the shorter but equally tough and tighter woods golf until you finish your day. There are multiple tees and plenty of parking and a practice basket available. Course flows intuitively so lack of tee signs not too much of a problem. Map and info is available online and is quite sufficient. Follow the purple markings...they are everywhere. Some unique features of this course besides the superhero size of those 10 early holes are the raised basket and fast green of hole 1...the across the road bomb to start hole 2. The uphill struggle of hole 6. The dive into the woods of hole 13. The guarded basket of hole 15, surrounded by trees and a moat and the tight downhill drive of 16.
Cons: It's really too much of the same thing for 9 of the first 10 holes...massive drives with little room for error considering the length required. I would have scored better if I had tried to control my drives and keep them straight and low but it's hard to not try to unleash the drive of your life once you see these amazing fairways. As wonderful as the fairways were for the front 10..only once did the repetition cease. #5 was the only woodsy break from the sheer distance madness. NO ace runs anywhere on this course. The long holes are too long and the woods are too technical so I would imagine birdies and aces are quite rare. Sloppy tees and lacking in signs as of spring 2010 (I don't care but many require this) I think some better greens for the big arm holes..maybe a raised basket or a scenic green with some more options upon approach would add something that seemed to be lacking. As for the final 5 holes...they need to be thinned out a bit to really be considered fair or realistic. Just too extreme even by Paw PAw and East Coast Standards. It's new so it's raw and I imagine these complaints will remedy in time.
Other Thoughts: I think one day this will be a great tournament course. I would love to see big arm pros throw down those monstrous fairways. If you find my arm in the woods somewhere near the fairway for 15 please contact me on DGCR. I really don't think anyone would want to use it for themselves especially after the abuse it received here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Mash

1    1/5/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Monster, as mentioned in earlier reviews, is still very much a work in progress. I decided I had to check it out after hearing that this was the longest course in the state, and it definitely lives up to the hype - this course is loooong! I played from the short tees and it was STILL a long course. The Monster isn't just about length, though; the layout is very creative and makes great use of the land. The first 12 holes are dominated by long, rather open shots down tree-lined fairways. Nothing boring, though - lots of different doglegs, uphill drives, downhill drives, and plenty of chances for big throws.

My favorite holes here are in the middle of the course. Hole 11 is in an open field with the basket on the side of a hill. Hole 12, my personal favorite, throws from an elevated tee by the baseball field, over a road, to a basket placed dangerously close to a nasty reservoir which will be sure to claim many discs as this course grows (the long tee on 12 is great - similar shot from an elevated tee, but you have to throw through the "field goal" of trees).

Hole 13 tees off from the crest of a hill, throwing downhill and into the woods. Holes 13-18 are all wooded and require more technical shots, providing a nice relief from the big open holes. That relief doesn't last too long, though, because these holes are not easy. The wooded section of the course features mostly tight fairways with lots of small trees just waiting to get nailed with a disc.

Bonus points also awarded for having a practice basket.
Cons: Because this course is still in the works there are several obvious cons to point out, but I'll try not to dwell on them. First of all, tee signs are a must - currently, the tees are all marked with small pavers, which can be quite difficult to find on such large fairways. I have heard that there will be signs placed at the long tees in the near future, but I would recommend (if/when the budget allows) putting signs at the short tees as well (so that they can actually be seen). For now, the best way to find the next tee is to check the top of the basket and see where the painted rung points (same system used at Bryan Park).

Eventually the course could also use a few small bridges over streams, as well as some benches sporadically placed throughout the course (I believe the only bench I saw all day was at hole 17). I noticed that the website for the course lists the lengths from the long tees - it would be nice to know the distance of the shorts as well. Par info would be good too.
Other Thoughts: There is still work to be done before the Monster lives up to its potential. That being said, most of the cons listed above are likely to be addressed in the near future. All things considered, this is a well-designed course that will challenge even advanced players. You won't be able to play a quick round here, but don't be scared. The Monster doesn't bite.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.