Powhatan, VA 
The Monster @ Fighting Creek Share
Uploaded By: blackmamba5490 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2013)
5 / 328ft.   5 / 886ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Long and Confusing

1    5/14/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: Tom.Jones
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of the shots were relatively open
Cons: Ticks, High Grass, Missing/Non-existent Amateur tees, thick brush on either side of the clearings, smelled like the sewer line that is visible throughout much of the course.
Other Thoughts: It needs more people to play it to get the fields worn down - though the map is relatively useful, it seemed as if it was made on the site plan and not what's actually in existence.

Also, there were various youth groups walking through the woods around holes 1 and 2 - hope they brought tick repellent.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Monster!

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long holes. Variety of shots. Open, Tight in trees. Left turns, right turns. Super long holes for those who want to test their arms.
Cons: This might be the first course I have reviewed where the cons might outweigh the pros. Lets start off and say this course heavily favors Pros. The pro tees are much easier to find then the ams...get back to that soon. All of the pro tee boxes are also nice. there are either rubber mats, or gravel tee boxes. As far the ams go...none of the such. Some of the tees have pink tee blocks showing you where to throw from, but some are missing, or were just impossible to find.

If you aren't a great player, you might be spending a lot of time hunting for discs. We didn't lose any, but most of the fairways are lined with thick trees on both sides, so unless you can throw long and straight every time, be ready.

Also...the ticks are horrible!

And on to the course layout. The map is somewhat helpful, and impossible to navigate the course with out it, but even with it, the course is still very hard to navigate. If you are playing the pro tees, you will have a little easier of a time. The AM tees thought...which we played from, were impossible to find on some holes. We ended up just throwhing from the Pro tees on some holes or just making up our own starting blocks. But make sure you print out the map! Impossible without it!


Oh, and the grass is over a foot tall on most of the open holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the cons some it up. This course has potential. There are a lot of fun holes, but it does not have enough players playing this course to ware down on the trail and to make the paths visible

Summing it up.

Mow the grass!
Put up signs on each hole.
Make better amateur tees!.


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Raw Monster

1    4/23/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees, where the long tees are really long, so big arms should love them. There is a good mix of holes, some wooded, some semi wooded/open and some mostly open.

Elevation is used very effectively, seldom are you not throwing up or down a hill or slope. Nice basket placements, optimizing the maximum difficult available.

Though, there are no next tee signs, there are pink spots on nearby trees to aid in course navigation. Course map is very good and a must to navigate the course, so make sure you have one before playing.

Plenty of parking, with bathrooms available next door in the library.
Cons: Finding tees, especially the short tees is very difficult, if not impossible, without the course map. There were a few short tees I still couldn't find. A little confusing finding #13.

Since some of the holes are very long, and you must throw through some tight blind fairways, without a spotter, losing a disc is a good possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course still has that raw feel to it. The last 4 holes are very wooded and tight, and probably need some more thinning out to make them more reasonable.

From the short tees, there are only a few deuce holes, so if you are looking for a pitch and putt course, this isn't for you.

Better identification markers for the tees would make this course so much easier to navigate. As the course matures, this would improve the enjoyment of playing this course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Huge Monster Lives up to it's title

1    3/18/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most courses you want to know if you might lose a disc or two...this is the first course where I lost my arm. Yes be sure to sharpie your name and number on your throwing arm as you too may lose it on this enormous big arm course. I found a few arms lying in the retention basin on hole 12 and a few off to the side near 652 ft uphill #6 and surprisingly a few just left in the middle of the 1087 ft fairway of hole 7. Seems the Monster likes the taste of weenie arms as much as plastic. So be prepared this is a course for those with stronger arms.....A real game changer...the first 10 holes are unlike any DG experience I have ever had prior. Combining massive length with enormously wide but well defined fairways through dense woods. These holes are all routed atop an enormous pipeline system that must be visible from outerspace via satelite, so the fairways are wide and every branch from the ground to treetop is cut so there is zero overhang here. What you are left with are 10 low cut grassy fairways that are between 70 ft and 130 ft wide and avg 600 feet in length with massive hardwoods towering but not impinging the defined lanes. These 10 holes are massive and often dogleg and change direction. The sheer size of the holes make's one feel as though they are riding a moped on an airstrip...as in feeling miniature and meek as you drive, drive and drive again. The fairways are more than ample but given the great distances I found myself often fading or turning into those thick schule filled woods and had to pitch out and drive again.I would imagine this is a big arm player's dream course though as there is no where else that I have played with such a unique and big arm tempting look. 2 holes had intersections (7 & 9) where you could easily overthrow and go through the hyzer intersection and would have to drive back and anhyzer back to fairway. A unique feature that I have often envisioned and am glad to have seen it finally. (yeah I missed the hyzer both times and had to reverse re-drive both holes with anhyzers) Once your out of the craziness of the monstrous fairways it's off to 2 great more traditional field holes 11 shoots out of some small woods over a wide open field to a sloped green and 12 fires over a road and around some trees over a retention basin to a fast green. After that the course dives into the woods on 13 which is fun and from there its a smattering of tight technical holes where you will escape the bigness of the beast but have to deal with the shorter but equally tough and tighter woods golf until you finish your day. There are multiple tees and plenty of parking and a practice basket available. Course flows intuitively so lack of tee signs not too much of a problem. Map and info is available online and is quite sufficient. Follow the purple markings...they are everywhere. Some unique features of this course besides the superhero size of those 10 early holes are the raised basket and fast green of hole 1...the across the road bomb to start hole 2. The uphill struggle of hole 6. The dive into the woods of hole 13. The guarded basket of hole 15, surrounded by trees and a moat and the tight downhill drive of 16.
Cons: It's really too much of the same thing for 9 of the first 10 holes...massive drives with little room for error considering the length required. I would have scored better if I had tried to control my drives and keep them straight and low but it's hard to not try to unleash the drive of your life once you see these amazing fairways. As wonderful as the fairways were for the front 10..only once did the repetition cease. #5 was the only woodsy break from the sheer distance madness. NO ace runs anywhere on this course. The long holes are too long and the woods are too technical so I would imagine birdies and aces are quite rare. Sloppy tees and lacking in signs as of spring 2010 (I don't care but many require this) I think some better greens for the big arm holes..maybe a raised basket or a scenic green with some more options upon approach would add something that seemed to be lacking. As for the final 5 holes...they need to be thinned out a bit to really be considered fair or realistic. Just too extreme even by Paw PAw and East Coast Standards. It's new so it's raw and I imagine these complaints will remedy in time.
Other Thoughts: I think one day this will be a great tournament course. I would love to see big arm pros throw down those monstrous fairways. If you find my arm in the woods somewhere near the fairway for 15 please contact me on DGCR. I really don't think anyone would want to use it for themselves especially after the abuse it received here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Pink monster

2-4    3/7/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 436  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Dual tees
- Longs have gravel or rubber mats
- Good variety
- Long arms welcomed
- Practice Basket
- Painted basket rungs and trees aid in navigation.
- Parking is near tee 1 and the course loops you back to the start.
- Park has other amenities for kids.
Cons: - Tees have no distance marked on them and are only marked with flush arrow boards, shorts easy to miss or not found on 10,12, and 18
- Fairways on wooded holes are extremely heavily wooded
- Mats used at long tees with gravel could be moved to short tees to aid visibility
- No kiosk with course map, or maps/scorecards to take with( in the works, funds being raised)
- Painted trees on 18 I found misleading or the fairway is that dense
- Course leaves you kinda out there after 9(it's a long course)
Other Thoughts: I came out after I first heard about the course and played what I could find which was holes 13 through 18. I then heard a lot of buzz about the work going into the course on the local board and looked forward to getting back out to play the whole course. Well I got back out there and gave both the longs and shorts a go just to be fair.

Finding the course was much easier this time as a nice Pink sign near the practice basket welcomes you to the course. From what I had heard and/or seen I think one and two kinda got flopped or maybe just one reversed, but this made a huge difference as you can now find one's tee with no problem. On the county site they have maps and scorecards available and are planning/raising money for tee signs and a welcome station, when it goes in it will be a big help. Without a map navigation is reasonable because there is a painted rung on top of the baskets that leads to the next long tee and most fairways have some trees with paint on them to help guide you way along the fairway. I still had to check the map on my phone a few times as the short tees are hard to see(didn't find the short tees for 10,12, and 18). The long tees are gravel and/or rubber mats, and the shorts are natural. All tees are marked with flush Pink arrow boards, but there are only hole numbers listed on them. I notice a couple single Pink arrows that help point you in the right direction, but may be confused with the short tees. The course is a hike so with holes 11 and 12 playing near some of the other facilities in the park you may be able to take a break, but then 13 takes you back into the woods and 18 brings you full circle back to 1.

The course has a good mix of holes, 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9,10,11,12 play mostly in the open along some pipeline right of ways. Holes 1,4,10,11,12 stand out for bringing trees into play somewhere along the hole and thus giving it some Challenge, hole twelve even has a retention pond to watch out for. The rest have wide enough fairways so the challenge is the length. Holes 5,13,14,15,16,17,18 are in the woods, and I mean woods. Two holes stood out 13 and 15. On 15 you have a slight uphill shot with a horseshoe at the end. On 13 you throw down a nice hill into the woods with a creek just behind the basket. 13 is the only hole I think looks noticeably different than the last time I played. All of the wood holes I hope will see a lot of work in the future as they are extremely dense and almost more luck than skill. The painted trees really help guide you in the woods but be careful on 18 as the paint spots don't seem to mark the hole correctly.

I have greatly mixed feelings about this course. There are some great holes here but the longs are too long for my taste and I don't know if some of the longer holes truly benefit from there length. Future improvements considered IMO the biggest flaw at the moment is the woods need a lot of definition; however I'm sure being as new as it is this will be overcome. I found I really liked some of the long tees and some of the short tees or that I thought there would have been a great place for a tee somewhere in between. A few things to suggest, one is move the mats to the short tees where gravel is already at the longs, two move 8s basket to the other side of the fairway and on top of the little hill, and three the short tee on 12 could be on the far side of the pond to make a short but really challenging shot. Overall it's a good course and will grow into a great one, glad to have it join the greater Richmond areas collection of courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Too Long

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: indigo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you want the game to go on for a real long time, this is a good course.
Cons: If it was just with my husband, then alright. We brought our 8 and 2 year old....Yikes! There are A Lot of little stumps, so my 2 year old kept falling down. Tee boxes were a bit confusing at first. Not too clearly marked. Basket #12.....We nicknamed it THE PIT.
Other Thoughts: I would probably come back when it's a bit more user friendly.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Mash

1    1/5/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Monster, as mentioned in earlier reviews, is still very much a work in progress. I decided I had to check it out after hearing that this was the longest course in the state, and it definitely lives up to the hype - this course is loooong! I played from the short tees and it was STILL a long course. The Monster isn't just about length, though; the layout is very creative and makes great use of the land. The first 12 holes are dominated by long, rather open shots down tree-lined fairways. Nothing boring, though - lots of different doglegs, uphill drives, downhill drives, and plenty of chances for big throws.

My favorite holes here are in the middle of the course. Hole 11 is in an open field with the basket on the side of a hill. Hole 12, my personal favorite, throws from an elevated tee by the baseball field, over a road, to a basket placed dangerously close to a nasty reservoir which will be sure to claim many discs as this course grows (the long tee on 12 is great - similar shot from an elevated tee, but you have to throw through the "field goal" of trees).

Hole 13 tees off from the crest of a hill, throwing downhill and into the woods. Holes 13-18 are all wooded and require more technical shots, providing a nice relief from the big open holes. That relief doesn't last too long, though, because these holes are not easy. The wooded section of the course features mostly tight fairways with lots of small trees just waiting to get nailed with a disc.

Bonus points also awarded for having a practice basket.
Cons: Because this course is still in the works there are several obvious cons to point out, but I'll try not to dwell on them. First of all, tee signs are a must - currently, the tees are all marked with small pavers, which can be quite difficult to find on such large fairways. I have heard that there will be signs placed at the long tees in the near future, but I would recommend (if/when the budget allows) putting signs at the short tees as well (so that they can actually be seen). For now, the best way to find the next tee is to check the top of the basket and see where the painted rung points (same system used at Bryan Park).

Eventually the course could also use a few small bridges over streams, as well as some benches sporadically placed throughout the course (I believe the only bench I saw all day was at hole 17). I noticed that the website for the course lists the lengths from the long tees - it would be nice to know the distance of the shorts as well. Par info would be good too.
Other Thoughts: There is still work to be done before the Monster lives up to its potential. That being said, most of the cons listed above are likely to be addressed in the near future. All things considered, this is a well-designed course that will challenge even advanced players. You won't be able to play a quick round here, but don't be scared. The Monster doesn't bite.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  building the monster is a monster job

5+    11/3/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: FN-Randy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/8/2009
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is long long long, with a couple of holes that you might card a 2 on. If you think you have D and want to use it, you best have some accuracy.
Front 9 is extra long with open fairways, but God help you, should you get off course.
Cons: Still under development with a monstrous amount of work still to do. There are no signs yet, so a guide could be beneficial, but most folks seem to do just fine.

I fear people will run scared since this is not a pitch and putt course.
Other Thoughts: We are tediously working on this course to get it playable for you, but with daylight waning, the work days are slowing. Feel free to play, but please understand that the Monster is a work in progress and has as far to go as it has already come.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ebbs
Played: 96  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is now "playable." All 18 baskets are in and have fairly legitimate fairways that will really challenge all players with length, tightness, and/or elevation changes depending on the hole. Holes 1-4 play in a county right of way with hole 2 playing around 1000'. Hole 5 is a tight anheyser with holes 6-12 being back out in the right of ways.
All the right of way holes have 60 to 80 foot fairways with considerable length to them and are woods lined.
Holes 13 to 18 play in the woods and are tight.
Cons: The course begins at the library and ends down a pathway to the right of tee 1.
Unfortunately there are no maps or scorecards yet. The best map available currently can be found at:
http://powhatandiscgolf.org/default.aspx
There is no way of losing your disc in the fairway, but off the fairways it is very easy to spend some time finding your disc at this point.
Tees are too small right now...3 by 5 rubber mats.
Many ankle biters exist in the woods and additional clearing is definately needed.
Other Thoughts: The course will only get better with more work in the future and is worth checking out. Plan on a round taking 2 and a half hours with 2 to 3 players and some time spent looking for discs if you go off the fairway.
AS OF JULY OF 2010 STILL EXPECT THE WORST OF THIS COURSE. PEOPLE ARE SLAMMING IT AND THEIR COMPLAINTS ARE THE TRUTH. SLAM THIS REVIEW, WHO CARES BUT THIS IS WHERE THE TRUTH LIES. THERE IS NO WATER TO DRINK OUT THERE, HIGH GRASS IN THE FAIRWAYS BUT IT IS NOT THICK GRASS, REALLY DENSE WOODS LINE THE "OPEN" HOLES, LENGTH IS VERY LONG, NO SIGNS AT ALL, TEE PADS ARE THERE BUT STINK ON THE LONG HOLES, YOU WILL NOT FIND THE SHORT TEES, SOME OF THE BASKETS YOU CAN'T SEE FROM THE TEE AND WON'T BELIEVE THAT THEY REALLY WILL BE THERE, THE MAP THAT EXISTS STINKS, NO ONE WILL BE OUT THERE PLAYING WITH YOU, 100 FOOT TREES HAVE BEEN CUT DOWN AND ARE LITERALLY SITTING IN THE FAIRWAYS ON THE WOODS HOLES, AND IN A FEW MORE YEARS AT THE CURRENT PACE THE MONSTER HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE ONE OF THE BEST COURSES IN VA.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.